Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALED JONES.....THE CHRISTMAS ALBUM
On a scale of one to five, this beautiful new album from Aled Jones deserves at least a ten!! How refreshing it is to have a collection of truly traditional carols that warm the heart and uplift the soul, and reflect the meaning of Christmas and not the commercialism.
Aled's two previous albums of his adult career, "Aled" and "Higher" are nothing short of...
Published on 25 Nov. 2004 by Susie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aled at his best
Very pleasant and relaxing to listen to. Have always liked Aled he's always relaxed and versatile and very pleasant to listen.
Published 17 months ago by DeeBee


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ALED JONES.....THE CHRISTMAS ALBUM, 25 Nov. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
On a scale of one to five, this beautiful new album from Aled Jones deserves at least a ten!! How refreshing it is to have a collection of truly traditional carols that warm the heart and uplift the soul, and reflect the meaning of Christmas and not the commercialism.
Aled's two previous albums of his adult career, "Aled" and "Higher" are nothing short of superb......his voice is rich and velvety, and stirs the emotions of even the most hardened listener to tears of joy.
"THE CHRISTMAS ALBUM" is divine, and quite possibly his best yet. Aled's voice is smoother and stronger than ever, which for someone who sings to perfection already gives testimony to this man's brilliance.
Aled's choice of carols combine much-loved favourites with some lesser known lovely songs which are fast becoming as adored as the more familiar. You'll be moved by the passion with which he sings and the tranquillity he engenders.
Silent Night is a sublime experience, with Hayley Westenra dueting with Aled. Hayley's exquisite, clear voice coupled with Aled's rich smoothness is the ultimate combination of two of the finest voices.
The heavenly voices of Libera, accompanying Aled in some tracks, as they have done in his earlier CDs, are yet another beautiful aspect of this album. The boys of Libera sing like angels.
Director, Robert Prizeman's consummate skill is evident once again in the wonderful musical arrangements.
Aled's glorious voice is being shared by all my extended family and friends... I'm giving the best gift this Christmas....Aled's album all round.
If you buy only one Christmas album for yourself this year, make it this one. You'll be inspired!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Delicious!, 29 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
If you're reading this, then you have a vague intrest in this album so my advice to you is buy it!! Aled's voice is so yummy that everyone must hear it.
This album does not disappoint, and every song is as great as the last and is enough to make anyone melt!
Definately will get you in the mood for Christmas, and certainly worth the money. Comes highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ahh Aled, 29 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Never been a massive Aled fan, things changed tho when I won tickets to his Christmas concert. The boy soprano has faded back where he belonged and in his place is an attractive man with the most beautiful, evocative voice and bubbly personality. A wonderful show, and what a lovely album for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aled the man's Christmas album, 8 Sept. 2009
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Aled Jones originally found fame as a boy singer of a British hit single titled Walking in the air, a cover of a Christmas song that Peter Auty recorded for The Snowman. Aled recorded a whole Christmas album built around that single. With this second Christmas album, Aled showcases his very different, warm adult baritone voice. He chose not to re-record Walking in the air, but has subsequently put together a new version of the song, creating a duet with his two different voices.

Without any versions of that classic song, this is still a brilliant album. Aled is supported by the English Session Orchestra, who provide tastefully restrained instrumentation, together with Libera, a boys' choir who are more prominent on some tracks than others but who, like the orchestra, never overpower the album's star singer. Hayley Westenra, the brilliant singer from New Zealand, joins Aled for a duet version of Silent night.

Aled noted in the credits that he set out to record a stylish and heartfelt collection of Christmas classics and believes he achieved it. It's certainly stylish and heartfelt , while most of the songs are indeed Christmas classics. There are some less obvious song selections here that, it may be argued, have not achieved classic status. Candlelight carol (a John Rutter song), The little road to Bethlehem and Whence is that goodly fragrance? Are all excellent and deserve to be better known that they are. With the exception of Candlelight carol, which Neil Diamond also included on one of his Christmas albums, I don't remember hearing these songs elsewhere, but I'm glad that Aled chose these rather than three more famous classics.

Of the familiar songs, I was particularly pleased to find that Aled included In the bleak midwinter, which is one of my favorite carols. Given that Aled set out to record a heartfelt album, this song was an obvious choice and it suits him ideally.

This is a great album from start to finish. Although Aled is officially regarded as a singer of classical music, you don't need to enjoy classical music to love this album. It is more of an easy listening album that would sit comfortably alongside Christmas albums by Andy Williams, Johnny Mathis, Perry Como and the aforementioned Neil Diamond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HEAVENLY, 12 Jan. 2011
By 
sam "sam" (Callington, Cornwall, GB) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I have never purchased any of Aled's music prior to this one and I was not disappointed. The music is quite mesmerising and Aled has a voice that is inspirational and takes you to a wonderfully spiritual, reflective and chilled place. This is a tantalising album to be played at Yuletide and really evokes an atmosphere of what Christmas is really about. Put the CD on, have a glass of mulled wine and sit back and relax. Fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aled Jones The Christmas Album, 18 Dec. 2010
By 
C. N. Willis "Carole Willis" (Chester Cheshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Absolutely beautiful. If you're feeling all frazzled and need calming down just listen to Aled singing these lovely Xmas songs. He has such a soothing voice and you will soon feel more calm. Would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartstopping Aled, 2 Nov. 2005
By 
Mrs. L. A. I. Brice "riponian" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Another lovely album...Aled has such a soothing voice, abrilliant Christmas album, I know it will be well listened to over the festive season...A must have Christmas CD...Well done again Aled.
Riponian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...Aled Jones at his best, 14 Jan. 2010
By 
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
A fantastic album from a very gifted vocalist. First came across Aled on Pandora and found I kept bookmarking his songs. Liked this item so much that I bought a second copy of the disc for a friend. A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just right for Christmas, 18 Feb. 2010
By 
Barbara E. Ellams (England UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
Aled singing for Christmas is just perfect for playing as you write your cards or are preparing Christmas food or even just sitting and listening and contemplating what Christmas is really about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Aled Jones The Christmas Album, 16 Oct. 2009
By 
This review is from: The Christmas Album (Audio CD)
I love this album. I bought it as a treat for myself and it has been a really great album to listen to over and again. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Christmas Album
The Christmas Album by Aled Jones (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews