Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars38
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£5.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 November 2004
On a scale of one to five, this beautiful new album from Aled Jones deserves at least a ten!! How refreshing it is to have a collection of truly traditional carols that warm the heart and uplift the soul, and reflect the meaning of Christmas and not the commercialism.
Aled's two previous albums of his adult career, "Aled" and "Higher" are nothing short of superb......his voice is rich and velvety, and stirs the emotions of even the most hardened listener to tears of joy.
"THE CHRISTMAS ALBUM" is divine, and quite possibly his best yet. Aled's voice is smoother and stronger than ever, which for someone who sings to perfection already gives testimony to this man's brilliance.
Aled's choice of carols combine much-loved favourites with some lesser known lovely songs which are fast becoming as adored as the more familiar. You'll be moved by the passion with which he sings and the tranquillity he engenders.
Silent Night is a sublime experience, with Hayley Westenra dueting with Aled. Hayley's exquisite, clear voice coupled with Aled's rich smoothness is the ultimate combination of two of the finest voices.
The heavenly voices of Libera, accompanying Aled in some tracks, as they have done in his earlier CDs, are yet another beautiful aspect of this album. The boys of Libera sing like angels.
Director, Robert Prizeman's consummate skill is evident once again in the wonderful musical arrangements.
Aled's glorious voice is being shared by all my extended family and friends... I'm giving the best gift this Christmas....Aled's album all round.
If you buy only one Christmas album for yourself this year, make it this one. You'll be inspired!
0Comment90 of 91 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2004
If you're reading this, then you have a vague intrest in this album so my advice to you is buy it!! Aled's voice is so yummy that everyone must hear it.
This album does not disappoint, and every song is as great as the last and is enough to make anyone melt!
Definately will get you in the mood for Christmas, and certainly worth the money. Comes highly recommended!
0Comment47 of 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2004
Never been a massive Aled fan, things changed tho when I won tickets to his Christmas concert. The boy soprano has faded back where he belonged and in his place is an attractive man with the most beautiful, evocative voice and bubbly personality. A wonderful show, and what a lovely album for Christmas.
0Comment23 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Aled Jones originally found fame as a boy singer of a British hit single titled Walking in the air, a cover of a Christmas song that Peter Auty recorded for The Snowman. Aled recorded a whole Christmas album built around that single. With this second Christmas album, Aled showcases his very different, warm adult baritone voice. He chose not to re-record Walking in the air, but has subsequently put together a new version of the song, creating a duet with his two different voices.

Without any versions of that classic song, this is still a brilliant album. Aled is supported by the English Session Orchestra, who provide tastefully restrained instrumentation, together with Libera, a boys' choir who are more prominent on some tracks than others but who, like the orchestra, never overpower the album's star singer. Hayley Westenra, the brilliant singer from New Zealand, joins Aled for a duet version of Silent night.

Aled noted in the credits that he set out to record a stylish and heartfelt collection of Christmas classics and believes he achieved it. It's certainly stylish and heartfelt , while most of the songs are indeed Christmas classics. There are some less obvious song selections here that, it may be argued, have not achieved classic status. Candlelight carol (a John Rutter song), The little road to Bethlehem and Whence is that goodly fragrance? Are all excellent and deserve to be better known that they are. With the exception of Candlelight carol, which Neil Diamond also included on one of his Christmas albums, I don't remember hearing these songs elsewhere, but I'm glad that Aled chose these rather than three more famous classics.

Of the familiar songs, I was particularly pleased to find that Aled included In the bleak midwinter, which is one of my favorite carols. Given that Aled set out to record a heartfelt album, this song was an obvious choice and it suits him ideally.

This is a great album from start to finish. Although Aled is officially regarded as a singer of classical music, you don't need to enjoy classical music to love this album. It is more of an easy listening album that would sit comfortably alongside Christmas albums by Andy Williams, Johnny Mathis, Perry Como and the aforementioned Neil Diamond.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2011
I have never purchased any of Aled's music prior to this one and I was not disappointed. The music is quite mesmerising and Aled has a voice that is inspirational and takes you to a wonderfully spiritual, reflective and chilled place. This is a tantalising album to be played at Yuletide and really evokes an atmosphere of what Christmas is really about. Put the CD on, have a glass of mulled wine and sit back and relax. Fab!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2010
Absolutely beautiful. If you're feeling all frazzled and need calming down just listen to Aled singing these lovely Xmas songs. He has such a soothing voice and you will soon feel more calm. Would definitely recommend it.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2005
Another lovely album...Aled has such a soothing voice, abrilliant Christmas album, I know it will be well listened to over the festive season...A must have Christmas CD...Well done again Aled.
Riponian.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2010
A fantastic album from a very gifted vocalist. First came across Aled on Pandora and found I kept bookmarking his songs. Liked this item so much that I bought a second copy of the disc for a friend. A+
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2010
Aled singing for Christmas is just perfect for playing as you write your cards or are preparing Christmas food or even just sitting and listening and contemplating what Christmas is really about.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2009
I love this album. I bought it as a treat for myself and it has been a really great album to listen to over and again. Fantastic.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.