Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genious in whatever they do!
I guess the manics could release a country album and I'd still love it!
Once again different to anything they've done before (but I'm getting used to that...after all each of their albums is unique), but still it's the typical manic street preachers style.
The album has great lyrics, and James delivers them with so much devotion (as he always does) that it gives...
Published on 19 May 2008 by sth_Weird

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot may have changed but they haven't lost it.
'Lifeblood' is definitely the least 'manic' or punk-ish album by the Manic Street Preachers... but its still worth a listen.
The music is far more mellow than Know Your Enemy or any of the Richey Edwards era LPs with lots of keyboard/piano, highlighted in the intro and outro of 'Cardiff Afterlife,' but the lyrics are still very political, especially in songs such as...
Published on 15 Aug 2005 by D. Mchugh


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genious in whatever they do!, 19 May 2008
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
I guess the manics could release a country album and I'd still love it!
Once again different to anything they've done before (but I'm getting used to that...after all each of their albums is unique), but still it's the typical manic street preachers style.
The album has great lyrics, and James delivers them with so much devotion (as he always does) that it gives you goosebumps (in a positive way). Sometimes the drums sound a bit electronical and artificial, and since I think Sean Moore is the most versatile, most inventive and most genious (and fastest) of all drummers I know, this is a bit sad, but on the other hand the fact he made it sound that way shows his greatness even more, because combined with the music, the electronical/artificial drums sound really good (but I love the "real" drum roll on Cardiff Afterlife).
If your musical interest is limited to rock, and you want to hear the manics rock (and rock only), then I'm not sure if you'll have much fun with this album. But if you're as versatile as the manics, you may find another manic masterpiece here!
My faves from the album are 1985, Glasnost and To Repell Ghosts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of life..maybe..but a Manics return with shed blood!!!, 14 Feb 2005
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
In hearing "The Love of Richard Nixon", it had been expectant that we were drawn to hear uninspiring tunes from the Manics similar to the messed and flawed "Know Your Enemy". In fact it's sheer brilliance from the Blackwood's finest trio. It kinds of throws away the tension, confusion and experimentation from their previous album starting with a nice mellowing clean slate. The majority of its slow tracks, it hooks to your feel-good senses desperately often unrequited with their earlier work, in every way possible it is whispering to you breathlessly to say this album is a modern-art classic.
Kicking with a good opening track, "1985" shows light anthem rock with soothing melodic rhythms similar to "A Design for Life", clearly reminding you how they matured as a band to a softer direction in rock. "Empty Souls", "Song for Departure", and "Live to Fall Asleep" really highlights that the Manics can produce nice pop-rock with the digging of 1987-era U2 in "To Repel Ghosts" to New-Orderish feel in "Fragments" suiting for all tastes.
The album adds new blends of nice upbeat, harmonious electro-piano melange topped with classic vocals of James Dean Bradfield putting them on a new inspiring level although not clearly as profoundly ingenious with their dark album "The Holy Bible" but this is an album for mature Manic fans. Go buy and listen as it proves the Manics fulfil to all expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hurrah!, 8 Feb 2010
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
This is a really good album from The Manics! A bit different maybe in that it doesnt have the heavier rock songs of old,it's more keyboard led.But if you like great music then you'll like this!

We start off with, for me, the albums best song '1985' which certainly has an 80s feel about it, and great guitar work.
'The love of Richard Nixon' is next and it took me a while to get into it but I like it now. Again very much a keyboard dominated song and strange choice of 1st single( although it got to number 2 in the uk so it clearly worked well!)

Then another uk number 2 is next. 'Empty Souls' which is more of an obvious single.But although most songs have a similar sound they are all very memorable in their own right.With 'I live to fall asleep' at first i thought it was weak and almost easy listening, but is a real grower with some beautiful lyrics actually.

And so the album goes on with more great moments , and only 'Emily' and 'fragments' let the side down as they are a bit dreary really.Other than that though it's very consistent and a strong album which was unfairly undervalued really.

Their next album 'Send away the tigers 'was seen as a return to form. I don't agree as although I like that album, it wasn't a RETURN to form as they were already on form!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lifeblood, 7 Nov 2004
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
A 'new' direction for the Manic Street Preachers, but I heard a lot of what 'This Is My Truth' could've been in this, their latest efforts. The filler is still there (but to a much less extent), and the important main failing about 'TIMT' has been rectified - musically it is a joy.
Ok, so 'Nixon' is appalling and unlike a lot of reviewers I'm not so keen on '1985' either; just because it namecheck's Morrissey and is as political as they dare get on this album it doesn't turn my head. Indeed, the fact that will distinguish this from all Manic albums is the number of tracks where Nicky Wire seems to be telling us how he is feeling, rather than what he is feeling or reading or complaining about. Such a lyrical honesty probably hasn't been seen by a Manic since 'Ocean Spray' by Bradfield, or Richey's works that straddled 'THB' and 'EMG'.
'Empty Souls' stomped live, but tiptoes in the studio, a lilting track with echoey piano and a faint riff underlying the song with more than a nudge towards 'Motorcycle Emptiness', 'A Song For Departure' will surely be listened to by partners everywhere who have just loved and lost and on 'Emily' the listener is left wondering if Wire respects Pankhurst (the suffragette martyr) or if he is writing her a love letter. Still, this album has arguably everything right that was wrong with the last two studio efforts, and if 'Nixon' can nearly get to No.1 against one of the strongest chart toppers of the year, then surely anything is possible in this remarkable but unsurprising reinvention.
The Manics have stopped trying to recreate 'Motown Junk' (and they are getting a bit old for such buzzsaw heroics), and have instead made 'This Is My Truth - New And Improved & Feat. 110% More Emotion'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A lot may have changed but they haven't lost it., 15 Aug 2005
By 
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
'Lifeblood' is definitely the least 'manic' or punk-ish album by the Manic Street Preachers... but its still worth a listen.
The music is far more mellow than Know Your Enemy or any of the Richey Edwards era LPs with lots of keyboard/piano, highlighted in the intro and outro of 'Cardiff Afterlife,' but the lyrics are still very political, especially in songs such as 'The love of Richard Nixon' and 'Empty souls,' which is the stand out track of the album.
Although I would rank it as one of their poorer albums, it is enjoyably refreshing to hear after listening to the new wave of british bands as the Manics show once again that they are craftsmen of music, with JDB providing some of his greatest vocals to date.
If you're a Manics fan, it is certainly worth a listen, although it may not strike the same chord as their earlier releases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of their best, 14 Jan 2013
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
This is rather different to the very early Manics stuff which was raw and punky, so if you are really keen on that, this may not be exactly what you are after. However, if you like some of the more melodic early hits, then you will probably love this. The tracks on here have great instrumental depth and are quite highly processed, e.g. more of the 'Tsunami' kind of feel. I have to say, I really think it is a fantastic album containing perhaps the most beautiful and epic music they ever wrote (and the tracks are not as cheesy as e.g. 'Autumnsong'). I was considering buying National Treasures, but on noticing that masterpieces such as 'A Song For The Departed' and 'I Live To Fall Asleep' are not on that, I am now reconsidering, and am really glad I decided to get Lifeblood first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Manic Street Preachers- Lifeblood, 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
If your looking for the Manic Street Preachers who made 'Generation terrorists', 'The Holy Bible' and 'Know your enemy' you're going to be out of luck, maybe next time (if there is a next time!). But if your favourite Manics' stuff is on 'Everything must go' and 'This is my truth...' then step this way. The attraction (or at least part of the attraction) to me is that in a world that seems dominated by mindless pop or whoever is this years' big new thing, the manics have always managed to stick out like John kerry at a republican convention. Where there is nothing up there with 'Design for life' or 'Motorcycle emptiness', there is '1985' or 'A song for departure', which come pretty damn close. There are sounds, beats and moods that you have never heard the manics pull off quiet like they have here. 'Glasnost' is almost 'Keane' like in someways and on 'Always/never' for a moment you might think the chilli's are in the studio with them. But they always manage to have that way of stamping their mark on each and every song, no matter what track you choose. There's not a power chord to be heard (well, maybe here and there), but that doesn't mean it's downbeat, in fact far from it as 'Empty Souls' proves. It's well worth your hard earned cash. Album of the year, maybe not, but it could be in most people's top ten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars they will never fade, 16 Feb 2005
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
the manic street preachers have been a consistent band all throughout their career. know your enemy, was not the best album they have ever made. however, people have to realise, that the early albums, were rebellious youth. the manics have matured into a band, who are beginning to enjoy their music again and not live under the dark cloud that has followed them since the departure of richey. THEY DON'T NEED TO BE CONTROVERSIAL TO BE NOTICED!!! this album is everything die hard manics fans wanted...a band that once again believes in themselves and can carry on for many years to come as one of the greatest bands on the planet.
stay beautiful x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent return to form!!, 3 Mar 2005
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
I wasn't massively disappointed with 'Know Your Enemy', but i'd have to say that this album is better than the last. In my opinion the general sound of the album lies somewhere between 'Everything Must Go' and 'This Is My Truth.....' There are no real standout tracks on here as they're all fairly equally as good as each other. Other than the two singles that have already been released, none of the songs stand out as potential singles which doesn't mean its a bad thing. 'Enola/Alone' and 'Further Away' from 'Everything Must Go' weren't singles yet they were two of the best tracks. One criticism that I did have of 'Know Your Enemy' was that it maybe went on for too long. However, this is roughly 45 mins long which is just about right. Although I said there weren't any standout tracks, the better ones would include 'Empty Souls', 'Song for a Departure', 'I live to fall asleep' and Emily. One more thing, when I ordered this I wasn't too excited about getting it but overall its an excellent album which hasn't got the attention it deserves. I've had it on repeat four times now and I'm not sick of it yet!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 6 Oct 2004
This review is from: Lifeblood (Audio CD)
i figured i'd give this a review since it appears that no one else has yet. i've heard the album, and plan to buy it when it's available in the states (which usually isn't quickly, unless i want to pay full price to get it off the internet, which i don't).
anyway, the album is fantastic. i've listened to it many times now and haven't gotten a bit tired of it. it's a different sound than "traditional" manics (but then again, when have the manics ever been traditional?). it's definitely a better album than Know Your Enemy. it's a very together and very focused album. it's got this wonderful, ethereal feel throughout all of it, like a vivid and fascinating dream that you have every night.
james dean bradfield's vocals are as genuine and beautiful as i've ever heard them (listen to "empty souls" or "emily" for an example). the manics' musical ability has never been put in question, and "lifeblood" will certainly reinforce their place as one of the world's greatest in terms of talent and instinct.
i could write a lot more, but there's no real reason to. if you're a manics fan, i highly recommend the album. if you're not, try it out anyway. i don't think there'll be many who can dislike this kind of great music. even if the affair doesn't last long, the time you had with it will be well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb58696a8)

This product

Lifeblood
Lifeblood by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews