Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not definitve but pretty damn good anyway, 1 Oct 2005
By 
S. F. Eales "Dogstar" (Manchester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Like any 'definitive' collection this one most decidedly isn't, in fact it's something of a ragbag - BUT it is most certainly excellent and while not the last word on Martin's career to date is a pretty good inroduction to what he does. There is a fine range of material here, all of it - bar the stomping 'Lakes of Ponchartrain' showcasing his quite remarkable ability as a guitarist (and occasionally banjo player). His voice is a more variable instrument veering between the rich and effective to the annoyingly whiney but even when the latter is the case his magnificent guitar playing more than compensates. It's the instrumentals, however, that really stand out, 'First Cut Is the Deepest' and 'Plains of Waterloo/James Connolly' in particular, though the songs 'Shawnee Town' and 'One More Day/Boots of Spanish Leather' are fine performances. Just occasionally his arrangements slip into the over-fussy ( the introduction to 'Clerk Sanders' for example ) but we can forgive him a few small lapses for such overall excellence. Highly recommended and only misses the five stars since I ( and probably most other fans ) would quibble about some of the items included here on a so-called definitive collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mellow, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Went to local gig only about 30 people and this guy rocked glad to see the CD lives up to my expectations from live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wide imagination - and a fine record, 25 Dec 2009
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
No "definitive" collection can be definitive but this is a fine record.

I came across Martin Simpson because he was doing a gig in a very small venue in Camden Town (near where I was living at the time), shortly after the 'Prodigal Son' album came out. Live in an intimate setting, he was captivating, and humble enough to talk to me afterwards a little.

He's in touch with where he began: he's from Lincolnshire, and that's very much part of him, as are his songs about his father. But his imagination is large - his instrumental rendition of 'James Connolly' (that's the Irish labour leader strapped wounded to a chair and executed after the 1916 uprising in Ireland) is poignant.

I'm told by people who understand these things he's a brilliant guitarist. He's also a great ballad singer.

If you already have a pile of Martin Simpson records, you won't have learned much from my review, and you may well also already have all the tracks on this compilation.

If you are new to Martin Simpson, buy it. The worst that can happen is that, once you've heard it, you buy all the other records. Surely one of the greatest English singers of our time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of the best, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
really enjoyed this albumn, my return after a while of not listening to Martin. I would recommend this as a showcase of his best work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars revelation, 9 April 2014
By 
P. G. Tunnicliffe "hanteyo" (casesi, tuscany, italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
So strange to have come so far and not been exposed to Martin Simpson. Travelled the country and folk roads that connected at least two Continents, and with a tumbler full of jazz and blues. His guitar paying is magical and while I may have heard individual singers with stronger presence, his voice grows and wheedles its way into ones conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Martin is just a phenomenal musician. This album showcases his mastery as instrumentalist, vocalist and composer. A must have for anyone who has a passion for the acoustic guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where is "Beaulampkin", 8 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Definitive Collection (Audio CD)
Come to that where is The Golden Vanity album. His first and my favourite. Good job I got the vinyl.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Definitive Collection
The Definitive Collection by Martin Simpson (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews