Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Under-rated Band Ever!
The thing I hate about going to see successful bands and artists is that they often leave some of their biggest hits off the playlist and can leave you feeling short changed. Thats one of the things I love about Leppard. They always play their biggest hits and never leave you disappointed.
Def Leppard released their Greatest Hits album Vault in 1995 but unlike their...
Published on 13 Oct 2004 by Graham Mckee

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It is what it is
Its the best of Def Leppard, what more can I say - all the hits you'll remember from their heyday.
Published 19 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Under-rated Band Ever!, 13 Oct 2004
This review is from: Best Of Def Leppard (Audio CD)
The thing I hate about going to see successful bands and artists is that they often leave some of their biggest hits off the playlist and can leave you feeling short changed. Thats one of the things I love about Leppard. They always play their biggest hits and never leave you disappointed.
Def Leppard released their Greatest Hits album Vault in 1995 but unlike their live concerts the album forgot about a few fan favourites and rock classics. Their new Best Of album rights the wrongs of the last collection. This time we have Women, Foolin, Die Hard the Hunter, Promises and countless others together with the usual classics like Animal, Photograph and Lets Get Rocked and not forgetting their biggest UK hit When Love and Hate Collide.
Te first CD is just Vault in the same listing order with their last top 40 hit Long, Long Way to Go added to the existing tracks. The second CD includes all the favourites that Vault left out plus more fantastic songs the band have written since 1995. It also includes a cover of the Kinks Waterloo Sunset which is a decent tribute to the original.
Leppard are the masters of killer choruses and amazing hooks and rythmns.
If you don't know much about their music buy this album. You'll instantly recognise about ten songs that you already liked but didn't know that it was Leppard that sung them. These guys have sold rediculous amounts of albums- especially in America where Hysteria alone sold 20 million!
All their songs are happy uplifting classics with catchy guitars and breathtaking production.
I am often ridiculed for liking this great band but you can't deny that Leppard are responsible for some cracking songs. All those who doubt or ridicule just buy this album. I dare you not to love a collection of brilliant tracks by the greatest band in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic but it's "vault" with a different name, 25 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
i have to agree with the other reviewer this cd HAS been around for years as "vault-the greatest hits" only the addition of the beautiful "long long way to go" got me to buy this cd and having "vault" already i knew what to expect,plenty of driving anthems my personal faves on this cd are "love bites" and "have you ever needed someone so bad" but every track on here is classic without doubt.To all you into the darkness this is how britain really rocks!These guys are the original and best british rock band(with the exception of iron maiden)ever buy now if you're a first time fan,but if you've got "vault" already then stick with that one or you could of course buy thedouble cd of this which has got more hits like "slang" on it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steely Rock, 15 May 2009
This review is from: Best Of Def Leppard (Audio CD)
Great best-of album from the Sheffield rockers; containing 34 tracks spread across two discs. If you're a long-time fan you'll undoubtedly have to have it, although as a previous reviewer pointed out these tracks are all available in one form or another, although not on one collection.
From breakthrough tracks such as the powerful `Photograph', through to the band's golden late 80s period and tracks such as the anthemic `Rocket' and emotive ballad `Love Bites', this CD is a great reminder of why Def Leppard are one of the most commercially successful Rock bands of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Has already been on the shelves for years, 20 Oct 2004
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Firstly, i would like to say that this album has already been on the shelves for years in the guise of Def Leppard - The Vault (check out the track list)...
But, this is ok, as it is an astounding album. For anyone already a fan, this album makes it very handy to listen to all your favourites without the hassle of changing the cd. For those not already familiar with this great band, this album is a great way of getting into them. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars must have def leppard, 14 Feb 2009
By 
G. T. S. Mccarron "blues dude" (shetland, scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
having purchased hysteria and pyromania originals on vinyl, i was looking for a digital recording of their best songs for the cd collection. i found what i was looking for at amazon in the form of a best of compilation which duly arrived and is now part of the collection. this cd features all of their best songs, great catchy riff hooks, and anthemic choruses - an absolute beauty. for younger people - if you want to know exactly what 1980's british rock is about then buy this, for us older dudes - just get a copy n enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Vault, 4 Mar 2005
By 
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
I have everything relaeased by DEF LEPPARD.I recived for xmas the inprt of their greatest hit's from europe.This album bring the classic def leppard sound and fuses there ever evolveing sound in the new era. sunset waterloo is a great cover songs for them. it brings there versatilitly to a new all time high. I for one think this album REALLY ROCKS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Def Leppard - Best Of CD, 8 Nov 2008
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
Def Leppard outsold many band of the 1980s, and this compliation of their best hits proves why.
Hits from the early years of recording, like "Photograph" and "Rock of Ages" are within the compilation, and are complimented with the hits from their biggest selling album, "Hysteria", such as "Animal", and "Rocket".
"Photograph" is a song about Marilyn Munroe, and how the person only has her "Photograph", and that he wants more. It includes a good guitar solo in the middle, and Jo Elliot's vocals match the emotional "wanting" of more than just a "Photograph" throughout the song. I would certainly say the live performances of this song are much better however.
"Rock of Ages" begins with German nonsense, and is an attempt at Def Leppard's own anthem, like Queen's "We Will Rock You", but little did Def Leppard know at the time, their anthem would be the very successful "Pour Some Sugar on Me".
"Hysteria" is a ballad, and was recorded in a painstaking way, as each note had to be recorded separately, the success does pay off, the result being a perfect song about the feelings of love, being referred to throughout the song as "Hysteria"
"Animal" was written shortly after the "Pyromania" album was released in 1984, it was recorded two and a half years later, as various producers couldn't create the right sound the band wanted for the song. The song is a pop-rock classic in itself, with a brilliant guitar solo. The song charted at number 6 in the U.K, and broke Def Leppard into the mainstream in the U.K as a result. It was even bigger than "Pour Some Sugar on Me" in the U.K, which only peaked at number 18. The song sounds very complex, as animal sounds are included, and the tempo and arrangement of the instruments makes the listener think of a forest, or safari park, but that's just my opinion.
"Rocket" is an interesting track. It makes references to Def Leppard's musical influences, and the video to the song shows media clips of the band's childhood. The version included here is an edited version, and misses out the very strange interlude that appears on the actual "Hysteria" album. The interlude includes back-masking and various vocal recordings of Def Leppard.
Included also are some songs from their albums in the mid 1990s, like "When Love And Hate Collide", which scored highly in the UK charts. This song is very different to the songs during their most popular times, it is slower, and has an acoustic guitar solo.
Of course, their biggest hit, "Pour Some Sugar on Me" is the first track, which sets the album up nicely.
Although Def Leppard have released more greatest hit's albums, this one stands out, as the American version of "Pour Some Sugar on Me" is used, which of course differs from the U.K version. This album shows the listener Def Leppard at most "stages" of their career, the "Pyromania", "Hysteria" and "Adrenalize" era, which are definitely the most popular era's, in terms of record sales.
The band itself produces absolutely brilliant music, and this album clarifies the imapct Def Leppard had on music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 13 Oct 2005
This review is from: Best Of (Audio CD)
I only recently discovered Def Leppard after hearing the tracks 'Animal and 'Let's Get Rocked' on the music channels, both of which I loved, so I decided to give the greatest hits album a try. And I was blown away by the new tracks I heard, especially the emotional rock ballads 'Have You Ever Needed Someone So Bad', 'When Love And Hate Collide', their most successful UK single, and the US number 1 'Love Bites'. These are my personal favourites, and I seem to have them on constant repeat. Other good songs include the more mainstream rock songs 'Animal' and 'Let's Get Rocked', as well as the songs 'Hysteria and 'Heaven Is'. In fact all the best songs feature on their hugely successful albums 'Hysteria' and 'Adrenalize', so a hardcore fan might prefer to get hold of those rather than this compilation. I would recommend this album to any fans of Bon Jovi, Whitesnake, Van Halen or any other 80s rock music fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Double Album Rocking Through The Ages, 2 May 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Best Of Def Leppard (Audio CD)
CD Info.
Best Of Def Leppard 2xCD Limited edition set.

Review.
This Limited released double album features this bands greatest rock anthems from there phenomenal career.

From the iconic Pour Some Sugar On Me to Rock Of Ages,The classic Photograph to Animal this compilation album delivers the majority of the bands hits featuring superb quality remastering.

CD 1 features the Bands most popular hits while CD 2 contains additional classics like Billys Got A Gun, Late For Love, Foolin & Rock Rock Till You Drop.

Def Leppard are renowned for there killer choruses & catchy rock riffs & I don't think the Band get the recognition they deserve as over the year's Def Leppard have produced some of the greatest rock anthems while enduring the tragic death of Steve Clark & The car accident that left Drummer Rick Allen losing one of his arm's.

This 2CD set is quite rare now but is well worth purchasing if your a Def Leppard fan as this album delivers rocking brilliance that will have you rocking through the ages.

Timelord Rating.
10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A 'Must have' for any rock fan!, 4 Oct 2004
By 
Phil (BIGGLESWADE, BEDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Best Of Def Leppard (Audio CD)
A fantastic collection of songs from the UK's biggest and best rock band. Every track on here is a winner! The new track 'Waterloo sunset' (A cover of 'The Kinks' track) is amazing, brilliantly crafted and a worthy addition to this already amazing collection of songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Of Def Leppard
Best Of Def Leppard by Def Leppard (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews