Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 May 2009
Very impressed with this and have played many times in front of friends and has always gone down a treat.

It is taken from the ITV footage from 1990 (the glory days when boxing was on normal telly) and the opening music certainly takes me back.

So many things are enjoyable about the dvd (in the build up: Benns rap, Eubanks espression when knocking out Brazillian, Reginaldo Dos Santos, the famous faces at ringside and Eubanks pre-match interview where he confidently asserts that a boxer will always beat a puncher.

One of my friends commented how he enjoyed fights from this era due to the fact there was no sponsorship on the trunks etc. It certainly is a blast from the past.

The fight is excellent and the after match interviews are entertaining and moving in their own way.

You may wonder why Chris Eubanks doesn't come in to 'Simply the Best' for his ring entrance. Apparently this was due to some of Benns team sabotaging his music to even things up as Benn had come in overweight on the day of the fight and had to do some exhaustive training to shift it off leaving him dehydrated. I also can't get out of my head the 'Dangerous' song/loop Benn comes into. Awesome stuff.

So yes if you are a boxing fan I thoroughly recommend this and I hope the company get some more out. Classic nostalgia from t' Good Old Days
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2008
Very good fight, two Boxers at their peak putting in great performances. Impressed with the DVD as well.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2007
I've been wanting to order for this ages and when I finally found it on Amazon I ordered it straight anyway. It is only just over a hour long but I think it's worth every penny and I would highly recommend it. Two GREAT British fighters at the peak of their powers producing one of the greatest fights of all time.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2010
I remember watching this fight back in the day and believe me, this was a true grudge-match where there was legitimate hatred between the champion Nigel Benn and the challenger Chris Eubank. Benn was the betting favourite and the more established fighter at world level. Eubank was a relative new-comer at world level and had gotten his shot at Benn's title through impressive performances and by the trash-talking aimed at 'The Dark Destroyer'. Such disrespect and Eubanks constant talk of boxing being a "mugs-game" infuriated Nigel Benn. All this set up what would be a huge television event with 2 British boxers being polar oppersite to one-another in both style and personality. Nigel Benn, the defending champion, was a two-fisted bomber with power in either hand and an aggressive, all-action, crowd-pleasing style. Chris Eubank, the challenger, was a precise boxer with natural strength and a more thoughtfull counter-punching style.

Both fighters would become house-hold names in the UK and both would go on to win and defend other world titles in the future. However, this is the moment when both were in their prime and both had huge desired to knock the other out. This was the most intense grudge match that I have ever witness in over 25 years of following the sport of boxing. This fight would be the catalist for a huge sporting rivalry that would continue even after both men had retired from the sport.

For any boxing fan, this is a must buy from Amazon.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2006
Brilliant fight and ITV commentry is also good.
A lack of fight build up but the fight is superb.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 April 2016
A bit of a guilty pleasure, this one. There was a time in the early nineties when British boxing had a fantastic crop of middleweight boxers and ITV regularly screened their fights on a Saturday evening.

This fight has long stuck in the memory, and it doesn't disappoint. ITV had been promoting Benn for some time and clearly wanted him to win. Eubank was the arrogant outsider whom no-one liked and many wanted to fail. But he didn't. He proved himself the better boxer and deserved the win from a brilliant fight.

His celebration at the end and comment to the interviewer (whose questions were ridiculously crass) that he was in too much pain to talk have long stuck in my memory. Eubank was more gracious in victory than Benn was in defeat. The DVD (available from Lovefilm by Post), is simply the ITV broadcast without the ads and no extras, but well worth watching.

Sadly the golden age didn't last. Like so many sports, boxing sold out to satellite and was lost to terrestrial audiences. Interest dwindled and I doubt we'll ever see a period like this again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2013
Bought this as a present for our son in law as he likes boxing . He said he watched this match with much loved but now departed grandad. He was very pleased with the gift and we were very happy with whole service from you . 10 out of 10 would recommend and use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2013
Chris Eubank vs Nigel Benn 1990
A great fight full of twist and turns will it go one way or the other.
If you even have a slight interest in boxing this one to own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Best all British scrap of the 90s. Cant say more than that really.

Should just have downloaded the damned thing though. ROFL
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
LOVE THIS DVD AND WISH THE FOLLOW UP/REMATCH WAS ALSO AVAILABLE ON DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)