Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the first...
After being disappointed by the original Need For Speed: Underground game, due to its lack of the ability to keep playing once completed, when i heard of the new game, i wasn't too bothered. around 2 months after the release date my friend had the game so i had a play, and i must say, its an absolutely outstanding game, the huge range of parts is awesome, the feel of...
Published on 23 Jan 2005 by DVD-Man

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2)
I had already purchased Need For Speed : Underground for the PS2 and found it to be an amazing tuning/driving game, which had alot to offer, and then I heard that a second was already on its way.
I thought alot about getting it, but after the adverts and hype, I was persuaded to own it, so naturally, I went on Amazon to order it.
My first views were that this...
Published on 4 April 2005 by Matthew


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much better than the first..., 23 Jan 2005
By 
DVD-Man (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
After being disappointed by the original Need For Speed: Underground game, due to its lack of the ability to keep playing once completed, when i heard of the new game, i wasn't too bothered. around 2 months after the release date my friend had the game so i had a play, and i must say, its an absolutely outstanding game, the huge range of parts is awesome, the feel of driving and the graphics are amazing, the amount of things to do is amazing and the organic drifting is so fun its unbelievable... Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas and The Getaway: Black Monday have been knocked to the bottom of the pile since i received my copy of this game. It is a must buy for anyone, and i'd say worthy of more than a 5 star!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars second best game if you like modding, 11 Nov 2005
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
need for speed underground is currently the best modding game out there, but if you like modding cars and escaping police then need for speed most wanted is the game for you, better graphics and gameplay then the underground, but this game rocks to, i clocked the stroy line in 4 days. if you cant afford most wanted then this is the game for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've actually played it...... WARP SPEED MR SULU!!!, 22 Nov 2004
By 
John Shonfield "Short Bloke" (English in Brussels) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
yup..this is defo better than the first NFS underground. The introduction of the free roaming is cool. You can now pull up next to any other racers you meet on the road when you are going to events and challenge them to a one on one...no set route, just get in front and they have to chase you.. get far enough in front and you win..simple. The music is good, the upgrades are just silly, soooo many. A couple of new races modes like street X and the underground racing league... its all good. Its one of the few racing games where you actually feel like you are in control of the car... like in GTA.. its good but didnt it take you all a while to get used to the fact the cars wont go round corners and the brakes only seem to work in straight lines? NFS cars stick to the road and this makes the game much better than the rest. Im not interested in all that technical mumbo jumbo about graphics and AI engines.. whatever. This games looks good, plays good and sounds good. Sure there are one or two funny little bugs but come on.. who really cares about that. Im just waiting for the train-spotters out there to start bangin on about the faults in the games... well this game is excellent.. Works for me....as we all know this is basically the game version of the fast and the furious.. in the opening sequence there is even a bald geezer that bears a striking resemblance to Vin Diesel..Coincidence???..naaa. Bottom line: If you like street racing games.. get this...nuff said!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pretty good, 9 Nov 2004
By 
Sincerity (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I recently played a demo of this game. It is basically the same as need for speed 1, and if like me you enjoyed number 1...this game will not be a dissapointment. There are more cars, more body parts and you can even customise the interior of your chosen vehicle. The city is free roaming so you can drive anywhere and even race at any time. This is achieved by driving up alongside another racer and tapping up or down on the dpad. This activates the race and your objective is to get ahead of the opponent, and then drive anywhere you like, as long as you lose the guy whos racing you. Drag, circuit and Drift all return. I didnt give this a 5 because it is basically the same as the original, and the free roaming city doesn't really work. However if your looking for more of the same then this game deserves a 5 and your attention. an excelent purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely the best, 20 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is worth every penny- I'd recommend it to anyone who has even the faintest interest in cars. The speed is incredible, as the well as the cars and graphics. Go get it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need the Speed, 7 Jan 2005
By 
Smalldude (England, Norfolk) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Need for Speed Underground was released more than a year ago, it wasn't the best game in the world but it was still good. Recently, EA games, have unleashed their fury, after countless efforts to create a monster game, they have finally released a proper classic. Need for speed underground 2!!!!!!
The game starts when this 'woman' named Rachel, begins talking about the street racing events being held. Then you find yourself in Rachel's really sweet car. You are then given a choice. You can either go back to your garage or do a couple of races. Lets just say you decide to go and take part in some races.
There are a number of courses including, Sprint, Drift, Drag, Circuit, Street x and URL (underground racing league). You can participate in all of these races in multiplayer. If you enjoy customizing cars then you can customize whichever car you've unlocked in career mode and then race them in multiplayer.
A great new feature EA have included with the game is being able to explore the city and do what ever race you like. It's a tiny bit like GTA except your car has more features to it.
All in all it's a fast and furious driving game where you can customize your car with nitrous oxide and put the pedal to the metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome!!!!!!!!!!!, 25 Jun 2005
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I love this game but I sadly made a big mistake by doing a part-ex with it for midnight club 3 DUB edition. The graphics are better on this the game play is better, and you feel more as thought you have worked your way up to be the best as you start with a very basic car but on midnight club 3 DUB edition you start with quite a good car. There is also more of a game to it. People may disagree but I love it. Buy it, and not midnight club 3 DUB edition, if your like me and into street racing and tuning cars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFSU2, 10 Jan 2005
By 
O. Lea "olileauk" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
Incredible!
I played the first NFSU, and found it pretty boring and linear, but after recieving this game for christmas and playing it for hours and hours, I definetly think this game is much better than the original. Even without online capabilities (I don't have broadband) This game's single player is excellent, and the fact that if a friend comes over, has the game, and brings his (or her) memory card, they can use thier own car to race. The idea you have to find hiden shops and that there are hidden races and hidden money mean that as well as doing all the races shown on the minimap, there are hidden races and random bits of money lying about, as well as hidden shops that enable even more unlocks! All of the stuff takes ages to unlock. Overall i would definetly give this game 9 out of 10, because i wish the CPU's AI enabled them to challenge you to races. Buy it Now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NFSU2 top racing gane ever., 21 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I got this game just the other day as we all know the first one was excellent, The second one has small improvements and more gameplay options. The graphics are cracking and i suggest if your a NFS fan or even a car racing fan then you should without a second thought get this game, It does not disapoint in any way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2), 4 April 2005
By 
Matthew (Flitwick, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) (Video Game)
I had already purchased Need For Speed : Underground for the PS2 and found it to be an amazing tuning/driving game, which had alot to offer, and then I heard that a second was already on its way.
I thought alot about getting it, but after the adverts and hype, I was persuaded to own it, so naturally, I went on Amazon to order it.
My first views were that this was an amazing game, and although the music was a little on the pathetic side, it was so detailed, and because you could create the "perfect" car to match your taste, that I would never get bored of this game.
About a month after playing this game, I found out how wrong I was, tuning up cars and letting them loose on the streets of Bayview, got highly dull, the developers let you unlock everything so quickly that there was absolutely no point of carrying on to play this game, street races had turned to be nothing special and the fact that you can drive SUVs didn't excite me at all. Many people have agreed with my opinion and I just happen to be one of the first people to admit it, this game is a waste of money, and not the great improvement from the first Need for Speed : Underground, which it promised to be.
My final thoughts are this:
If you haven't purchased Need For Speed : Underground, get this.
If you are obsessed with tuning cars, get this.
If you have the first Need For Speed : Underground, you will find that this gets boring quicker, and you will release that it is just a cheap rip-off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2)
Need For Speed Underground 2 (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews