Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo and Capcom triumph again!
Zelda, for me, has always been the jewel in Nintendo's crown. I've been a fan of the series ever since the start and own every game released in the UK so far in the series (the Minish Cap hit the UK before the US and Japan, fact fans!), from the original gold NES carts up to The Wind Waker. However, as excellent as the Wind Waker was (and still is), it'd lost that...
Published on 29 Nov. 2004 by ToxieDogg

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but not up to the standard of Link's other 2D adventures
An instalment in the Zelda series arriving on a Nintendo console is as inevitable as the sun rising to the East or a game with the word 'Wii' in its title selling millions of copies. After the excellent Oracles dualogy on the Game Boy Color, with this instalment Flagship and Nintendo kept the series in its 2D guise, tipping the hat to the SNES classic A Link to the Past...
Published on 28 Oct. 2009 by Trigger


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nintendo and Capcom triumph again!, 29 Nov. 2004
By 
ToxieDogg (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
Zelda, for me, has always been the jewel in Nintendo's crown. I've been a fan of the series ever since the start and own every game released in the UK so far in the series (the Minish Cap hit the UK before the US and Japan, fact fans!), from the original gold NES carts up to The Wind Waker. However, as excellent as the Wind Waker was (and still is), it'd lost that 'sparkle' from the other games, and seemed a bit less 'epic' (due to not as many dungeons & bosses as normal) and a little more, well, boring (esp. the sailing bits). It's nice to see the series firmly back on track with this game.
Developed by Capcom (in the same way the Zelda: Oracles games for Game Boy Color were, though it's just a single game this time around), The Minish Cap puts you in control, as always, of Link (or whatever you decide to call him), and sends you on a quest to find the 'Minish', a group of tiny people, to restore a legendary sword and save Zelda from a curse which has turned her to stone. The game uses the same perspective as the previous handheld (and SNES) versions, although it looks and sounds even nicer this time. The graphics are based on those used in The Wind Waker, and actually work better in 2D than 3D (in my opinion,), and music is a made up of remixed of traditional Zelda themes and all new music. Playability is superb - Link now has the ability to roll (as he does in the 3D games) and more abilities become available as the game progresses - and the Minish Cap of the title is used to clever effect...not only do you get a reasonable sized map to explore, but use the cap to shrink to the size of the Minish people (about the size of an ant) and you can have a 'Land Of The Giants' type experience, where even a small plant can be a huge obstacle. And the game never becomes a chore...puzzles are always clever (but solvable) and a wide variety of mini-games and all new inventory items (such as the Gust Jar) keep it fresh along the way.
In fact, if there is one criticism I could throw at this game, it's that the puzzles, although familiar to Zelda veterans, are still tough enough to provide a decent challenge (which is good), but will just seem plain obscure to new players and may put them off before they've reached the second or third dungeons. This certainly doesn't ruin the game though, it is truly brilliant and overall, a remarkable return to form for Zelda. And considering also how excellent the Zelda: Oracles games were (even better than Link's Awakening, I thought), we can only hope that Nintendo team up with Capcom again for more quests in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A title not to be missed..., 13 Oct. 2005
By 
King (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
The Legend of Zelda has been one of the most succesful and best selling video game series of all time. Since the release of the snes, up until the highly anticipated 3rd generation nintendo console, Zelda sales have proudly flooded through gaming fans, and best of all, continue to come with excellent quality. Not one zelda game has been a major dissapointment to date, which naturally draws us to the fact that 'The Minish Cap' is not just an acceptable game, but a superb one at that.
First of all, the visual effects and smoothness have drastically improved in relation to The Oracle of A/S. Zelda fans will be delighted at how close nintendo and capcom have managed to keep the gameplay and style to the original GBC counterparts, whilst adding on a superb graphical improvement, which makes the game a lot more pleaserable to play. Yes, Capcom have done an excellent job in keeping the game exactly how the fans want it.
The gameplay is spot on, however the plot is sadly not up to standard . A student wizard becomes corrupt with greed, and consequently, using all the wizardry his teacher had taught him, turned it against him. Not the best of plots but decent considering that he turns his master into a hat(hence 'minish cap') and helps Link along his quest to rescure Zelda and the world. A new addition to the Zelda universe are the picori(minish) which are microscopic life forms which link can communicate with once he becomes supersmall. Despite the games apparently vague and uncompelling story, the gameplay and tilt make up for this, as well as the beautifull soundtrack and graphics.
For any Zelda fan, this is an absolute must. For RPG fans, this is also a necessary buy. For casual gamers, still buy it and play it.
A quality Zelda title like this is not to be missed, and if current predictions are correct, this could be the last Zelda game on the GameBoy which adopts the overhead view which has worked so well with the Zelda games, ever since the first title spawned and flourished into the gaming world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zelda at its best!!, 13 Feb. 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
I'm a 19 year old girl,and for christmas last year, I asked for a gameboy advanced...sad? yes, but i HAD to try out this zelda!! i'm a massive zelda fan and I have been since I was 5. Anyway, I wasn't disapointed with this game! it is very hard at times, and to be honest yes i did have to look up a walkthrough to do certain bit's ! I spent about two weeks to complete it which I thought was a shame as it could of done with being a little bit longer! but hey, it was very fun while it lasted! its very addictive, very entertaining , very hard , yet very short , so i gave it an overall rating of 4! But please dont let that put you of! i URGE all zelda fans to give this game a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally captivating (and fun!), 14 Jan. 2005
By 
Darren Carroll "darren_carroll" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
I received a Game Boy Advance and a copy of this game for Xmas and I started playing it with some trepidation, I didn't know whether I was going to like it or not.
I shouldn't have worried beacuse it's fantastic in every way, a work of genius! The main quest in the game has you setting out on an adventure to rescue the princess Zelda who's been turned to stone by the mysteriuos Vaati. This main quest has you trying to find 4 elements (Earth, Wind, Fire and Water) to magically transfer to your sword. These elements can be found in seperate dungeons which, in typical Zelda style, need a combination of puzzle solving and sword wielding to negotiate.
If you get bored (or stuck) on the main quest it's a good idea to go into Hyrule Town to relax and undertake some of the side quests. These mainly involve fusing 'Kinstones'. You find Kinstones as you go about during the main quest; cutting down hedges, opening chests and completing certain tasks. These Kinstones are half of a stone in a particular colour. Nearly everyone in town also has a half of a stone and if you can match yours with theirs something special appears or happens anywhere on the map! I spent ages travelling around fusing as many Kinstones as possible. This sounds boring but it isn't!
I found the difficulty of the main quest just right; the problems are logical (although sometimes required me to go and make a cup of tea to think things through before a flash of inspiration). You never feel cheated!
The attention to detail in the game is truly awesome and simply moving about the world is great fun.
Highly recommended for all lovers of great games; there's something here for everyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Zelda the Minish cap, 9 July 2005
By 
Dpl "dnl23" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
When i bought it i didn't think it would be that good, but it's Zelda so obviously it was amazing. You save this annoying talking hat from these weird things throwing stones at it and then it lets you use him to get advice and turn microscopic so that you can talk to the tribe of tiny people called the minish (hence the name). It still has all the classic weapons like the master sword and the boomerang and it also has some new weapons like the gust-jar and the running boots. The gameplay is great and nothing is too complicated which makes it a simple, enjoyable game. It proves that Zelda still works on GBA not just N64 and Gamecube!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smaller scale, still big fun!!!!!!, 1 Aug. 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of all the zelda titles, and this is just one more to get your teeth into.

True, its on a smaller scale but all the good stuff is still here, puzzle solving, side quests, finding and collecting items to progress you through the game, and of course, fighting the big bad and rescuing the pretty princess ( aswell as the rest of the world )If you have never played zelda or other RPG's before, be warned, there is plenty to frustrate, confuse and down-right annoy you, but if this is your cup of tea, then crack on, its well worth it!!!!!

The game play is reponsive and the graphics clear and very cute, the only thing to worry about is putting the game down for five minutes to eat and sleep, 10 out of 10, no doubt!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple but great game!, 30 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
There have been lots of negative reviews for this new Zelda game, saying it does not live up to Zelda reputation. I totally disagree. The game is in the best Zelda tradition, with plenty of great dungeons, sidequests, funny characters etc. The graphics are better then any Zelda Gameboy game ever made. The music is traditional but still very nice, the setting - villages, forests and castles - is stunning. The game carries over from The Oracle series in terms of creating several worlds you can explore, only instead of time or season here the alteration is your size. You can turn into a Minnish and explore their world (they are adorable!) or remain big and have the entire Hyrule to explore still. Fusion pieces are an exciting innovation to keep you occupied collecting, fusing and remembering to collect your rewards! The puzzles are, in truth, no match for the usual Zelda ones, the plot sort of flows itself, without you having to use your brain much to push it forward. Also, rupees and shells seem to just jump into your hands, not at all hard to find. The game might seem easy for the Zelda masterminds but for a newbie this is a great, engaging piece of software. Link's fans should buy it too, if only for the cool new items. Great game overall!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is probably one of the best games EVER, 28 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
GTA san andreas?leave it out
minish cap is a great game,full of surprises and cool new items such as the gust jar,a magic jar that sucks up air and enemies,but stops short on doing the dishes.
the ocarina of wind that will transport you(via flying duck) to any wind crest you have discovered
in this,you have to take the four sword to the minish people who can repair it so you can defeat vaati(who is no longer a flying octopus thingy as seen in four swords adventures)
as it is so huge,i havent uncoverd much of the plot yet and am only on the 2nd dungeon
in short:
own a gameboy advance?buy this game
own a DS?buy this game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A step forward for the series., 2 Jan. 2005
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
I always await the next installment of Nintendo's Legend of Zelda series and I was especially excited at the prospect of this one. This game was developed by Capcom (of Resident Evil fame) and they have done an amazing job, they also developed the Oracle games on the Gameboy Color which I very much enjoyed so I was expecting good things.
First, let's look at the graphics, the graphics in this game are crisp, bright and colourful, some of the villagers and characters look almost 3D! The animation is perfect and there are certainly no gripes in this department. The sound is as brilliant as you'd expect any Zelda to be, the main theme is extremely nostalgic and the new music is also very good, the music in Hyrule town is very catchy.
The gameplay has had some major innovations, the most obvious one is the ability to shrink to Minish Size with the aid of Ezlo (The Minish Cap) Link has access to areas previously inaccessable, and ordinary enemies become fearsome adversaries. There is also Kinstone fusion, many people own Kinstones, small pieces of stone that can fuse together, once you have fused, an event will happen such as a chest appearing or a cave opening etc. This is a very welcome feature that makes the prospect of items and upgrades very exciting.
There are also new items in the inventory such as the Gust Jar which can suck things up, and the wonderful Mole Mitts which allow Link to dig. Let me just say that the story in this game is brilliant, but I wouldn't want to spoil it for you. This is the best GBA game so far, BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome New Zelda Game., 26 Nov. 2004
This review is from: The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) (Video Game)
Nintendo did a great job releasing this New Zelda Game.
At first, I was surprised to see the New " Wind Waker " Link (our main and favourite hero in the legend of Zelda series) so I was sort of discouraged because I did not really like Wind Waker Much... but the game did not let me down once I played it.
The graphics were slightly improved and some old items were brought back, also introducing new items which were very particular such as the " The Gust Jar "
Some sound and music were from previous Zelda Games and some are new, which sound very good.
The storyline, however does not continue or relates to other storylines of other Zelda games. At the beginning, a totally new story is told to us.
The game cycles Link, our young hero who will embark on many adventures, hardships and troubles to counter. There were dozens of puzzles to solve in dungeons and many other difficult obstacles to tackle - just what Zelda Fans enjoy!
The game duration was short however, I found it easy and not *that* challenging than other Zelda Games I played. In contrast, Nintendo did a great job producing the game.
Try it yourself, if your a Zelda Fan, you will be not be dissapointed (I currently am a huge one and I am impressed) because of how well the Game features were done.
I rate it a 4.5 out of 5. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA)
The Legend of Zelda: The Minish Cap (GBA) by Nintendo (Game Boy Advance)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews