Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
210
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 23 October 2004
This remake has been handled exceptionally well.
Looking at other recent remakes (Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Ring etc.) you're perfectly entitled to feel a little bit cautious as to whether this film is going to be much cop....I know I was! Especially given that the original is one of my favourite films.
Don't worry though. It's a great film! The feeling of dread may be missing but it's replaced by tons of adrenaline-fueled terror(Thanks to the change in Zombies' speed) and the special effects and gore are second to none. What this film also has is a great sense of humour.....which is just what's needed at certain points!
Overall, this remake is not better or worse than the original, it's different. It runs at a much different pace, emphasises have changed and it's far more about fun and thrills than doom and despair.
Go see it! I recommend it.
11 comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2004
At first I was worries that this would be a cheesy hollywood style remake of the original. This turned out not to be the case at all and I think this is a great film both as a remake and as a film in its own right. There are parallels with the orginal in terms of the script but enough orginality and some excellent black humour to keep you interested. The soundtrack is excellent and there is a complete change in the zombies movements. They move pretty fast now ! All in all, a great zombie film.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2004
'Dawn of the Dead' has received a broad range of both praise and criticism. Some people within the zombie fan-base have cited being annoyed by the running zombies, the poor character development, and most of all the lack of satire and social commentary that made the original such a standout classic horror movie. As a fan of George Romero and a lover of zombie flicks in general, I nevertheless have to say that I enjoyed this movie immensely. Modern cinematography, effects, and a decent budget have produced a movie that is stylish, slick, well-paced, and that in my opinion has not 'sold-out' the genre. There is indeed little or no trace left of the social commentary on consumerism - as George Romero remarked about this movie, 'it has lost it's reason for being' - but this doesn't mean it is a bad movie. In fact, I would say that it's one of the finest zombie films ever made. The opening credits, set to Johnny Cash, are superb, and really set the mood. There are some wonderful and memorable scenes, though I won't mention them here (no spoilers!). And the ending is absolutely perfect, in my opinion.
Watching Dawn 1979 now, even though it is a great movie, I find myself cringeing just a little at the ridiculous music, the blue zombies (they had only two people to do all the zombie effects on that film! ...no disrespect to Tom Savini, who did to a great job on a low budget)... this was 25 years ago - cinematographic techniques have moved on since then!!
All in all, a welcome revision of a classic. Great stuff.
33 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2004
When I first heard that they were planning to do a remake of the classic 'Dawn Of The Dead' I have to admit I was a little sceptical, but after watching I couldn't feel anything but impressed... it really is a good film! In the shock n horror department it is very 'in your face', it's violent and gory and it certainly doesn't pull any punches. The storyline moves along well, though I felt that unlike the original it didn't really give much indication as to how much time had passed, however this is a minor gripe and isn't enough to spoil an excellent horror movie.
So is it as good as the original? Well I'm not going to enter that arena, you can make up your own mind, but I'm willing to bet that there are an awful lot of diehard George A Romero fans out there who might slam this remake publicly... but secretly love it.
Highly recommended - especially for fans of the genre (like me!)
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2012
There are some films that are required viewing for any zombie fan. The original 1980s version is on this list so too must be this re-make.

The new version is very much a re-imagining of the film. The zombies are faster, not the lumbering ghouls of old. There is possibly less slow-building tension and more racing horror but this re-make still ticks all the boxes.

Band of scared survivors - tick
Desperate stand in a shopping mall - tick
Stereotyped characters - tick
Plenty of gory zombie-action - tick

All the ingredients are there for a modern classic and that's what you get with this movie. The production is slick, the effects believable and the acting right on target.

There are some great twists in there, look out for the zombie baby. There are also some great characters such Andy stuck alone in the gun shop.

Romance and tension blossom in the Shopping Mall as the survivors realise that help is not coming and that they are on their own. It's a shame the raiders from the original didn't appear in this version but there are security guards to handle, basements to clear and some strange goings on in the baby department. You can add to this list converting a coach into a zombie-proof tank!

The story moves at pace, as do the racing zombies. The outbreak scenario is well-mapped out and believable. This movie is essential viewing, no question about it. Try not to compare it to the original, treat them like different films and enjoy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2004
This film bears more resemblance to '28 days later' than Romero's film. The zombies are virtually identical to 'the infected' in terms of their frenetic and impatient aggression unlike Romero's clumsy but persistant monsters. The high speed shutter work is also more than a little similar.
The characters are fairly shallow - especially the women who, apart from our heroine, fall into the freudian stereotypes of the virgin and mother.
The shopping mall setting and the fact that there are zombies are the only real links to the 1978 classic. The social commentary on American consumer culture has been put aside in favour of more action and suspense.
These critisisms aside, the film is quite well shot and directed. It successfully creates a very tense atmosphere and keeps the viewer on the edge of their seat throughout. Some nice use of music such as the Jonny Cash track that plys out the opening credits (one of the best elements to the film).
Overall - not a bad film at all. But probably better thought of as a reference to the original rather than a remake (especially for die-hard Romero fans).
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2012
Dawn of the Dead [Blu-ray] [2004] [US Import] [2007]

Product details run time says 1 hr 41 mins, case says 1 hr 50 mins and when I checked the blu-ray while watching I got 1 hr 49 mins.
Have sent amendment to amazon, bit annoying this when your trying to choose which version to buy.

Picture quality and sound both great, not that bothered about the extra's.

As others have said, not a big fan of fast moving zombies but if you get past that, it's a good zombie film.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have mixed feelings about this film. I am one of those people who have a lot of affection for the George A Romero originals and didn't think it should be made and didn't need to be made. But then I watched it and really enjoyed it.
Really its a different film, but with the same name. The only common ground (apart from the obvious) is that it is set in a shopping mall. In the original it was a small group of people fleeing the big city in a helicopter who land on a suburban mall and decide to hold out there. In the remake there is a larger group, who are already from that suburnban area and reach the mall on foot, to be met by the mall's security guards and a batch of later arrivals who come by truck. As a result, the group dynamics are totally different and with more people there is more scope for nasty ends for the survivors.
The film seems to be influenced as much by 28 days later as by the original Dawn of the Dead. It is shot on digtal cameras so the action sequences have the same unsettling motion effects, and the zombies are not the lumbering Romero types but fast-moving, dangerous and vicious. The emphasis here is very much on realism and gore and features some shocking effects.
I think the film should appeal to Romero fans like myself, but as an additional film and not a replacement. There are a few affectionate nods to the earlier films, like Tom Savini appearing in a cameo role, and when a helicopter is seen flying over the road near the start, it is the chopper from the earlier Dawn of the Dead, or at least a CGI rendition of it. On the other hand, my wife can't stand my zombie films but she loved this, so it appeals to fans of Romero and to fans of the Resident Evil-ype films too.
So much for the film, now for the disc itself. First of all the picture is mostly good. It seemed a bit distorted near the start, but that could be down to my player or TV but soon settled down. The sound, however, is brilliant. The well-chosen music sounds just right and the use of the surround channels is a demonstration of how to do it. In group scenes you are surrounded by zombie growls, but not in an intrusive way. I only really noticed because I am interested in such things.
The extras on the disc are, I would say, above average. The commentary (from the director and one of the 8 producers) is chatty, enthusiastic and listenable. The out-takes are about what you would expect. In any film which features a lot of effects you expect a feature or two about how the effects were achieved and this disc is no exception. There are three features: one about the zombie make up and prosthetics, one about the most spectacular killings were done, and one just about how all the shots to the head were made to look so gruesome. We have all seen this sort of thing before, but these work well because they do not dwell on the sort of things we have all seem many times before.
The remaining features are a bit different. During the film the characters watch some news reports on the TV. On the disc is an extended version of the TV show which is really an alternative telling of the films story from the wider perspective. It can almost stand alone as a sort of updated War of the Worlds sort of broadcast. In a similar vein is the video diary of the character Andy from the gun store. Its an alternative telling of the more specific story of the film from the other side of the street, in the same way that Hamlet is re-told in Rosencratz & Guildenstern Are Dead. Its like a little one-man play and would also work on its own.
The last extra is an introduction to the film, which didn't do anything for me because I watched it after the film and not before.
In conclusion, the director has left behind the social comment of Romero's films, but replaced it with a lot more action and some classic suspense moments that will have you shouting at the screen "No! Don't open the door, are you stupid or what!?" several times. The overall tone is more like Resident Evil, but done with more (sick) humour. Its entertaining, shocking, and comes with worthwhile features and spectacular violence.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
Dawn of the Dead (remake) R1 DVD.
Unrated Director's cut. 2004.
What's the biggest question facing humanity
today,? that's easy, running zombies or
walking zombies, which is best?. The picture
quality is great, widescreen 2.35:1 (top & bottom
black bars.) Fantastic sense of speed to the
attack sequences. Ferocious, beautiful &
exciting, of course, Romero's done all the groundwork.
Respectful cameos are included. One niggle, it
may say 'unrated' but there's a bit at the start, when
the girls driving through the chaos. She see's a naked
woman but her chest is obscured by blood on the
windscreen. I'm pretty sure in the U.K release
we actually see her naked. All the gores included though.
The guy from Modern Family is a real s#!t head in it.
Run time: 1hr 49min 7secs. CAROUSEL
Extras: commentary, & a lot of other stuff, another release
where you get your moneys worth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2016
I don't usually praise remakes highly, but this is classic. Who said zombies were slow and predictable lol. This Directors cut seems to have all scenes that were edited out, included/restored. May have to get it on Blu-ray, now that i loved it so much lol. DVD got despatched and delivered in time for the weekend thats just gone, so it's been enjoyed immensely. Seller is always quick at despatching and I've never had any problems with the countless films I've bought. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)