Customer Reviews


644 Reviews
5 star:
 (457)
4 star:
 (84)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (18)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


194 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator remastered: know your product
Unreserved five stars for PQ on the remastered edition (the AQ was always excellent).

Now what you really want to know: how can you be sure you're getting the new edition, and not the shoddy first release? As of 9 September, NBC Universal UK have confirmed three things:

1. They have started shipping the new edition to retailers, but it's up to...
Published on 8 Sep 2010 by M. SCOTT

versus
195 of 229 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a dissapointing transfer for such a great film
As the title suggests, this is a great film but has unfortunately been butchered on blu ray. The picture quality is absolutely dreadful, the studio has applied so much DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) to try to remove grain that they have actually removed a lot of detail in the picture itself! Crucially though, Ridley Scott filmed this with the intention of many of the...
Published on 28 Aug 2009 by K. Bukowski-Kruszyna


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

194 of 205 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator remastered: know your product, 8 Sep 2010
By 
M. SCOTT (Durham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unreserved five stars for PQ on the remastered edition (the AQ was always excellent).

Now what you really want to know: how can you be sure you're getting the new edition, and not the shoddy first release? As of 9 September, NBC Universal UK have confirmed three things:

1. They have started shipping the new edition to retailers, but it's up to retailers as to when they sell it.
2. The new edition has a "Pocket-Blu" logo on the back, comprising the pocket BLU symbol and the words "pocket BLU"; this is the sole distinguishing mark. If it's there, you have the new edition; if not, the old.
3. The combined Robin Hood/Gladiator release includes the new edition of Gladiator.

Happy hunting!

Matthew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Ray makes this look like a totally new film, 1 Jan 2011
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gladiator is a classic film, and this Blu Ray release brings it to life like never been seen before. I own the DVD of the original and extended editions, and I was shocked at the quality of the image and sound that Blu Ray gives. Some of the scenes looked surprisingly different because of the extra clarity, and the difference is breathtaking. I particularly like that this product includes the extended edition of the film in full HD, and these extra scenes just fill in a few gaps that were present in the cinema release. I was originally sceptical about the improvement that Blu Ray could give over traditional DVDs, but after seeing Gladiator I am converted. Absolutely stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Languages & Verdict, 1 May 2012
Blu Ray all zone (not confirmed)

Ratio of the feature film:
2.35:1

Length of the Theatrical Cut: 155 min
Length of the Extended Cut: 171 min

Languages of the feature film:
DTS Master Audio 5.1: English
DTS 5.1: French, Italian, German, Castilian Spanish, Latin Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese
Dolby 2.0: 2 commentaries by the director Ridley Scott and some crew's members (1 commentary for each cut)

Subtitles for the feature film and the bonuses (Disc II):
French, Italian, German, Castilian Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish, Dutch, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Portuguese, Swedish, Traditional Mandarin and English for the hard of hearings.

Extra subtitles only available on Disc II:
Japanese, Russian, Greek and Polish

Verdict:
This film on Blu Ray is nearly perfect, a good picture with an outstanding soundtrack. The soundtrack is perfect with a fantastic music. The picture has a natural but discrete noise.
Thanks to its excellent picture, we can see much more details about the battle, the fights, Rome and its magnificent buildings, monuments and of course the coliseum which looks very massive, imposing in this ancient and highly detailed city.
High Definition picture means details we are not supposed to see !!
- We can clearly during the first battle against the Prussians, 1 guy seen not fighting but smiling and walking in the wrong direction !! (9 min 44 sec), a funny take !!
- The stunt double of Russel Crowe falling from his horse during this same battle (10 min, 25 sec).
- The following day, Maximus goes to see his horse, a crew man wearing jeans standing in the background behind the horse can be seen hiding.
- For his first fight alone in the arena, at the end, when Maximus says "Are you not entertained", on the left side of the screen among the audience the cameraman and the camera are clearly visible.
- The last scenes of Proximo, as Oliver Reed passed away before the end of the shooting, a double was used for several shots and can be seen standing for Mr. Reed.

More mistakes can be seen but nevertheless, the script remains truly remarkable making this film a real pleasure to watch over and over again especially with this unforgettable score which matches every moment of the film.
You will not be disappointed, enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Are you not entertained?" Well, more or less..., 9 Sep 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It may have revived the big screen epic - and particularly the Roman epic, which had laid dormant since the disastrous failure of 1964's the Fall of the Roman Empire, which this film often copies to less effect - but Gladiator was never really in the top rank of big screen epics.

The script problems that plagued the production are also apparent in a lack of focus that is always a problem when people start building the sets before they have scenes to play in them. There's so much attention to detail in creating the world of the Roman Empire that the supporting characters sometimes get leftovers in this theatrical cut (the extended version available separately corrects that to some degree). Even Russell Crowe's personal journey seems at times poorly developed, reducing the film from a story that affects an empire to a simple revenge story, and a somewhat disappointing one at that. The climactic fight with Commodus is still a major disappointment not just because it's so underwhelmingly staged but because, unlike The Fall of the Roman Empire, the film it relentlessly plagiarises, Commodus is never a credible threat: where Anthony Mann gave him foolhardy courage, Ridley Scott has implied he's a coward throughout until even a wounded hero can't even the odds.

That said, the dialogue never descends to the banalities of 1492: Conquest of Paradise, although the visuals never reach its heights (indeed, John Mathieson's frequently muted photography is often less than impressive). Some of the less vaunted CGI shots are not all that they could be either - the tiger was fine, but the flames in one shot in the battle scene weren't moving in synch with the panning shot while the CGI of the procession into Rome looked less than convincing.

Caveats aside, it's certainly enjoyable (Marcus Aurelius' death scene aside, an ineffectual lift from Blade Runner), and both the character and the film's attitude to death - a reward, reuniting him with his family in Elysium - makes it almost unique in the genre. Despite a handful of strong scenes, it's not great, never reaching the highs of The Fall of the Roman Empire or even its own opening battle sequence (too many of the arena scenes are so over-edited they feel like they've been hacked at with a gladius at times), but it is good and the two-disc DVD set boasts a very impressive array of extras - audio commentary by Ridley Scott, John Mathieson and Pietro Scalia, 11 deleted scenes and montage of deleted footage, featurettes on the making of the film and the history of gladiatorial combat, storyboard comparisons and conceptual art, TV spots and trailers and even an Easter egg of CGI test footage for a deleted rhino fight.

However, if you're buying on DVD it's still worth picking up the extended three-disc version, which boasts another impressive array of new extras and a comprehensive documentary, but more importantly doesn't feel as disjointed or quite so disappointing as the theatrical version. It's not just that it has more room to breathe, more that the additional footage, particularly the scenes away from Maximus where the future of Rome takes center-stage, raise the stakes beyond the simplistic revenge tale the theatrical version all too often settled for. It's still no Fall of the Roman Empire, but it is a more satisfying film than the one released in cinemas.

An even better deal is the Blu-ray release, which combines both cuts with all the extras from both editions - though it should be noted that the first pressing was so poor it had to be recalled and remastered, the problems have been thankfully addressed on subsequent copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visceral, compelling viewing., 21 Sep 2014
The perfect companion to this excellent masterpiece is THE ROMA VICTRIX wine beakerCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
From the outset it should be said that "Gladiator" might appear to be a "blokey", "testosterone pumping" blood'n'guts film. Nothing could be further from the truth.

A combination of glorious photography, inspired direction and a powerfully immaculate performance by Russell Crowe transports the audience to ancient Rome. And the journey is immersive, visceral and compelling. "Gladiator" is a riveting story of treachery, tragedy, deception and revenge and is made memorable by unforgettable performances by Joaquin Phoenix, Oliver Reed, Connie Nielsen, Derek Jacobi, et al.

Joaquin delivers as Commodus, a simpering, treacherous psychopath with an apparently unfulfilled lust for his sister Lucilla and a penchant for over-vigorous paternal hugging. Ollie Reed (RIP) gives a cracker of a performance as sports agent, Proximo, whose catch cry should be "show me the denari". He literally throws his clients to the wolves.

But all the acting accolades should be showered on Russell Crowe. He thrives on the pressure of appearing in nearly every scene, a burden which would demolish a lesser actor, and he is absolutely mesmerising. What a talent.

Ridley Scott has bestowed upon us a cinematic masterpiece. This is not just a 160 minute blockbuster it is a seminal event in movie making.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than reports suggest, 30 Nov 2009
By 
I held off buying this for a while as the reports of the poor picture quality put me off. It seemed to break down to 2 camps, those who has smaller TV's saying the picture was good and those with projectors not rating the picture quality at all. However now I have it I can't see what all the complaints were about. I have a Panasonic AE2000 projector and the Pioneer Elite BDP-09FD blu-ray player (US equivalent of the LX-91) so was expecting poor-ish picture quality. However the transfer is fine. Yes there are scenes which are grainy and some which are soft focus, but it would appear these were shot this way, brightly lit scenes and dark scenes for that matter are detailed. The transfer is very good and far from the rubbbish reported. I found myself trying to watch these reported disappearing arrows at times, rather than the film as whole, and I think I convinced myself on one occasion, but that was an arrow about half an inch long and probaly 1 pixel wide on a 96" screen against the sky; I did not scan back to double check, after all I want to enjoy the film. If the reports of poor picture quality put you off then ignore them and buy it. I would seriously question the quality of the TV and player of those reporting poor picture quality. I would have given this 5 stars but the sound is only 5.1 DTS-MA, whilst my US DVD version was 6.1 DTS-ES, so why was this not released on blu-ray in 6.1 or 7.1 DTS-MA? Still it sounds fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent bonus discs !, 17 Feb 2010
By 
If you love this film, you will be overwhelmed with information on every aspect of the 'making of', interviews, artistic background details, you name it (with the exception, unless I have missed it), the musical score, which I loved. The bonus discs last well over a couple of hours, so for the enthusiast you couldn't wish for more...

I love the interview with Ridley Scott, when he peevishly comments that surely if a film wins an oscar for Best Film, the Director should get one? (which he didn't) - I have to agree... And for anyone wondering how you direct a mega film in multi country settings, and keep your sanity, he'll tell you how...

Love this set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars has he cut out the man in blue yet???, 2 Jan 2010
I've so many copies of this almost greatest movie ever shot...but for all his hype, 20 mins in, post big battle, as Russell goes to stroke his horse, there's that bloody technician in the background again...totally destroying the suspension of disbelief/bringing one back to the present with a bang.
I mean, it's not hard is it? My eldest was digitalising out things years ago.
But please Ridley, or any kind soul out there, tell me you've/they've finally bothered to do this...before yet another special money-spinning release???...cash which I'm sure is so needed..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gladiator (2000) - Augmented Reality Edition Blu-ray (2012), 11 Jun 2012
Despite the lack of the "Pocket-Blu" logo on the back of the new Augmented Reality packaging which previously comprised of the pocket BLU symbol and the words "pocket BLU" - I can confirm that this is the remastered edition.

For your Information the reference number printed on disc 1 is 28647.1/ST/G51/R1.

The Augmented Reality refers to the cover only and you need to download an app from Universal Pictures to view it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


195 of 229 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Such a dissapointing transfer for such a great film, 28 Aug 2009
By 
K. Bukowski-Kruszyna (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the title suggests, this is a great film but has unfortunately been butchered on blu ray. The picture quality is absolutely dreadful, the studio has applied so much DNR (Digital Noise Reduction) to try to remove grain that they have actually removed a lot of detail in the picture itself! Crucially though, Ridley Scott filmed this with the intention of many of the battle scenes being very grainy (it makes them seem for more gritty and real) - so to remove it would surely go against his wishes!

In the opening battle scenes in Germania for example, about half of the flaming arrows fired by the Romans have been erased on the blu ray compared to the DVD. What's worse is that the ones that remain flicker in and out of existence in a really obvious manner. Likewise Roman soldiers have their spears erased or cut in half (I'm not joking - look up AVS Forums and you'll see screenshots of what I mean). But worst of all is that the studio seems to have actually added in some print damage that wasn't present on the DVD! In some scenes (only for a split second mind you) a strange blueish blob (admittedly very small) can flash up - what's up with that?

The real kick in the teeth though is that all these problems only affect the theatrical portions of the film - all of the extended scenes have been left unmolested, and here the picture quality is fantastic. But it is very jarring when watching these scenes as you'll go from blurry to very sharp and then back again - again this is obvious to the "untrained eye" so to speak.

Ultimately it is an absolute travesty that this film has been released in such a state. It reminds me of the first US release of the Fifth Element on blu ray which was so appalling that Sony was forced to release a better version within a year (the re-release was actually very good and is region free for those that are interested).

The point remains, though, that we should not have to wait for a re-release to experience this film in a manner that blu ray is supposed to. Had the audio just been an issue then it wouldn't have mattered much, but to have the picture quality so heavily compromised that an upscaled DVD actually contains more detail is disgusting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 265 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gladiator [DVD]
Gladiator [DVD] by Ridley Scott (DVD - 2004)
£3.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews