Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Bryan...
As we all know, Bryan is a bit of a legend, and not in the teenage derogitory way in which the phrase is now used, but in the way that that term should be used; as confirmation of his place in popular music history. His extremely strong vocals never fail to disappoint, track highlights including 'East Side Story' and 'She's a Little Too Good For Me'. This album makes the...
Published on 24 Sep 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Similar to 18 til I die.
This has some great songs on it (East Side Story, Open Road) but there are some right duffers too (Flying, Why do you have to be so hard to love). Bryan Adams has struggled to release a consistent album since Waking up the Neighbours. This album doesn't stop the rot!
Published on 5 July 2007 by M. Simper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Bryan..., 24 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
As we all know, Bryan is a bit of a legend, and not in the teenage derogitory way in which the phrase is now used, but in the way that that term should be used; as confirmation of his place in popular music history. His extremely strong vocals never fail to disappoint, track highlights including 'East Side Story' and 'She's a Little Too Good For Me'. This album makes the classic driving album in my opinion; ok, there are a few slow moments in the form of 'Nowhere Fast' and 'Why Do You Have to be so Hard to Love', but these are still extremely good tracks, just not to my personal taste. I have played parts of this album to lots of people, and everyone absolutely loves it. If you're a Bryan fan, then this is essential, it's much more upbeat album than 'On a Day Like Today', and if you're undecided on whether to purchase this album, take a leap and buy it, you certainly should not be disappointed with this fun, lively album from such a talented artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked Reckless? You'll love this!, 1 Nov 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
There have been a fair few negative reviews of this album, all of which I feel are unjustified. This is an album of variety, and the sound is still very much Bryan Adams - you can hear the influence of 'Run To You' in 'Open Road' (one of my favourites on the record - and im sure Open Road will join the long list of Bryan Adams classics in the future) and East Side Story is so infectious that you will struggle to stop yourself dancing along to it... the mark of any good song!
I have to admit, I find 'Flying' a little slow, but it's a grower, definitely.
Having just heard him on his Room Service tour, I can confirm that this new album sounds just as good live - and comparing the old with the new, Room Service matches up to the original favourites - Heaven, Summer of 69, Run To You.... the list goes on.
If you have loved Bryans old music, then you will definitely love this record as well. Naturally his music has matured, but he hasnt worsened with age as many artists do, he's simply evolved and carried his music into the 21st century (successfully!)
p.s.... he's a nice guy too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Oct 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
this is a brilliant album its got great words backed up by great tunes.especially songs like flying and i was only dreaming weather you like mellow songs or fast paced this albums got em with upbeat songs like east side story and shes a little too good for me,all the songs are great and catchy youl prob know all the words after hearin the songs once!!weather your a bryan adams fan or just a fan of good music(unlike most of the stuff hovering around the charts at the moment)then this is the album for you
buy it you wont regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll always get the best of him, 28 Oct 2004
By 
C.Clarke (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
Ignore all the negative reviews you may have read, if you're a BA fan you will love Room Service. So many tracks off this album have just stuck in my head and refuse to be dislodged. The album opener Eastside Story is a cracker, arguably the best song he's written since Waking up the neighbours era.
I'm not going to individually review each track because you need to make up your own minds. However my personal highlights are the title track, Room Service, the first single Open Road (which reminds me so much of Run to You) and Not Romeo Not Juliet, a catchy slow burner of a track, which I think may well be the next single.
To be honest though there isn't a bad or even remotely poor track on the album. I tried hard not to like Flying as I'm a fan of his rockier stuff but having seen him perform this track acoustically on his recent UK tour it's now also firmly lodged in my head. It was also good to see him reunited on this track with Robert John "Mutt" Lange, the master producer who has done so much good work with BA but also Def Leppard and AC/DC.
Blessing in Disguise is a great way to finish the album, a real bluesy rocker reminiscent of his cover of Come On Everybody, which he used to perform live in the early nighties. The album does tail off a bit towards the end but this is a minor criticism. In summary, Room Service is a great album from a bunch of great musicians, it's not his best, I still rate Waking up the neighbours as his highpoint but it could well be a close 2nd and it's well worth a place in your collection. I just hope that the guy's decide to bring out a new live album as the live arena is where they really come into there own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
"Room Service" is Bryan Adams' first studio album for 6 years and in my opinion it is definately worth the wait. The album was recorded between 2002-2004 whilst bryan was on tour and most of the recordings were completed in hotel rooms whilst on the road.
The sound is much more raw and has a much more Rock feel to it.
Their are many really great songs on this album many of which rock but at the same time one or two are classic Ballads,the most impressive of which is "Flying" and "This Side of Paradise"
The mid paced Rock Songs include East Side Story,Not Romeo Not Juliet,Why do you have to be so Hard to Love" all with brilliant hooks that will have you humming them for a long time."Open Road" is very similar to "Run to You"
My personal favourites are the fast paced rock songs: She's a Little too Good For Me",Room Service"Right Back Where I Started From" and "Nowhere Fast"
My only complaint was probably the bonus song which was similar to a 50's rock n'roll song, however don't let that put you off buying this great record as all the other tracks are classic Bryan Adams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are crazy days, 1 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
Like so many others have said, if you like Bryan Adams, you won't be disappointed by his latest effort. It's everything that makes Bryan great!
My favourite ballad is Why Do You Have To Be So Hard To Love. Really beautiful song. Open Road is classic BA, I can just imagine driving away from the bright lights of the city onto the open road, listening to this track. Blessing in Disguise is reminiscent of Elvis and a great way to finish the album.
BA comes across as slightly jaded on many of these tracks, for example on Room Service particularly, 'its a different melody but the same old song' or This Side of Paradise 'i dont wanna hear no lies, i just want something to believe in, its a lonely lonely road we're on.' East Side Story 'seems like the ones that you can't have, are the ones you want the most'. Having said that, in no way is this a depressing collection of songs. It seems to show a mature side of BA, sort of reflective with thoughtful lyrics, but at the same time the songs themselves remain upbeat and catchy.
This is a great album from BA, well worth the wait (shame it is so short though). Songs that will stick in your head and have you singing along after only a few listens. It is definitely different to his earlier works, but I agree with another reviewer who said BA is just moving with the times. If you're tempted, buy it....it won't let you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in musical form, 19 Sep 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
By far the best album by Mr Adams. I heard the album on Radio 2 and this is by far his most intimate album to date. I will be buying the album come Monday and rate it as a great drive time album, as well as one to get cozy to.
The best track for me would have to be room service, I feel the album is a return to the Adams heyday and I'm sure it will attract many new fans.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Similar to 18 til I die., 5 July 2007
By 
M. Simper "musicalspanner" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
This has some great songs on it (East Side Story, Open Road) but there are some right duffers too (Flying, Why do you have to be so hard to love). Bryan Adams has struggled to release a consistent album since Waking up the Neighbours. This album doesn't stop the rot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Room Service - On A Par with Reckless!, 20 Sep 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
Not much to say but wow! I popped to music store early monday morning to but this, took it home, and listened to it all day! It features some of the best BA lyrics ever, and some of the best Keith Scott guitar playing you've ever heard. All you that thought he was past it.....think again, this guy is gunna be around for ages yet. Judging on the effort in this album, his music is not getting worse - its getting better, cleverer and is gunna last much longer than anything else he's ever done before. This album will be enjoyed by anyone who likes a good set of light rocky, feel good songs. This record WILL make your life so much better. Matt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A slightly new angle, 28 Sep 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
This is another good album from Bryan. Being a fan i was bound to like it. Its not as good as the classic "Waking up the neighbours" but is better than his last album "on a day like today". There are some really nice tracks, esp. East Side Story and I was only Dreamin'. Most of the tracks are nice and easy listening and involve more than just the standard guitar music. The only criticism I can give is on the more up beat classic sounding Bryan tracks which don't show much imagination, but if you are a Bryan fan you will still like them! Certainly an album worth getting hold of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Room Service
Room Service by Bryan Adams (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews