Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked Reckless? You'll love this!
There have been a fair few negative reviews of this album, all of which I feel are unjustified. This is an album of variety, and the sound is still very much Bryan Adams - you can hear the influence of 'Run To You' in 'Open Road' (one of my favourites on the record - and im sure Open Road will join the long list of Bryan Adams classics in the future) and East Side Story...
Published on 1 Nov 2004 by j_brickley

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Similar to 18 til I die.
This has some great songs on it (East Side Story, Open Road) but there are some right duffers too (Flying, Why do you have to be so hard to love). Bryan Adams has struggled to release a consistent album since Waking up the Neighbours. This album doesn't stop the rot!
Published on 5 July 2007 by M. Simper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liked Reckless? You'll love this!, 1 Nov 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
There have been a fair few negative reviews of this album, all of which I feel are unjustified. This is an album of variety, and the sound is still very much Bryan Adams - you can hear the influence of 'Run To You' in 'Open Road' (one of my favourites on the record - and im sure Open Road will join the long list of Bryan Adams classics in the future) and East Side Story is so infectious that you will struggle to stop yourself dancing along to it... the mark of any good song!
I have to admit, I find 'Flying' a little slow, but it's a grower, definitely.
Having just heard him on his Room Service tour, I can confirm that this new album sounds just as good live - and comparing the old with the new, Room Service matches up to the original favourites - Heaven, Summer of 69, Run To You.... the list goes on.
If you have loved Bryans old music, then you will definitely love this record as well. Naturally his music has matured, but he hasnt worsened with age as many artists do, he's simply evolved and carried his music into the 21st century (successfully!)
p.s.... he's a nice guy too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good old Bryan..., 24 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
As we all know, Bryan is a bit of a legend, and not in the teenage derogitory way in which the phrase is now used, but in the way that that term should be used; as confirmation of his place in popular music history. His extremely strong vocals never fail to disappoint, track highlights including 'East Side Story' and 'She's a Little Too Good For Me'. This album makes the classic driving album in my opinion; ok, there are a few slow moments in the form of 'Nowhere Fast' and 'Why Do You Have to be so Hard to Love', but these are still extremely good tracks, just not to my personal taste. I have played parts of this album to lots of people, and everyone absolutely loves it. If you're a Bryan fan, then this is essential, it's much more upbeat album than 'On a Day Like Today', and if you're undecided on whether to purchase this album, take a leap and buy it, you certainly should not be disappointed with this fun, lively album from such a talented artist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 4 Oct 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
this is a brilliant album its got great words backed up by great tunes.especially songs like flying and i was only dreaming weather you like mellow songs or fast paced this albums got em with upbeat songs like east side story and shes a little too good for me,all the songs are great and catchy youl prob know all the words after hearin the songs once!!weather your a bryan adams fan or just a fan of good music(unlike most of the stuff hovering around the charts at the moment)then this is the album for you
buy it you wont regret it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll always get the best of him, 28 Oct 2004
By 
C.Clarke (Cheltenham, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
Ignore all the negative reviews you may have read, if you're a BA fan you will love Room Service. So many tracks off this album have just stuck in my head and refuse to be dislodged. The album opener Eastside Story is a cracker, arguably the best song he's written since Waking up the neighbours era.
I'm not going to individually review each track because you need to make up your own minds. However my personal highlights are the title track, Room Service, the first single Open Road (which reminds me so much of Run to You) and Not Romeo Not Juliet, a catchy slow burner of a track, which I think may well be the next single.
To be honest though there isn't a bad or even remotely poor track on the album. I tried hard not to like Flying as I'm a fan of his rockier stuff but having seen him perform this track acoustically on his recent UK tour it's now also firmly lodged in my head. It was also good to see him reunited on this track with Robert John "Mutt" Lange, the master producer who has done so much good work with BA but also Def Leppard and AC/DC.
Blessing in Disguise is a great way to finish the album, a real bluesy rocker reminiscent of his cover of Come On Everybody, which he used to perform live in the early nighties. The album does tail off a bit towards the end but this is a minor criticism. In summary, Room Service is a great album from a bunch of great musicians, it's not his best, I still rate Waking up the neighbours as his highpoint but it could well be a close 2nd and it's well worth a place in your collection. I just hope that the guy's decide to bring out a new live album as the live arena is where they really come into there own
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
"Room Service" is Bryan Adams' first studio album for 6 years and in my opinion it is definately worth the wait. The album was recorded between 2002-2004 whilst bryan was on tour and most of the recordings were completed in hotel rooms whilst on the road.
The sound is much more raw and has a much more Rock feel to it.
Their are many really great songs on this album many of which rock but at the same time one or two are classic Ballads,the most impressive of which is "Flying" and "This Side of Paradise"
The mid paced Rock Songs include East Side Story,Not Romeo Not Juliet,Why do you have to be so Hard to Love" all with brilliant hooks that will have you humming them for a long time."Open Road" is very similar to "Run to You"
My personal favourites are the fast paced rock songs: She's a Little too Good For Me",Room Service"Right Back Where I Started From" and "Nowhere Fast"
My only complaint was probably the bonus song which was similar to a 50's rock n'roll song, however don't let that put you off buying this great record as all the other tracks are classic Bryan Adams
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Outdated and instantly forgettable, 13 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
25 years since he released his first single, Bryan is still trying to reinvent himself without forgetting about his past. At least, that's the impression I get when I listen to this record.

Problem is, he doesn't quite seem to understand that his production style is since long outdated. Even when "On a Day Like Today" and its single "When You're Gone" was released five or six years earlier, this style was already on its way out, and this album doesn't do anything to update his music, which means that it sounds much older than it actually is.

This wouldn't be such a problem if the songs were good. But they're so slick, never taking any risks, and so effortless, they just flash by without leaving much of an impression. The lyrics has so many clichés they're cringeworthy, and a lot of the songs sounds like they couldn't have taken more than 30 minutes, much less six years, to come up with.

Overall, it's harmless enough, it's catchy and a pleasant listen, but it's not memorable by any means. I could have lived without it.

HIGHLIGHTS: "East Side Story", "This Side of Paradise", "Not Romeo Not Juliet", "Open Road", "Room Service".

(Further note: someone wrote that "If you liked "Reckless" you'll like this one too". I love "Reckless", but I don't like this album. So don't judge by just one review.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Similar to 18 til I die., 5 July 2007
By 
M. Simper "musicalspanner" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
This has some great songs on it (East Side Story, Open Road) but there are some right duffers too (Flying, Why do you have to be so hard to love). Bryan Adams has struggled to release a consistent album since Waking up the Neighbours. This album doesn't stop the rot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellence in musical form, 19 Sep 2004
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
By far the best album by Mr Adams. I heard the album on Radio 2 and this is by far his most intimate album to date. I will be buying the album come Monday and rate it as a great drive time album, as well as one to get cozy to.
The best track for me would have to be room service, I feel the album is a return to the Adams heyday and I'm sure it will attract many new fans.
BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars These are crazy days, 1 Mar 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
Like so many others have said, if you like Bryan Adams, you won't be disappointed by his latest effort. It's everything that makes Bryan great!
My favourite ballad is Why Do You Have To Be So Hard To Love. Really beautiful song. Open Road is classic BA, I can just imagine driving away from the bright lights of the city onto the open road, listening to this track. Blessing in Disguise is reminiscent of Elvis and a great way to finish the album.
BA comes across as slightly jaded on many of these tracks, for example on Room Service particularly, 'its a different melody but the same old song' or This Side of Paradise 'i dont wanna hear no lies, i just want something to believe in, its a lonely lonely road we're on.' East Side Story 'seems like the ones that you can't have, are the ones you want the most'. Having said that, in no way is this a depressing collection of songs. It seems to show a mature side of BA, sort of reflective with thoughtful lyrics, but at the same time the songs themselves remain upbeat and catchy.
This is a great album from BA, well worth the wait (shame it is so short though). Songs that will stick in your head and have you singing along after only a few listens. It is definitely different to his earlier works, but I agree with another reviewer who said BA is just moving with the times. If you're tempted, buy it....it won't let you down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best new Bryan since 18 'til I die, 20 Sep 2004
By 
Mr. S. Insley "Steve" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Room Service (Audio CD)
On first listening to this album, you may think the writing isn't quite up to Bryan's older songs, but it will grow on you! The songs on this CD are generally more upbeat than those on On A Day Like Today and the production hints more at his more recent work with Chicane and on the Spirit soundtrack. That said, it's not all electronic swooshes and pads, it is still mainly guitar based (what he does best).
Fans of Bryan will love this album. Those who prefer his '80s sound will still think this is a bit soft sounding, but there really isn't a duff song on here.
Narrowly missed the 5th star as no one song jumped out at me like on most of his pre-unplugged albums... but maybe by the time I've listened a little more I'll find something I didn't hear first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Room Service
Room Service by Bryan Adams (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews