Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!!!!!but you won't treasure it
i love most of this album because generally the songs are comical,political and fresh,but em has let the world down on certain songs with stupid voices,i am a true em and 2pac fan and i am worried that 2pac's new album loyal to the game will have poorly produced songs by eminem.buy the album because there are good songs,just don't expect another eminem show
Published on 10 Nov. 2004 by ryanorocks

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible with a few silly moments!
The much anticipated return album, is a mixed bag of Eminem at his best and at his worst. Tracks like "Mosh" seething with righteous rage, the stirring/disturbing "Spend some time" and truly moving "Mockingbird" really shine through. Even the marching beat between the chorus refrain of "Like toy soiders" works well, even though on first listen it sounds like it shouldn't...
Published on 19 Nov. 2004 by New Kid in Town


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not great, 18 Mar. 2005
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Let's be honest - a follow up to the Eminem Show was always going to be difficult. It became a classic Eminem album as soon as it was released in a way his other albums hadn't quite managed. To be frank, Encore sounds like all the songs which didn't fit into the flow of The Eminem Show bundled together on a CD and released. That's not to say all the songs are bad, and Eminem is really being offensive for its own sake, rather than genuinely hating.
There's plenty of childish humour in Encore, and there is really not a lot which showcases his skill as a rapper. Most songs are just that...songs. Eminem sings a lot and raps a little, which is why this album was not so appealing to me. I admire Eminem's skills, and his work on this album does not show them off.
There's too much child and not enough adult in Encore. Classic songs such as 'guilty conscience' from the Slim Shady LP and 'way I am' from the Marshall Mathers LP really demonstrate how talented a rapper Eminem is, and when they rub shoulders on the same album with 'real slim shady' and 'stan', it strikes a great balance between intelligent and inane. Unfortunately, Encore is too heavy on the inane and too light on the intelligent to be truly captivating.
My advice would be to buy this album if you're a front-line Eminem fan, but if you only listen to his music every once in a while, lend it from someone - it won't be worth your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I bought this album a few days back and have not been disappointed. This is a high class album with some real classics in.
To put a few things straight: If you want another Marshal Mathers LP, this isnt it. It is more along the lines of the Eminem Show, with some more heart-full tracks mixed in to give it a unique edge. This album is better produced than any of his previous albums, perhaps not as experimental and innovative - but lets be honest he's already milked innovation dry - but lyrics still leave you sitting in silence moments after the CD finishes.
Yes there are 1 or 2 fillers (namely 'Ass Like That' and 'Big Weenie'), but it's not worth putting the album down over. Trust me, I hate a bad albums as much as anyone else but this is seriously another classic.
'Like Toy Soldiers' and 'Spend Some Time' are my favourites right now but every Eminem fan knows that it changes to your mood...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet another stunning release, 15 Nov. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
This album (Although not by a longshot) is my favourite CD by Eminem. After buying the CD on the release date I wasn't quite sure what to expect after the previous terrible Eminem show, but this shows he still has it! It is one of the few albums I can quite happily listen to right through (with the exception of maybe 1 or 2 out of the 20 tracks) and thoroughly enjoy. A must for all Eminem fans.
Standout tracks include: Yellow Brick Road, Like Toy Soldiers, Mockingbird and Mosh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars brilliant...or not, 18 Feb. 2005
By 
i-animations.com (online at www. i-animations.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
i liked most of the songs on this album.Mosh,just lose it,like toy soldiers are all brilliant.
However it is let down by the "below-adverage" songs.For example there is a song wher the main line is "i aint got no legs".I could not beleive that!
When i listen to this I usually start at track 3 because i don't mind the rest.
If you are an eminem fan this has some of his best songs.Otherwise this will not win you over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING CD, 27 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Everyone, even eminem himself are always dissing this cd, But i must say, this is defiantly one of my absolute FAVORITE Eminem albums going. of course i love them all equally, i still love this. maybe one or two of his songs on it arent great, but then he makes songs like mockingbird, ass like that and one shot two shot, which make up big time for them!! all i can say is, eminem, dont dis your amazing stuff. INCREDIBLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Encore, 14 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I'm a big fan of Eminem (mainly old stuff) and all of his side projects he has done and am also a fan of Dre and his dope beats. My favorite Em album so far is The Slim Shady LP as it is in my eyes a classic rap album, Encore doesn't dissapoint, it has tracks to chill out too, party to and to pump out in the car. If your a fan of Em u gotta get it and its better than the Eminem Show but no Slim Shady LP!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Pop, 12 Dec. 2006
By 
J. Stocks "hip-hop-head" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
This album can be summed up quickly and efficiently. As one of the top 3 rappers in history, Eminem always brings a nice flow alongside complex structures and multi's. However, since Infinite, The Slim Shady and Marshal Mathers LP's (his best albums to date in that order), his style has become pop both musically and (unfortunatley) often lyrically. On Encore this is the problem, the beats are predominantly weak, mostly fitting for children who tend to listen to the pop charts. His rapping, though still highly adequate and far better than the majority of other rappers, switches between too serious and too childish. I cannot help but think that if he applied himself properly to a set of strong hip-hop beats he could return to the form of Infinite, but he is consistently failing to do so and therefore has fallen off. There are so few genuinely talented rappers in the charts that Eminem is something of an enigma. On Encore he only manages to demonstrate a tiny sample of what he could have been if he hadn't turned so absurdly pop.

The reason that I give this album 3 stars is that Eminem still has amazing talent as a rapper, and if you can see past the beats and the subject matter then this is still very listenable to a fan of true lyricism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Album, 5 Dec. 2010
By 
Mr. Lawrence Schofield "Cravin' Ravin'" (Berwickshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I find this to be a very varied album, from melancholy tracks such as Like Toy Soldiers and Mockingbird, through serious songs such as Mosh and Yellow Brick Road, to amusing and ridiculous ones e.g. Rain Man and My 1st Single. I like them all and although people seem to have a problem with Encore because they are quite a few immature and just plain silly songs on it, I think there are enough deep, high-quality songs to "compensate" (not that the comedy input isn't good). Overall, I love the album due to the fact it manages to combine hilarity with depth. And although there are a couple of dips in quality it is well worth buying if not just so you can form your own opinion on this controversial piece of work by Mr. Mathers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What I think, 13 Nov. 2004
By 
Ms. R. Hutley "willowgirl5" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I have really been looking forward to this album for a while now and I was quite surprised to see the negative responses to its release. I don't see how anyone who's had this CD for five minutes can give an accurate accounting of it. I think the best thing about Eminem is how you can listen to it for the 500th time and still find things new and interesting. My initial feeling is that is its excellent but not quite to the standards of Marshall Mathers. (But what could be!) I would have given it a four, but I'm giving it five stars as I'm tired of people on here giving absolute rubbish 5 stars. Compared to nearly all the albums in the top 100, this is still light years ahead of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars not a bad album, 15 Nov. 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
this album is not as bad as some people say it is not as good as the eminem show but it is all in all a good album.
i bought this album because i heard mosh and just lose it and they are the two best songs on the album and personally i like eminems new style of not so sick and weird pop rap.
if eminems first album was so gross but you liked the eminem show this is the album rocks. the track i hate most is puke cos that is just gross at the beginning i personally like the softer less violent rap but whatever this album is ok but it is not the kind of album that makes you go wow even though for me mosh was a very moving track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encore
Encore by Eminem (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews