Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars136
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 November 2004
I've just listened through the whole album a few times in a row in case Im wrong, but no - its all pretty terrible. It is supposed to take off where The Eminem Show left off but doesnt match up in any way. Most of the tracks feel like theyve been thrown together and the lyrics are childish, often just becoming random words. The only tunes worth listenin to are Never Enough(just because 50 cent actually spits a good verse for once), Toy Soldiers(best song on album by far- more for the chorus and the beat than the rapping) and Mosh. Eminem seems busier cracking gross-out gags than giving us the genius lyrics we all know and love. Of course it'll still go multi-platinum just because its Eminem but the fact is if this was any other artist youd all be on here giving it bad reviews. Thank God we've got artists out there like Talib Kweli and Mos Def giving us real hip-hop
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2004
I'll keep this brief. There are some very good Eminem tracks on this album (Toy Soldiers, Spend Some Time, Mocking Bird, Puke, Yellow Brick Road) but the stinkers outweigh the good tracks. Many have suggested that Em has taken his eye off the ball and this would be an accurate assessment. It just seems unfocussed. Too many filler tracks, too many tracks trying to trade of childish gimmicks. Having said all that fans of Eminem will buy this album by the bucketful so he probably won't be that bothered, but I suggest that Em concentrates on his own music rather than his proteges, and puts his next album together with the care that his first albums were constructed with. Then he will have another classic on his hands. Unfortunely, this one will probably get filed as 'his worst album yet'
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
No, I'm not going to give it 5 starts cos' it doesn't deserve it! It is, however, a GOOD album. I was disappointed after the first listen because I was expecting too much after the genius that was The Eminem Show. The truth is Em just doesn't seem to have anything controversial to talk about anymore. That said one listen to Mosh shows you just how controversial he can be. Not my fave on the album - Mosh, that award goes to Like Toy Soldiers, surely his next single.
Other highlights include Rain Man, Just Lose It, and Ass Like That. I would much rather have an album packed full of good songs, rather than a mix of very good, average, and awful. This album falls into the latter category, but is still a very worthy purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2004
I can only assume the other people who "reviewed" this album did so by hearing a song here and there and then assuming they could review the album. Let me say were i do have done this i prob would have given it 2 stars and one just because it was Eminem.
However hearing the album straight through everything clicks into place. From least self respective song ever: Mosh to his first real party tune Just lose it this album is Ems best overall effort.
Ok there is no Stan, Superman or As the World Turns but it is a 5/5 album and the best rap album since the greeatest rap album of all time Life After Death by The Notorious B.I.G. All serious Hip-Hop fans will realise this
Peace Out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
Encore is a great album with very big hits on it.The album contains some very good songs,such as "Just lose it", "Mosh", "Ass like that", "Like toy soldiers".I took away 1 star because Eminem uses to much bad language.Eminem also in 4 of his songs feats other loan singers or a band.Nomber 3 "never enough"feats 50 & Nate Dogg.Nomber 15 "spend some time"feats Obie Trice,Stat Quo & 50 Cent.Nomber 18 "1 shot 2 shot"feats D 12. And then in nomber 20 his last song "Encore" he feats Dr Dre & 50 Cent.
To rap it up Eminem`s album,Encore is a fun filled album with many good songs on it,and its worth getting.
By Ben Kelly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2004
THE most addictive and poignant Eminem album he's released so far. Despite all the negative media about this album, i scraped together some cash and bought it. Call it womens intuition but i just knew this would be fantastic. Eminem mixes fast beats with riduling lyrics, but also has slower beats with more powerfull and sincere lyrics. My faves have to be Toy Soldiers, Mockingbird, Puke, Mosh, One Shot, Two Shot, Evil Deeds, Big Weeny and Never Enough. One of the those albums you NEVER get bored of, though give it a week or so and i'm sure my opinion on that will change.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2014
A*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2004
I dont understand why people dont like this album :-S!!! Sure it has some songs which arent as good but then u hav songs...
-Like Toy soldiers
-Mocking bird
-Encore
which are classics! Even on the songs that arent the best Em still works his lyrical skills better than most! GO BUY IT!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2004
Definatly worth buying! every song is brilliant! The album seems alot more personal and the lyrics are great!! Best album of the year so far! Its hard to pick a favourite song because there all so good, but if i had to it wud probably be 'Like Toy Soldiers'
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2005
I was slightly dissapionted by this album being a fan of his previous ones as it's far short of kind of songs that instantly grab you by the balls that were on his earlier albums. Very few of the tracks stand out and the ones that do are the more personal songs that we have kinda come to expect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)