Customer Reviews


112 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!!!!!but you won't treasure it
i love most of this album because generally the songs are comical,political and fresh,but em has let the world down on certain songs with stupid voices,i am a true em and 2pac fan and i am worried that 2pac's new album loyal to the game will have poorly produced songs by eminem.buy the album because there are good songs,just don't expect another eminem show
Published on 10 Nov 2004 by ryanorocks

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Pop
This album can be summed up quickly and efficiently. As one of the top 3 rappers in history, Eminem always brings a nice flow alongside complex structures and multi's. However, since Infinite, The Slim Shady and Marshal Mathers LP's (his best albums to date in that order), his style has become pop both musically and (unfortunatley) often lyrically. On Encore this is the...
Published on 12 Dec 2006 by J. Stocks


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too Pop, 12 Dec 2006
By 
J. Stocks "hip-hop-head" (Bradford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
This album can be summed up quickly and efficiently. As one of the top 3 rappers in history, Eminem always brings a nice flow alongside complex structures and multi's. However, since Infinite, The Slim Shady and Marshal Mathers LP's (his best albums to date in that order), his style has become pop both musically and (unfortunatley) often lyrically. On Encore this is the problem, the beats are predominantly weak, mostly fitting for children who tend to listen to the pop charts. His rapping, though still highly adequate and far better than the majority of other rappers, switches between too serious and too childish. I cannot help but think that if he applied himself properly to a set of strong hip-hop beats he could return to the form of Infinite, but he is consistently failing to do so and therefore has fallen off. There are so few genuinely talented rappers in the charts that Eminem is something of an enigma. On Encore he only manages to demonstrate a tiny sample of what he could have been if he hadn't turned so absurdly pop.

The reason that I give this album 3 stars is that Eminem still has amazing talent as a rapper, and if you can see past the beats and the subject matter then this is still very listenable to a fan of true lyricism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!!!!!but you won't treasure it, 10 Nov 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
i love most of this album because generally the songs are comical,political and fresh,but em has let the world down on certain songs with stupid voices,i am a true em and 2pac fan and i am worried that 2pac's new album loyal to the game will have poorly produced songs by eminem.buy the album because there are good songs,just don't expect another eminem show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible with a few silly moments!, 19 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
The much anticipated return album, is a mixed bag of Eminem at his best and at his worst. Tracks like "Mosh" seething with righteous rage, the stirring/disturbing "Spend some time" and truly moving "Mockingbird" really shine through. Even the marching beat between the chorus refrain of "Like toy soiders" works well, even though on first listen it sounds like it shouldn't! People can knock "Just lose it", but it has a great melody and although Jackson is too easy a target, how can you wacth the video and not smirk?! However, "Puke", "Rain man" and "Big Weenie" are adolscent lyrical nonsense that fail to excite , let alone offend, accompanied by possibly the worst melodies Em has ever committed to disc! Thankfully they are sandwiched in the middle of the CD so you can neatly skip forward!The thing is Eminem has not made a truly consistent album since "the Slim Shady LP", although the excellent "Eminem Show" came very close. However, his albums are always worth getting for the truly great stuff that makes the bulk. This CD is no exception!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Oh, how the mighty fall., 2 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
When you're one of the greatest rapping talents of all time, producing brilliant album after brilliant album, it gets harder and harder to impress, to maintain your usual standards or even push them higher as you have before. Encore, Eminem's comeback album after a two-year absence and a prolific 2002, had a great deal of expectation thrust upon, partly because of his previous high standards and partly because of his time off. Eminem, for one reason or another, was not up to the task.

Encore feels in so many ways like a reaction to his previous peak, The Marshall Mathers LP (2000) and its follow up, The Eminem Show (2002). Whereas those two albums showed him reaching artistic maturity, Encore finds him revelling in the immature toilet humour that punctuated debut album The Slim Shady LP. Where his last album saw Eminem's production reach new heights as far as complexity, texture and originality, Encore is an album made of skeletal beats and piano, a very dry production throughout. And where his previous albums were bursting with wit and originality, Encore is predominantly medicore and devoid of ideas.

There's a long way to fall from genius, but Encore is far worse than we've come to expect even from Eminem at his worst. It's not all bad; the sample from the song of the same name on 'Like Toy Soldiers' is used to the full (check out its video to see a worryingly prescient storyline involving D12 member Proof); 'Crazy In Love' uses a similar sample from Heart, but its chipmunk-speed is a depressing rip off of Kanye West's treademark; both 'Just Lose It' and 'Ass Like That' are hilarious, and even if the former is somewhat of a retread of the funnier 'Without Me,' the latter features one of his greatest insults to date - 'Britney Spears has shoulders like a man.'

Unfortunately, the majority of the album is mediocre, below par, or simply bad. 'Mosh,' despite its often thrilling political rhymes, is a shameless rehash of the brilliant 'White America,' right down the melody being hummed at the end. 'My 1st Single' is his most immature song to date, punctuated by actual gas emissions from several orifices; and unlike on his first album, here it has none of the wit or guilty enjoyment. Meanwhile, the inclusion of 50 Cent anywhere on the album is a check against it thanks to his incoherent, worthless rhymes.

All in all, this is far worse than anything we could have expected Eminem to produce, even at his worst. Being his last studio album to date, aside from his Greatest Hits it more or less acts as his career's epitaph. Let's hope that elusive fifth album will let him sign off on a better note.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 17 Nov 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
I bought this album a few days back and have not been disappointed. This is a high class album with some real classics in.
To put a few things straight: If you want another Marshal Mathers LP, this isnt it. It is more along the lines of the Eminem Show, with some more heart-full tracks mixed in to give it a unique edge. This album is better produced than any of his previous albums, perhaps not as experimental and innovative - but lets be honest he's already milked innovation dry - but lyrics still leave you sitting in silence moments after the CD finishes.
Yes there are 1 or 2 fillers (namely 'Ass Like That' and 'Big Weenie'), but it's not worth putting the album down over. Trust me, I hate a bad albums as much as anyone else but this is seriously another classic.
'Like Toy Soldiers' and 'Spend Some Time' are my favourites right now but every Eminem fan knows that it changes to your mood...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are other people hearing what i'm hearing?, 12 Nov 2004
By 
Ross Bownes (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
The wait is over, the follow up to The Eminem Show is here and has been greeted with various different responses.
Many have said it's ok, but not up to his previous releases. In my opinion i think many people are missing the point and idea behind the album.
Before hearing the album i was desperately hoping Eminem wouldn't have made another 'D12 World' album, lame, long and uninspired. Thankfully he hasn't, for the first time in a long time Eminem goes it alone, and it shows.
First listen the album seems strange in comparison to anything Eminem has done before, the songs are more melodic and the lyrics are slightly different, but don't be fooled - this is merely a distorted interpretation of his previous recordings. From The Slim Shady Lp through to Encore we see Eminem evolving his style - comical on Slim Shady, Emotional on Marshall Mathers, Pissed off on Eminem Show and finally Mature on Encore.
Songs such as 'Toy Soldiers' and 'Evil Deeds' are instant classics, making them radio friendly, but deeper songs such as 'Mosh' and 'Spend Some Time' show real versitility within his style, relying more on emotion and pure energy. He even revisits his comical side on 'Ass Like That' which is one of the best songs featured, as Eminem changes his accent, fantastic.
All in all, buy the CD, make your own mind up, in my opinion the other reviews are way off course, see what YOU think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING CD, 27 Sep 2012
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Everyone, even eminem himself are always dissing this cd, But i must say, this is defiantly one of my absolute FAVORITE Eminem albums going. of course i love them all equally, i still love this. maybe one or two of his songs on it arent great, but then he makes songs like mockingbird, ass like that and one shot two shot, which make up big time for them!! all i can say is, eminem, dont dis your amazing stuff. INCREDIBLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Encore? - Not again please!, 20 May 2009
By 
A. J. Tsintas "Andy MFT" (Brum) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
One of the greatest fell off. That's what the sound of this offering tells us. 'Mosh' is reasonable and 'Never Enough' is quite good and that's it, seriously that's it. The rest is ridiculous peurile nonsense that Eminem has got away with before because it was funny but not any more.

What's wierd is that around this time he guested on 'We Aint' on 'The Documentary' from The Game and 'Gatman and Robbin' on 'The Massacre' by 50 cent and blew them both away, yet his own stuff is this paltry.

Only once have I ever felt this let down by an idol, that was when Prince Naseem Hamed decided not to make a decent comeback after being taught a lesson by Barrera. The difference here is that Eminem has done this to himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK album, not his best though, 20 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
When I first heard this album it felt as if I was listening to his previous effort 'The Eminem Show', as some songs did show a similarity with one another. This is more light-hearted shady stuff, with a few elements of crude pop-culture/political satire on paedophilia (Just Lose It, Ass Like That) which are pretty funny in a way, Like Toy Soliders is probably the standout track along with Yellow Brick Road and Mosh. For me Mocking Bird was just a poor rehash of Hailie's Song as it did not have the catchiness of the original effort. His collaborations with other rappers on the album (Never Enough, with 50 Cent) and Spend Some Time was pretty good. Apart from a few letdowns this is an OK effort but also Mr. Mathers' weakest. Hopefully his next album would be a bit more original like his last three excellent masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars brilliant...or not, 18 Feb 2005
By 
i-animations.com (online at www. i-animations.com) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
i liked most of the songs on this album.Mosh,just lose it,like toy soldiers are all brilliant.
However it is let down by the "below-adverage" songs.For example there is a song wher the main line is "i aint got no legs".I could not beleive that!
When i listen to this I usually start at track 3 because i don't mind the rest.
If you are an eminem fan this has some of his best songs.Otherwise this will not win you over.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encore
Encore by Eminem (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews