Customer Reviews


120 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!!!!!but you won't treasure it
i love most of this album because generally the songs are comical,political and fresh,but em has let the world down on certain songs with stupid voices,i am a true em and 2pac fan and i am worried that 2pac's new album loyal to the game will have poorly produced songs by eminem.buy the album because there are good songs,just don't expect another eminem show
Published on 10 Nov 2004 by ryanorocks

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible with a few silly moments!
The much anticipated return album, is a mixed bag of Eminem at his best and at his worst. Tracks like "Mosh" seething with righteous rage, the stirring/disturbing "Spend some time" and truly moving "Mockingbird" really shine through. Even the marching beat between the chorus refrain of "Like toy soiders" works well, even though on first listen it sounds like it shouldn't...
Published on 19 Nov 2004 by New Kid in Town


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars buy it!!!!!!but you won't treasure it, 10 Nov 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
i love most of this album because generally the songs are comical,political and fresh,but em has let the world down on certain songs with stupid voices,i am a true em and 2pac fan and i am worried that 2pac's new album loyal to the game will have poorly produced songs by eminem.buy the album because there are good songs,just don't expect another eminem show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Indispensible with a few silly moments!, 19 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
The much anticipated return album, is a mixed bag of Eminem at his best and at his worst. Tracks like "Mosh" seething with righteous rage, the stirring/disturbing "Spend some time" and truly moving "Mockingbird" really shine through. Even the marching beat between the chorus refrain of "Like toy soiders" works well, even though on first listen it sounds like it shouldn't! People can knock "Just lose it", but it has a great melody and although Jackson is too easy a target, how can you wacth the video and not smirk?! However, "Puke", "Rain man" and "Big Weenie" are adolscent lyrical nonsense that fail to excite , let alone offend, accompanied by possibly the worst melodies Em has ever committed to disc! Thankfully they are sandwiched in the middle of the CD so you can neatly skip forward!The thing is Eminem has not made a truly consistent album since "the Slim Shady LP", although the excellent "Eminem Show" came very close. However, his albums are always worth getting for the truly great stuff that makes the bulk. This CD is no exception!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ENCORE, 18 Nov 2004
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Eminem is one of the most controversial people in music today and thats because is so good at what he does so people are gonna end up hearing what he talks and raps about. The album is not his best but its certainly worth buying there are good and bad things about this album the good things are songs like Like Toy Soldirs, Mosh, Yellow Brick Road and Evil Deeds that realy show off his political and artistic skills, Big Weenie and ASS Like That are to of the funnist songs I have ever heard from Eminem. The bad things about this album are that it cuts of from being serious to silly to quickly some of the beats are to simaler and theres just not enough strong songs to call this another classic from eminem in a way it is his worst album but his other three are so good that even if it is his worst its still very good. I must say that i am a metal music fan but I cant help but like what eminem brings out hes talanted and you cant deny talent I fill that it doesnt always matter what music you do as long as your good at what you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hes already peaked but hes still all good, 19 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
As the title explains i believe that eminem already reached his peak on the release of the Marshall Mathers LP. If everyone carrys on comparing everyone of his albums with The marshall mathers LP then he will be under constant critisim. He will never write an album like that. as then he was full of rage and truly passionate about what he was writing. A man on top of his game for years will not make an album like that. what you must do with this album is judge it on its own merits not compare it to his previous works. judging this as a stand alone album this is a great album. not excellent but definatly worth buying. the tracks where he truly shows his genius are "like toy soliers" "yellow brick road" "mocking bird" and "encore". when you buy this dont expect full raw intentsity and passion of the marshall mathers lp but expect a more cleverly written and deeper experiance that may not to be to everyones taste but my opinion is that he is still on top form
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!!, 21 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
He has been away for a while but he is back with a bang. This album is perhaps not as angery as his others but i think its more emotional. Mockingbird and Spend some time are fantastic. Very slow and em tells us about his past and his life. However the politics of today have been expressed in Mosh, where we find that em was anti-war and anti-george w. 50 cent, Dre, Obie, and D12 all feature but i think that Mockingbird stands out.
He is very open about the life his daughter has and how he has worked to provide the best life for her. Anyway,... there is some referances to his life with Kim and the incident where 50 got in a shot out.... I think that it is a better album than The marshall mathers lp, even though it has recieved nothing like the hype.
And done worry he is not going away forever and he really does like michael jackson. Roll on D-TOX!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK album, not his best though, 20 Feb 2005
By 
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
When I first heard this album it felt as if I was listening to his previous effort 'The Eminem Show', as some songs did show a similarity with one another. This is more light-hearted shady stuff, with a few elements of crude pop-culture/political satire on paedophilia (Just Lose It, Ass Like That) which are pretty funny in a way, Like Toy Soliders is probably the standout track along with Yellow Brick Road and Mosh. For me Mocking Bird was just a poor rehash of Hailie's Song as it did not have the catchiness of the original effort. His collaborations with other rappers on the album (Never Enough, with 50 Cent) and Spend Some Time was pretty good. Apart from a few letdowns this is an OK effort but also Mr. Mathers' weakest. Hopefully his next album would be a bit more original like his last three excellent masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Encore? - Not again please!, 20 May 2009
By 
A. J. Tsintas "Andy MFT" (Brum) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
One of the greatest fell off. That's what the sound of this offering tells us. 'Mosh' is reasonable and 'Never Enough' is quite good and that's it, seriously that's it. The rest is ridiculous peurile nonsense that Eminem has got away with before because it was funny but not any more.

What's wierd is that around this time he guested on 'We Aint' on 'The Documentary' from The Game and 'Gatman and Robbin' on 'The Massacre' by 50 cent and blew them both away, yet his own stuff is this paltry.

Only once have I ever felt this let down by an idol, that was when Prince Naseem Hamed decided not to make a decent comeback after being taught a lesson by Barrera. The difference here is that Eminem has done this to himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ordinary Album with some stand-out tracks, 2 Jun 2007
By 
Jasper Wong "jbywong" (Canterbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Eminem is an amazingly talented rapper who (in my humble opinion) shows his talent much more when he's rapping about his past or when he's very serious. For example, compare one of his joke songs just lose it with loose yourself, one of his most serious songs. See what i mean? One is horribly pop, and the other one is one of the best rap songs ever written. Encore has more 'funny' songs that have no lyrical content than songs with lyrics that make sense.

2. Evil Deeds 5/10 doesnt show eminems skills at all

3. Yellow Brick Road 10/10 this song grows on you, at first i didnt like it but now it's my favourite song on encore

4. Like Toy Soldiers 9/10 Eminem talks about his beefs with other writers

5. Mosh 7/10 1st single of this album, but eminem isn't zach dela rocha, and he can't rap politically for his life

6. Puke 2/10 the song IS puke

7. my first single 0/10 even worse than puke

9. rain man 5/10 ordinary

10. big weenie 0/10 around as bad as my first single

12. just lose it 5/10 another ordinary 'funny pop' song by eminem

13. Ass like that 7/10 funny.

14. Mockingbird 8/10 everybodys favourite eminem song...not mine tho

15. Crazy in love 4/10 boring.

16. Encore 10/10 eminem, 50 cent, dr. dre-amazing finale

Eminem has matured, and you can easily see that from his serious songs such as encore, mockingbird, like toy soldiers, and yellow brick road, but his stupid filler songs spoil it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, but could be better, 10 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. D. J. Grant (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
Encore contains some really good tracks that will keep fans happy for a long time. Yellow Brick Road, Toy Soldiers, Mosh, Encore show Eminem's brilliant lyrical talent.
Some of the tracks though are a letdown though, with cheesy lyrics and annoying beats that grow tiresome quickly.
This album is a mixed bag that will both dazzle and disappoint. Don't let me discourage anyone from buying it though, Eminem is still one of the best rappers in the world and, although there are some substandard tracks on Encore, there are some catchy tunes that will satisfy almost all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are other people hearing what i'm hearing?, 12 Nov 2004
By 
Ross Bownes (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Encore (Audio CD)
The wait is over, the follow up to The Eminem Show is here and has been greeted with various different responses.
Many have said it's ok, but not up to his previous releases. In my opinion i think many people are missing the point and idea behind the album.
Before hearing the album i was desperately hoping Eminem wouldn't have made another 'D12 World' album, lame, long and uninspired. Thankfully he hasn't, for the first time in a long time Eminem goes it alone, and it shows.
First listen the album seems strange in comparison to anything Eminem has done before, the songs are more melodic and the lyrics are slightly different, but don't be fooled - this is merely a distorted interpretation of his previous recordings. From The Slim Shady Lp through to Encore we see Eminem evolving his style - comical on Slim Shady, Emotional on Marshall Mathers, Pissed off on Eminem Show and finally Mature on Encore.
Songs such as 'Toy Soldiers' and 'Evil Deeds' are instant classics, making them radio friendly, but deeper songs such as 'Mosh' and 'Spend Some Time' show real versitility within his style, relying more on emotion and pure energy. He even revisits his comical side on 'Ass Like That' which is one of the best songs featured, as Eminem changes his accent, fantastic.
All in all, buy the CD, make your own mind up, in my opinion the other reviews are way off course, see what YOU think
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encore
Encore by Eminem (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews