Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little Darcey
Hmmm. I had great hopes for this even though I had read other reviews. I see what they mean. Were some of the scenes filmed by amateurs? Some scenes were repeated - that's cheating. Didn't get to see enough of In the Middle Somewhat Elevated, I would love to see the whole piece.
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Mrs. G. Bedford

versus
77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing
I absolutely agree with the first review of this DVD. I only rented it and am glad I didn't spend any money on buying this DVD as I kept having deja vue's, or so I thought. It was actually the same scenes repeated over and over again, the Swan Lake rehearsal was shown 3 or 4 times (I actually lost count). Darcey is such an exceptional dancer, I have been fortunate...
Published on 19 July 2007 by Hasibasi


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 78 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Quite disappointing, 19 July 2007
By 
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely agree with the first review of this DVD. I only rented it and am glad I didn't spend any money on buying this DVD as I kept having deja vue's, or so I thought. It was actually the same scenes repeated over and over again, the Swan Lake rehearsal was shown 3 or 4 times (I actually lost count). Darcey is such an exceptional dancer, I have been fortunate enough to see her live a few times and there would have been so much more to be on offer. Also, when filming ballet it's always best to show the whole body, not just the dancer's face, the Dallas cameraman must have been quite an amateur in this field...
All in all, it's nice to have a DVD dedicated to Darcey, but run-time is 43 Minutes only (not 60 as described) of which there is too much repetition and definitely a missed opportunity to show her talent properly. I hope there will be another, better DVD soon, now that Darcey has retired from classical ballet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How can someone have produced such a disappointing film of such a wonderful dancer?, 2 Aug 2009
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
Having just watched this DVD I can say that I completely agree with the previous reviews. How can someone have produced such a disappointing film of such a wonderful dancer? I loved Darcey in "Sylvia" and long to have more DVDs of her performances now that she has retired but this is a very strange tribute to her. I don't have the dance knowledge to name the opening dance sequence which I enjoyed and have never seen before (there are no notes with the DVD to help me here and trying to find any credits on the DVD meant watching too much again of what I had not enjoyed). The majority of the rest of the content is an unsatisfying collection of disjointed (and repetitive)snippets of practice sessions, making-up, preparing shoes (and toes) etc, many with poor lighting and camera work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


122 of 125 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missed opportunity, 12 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
The best thing about this DVD is the long segments of "In the Middle Somewhat Elevated", where you really see what an extraordinary dancer Bussell is.
Given that the opening and closing sequences are virtually identical, the DVD is really only about 37 minutes long.
Once again, a dance film is ruined by not showing the whole of the dancer's body: the rehearsal sequences in particular suffer.
There are stills of her as a younger dancer (with Macmillan for instance), but no more information on his influence, or her development as a dancer.
I was disappointed - a missed opportunity, and warranting the 3 stars purely for "In the Middle..." sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Darcey Bussell, 14 Jan 2010
By 
Mr. D. Owen - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
Very poor photography. You need to see the entire body to appreciate ballet. I am surprised Darcey allowed this DVD to be issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DVD of Darcey, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
As a former TV producer and having knowledge of a lot of footage of Darcey taken for various docs over the years the footage in this was so poor and so badly put together, I was very disappointed. It was also appallingly structured. Sorry to Darcey but it has done you a disservice especially as so much footage exists of you at work and in rehearsal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointed, 25 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD was extremely disappointing. Most of the content was repeated a number of times making it a very boring and repetitive programme. Certainly not worth the money and i would definitely not recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A little Darcey, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Mrs. G. Bedford "mummybee" (Hastings, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
Hmmm. I had great hopes for this even though I had read other reviews. I see what they mean. Were some of the scenes filmed by amateurs? Some scenes were repeated - that's cheating. Didn't get to see enough of In the Middle Somewhat Elevated, I would love to see the whole piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darcey Bussell (DVD), 26 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
Informative and exquisite. The story of ballet told by one of our greatest ballerinas, illustrated by beautiful works of poetic dancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Darcey Bussell, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
Seen before, bought as a Christmas present, I'm sure anyone would enjoy this DVD. Would recommend and as always service excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars darcey bussell (dvd), 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Darcey Bussell [DVD] (DVD)
an indepth look at the life and world of one of the most prominent british ballet dancers very highly reccomended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Darcey Bussell [DVD]
Darcey Bussell [DVD] by Eddy French (DVD - 2004)
12.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews