Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An intelligent disaster movie
Its rather interesting that both Deep Impact and Armageddon were released around the same time because the two films deal with the same subject matter but in vastly different ways. While Jerry Bruckheimer gives us Con Air In Space, Mimi Leder takes a more considered approach to the threat of human extinction by chosing to concentrate on how exactly many of us would...
Published on 1 Jan 2009 by Frank antz

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so-so disaster movie
Deep Impact begins well, focussing on the ordinary concerns of the characters we will get to know as the movie progresses. Tia Leoni's ambitious TV reporter thinks she has discovered the scoop of the year involving Congressional or even Presidential indiscretions; her father is about to remarry a woman only two years older than her, and a schoolboy amateur astonomer...
Published on 27 Jan 2009 by Kraftwerker


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lamentable, 28 July 2009
This review is from: Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This is a poor movie and embarrassing to watch. Most of the scenes were insincere even though there are many celebrated actors involved. I like disaster movies if they are plausible and well made, this one isn't. I would never review a movie in a genre that wasn't to my taste. I know that actors comment that while shooting a movie it is difficult to foresee the final result, so Mimi Leder has to take the blame for the cast's lack of engagement. The excellent cast could not hide their lack of tension in many potentially crucial scenes. Even Morgan Freeman could not raise the bar for this one. (Mimi Leder has directed several good movies). If this film had been a B-Movie on a low budget then I wouldn't be critical, but it wasn't. The final scene was well CGI-created for its day, but this climax cannot make up for the rest of this movie even though it looks like it was intended to (3/10).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious plodding storytelling, 29 Jan 2011
This review is from: Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
The casting list is tremendous any film with Morgan Freeman and Robert Duval should be brilliant, with the exception of Leoni, the supporting cast is exremely impressive. The story unlike Armageddon released around the same time and with roughly the same scenario, does not have a happy ending.The problem is that Leoni's acting is so wooden and the others around her so dull that when an audience should be moved to tears at the end I like most others were inwardly applauding her demise. The strange paradox of the fate of the central character in this film is that she is such an annoying person that she inspires no sympathy or empathy and really her end cannot come soon enough. Perhaps Meryl Streep, Cher, Holly Hunter or Susan Sarandon in the role would have produced a different effect. Leoni's character is not a bad person (except perhaps in the way she treats her father) yet audiences in the past have been moved to tears by the deaths of "bad people" Cagney in numerous films being the most notable. This could have been a great film with a better script with the cast to get their teeth into. If you watch Armageddon which is out and out entertainment and a story nowhere near as probable as Deep Impact it grips the audiences and induces tears at the end when Bruce Willis gives his life to save the world whereas Robert Duval goes out with a whimper, in the role of the female lead looking for sympathy and empathy Liv Tyler is miles ahead of Tea Leoni. You can watch this film once and be happy never to watch it again it may have an appeal to fans of Eva Cassidy or Morrissey who may be entertained by being depressed. With Morgan Freeman in your cast you must be, in light of the subject matter, be looking for the same feelings to be engendered at the end of the film as those at the end of The Shawshank Redemption as some lucky survivors make it to higher ground rather than leaving without any emotion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No Impact Whatsover, 30 July 2009
By 
Eddie (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep Impact [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The idea of a comet hurtling unstoppably towards earth is a terrifying one and the transition of such an event to film requires some consideration in its treatment. Unfortunately such consideration has not been made in the case of Deep Impact and I imagine that it was the effect of such a catastrophe, in this case a tidal wave, which was actually the starting point for the film. It certainly feels that way, and it happens.
'Have we had a tidal wave before?'
'Perhaps not since Peter Weir's The Last Wave.'
'We can do much better than that.'
'But the Last Wave had a mystical element. And a story.'
'What do you mean, mystical? We have computers and men to work them. Story? What do you mean, story?'

So all this leads to a pretty tame computer-generated tidal wave hitting New York. We see that Statue of Liberty washed away. We hear it's head clunk on the street below. Bah!

The first act sets up the story: massive comet heads for earth. Bad news. But wait, the Americans and Russians have got together to build a space ship which will land on the comet, plant a nuclear device and blow the critter to kingdom come. Job done. Fantastic. Robert Duvall is `Fish' Spurgeon, heading the astronaut team. Now I mention the characters name here because at one point one of the younger members of the team asks him why he is called `Fish'. `Spurgeon...Sturgeon', explains Fish. I'd never have guessed. Now with such brain power on board, you'd think that the mission could not fail. It does. Things go wrong and the team only succeeds in splitting the comet into a big chunk and a smaller one. This action-packed-science-fiction section seems to have strayed in from a completely different film and is poorly realised with its use of unconvincing models and effects. Its all scored with some dreadful music which actually dispels any sense of tension which may have been there in the first place, but probably wasn't. If you want to see how it's done, watch Kubrick's 2001. There's some choice dialogue too:
`I'm not going!'
`What do you mean, you're not going?'
`I'm not going'

Give me strength. But wait, there's a contingency in place because the US government has built a huge underground shelter in which will reside a couple of mllion people (chosen by lottery), animals (who go in two by two. Elephant monkey, kangaroo), scientists and the like, along with enough resources to enable the survivors to `Start over' (the President's words, not mine), when the dust has settled.

The next act attempts to involve us in the emotions of the key players as they head for higher ground or the underground shelter. This section soon becomes tedious and over-sentimental and the exodus from the city amounts to little more than a major traffic jam. Sentimentality spills over into space too, as the astronauts decide that they have enough explosive on board to blast the big comet into millions of smaller pieces (cue GCI), provided that they sacrifice themselves by flying the craft into the comet. All things considered, a suicide mission might have been considered from the start. So we have grim faces, back patting and a tearful goodbye by video link to earth, all designed to have us sobbing into our popcorn, before the job is done.

Which leaves the smaller comet. This strikes the ocean at an angle which I thought would cause it to bounce off into space, or at least round the planet but no, it causes a huge tidal wave. But I'm no scientist. We are told that the effects (of the tidal wave, not the computer generated ones), are felt in Africa and Europe. Lets hope that our fellow countrymen managed to scramble up Snowdon, Scafell and Ben Nevis in good time. In the States however, the young lovers (sorry, I forgot to mention them before. One of them is..not Harry Potter, the other one. You know who I mean), race against the oncoming tide on a motor cycle in an attempt to reach higher ground.

There is a host of fine acting talent on display here and all of it is completely wasted. Morgan Freeman. Robert Duvall. Maximillian Schell. Vanessa Redgrave. What these people are doing in a film like this is anybody's guess. The direction is weak, the effects look cheap and the film itself doesn't actually know what it wants to be. With all its pointless biblical references it probably wanted to be called Armageddon. It's entertainment and nothing more, which is a shame because I could imagine this story unfolding on a stage to great effect with all its the power coming from good actors working with a good script and leaving the rest to our imagination. Imagination? What am I thinking?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not have an impact on me., 26 Nov 2004
This review is from: Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Not particulary brilliant. When I first saw this film I thought it was going to be brilliant, but it was not.
Elijah Wood (Frodo in Lord of The Rings) plays a teenager who he and and a scientist find a horrible discovery, a comet the size of New York is heading straight towards the Earth. But the plot really does get in a mess. The film is supposed to be about a comet heading for the Earth but instead it is all about lots of characters which you do not really know much about. There is not any main characters, the first-half of the film bores you to death whilst just in the second-half the film starts to get a bit better, by then it is too late to really enjoy the film.
But I suppose there is a positive side to the film and that is it is not completely based on special effects but you do not get to know the characters.
Would not recommend it but if you liked it well there you go, but its not really my cup of tea
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it gets more boring every time you watch it, 12 Nov 2006
By 
This review is from: Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
there really is no point in buying this film as it comes on tv every month, its worth watchin though. its basically about some astroid thats going to hit earth and only americans can stop it from happening. it has a decent cast but the story really gets on, it really is quite a slow film thats why it gets 3 stars from me, the first time you watch it it means something, then on you know what happens and think its not worth watching again.

my recomendation would be to watch armaggedon, it is a lot better than this as the story is better and there are a few laughs as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Impact is the greatest comet movie in history, 19 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Impact [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Its brilliant and could happen in the future soo buy this and be prepared for future events that may happen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Embarrassing!, 20 April 2006
This review is from: Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
Awful script. Wooden acting. Copied plot. Some of the corniest scenes even committed to cinema. The only reason I am giving this two stars is for the father-daughter story and the tidal wave at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 27 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull Impact, 26 May 2006
By 
This review is from: Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] (DVD)
This film is probably one of the worst I have ever seen. Full of improbabilities such as the FBI conducting the forced capture of a 20 year old female reporter who goes on to meeting the President of the United States and gets the first question at a Press Meeting. The film never got past 20 minutes showing before it was placed in its box and returned to the supplier. If I could have awarded it half a star, I would have done as it did have backup technicians.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Big Rock, Bad Plot, 10 Mar 2000
A huge rock is heading towards earth which will wipe out civilisation. A weak plot and poor special effects let this film down. Released in the same year as Armageddon which had a great cast and great special effects this film was doomed before it was released. If this type of film interests you go and buy Armageddon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck-Terrible!, 31 July 2003
This review is from: Deep Impact [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
To be prefectly honest a chicken with a serious IQ problem could have made a better film than this. The plot is shabby and so is the acting. It has the scientific accuracy of a walnut and a budget that could narrowly pay for a cup of tea. It makes the modern versoin of The Hulk look good! The only reason it didn't flop is because they manged to generate enough interest by employing Morgan Freeman, the greatest tag-a-long actor of all time. If you haven't seen it, don't. If you have seen it, its rubbish ain't it. If you own it, please get rid of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Impact  - Special Edition [DVD]
Deep Impact - Special Edition [DVD] by Mimi Leder (DVD - 2006)
£3.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews