Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love is all that Matters
I would say the acting is average in this film, but the music by Diana Ross is brilliant! Someone that you loved before is a great song to kick off the film. Its worth a watch, but I reccomend you by Diana's latest CD 'Every day is a new day' for some really cool songs. Carry on!
Published on 8 July 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN EXPECTED!
Having been a fan of Diana Ross for many many years, I have watched her acting career with mixed feelings. 'Lady Sings the Blues' clearly stands out as an exceptional film (why can't you buy it in the UK by the way? , 'Mahogany' was OK, 'The Wiz' close to unspeakable at times. The current crop has seen an improvement. 'Out of Darkness' is actually quite good and a...
Published on 21 Jun 2000


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love is all that Matters, 8 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Platinum [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I would say the acting is average in this film, but the music by Diana Ross is brilliant! Someone that you loved before is a great song to kick off the film. Its worth a watch, but I reccomend you by Diana's latest CD 'Every day is a new day' for some really cool songs. Carry on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A TRIUMPH IN DIANA ROSS' AND BRABYS' CAREER!, 25 Sep 2000
By 
ianphillips@uk.dreamcast.com (BOLTON, LANCASHIRE, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Platinum [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Diana Ross and Brandy star in this powerful drama which demonstrates perfectly there wide range of talents and abilities. This often moving filmhas many great scenes between these two brilliant actress'. A winning combination. The soundtrack is great too with all of these songs lifted from both of their own recent albums. Its way above your normal average standard T.V movie and has a great supporting cast too. The ending is triumphant with the beautiful duet, Love Is All That Matters wiith that being the general theme of the movie. A great movie with two very strong actress'/singers. Highly recommended/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Diana at her best, singing and playing a DIVA, 26 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Platinum [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Diana has been away from film musicals for far too long. In Double Platinum not only do we see some okay acting, check out the scene near the end of the film where Olivia(Diana) tries to explain to her abandoned daughter Kayla (Brandy), who is now grown up with musical aspirations of her own, why she left her as a baby and tells her that if she had to do it all again she would not do things differently, a real gutsy scene from Ross.
Great to have so much music, highlights being an excellent concert performance of the Lion King song 'He Lives In You'(why has this not been released as a single), and very crafty of Diana to have her two young sons Ross and Evan taking part in the audience for this scene! Several other songs from Diana's last cd 'Everyday Is A New Day' feature in the film, including 'Someone That You Loved Before', 'Carry On', and the duet 'Love Is All That Matters'. This last song is only available as a duet within the film, and when the film was transmitted on television last year in USA everyone expected this duet to be released as a single, unfortunately this did not happen, so the only version from Diana is the solo track on her album.
The storyline is very predictable, and some of the performances, in particular Harvey Fierstein, are a little over the top. But on the whole you come away with a feel good factor, even given the corny ending with Diana and Brandy on stage together declaring via their musical duet that 'LOVE IS ALL THAT MATTERS'.
Highlights, some nice musical performances from both Diana and Brandy, and a welcome return from the mother of all DIVAS Diana Ross. Turn up the volume, and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN EXPECTED!, 21 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Double Platinum [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Having been a fan of Diana Ross for many many years, I have watched her acting career with mixed feelings. 'Lady Sings the Blues' clearly stands out as an exceptional film (why can't you buy it in the UK by the way? , 'Mahogany' was OK, 'The Wiz' close to unspeakable at times. The current crop has seen an improvement. 'Out of Darkness' is actually quite good and a recommended view. 'Double Platinum' was cautiously awaited, however it's not bad. There is a lot more music than expected, mostly from DR and Brandy's current albums and Ross proves she is a capable actress. If you like Diana Ross or Brandy, or simply want an easy film to watch, then give it a go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I Liked It, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Platinum [DVD] (DVD)
If your expecting some big sparkle n glitter movie with expensive clothing and locations, then you'll be wrong.
The DVD was watchable, good storyline, few gaps that should have been tied up but I just wanted to see it
because it had Diana Ross & Brandy from two totally different era's coming together in a modern day film with
a happy ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love this film, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Platinum [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Diana Ross you will love this film, if you don't i wouldn't suggest you buy it, slushy film with the story line being between mum & abandoned daughter of 18 years while Diana goes off to find fame and fortune. Nothing like her true life, good film for sunday afternoons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic wood say buy it you wood love this film, 24 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Double Platinum [DVD] (DVD)
this i was so happy with and so glad i bot this one well and i say to pepole to buy it its a good story to about a mum a daughter any famly wood love this story i am so glad i bot it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth it just to see Diana Ross, 21 July 2001
By 
"kevinfred" (United KIngdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Double Platinum [DVD] (DVD)
I do love Diana Ross and , unlike most singing stars , she can actualy act .Her own rigid criteria and being black and beautiful has limited her acting career . As a fan therefore it is always a great treat to see her on film . Having said that , this film is really girlie and corny in parts . Harvey Firstein is an embarrassment and , knowing Diana's music so well , the music could have been so much better . That pink gown is so silly .Despite the film's flaws she still looks incredibly beautiful so it's worth every penny .If you want great acting from a serious Diana Ross get Out of Darkness .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, 18 July 2009
This review is from: Double Platinum [DVD] (DVD)
If you like Diana Ross you will love this film. Soppy but really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Double Platinum [DVD]
Double Platinum [DVD] by Robert Allan Ackerman (DVD - 2004)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews