Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bleeding classic!
Casualties of war is a film that isnt really a war movie in the vein of saving private ryan or platoon,this is a moralistic look at the fact that even in war ,murder is still murder.When i say this isnt a war movie,i mean that battle scenes and loss of life and people dying in friends arms isnt really how this film flows,set in vietnam during the famous war,a squadroon of...
Published on 3 Sep 2007 by sean paul mccann

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a film to watch with mum?
Great delivery & quality good.
Fair price for a dvd.
Long time since i saw this one, & one more class peice of acting from the once great & now ill (M J FOX).
Look at the 18 on this one, as war is only the part reason this one was given the adult lable!
Published 17 months ago by Red squirrel


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a bleeding classic!, 3 Sep 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
Casualties of war is a film that isnt really a war movie in the vein of saving private ryan or platoon,this is a moralistic look at the fact that even in war ,murder is still murder.When i say this isnt a war movie,i mean that battle scenes and loss of life and people dying in friends arms isnt really how this film flows,set in vietnam during the famous war,a squadroon of soldiers kidnap a young local woman and destroy her to pieces,michael j fox plays the soldier who doesnt like what he has seen and wont let it rest,morals and what would you do if? pour from this and i love it.
Brian de Palma does a fine job in his directing here,bringing the viewer into the small wars within war and how war can overtake the human in you and make one a savage.
The film flows like vintage wine,dont think i have had any vintage wine,but thats the expression that springs to mind,a real gem of a movie,certainly overlooked but brilliantly made,brilliantly acted and a masterpiece in my eyes,five stars are earnt here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 13 Jan 2007
By 
S. Knight (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
Strong performances by both Michael.J.Fox and Sean Penn(even if he does sound like he is eating a toffee when he talks)in this true story of a squad of soldiers in Vietnam who go on to rape and murder a young local girl and Private Eriksson(Fox)is so disgusted that he is forced to reported the incident and stands alone against his fellow soldiers and commanding officer Sergeant Meserve(Penn).

Not too many battle scenes to witness as this film is more about one mans quest for sanity and justice amidst the chaos of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 30 Oct 2006
By 
C. Muddeman (Surrey, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
This is a harrowing and thought-provoking Vietnam true-story about a US platoon that kidnap, rape and murder a young Vietnamese woman during a patrol, and how one member of the platoon who refuses to comply with his Platoon Sergeant's orders seeks justice against those other members of his platoon who were responsible. The film is gripping and an indictment not only of the men who carried out the atrocities but also of the US Army whose senior Officers tried to cover up the incident to avoid a political backlash.

One of the best of the anti-Vietnam war films, with a moving Ennio Morricone score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I am very happy with the service from this seller., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
A great film witch really shows how easy evil can come out of people by either doing or not doing anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
I asked my uncle which Vietnam film was the most realistic, bearing in mind he had just retired as a 3 star major general he came back with this. I was surprised but then he spent six years over there and knew what happened.

This film show the true reality of an army without training, discipline and no respect for any non US people, they regarded the locals as animals and treated them as such. This film depicts the effect on a young soldier with a conscience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
very entertaining could,nt take my eyes off would recommend this dvd very good acting even my young nephew has borrowed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a TV mini-series, 21 April 2013
By 
Mr. P. Johnson "Pete Johnson" (Norfolk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
*****Contains plot spoilers*****

Despite the fact that it feels (to me at least) like a TV series with some episodes missed out, this is a big-budget, star-studded film set during the Vietnam war. Strangely overlooked, alongside the better-known epics such as `Platoon', and `Hamburger Hill', this 1989 film was directed by Brian de Palma, well-known director of `Scarface', and `The Untouchables'. It deals with a real-life incident, when a small patrol is sent out on a mission to locate the Vietcong. The tough platoon leader, a suitably hard-nosed Sean Penn, decides that they will take a girl along, to provide sexual favours, and promptly kidnaps an innocent young woman from a nearby village. The rest of the squad (John Leguziamo, John C. Reilly, and others) are happy to go along with this plan, and all participate in the unpleasant, graphic gang-rape of the unfortunate girl. However, one member of the squad, played by Michael J.Fox, refuses to join in, and tries to help the girl, as best as he is able. When they later stumble across a large Vietcong unit, and are forced into combat, the leader fears discovery, and orders the men to kill the girl.
Returning to camp, Fox's character fears his life may be in danger, and an attempt to blow him up forces his hand. He reports the crime, and despite resistance from his superiors, eventually gets a Court Martial for those concerned. There are also good cameos from Ving Rhames, and the excellent Dale Dye, as officers who want no part of the proceedings; and a heart-rending performance from Thuy Thu Le, as the unfortunate hostage. There are obvious issues about men disturbed by war, casual killing, and living a life with no rules. The film attempts to show that life always has a way of catching up, and justice eventually prevails.
If only that was true.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sobering and encouraging at the same time, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
supposedly based on real events and individuals which fits into the genre of movies that i prefer.
most of all, i am so glad i missed that war, by the skin of my teeth. it started shutting down just as i came of age.
silly me, i had wanted to go. in a perfect world, i might have been sent through boot camp without having to go there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a film to watch with mum?, 7 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
Great delivery & quality good.
Fair price for a dvd.
Long time since i saw this one, & one more class peice of acting from the once great & now ill (M J FOX).
Look at the 18 on this one, as war is only the part reason this one was given the adult lable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars casualties of war, 10 Nov 2012
This review is from: Casualties Of War [DVD] (DVD)
what a fantastic film well made brilliant from start to finish.
only the fact its a true story horrified me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Casualties Of War [DVD]
Casualties Of War [DVD] by Brian De Palma (DVD - 2004)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews