Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say the album is good
This album delivers a more commercial sound than Kweli's previous albums but this is not a bad thing. He is still lyrically tight, and offers the conscious minded approach to rhyming. On this album he gains a slightly more famous production team and this strangely this does not distract from the strong vocal presence. We see appearances from the Neptunes, DJ Quick, Just...
Published on 18 Nov 2004 by rishi_cknj

versus
5 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars get black star instead!!
i bought this thinking it would be great after owning 'black star' where he teams up with mos def to make one of the best hip-hop albums ever and this falls well short, he produces pop RnB beats and uses RnB singers, clearly made to appeal to the masses. get 'black star' instead.
Published on 19 May 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say the album is good, 18 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
This album delivers a more commercial sound than Kweli's previous albums but this is not a bad thing. He is still lyrically tight, and offers the conscious minded approach to rhyming. On this album he gains a slightly more famous production team and this strangely this does not distract from the strong vocal presence. We see appearances from the Neptunes, DJ Quick, Just Blaze and obviously Kanye West. The album is good from begin to end, with message of a continuing struggle against the clear injustices in the world.
I feel Kweli is a rapper everyone should listen to once on their headphone, therefore ensuring that you can truly hear the words spoken, and then you may see Kweli's strength. If you want club type beats and rhymes about selling crack buy Jay-Z's album. Funny thing is that even Jay says "that truth be told I'd be lyrically be talib kweli".
Buy this album if you like to listen to meaningful lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 4 Nov 2004
By 
Stephen Lavery (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
Go out and get this album right now. I've always liked Talib whether he was doin his own stuff or pairing up with Mos Def. As usual his lyrics are absolutely amazing and he's gone more commercial with the beats this time but it definitely works. Ever since I bought it I've been playing it non-stop. The best tracks are Going Hard, We Know, I Try, Around My Way, Ghetto Show, Black Girl Pain (best song on album for me) and Beautiful Struggle
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Talib Kweli, Beautiful with no struggle involved, 6 Oct 2004
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
Talib Kweli, talented yet under-rated semi-underground MC from Brooklyn hits the streets hard with the Beautiful Struggle. An album as diverse and yet lyrically similar to 2002's Quality, which in my opinion reflected the album title. Beautiful Struggle reflects the partnership between Hi-Tek and Kweli as reaffirmed, something we all are glad happened,production also includes the token track by Kanye West and answer to Get By, I Try. The guest appearances, Anthony Hamilton,Common, John Legend also pack the album with heat but the standout performance by Jean Grae on Black Girl Pain allows this album to sit alone from the average cd being released, do not expect Nelly. This album, lyrically, is probably album of the year so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what you waiting for? add this to your basket NOW!, 29 Sep 2004
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
i've only listened to this albumn a few times but i've barely turned if off or played another cd since i first got it. quality and reflection eternal are some of my favourite records so i pretty much bought this cd automatically but trust me this is some of his best work yet!
the production is tight and as ever the lyrics are so fresh,there even a nice little twist on jay-z line about talib.
i wish amazon had some samples so you could just listen to what i'm on about but trust me its worth ev-er-ry penny!
ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not Quality., 23 Sep 2004
By 
O. B. Behi (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
Having anticipated this album HUGELY since talks of it being released last spring, and then waiting months for it to get re-recorded, 'The Beautiful Struggle' does not dissapoint.
As there was on 'Quality' there are tracks that fit pretty much every mood. 'Going Hard' is a strong way to open the album and sees Kweli spitting with anger and aggression. 'Back Up Offa Me' is where Kweli and Hi-Tek reunite with a great head nodding beat although I think that he could have chosen a better beat from Hi-Tek. The Neptunes produced 'Broken Glass' is hot and it becomes apparent that Kweli is definitely trying to shift big units on this LP, not that there's anything wrong with that of course! He deserves some mainstream success. His lyrics are as clever and deep as always but the production is definitely more appealing to the main stream. On the Kanye West produced 'I Try' Kanye once again is trying to re-create the effect of the classic 'Get By'. Although it is a great track he doesn't succeed! For me the highlight of the album is 'Never Been in Love' where Kweli teams up with Roc-A-Fella super-producer Just Blaze resulting in a soulful and upbeat track where Kweli tells the story of a "playa" falling in love for the first time. The beat reminds me of Jay-Z's December 4th.
'The Beautiful Struggle' is a strong contender for hip hop album of the year but to me doesn't quite match up to 2002's 'Quality' which I now look back on as a classic. Go cop them both!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly Quality!, 28 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
As a massive fan Talib Kweli i was anticipating the release of his second solo album for months. Like many other fans of the lyrical genius i was not disapointed with the outcome. Once again using excellent production and superb flow Kweli has let the hip hop world know that he no once off! With excellent production from Hi-tek and the nearly annoyingly outstanding Kanye West it peaks from the first track. I'm not sure if it is as inspirational a Quality but with a few more listens it is gettin there. Look out for the track with a sample from The Police and 'Supreme' with Mos Def is dope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kanye's gem delievers an absolute jem, 16 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
Talib Kweli, is relatievely unknown in the Uk and he's only really known by big hip hop fans, but this album catapults him into the mainstream. before i had heard this album i was mesmorised by Talibs earlier song "Get By" which was one of the first times Talib Kweli worked with now superstar rapper and producer Kanye West. This album is produced by Kanye, and it is impressive stuff. From the club hoppin "Planet Rock" to the first single off the album, "I Tried" a collaboration with Mary J Blige, the album is awesome with Talib doing what others haven't, mixed more than one genre into his music. Talib Kweli has in fact been branded many times as a Lyrical Genius, and this album demonstrates this. Other stand out tracks are "What we have is Real" and the mesmorising "Hold your hands up high".
the album isn't Gansta Rap it is soulful, rockin rap, youll find great collaborations and great rymes throughout.
Buy it, you won't be dissapointed. Kanye West was so impressed that he made him his special guest for his forthcoming UK tour. check it out, a class act
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talib Kweli - Beautiful Struggle, 25 Nov 2006
By 
RAP FAN (Letchworth - England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
Talib Kweli Is a Good Rapper as u already know if u listen 2 him alredy this album realy has songs for all rap fans on it like "Work It Out" where his flow is realy good and "Around My Way" where the music is slow john legend sings the hook and kweli raps softly and "We Got The Beat" is More like a rock song heavy music and hardcore rap From Kweli or Love Songs Like "We Know" With Faith Evans i think peple who are not RAP fans will like this aswell because there is a wide seltion of music here So GET IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For all the real Hip Hop lovers, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
Talib Kweli is one of the few rappers I feel still stay true to themselves. Lyrically he is brilliant and this album doesn't let you down. if you're interested in real rap - fed up of main stream 'rappers' such as Drake and Lil Wayne who just end up talking about the usual things - then you should definitely give this guy a listen.

Love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truely Great Album, 30 July 2005
By 
Mr. A. M. Conroy "adamc3" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beautiful Struggle (Audio CD)
I really think that this a a great album, some say Kweli has gone more towards the pop side of things, I disagree. All he has done is got better producers like Kanye West which rightfully is going to make the album sell more. He also teams up with Hi-Tek on some songs which still provides good tracks. Kweli hasn't become any less of a lyricist and I believe he is still the greatest lyricist ever. Kweli has been a well known non-mainstream rap artist and I think he still portrays the struggle of life with tremendos lyrics.
If you don't already have Blackstar then I would reccomend this because I think it is a better album because personally I don't like Mos Def. Unless you want a really hardcore hip-hop album then I would reccomend his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beautiful Struggle
The Beautiful Struggle by Talib Kweli (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews