Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goth-Curious? This is a great starting point.
This double album is packed with a rich diversity of alternative rock music. It's a superb introduction to 'Gothic Rock' that rewards repeated playing.

I'm not too sure about the exact definitions, but it encompasses a wide range of styles. These include hard, gothic, industrial, and corporate rock, AOR, electronica and even some folk-inspired songs. The common...
Published on 30 Dec 2006 by Mr. Gregory R. Colton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Goth? Erm...
Let's be straight - the goth songs on this compilation are classics. There's just not many of them. I'd say less than a quarter of the songs on this are even vaguely goth. There are better compilations out there.
Published on 9 Nov 2012 by Mr. A. Doehler


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goth-Curious? This is a great starting point., 30 Dec 2006
By 
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
This double album is packed with a rich diversity of alternative rock music. It's a superb introduction to 'Gothic Rock' that rewards repeated playing.

I'm not too sure about the exact definitions, but it encompasses a wide range of styles. These include hard, gothic, industrial, and corporate rock, AOR, electronica and even some folk-inspired songs. The common thread is that the songs all have an edgy beauty, whether in the music, instrumentation, or lyrics. Without wishing to sound too arty, the songs explore (and in some cases appear to celebrate) the sinister, nefarious or unfulfilled side of human existence - hence the title.

I just love this album. The more I've listened to it the more I've liked it. It rewards repeated playing - especially if you are new to this sort of music. Persevere with it and I feel you will be amply rewarded. I would have rated this 3 stars when I first bought it, 4 stars within a fortnight and now I have no hesitation in giving it full marks - it's 90+% killer with little or no filler.

The compilation features some of the biggest tunes by the best exponents in this area. It has introduced me to many new artists, as well as showing familiar ones in a different light and brought together some gems that I was already aware of. I will certainly be buying more albums by the featured artists on the strength of this set.

Another plus with this album is its balance: it contrasts heavy and light musical styles, and whilst the overall tone is black, the editor has injected levity by including two or three real oddities. These may make you laugh aloud on first listen and smile thereafter. You may also find yourself dancing or singing along to quite a few of the tracks - never a bad sign (unless you're in the convent trying to maintain that vow of silence - don't let Mother Superior catch you with these two discs though!).

Hats off to the editor who chose the selections on this compilation. I am a DJ and have a considerable music collection, but when I fancy a late night listen or have a longish journey to make, this is the CD I often reach for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All the stuff you didn't get round to buying..., 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
OK, the mix is somewhat eclectic... not easy to imagine an album which includes the bittersweet of 'Say Hello Wave Goodbye' only a few tracks away from the paint-blistering weapon-of-mass-destruction that is 'Jesus Built My Hotrod'... so maybe the album doesn't hang together too well - but for sheer value of all those tracks you heard at the Goth nights and couldn't get round to buy... unbeatable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars music music music, 13 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
Purchased as a present, for someone whom is into the "darkside of music". Came on the day I needed it to, well pakaged, good for those into alternitive music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Goth? Erm..., 9 Nov 2012
By 
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
Let's be straight - the goth songs on this compilation are classics. There's just not many of them. I'd say less than a quarter of the songs on this are even vaguely goth. There are better compilations out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great mix, 8 Mar 2005
By 
G. J. Ridler (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
I have to admit buying this with some trepidation, but I found that there is an excellent mix of old and new, with different styles which works very well. An worthwhile addition to any collection, and a great taster of bands you may want to delve into a little deeper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 5 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
not all goth some metal also
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ahhh back to goth memories, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
There are some odd tunes on this- Rasmus- strange choice with the other 80's and 90's tracks and a few others i wouldnt have chosen for a goth rock album- Depeche mode...Visage...? But there are so many others that make it a really good buy. Bauhaus, Sisters of Mercy, Nick Cave, Siouxsie and the Banshees. Also some lesser known tracks from the usual suspects mixed in with the traditional ones. On the whole a great compilation album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish Compilation, 23 May 2006
By 
Katrina Tori (S-O-T, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) (Audio CD)
Although there are a couple of good songs (by the Cure and the Cult), this CD is entirely rubbish. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album)
The Dark Side (The Goth Rock Album) by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews