Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
9
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2006
After ascendancy i bought ember to inferno and was blown away it is a metal masterpiece.Ascendany is briallint but theres not one bad track on it,but this is perfection.It has the brillant solos and double guitar riffs of ascendancy but lots more of the epic riffs like in light to the flies (from ascendany).It is faster is well ,key tracks are pillars of serpent great brual metal then my favourite track fugue (a revalation) which has the best riff of any trivium song.all songs are excellent though and you can here metallica influences in the guitar work as well this is the way metal should go , trivium are a breth of fresh air to a becoming cliched scene BUY IT YOU WONT BE DISSAPOINTED
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 February 2006
this is a sensational debut,some say that its better than ascendancy,im not so sure on that but what i do know is that it rocks and slays like very few debut albums can,this is one hungry band here,it is clear that they wear their influences on their sleeves such as metallica,testament etc,no problem with that whatsoever,what you have here is the beginning of a band that can rule metal for years,its really that simple,if you dont rock to the song if i could collaspe the masses then i wanna check your pulse,get this and you wont be sorry,how could you be?
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2006
After the strenghth of acendency i went out and bopught ember 2 inferno. This album shud have had just as much hype. Its excellent. The riffs the vocals the musicianship all of it is amazing. Stand out tracks vare pillars of serpents, If i could collapse the masses fugue and requim. GREAT ALBUM.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Ember To Inferno is the debut album by thrash influenced Florida metalcore band Trivium, released on Lifeforce Records in 2003, two years before their breakthrough album `Ascendency.'

The album features concert favourite `Pillars Of Serpents,' which is indicative of the style throughout; the harsh vocals, riff style and song structure neatly exemplifies the direction of the album as a whole. Therefor, if you enjoy that song then you should definitely pick up a copy of the album.

Obviously, the production is not as good as on later albums on a bigger record label, so the sound is a bit flatter and lacking in sheen than later albums, but is by no means demo quality and is only noticeably bad in comparison to later works. Furthermore, while Matt had the harsh vocals well nailed by this point, the clean vocals are not yet entirely perfected.

Don't be put off by the album's age or production however, it still contains music as good as on later Trivium releases. `If I Could Collapse The Masses' for example, is a track that still rates among the band's finest work, and the same could be said for the title track and the aforementioned `Pillars Of Serpents.'

In fact throughout the album, you'll get challenging double-kick work and guitar solos that show off Trivium's considerably talent as musicians and a bunch of enjoyable songs that still hold up now.

In summary, Ember To Inferno is a good album and Trivium fans should not hesitate to buy a copy, it mightn't be the best choice of a first album for a prospective fan, but neither should it be ignored or viewed as anything less than a strong debut from a band who would go on to greater things.

*Newer versions of the album feature slightly altered artwork and bonus tracks including demos of tracks that would later appear on Ascendancy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2006
On first listen, you may be forgiven for dismissing Tivium's first effort as messy and lacking any real standouts, especially compared to their follow-up, the brilliant 'Ascendancy' album. The production isn't amazing, but what do u expect?
However, persist and you'll find some hidden gems. The first few tracks are reasonably forgettable, but then 'Requiem' kicks in and you have to pay attention; it just sounds heavy as hell. Then there's the title track with its memorable chorus. Both of these tracks are ASWESOME live, believe me!
'My hatred' is another surprising injection of furiosity, but the track that makes the whole album worthwhile for me personally is 'To Burn The Eye'; what a track! what a chorus! WHAT A RIFF! buy the album for this alone, seriously!
OK, so its not as stunning as 'Ascendancy' & there isn't a 'Pull harder...' or a 'Gunshot...' but 'Ember To Inferno' may just surprise you at times. Would definitely suggest for anyone who liked 'Ascendancy'
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2008
I am very much a "like what I like" type of person so here goes. I bought Crusade first after listening to we are the fire and was impressed very much with the musicianship and the vocal and greatly impressed with the last track which is an instrumental (I usually hate instrumentals). I then bought inferno expecting much of the same but.... Guitars are great all musicianship great but "growly" lead vocal with unintelligible lyrics?. Some of my younger friends have accused lead singer of imitating Hetfield on crusade but "whatever". who better to imitate, although I don't believe that to be accurate. I will definitely purchase other triv albums post crusade but I suggest that, if like me you heard crusade first, please borrow inferno and make you own mind up before buying.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2007
This is one of the greatest debut albums of all time, and I am including Hybrid Theory in that. This is superb metalcore, there is not one weak track on this. Standout tracks are 'If I could Collase the Masses', 'Ember to Inferno', 'To Burn the Eye', and my favourite Trivium song of all time 'Blinding Tears Will Break the Skies'.

The musicianship and vocals are pristine (and Heafy was 16/17 at the time of writing/recording!) and this is a must for any metal fan. It is thoroughly enjoyable and a pleasure to listen to.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2008
I decided to get this since i have The Crusade and Ascendancy and i loved them both, this Is a great debut but it's just not as good as their other albums. The best tracks are Fugue Revelations, To Burn The Eye & My Hatred. You can deffinetly hear the metallica influences on this album. The music is brilliant but the vocals are a bit annoying especially the melodic vocals they can be really annoying. Worth getting if you have Ascendancy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Great album. I don't like all this grunting and snarling, ineligible "singing" but for some reason I take to Trivium very easily!

I spent years listening to Ascendancy then bought Shogun and then In Waves... Stayed clear of The Crusade and Ember To Inferno - what an idiot!! I could have had this album originally brand new for a fiver but wouldn't buy it. Eventually decided to get it as I had the rest of their stuff but couldn't get it new, had to go second hand at a price well above the original asking price!

Great album and was well worth the cash. I am a guitar man and that is why I love this band as much, the guitar playing is exceptional and if you dislike the singing the just block it out - as I do! (often, not always).

Like new age heavy metal? Then buy this...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
I orderd this album and the very next day it came through, brilliant condition and best CD i have.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.