Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 70s classic
Unlike most films based on TV series, this one is actually better than the small-screen version. Anyone who bought the 4-DVD box set of the TV version will know that the jokes and plot are quite thinly spread across each episode. But for this film, writers Larbey and Esmonde took all the best bits from the TV episodes, and hung them off a plot in which form 5C go for...
Published on 19 Jan 2005 by Gavin Wilson

versus
6 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please Sir
I bought this box set as I thought that I remembered the late 60s/early 70s ITV series as being funny.

I watched (suffered?) the first three episodes and came to the conclusion that my memory must be extremely poor; either that or I'm now too old to appreciate the often childish "humour": having said that it is no worse than much of what the television...
Published on 2 Dec 2010 by Dangerous Dave


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
takes me back to the good old days john alderton plays a poor teacher with a terrible class to teach but he gets them around in the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect comedy film, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
Lets get something straight right away - this wonderful series/movie will be remembered most fondly for those of a certain age during the period of 1968-72 - it probably passed by those too old at the time and those too young to remember will not share the same nostalgic reminisces of this magical show and time period - (and i cant help but feel a bit sorry for them for that) For those of us at the right age, im sure you will agree that Its very hard to watch this film without feeling hopelessly nostalgic and romantic for a time period long gone which we all feel im sure was just about the best era to be growing up in - so in evaluating this fiim - im going to try and leave all the sentiment and nostalgia behind and look at this perspectivly, nearly 45 years down the line

so what do we have? well, like the headline reads - an absolutely perfect comedy. An incredibly rich cast of diverse characters, top-notch acting and extremely clever and witty - laugh out loud at times - dialogue. This film has absolutely everything you could hope for in a comedy - not a second is wasted and the timing is just impeccable. It beggars belief how people like john alderton and indeed the whole cast could have spent the rest of their careers in virtual obscurity. This is a warm, gentle and brilliantly concieved movie from beginning to end. Because of the certain age i am though it does fill me with a sense of sadness at how many years have gone by and how the majority of the cast are no longer with us. This film is a magic and defining moment in british film history. Do i make myself clear? good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny film, 28 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
As this was an old classic, I ordered this for my kids to watch.

Arrived in good time but although it was film wrapped, the DVD was rattling around loose in the box.

Hopefully it caused no damage to the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars please sir, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
i brought it 4 my daughter as a stocking filler,as a nostalgic film of her youth.Im sure she'll love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Test of time, 24 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
A comedy that shakes off its 43 years with ease. The reason for this? The comedy is character based and the characters are strong. It's not exactly Ingmar Bergman, but this is one of the best spin-offs and as such was a welcome staple 2.00pm weekday offering from ITV in the early eighties. To be enjoyed accompanied by Marmite toast, a Jacobs club biscuit and full sugar Ribena.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC COMEDY, 17 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
If you are of a certain age, this DVD brings back great memories of not only a great film but also a great sunday TV series that the whole family could sit and enjoy together. Really pleased I found it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
What a lovely hour or so of nostalgia. Gentle humour,a little bit of the prejudices of the day thrown in and a happy ending. Introduced it to my teen grandchildren and they enjoyed it mainly because they were laughing at me enjoying it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hi, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
it good to look back in time and back to the 70 and old thing from year ago and it was good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FAB, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Please Sir! [DVD] (DVD)
Very very good comedy dont make them like that any more JOHN ALDERTON and the fen street gang brill give us more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good old fashioned TV, 20 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you were a fan of the 1960/1970s TV programme this is a must for you. Very funny and it takes you back to your childhood at school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Please Sir! [DVD]
Please Sir! [DVD] by Mark Stuart (DVD - 2004)
3.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews