Customer Reviews


6 Reviews

4 star
0


2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Wonderwall, 1968
I saw this film in the 60's and told friends about it, they did'nt believe that they could have missed anything so good.
Of course the Oasis song is cited and perhaps Noel saw it or heard about it and, his respect for anything by the Beatles being well known, it inspired his song. The characterisation is excellent and it has survived transfer onto DVD well. We're...
Published 16 months ago by Roy Cramer

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderwall - sixties surrealism
I got hold of a copy of George Harrison's soundtrack for the film a while ago. I was intrigued to see how the predominantly Indian music fitted into the film. I enjoy the surrealism of the late sixties in any case, so I was intrigued to see what this film offered. It's a watchable enough film for its genre and though the plot is thin, it works as a curiosity piece from a...
Published on 16 July 2013 by RingoT


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wonderwall - sixties surrealism, 16 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
I got hold of a copy of George Harrison's soundtrack for the film a while ago. I was intrigued to see how the predominantly Indian music fitted into the film. I enjoy the surrealism of the late sixties in any case, so I was intrigued to see what this film offered. It's a watchable enough film for its genre and though the plot is thin, it works as a curiosity piece from a very particular period in British cinema. Maybe not a classic, but I'm happy enough to add it to my collection as an insight to a very distinctive decade in art, music and film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Wonderwall, 1968, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in the 60's and told friends about it, they did'nt believe that they could have missed anything so good.
Of course the Oasis song is cited and perhaps Noel saw it or heard about it and, his respect for anything by the Beatles being well known, it inspired his song. The characterisation is excellent and it has survived transfer onto DVD well. We're well and truly taken back to the 60's with the next door flat scenes of Fashion photography and wild parties. The Prof, with his dependance on a stack of small cards that tell him what to do next, flounders upon contact with next door's bright young things . There is the hallucination scene in which giant everyday objects are used as duelling weapons, then the rescue of his love object from her suicide attempt charmingly caps everything.
i hope you can get hold of a copy, its worth watching.

Skakeys
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good atmosphere, great colour, poor story-line, 2 Dec. 2007
By 
Geoff Parkes (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
The plot for this film is very basic: eccentric, loner professor (Jack MacGowran) living in ultra-cluttered home spies through hole (later holes) in the wall on swinging, psychedelic household next door and fantasises increasingly about Penny Lane (Jane Birkin), the girl living there with her boyfriend.

As a product of swinging London in the 60s, I bought this film expecting to be transported back to those wild, delicious times. It didn't happen much. There are certainly a number of authentic touches: psychedelic cars, flamboyantly-clad models, Penny Lane's brilliantly decorated and furnished flat (that's extreme - and bang on!), and a predominance of fashion photographers. Accompanying all the extravagant visuals we have George Harrison's soundtrack, dominated by the wailing sitar and reminiscent in turn of Revolver or Magical Mystery Tour, though sadly never as melodic as either.

Our cameo portraits of the 60s are glimpsed as the prof presses his eye to the wall, where he witnesses exactly what you'd expect for the time: drugs, sex, music, models, photography, plus the usual boyfriend-girlfriend dramas. However, don't expect to see people tripping out on LSD or having wild, explicit sex - there's none of that. The prof's episodes of voyeurism are interspersed with fantasy sequences, increasingly of the prof getting together with Penny. These sequences are sometimes amusing, sometimes visually striking, sometimes pointless. Jane Birkin usually provides the eye candy, and without her you're left thinking that the fantasy sequences would often be pretty tedious.

The film does give you some tastes of the 60s, though 'Blow-up' and 'Here We Go Round The Mulberry Bush' evoke the period far better. The strongest thing about the film is the striking use of colour. The weakest thing is the lack of a decent plot: Jane Birkin and Jack MacGowran are both fine actors but are not given enough material to work with. The thinking was presumably that creating a psychedelic 60s atmosphere would be enough to carry the film, but the best films of the era all have far stronger story lines. If you're a dyed-in-the-wool 60s fan, you might feel you want to own it; if you're not, you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic fantasy..., 2 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Made in 1968, this weird and wonderful movie has a psychedelic soundtrack by 'Beatle' George Harrison (also features Eric Clapton)
This really is a tripped-out look into cool 60s London, the fashions, sexy energy & psychadelia aplenty. So much going on that you really need to watch more than once.
An eccentric professor (Jack MacGowran) discovers a hole in the wall through which he can see into the apartment of Penny (Jane Birkin), the beautiful young model living next door. He becomes completely obsessed by Penny and her bizarre world - fashion models, photographers, parties, drugs, sex and music.
You may know Jane Birkin as the famous voice on the 'Je t'aime' song...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete loss of plot? Ah yes! I remember it well., 22 Mar. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Sorry! But I can't agree with Geoff Parkes. It has taken me three attempts to sit through this film and it's definitely third time lucky.

Yes, the acting is pretty dismal at times and there is hardly any plot; if you were with us about the time this film was made you might recall that's just how the latter half of the decade was - no plot at all - everything was extemporised, ask the government of the time they were certainly winging it. Good old sixties all form and no substance.

I'm sure any audience for 'Wonderwall' was probably supposed to be whacked out of their skulls, it's certainly a sugar lumps, whacky baccy and oil projector type of experience. I'm far more likely to take it down off the shelf more frequently than 'Blow-up', and I prefer it to 'Les Bicyclettes de Belsize' - now there is one wierd but evocative movie.

As a prelim' to watching, try slipping Floyd's 'Relics' on the turntable, clamp on your headphones and wind the volume right up, you should then be in the proper frame of mind for viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 60s Memorabilia, 22 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] (DVD)
Not the cleverest or most enlightening movie to be released in the 60s - but the psychedelia was stll fresh at the time and the music (George Harisson's 2nd solo attempt after the excruciating 'Electronic Music') is fab fab fab.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wonderwall [1968] [DVD]
Wonderwall [1968] [DVD] by Jane Birkin (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £7.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews