Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class
This is a must for any fan of Urban music. Est'Elle is a fantastic singer and has an album full of strong, soulful tracks. The singles '1980' and 'Free' are great but the album has so much more to offer. Every song is credible and worth listening to and this in my opinion is one of the best (if not the best) album of the year. Est'Elle is here and flying the flag for...
Published on 4 Nov 2004 by kickinghigh2

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected!!
Bought this album because of 'Free' and initially listened to tracks 1, 5 & 6. However, gave it a chance and it's actually very good throughout give or take a couple of songs. Estelle even sounds like Mary J. on a couple of tracks and that's no bad thing! Favourite is still Free but All Over Again, Dance with Me, 1980 & Go Gone are all excellent. No album is ever...
Published on 13 Aug 2005


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Class, 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
This is a must for any fan of Urban music. Est'Elle is a fantastic singer and has an album full of strong, soulful tracks. The singles '1980' and 'Free' are great but the album has so much more to offer. Every song is credible and worth listening to and this in my opinion is one of the best (if not the best) album of the year. Est'Elle is here and flying the flag for British black music, let's not turn away another raw talented artist!
Buy this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!!!, 24 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
This album is fantastic, each track is different and all brilliant. Estelle is very talented, as a singer, rapper and writer. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid debut!, 1 Aug 2007
By 
N Lyle "NJZ" (Surrey. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
This debut album by Estelle is a real grower. Reflective and sometimes amusing lyrics combined with a sparkling production make for a very enjoyable listen. This is a quality R&B/Rap album and Estelle is not afraid to venture into new territory with tracks such as Change is Coming and Go Gone. There is some nice acoustic instrumentation which contrasts well to the more programmed synth backing.

Big up the UK R&B, Rap and Hip-Hop artists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid debut by UK R&B/Rap artist., 3 July 2007
By 
N Lyle "NJZ" (Surrey. UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This debut album by Estelle is a real grower. Reflective and sometimes amusing lyrics combined with a sparkling production make for a very enjoyable listen. This is a quality R&B/Rap album and Estelle is not afraid to venture into new territory with tracks such as Change is Coming and Go Gone. There is some nice acoustic instrumentation which contrasts well to the more programmed synth backing.

Big up the UK R&B, Rap and Hip-Hop artists!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better than I expected!!, 13 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
Bought this album because of 'Free' and initially listened to tracks 1, 5 & 6. However, gave it a chance and it's actually very good throughout give or take a couple of songs. Estelle even sounds like Mary J. on a couple of tracks and that's no bad thing! Favourite is still Free but All Over Again, Dance with Me, 1980 & Go Gone are all excellent. No album is ever superb throughout these days but this is one of the better ones!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dogs!, 19 Nov 2004
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
more of a tupac fan, but estelle is similar in the way she is honest in her lyrics a truely wicked album im sure i will not be taking out 4 a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars False advertising!, 11 Aug 2005
By 
Mr. S. Lewis (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
Freedom is not on here! This is my favourite Estelle track!!
Some of the other tracks are good (see Change is Coming and Hey Girl with John Legend) but there is a bit too much soul - albeit some of it very good - at the end of the album. I am more of a hip hop fan and did not expect so much soul, especially at the end. Her singing is good but don't enjoy out n out pop tracks (see Go Gone) Well done to Estelle though, she comes from a scene where not many people can achieve the success and acceptance she has - it's good to see someone doing things like Band Aid with talented mainstream artists.
I am very disappointed in amazon for sending me something that doesn't have the track I wanted on there - I know I could have returned it but I shouldn't have to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant first album, 1 April 2008
By 
M. Cox "Just Me" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love this CD, each song is different with a mix of both rap and singing, its a very good CD and should have done better sales wise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not my cup of tea, 24 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The 18th Day (Audio CD)
This is a poor UK imitation of what the US does best. RnB and hip hop from the UK is not my cup of tea. Her next album will probably get 4 stars from me but this one is not focused enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The 18th Day
The 18th Day by Estelle (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews