Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb drama
Never have I seen such a light-hearted, sweet and believeable drama portraying the love between so many characters. This film is a great piece of cinema. It begins with the friendship between a young boy, Bobby, and his older brother, who dies in a freak accident. The rest of the film concerns Bobby's relationships - with his teenage soulmate and a young woman called...
Published on 24 Mar 2005 by David Mccall

versus
5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Forget the film - read the novel
I have read the superb novel on which this film is based several times and, while I know films rarely live up to the novels on which they are based, mostly due to time constraints, this still came as a real disappointment. Whole important parts of the plot are left out, and the exploration of the central three characters' relationship and how it, and they, change over the...
Published on 16 Aug 2007 by patashnik


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A superb drama, 24 Mar 2005
By 
David Mccall - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home at the End of the World [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Never have I seen such a light-hearted, sweet and believeable drama portraying the love between so many characters. This film is a great piece of cinema. It begins with the friendship between a young boy, Bobby, and his older brother, who dies in a freak accident. The rest of the film concerns Bobby's relationships - with his teenage soulmate and a young woman called Claire - and his coming to terms with the loss of his entire family at a young age. The film is full of interesting concepts, such as that of hormonal teenage boys and the idea of creating a family where there are three parents. The main character, Bobby, is played superbly by three actors - as a young boy, a teenager, and a confused young man (Colin Farrell). As always, Farrell's presence is mesmerising - as a charming yet confused personality, he steals the movie, yet every other actor is brilliant. If you are looking for a heartwarming, emotional film concerning the complications of love and friendship, then it would be wise to watch this film, a largely underrated piece of modern cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars heartwarming, 28 April 2012
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film seemed to get much less attention than the other adaptation of a Michael Cunningham novel, The Hours, and while it doesn't quite match the intensity of that film it does have a much happier feel and is full of wonderful moments. Not that it is without some darker aspects, but it is the warmth of the characters you carry away with you. The teenage section is particularly fine, as is the opening, in fact the originality of the film is slightly lost in the second half, even as the set-up becomes more unconventional. The menage a trois is superbly acted all round and Colin Farrell's character is as cherishable as in the book ... it treads a fine line between observation from life and wish-fulfillment. The first two shorter sections are possibly more brilliant, however. The sequence where the mother smokes dope and then dances with the boys to Laura Nyro is fantastic. Sissy Spacek brings an indefinable quality to this and other scenes - an emotion that is almost palpable, and her expression in this sequence is just something to behold. It's actually one of the most memorable scenes in cinema for me, it has pathos, wonder, beauty, humour, incongruity, all conveyed with a light, fleeting feel. And working backwards, the opening section is also a small marvel in the way Bobby's brother seems such a radiant caring spirit, his life cut short so tragically, but his impact being felt throughout everything that follows. I should add that it has a brilliant soundtrack as well, wonderfully evoking the 70s and early 80s through the songs of the period - the icing on the cake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensitivity over sensibility., 25 April 2010
The 'home' at the end of the world is a beacon of light and love in a remote area. It's where the film reaches its conclusion. I won't spoil how and why. However, as audience, be sure to be left with many questions. The ending leaves open many options for individual interpretations as to how characters will come to terms with their situation after the credits have started rolling.
'Home' is a delightful tale of people listening to their hearts, rather than their minds. Plot revolves around Bobby (Colin Farrell) and his mate Jonathan (Dallas Roberts). Their friendship starts out in their teens and evolves into a long term relationship. They experience their road to adulthood free from moral oppression and frustration. The couple is loved by its human environment and left to make their own choices as to how to sort their lives out. Supporting characters Clare (Robin Wright Penn) and Jonathan's mum (Sissy Spacek) brilliantly provide the synergistic means for Bobby and Jonathan to reach whatever they're after.
Many a situation in the storyline could have been met by anger and wrath by the characters. Instead, all concerned treated these with love, humour, tenderness and understanding. The heart ruled, not the mind. I took 'Home' to heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterfully created Soap, 14 Feb 2007
By 
M. Lekic "Lamek Optic" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A well crafted film. I watched with delight and sadness and will see it again and again. C Farell's character is a little too good to be true, but yet he was stoned most of the time. A brave American journey into gay scene. Acting is superb. A treat for a sentimental soul. Get a paper tissue ready.Sissy Spacek is superb so is everything else except the story line. A little naive or simple lacks drama. However it does not distract from the overall good impression.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Under-rated!, 17 Jun 2014
By 
Adrian Drew (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A strong cast and excellent direction bring to life this moving story of the complexity of human relationships by the accomplished author of the award winning "The Hours". Michael Cunningham's epic tale of the relationship between three young people over their lifetimes has extraordinary depth and nuance. Colin Farrell gives what is arguably his finest performance ever and he is complemented well by his co stars.
The complex "plot" never fails to surprise as the emotional life of its characters evolve and the denouement is quite remarkable. The transfer is solid and both audio and video are very acceptable. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant movie, 28 April 2011
By 
Mr. D. Human - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Home at the End of the World [DVD] [2004] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Love how the title becomes relevant towards the end of the movie and how true love on an emotional level is played off against more physical affection and love. Big fan of Farrel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No place like home, 28 May 2009
By 
Magpie (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
I must have been looking the other way when this film was originally released or perhaps it just didn't get the release I believe it deserved. Whatever, the main thing is that this was a thoroughly enjoyable film that handled many different themes with aplomb.

It is perhaps a shame that there wasn't more time to learn more about the characters when they were younger as both young men put in good performances. I think there was a film just in their relationship with each other and the way they interract with the mother, played wonderfully and delightfully subtly by Sissy Spacek.

Colin Farrell is a revelation in this film and it is clear that with the right direction he can turn in powerful performances. He played his part well; low key, quietly and it is almost a surprise to discover how he is the lynch pin that pulls everyone towards him and keeps them there.

People were disapointed by the ending but I would say it was perfect, it might have been tempting to continue the story to any one of several potential endings but leaving the viewer where they did left us to decide where and how it ended. I'm off to read the book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Living life without a blue print, 20 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is one movie I cannot rate highly enough, Colin Farrell's Bobby is one of the most beautiful creations (inside and out) in film today. A tragically beautiful movie about creating a family that you want - and if a desire is there you will create a home at the end of the world. Beautifully shot with stellar acting and a moving soundtrack it gives us a glimpse of what the human soul is capable of when it truly loves someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars search for an alternative kind of family, 10 Jun 2006
Bobby experiences an early loss of his beloved brother, but inherits his lust for a take it easy approach to life. At high school he meets Jonathan with whom he joins in a kind of loving alternative lifestyle. Soon he is integretated in his family, later they meet again at New York City.

Who liked "The Hours" of Micheal Cunningham very much, this movie is the easy going alternative. The movie revolves around the relationsships of a limited number of people, which are driven by deep interest in each other, sexually, emotionally and like a family. It's not about the usual boring reactions of parents or stress in relationsships. This movie surprises by its approach more than once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie., 18 Feb 2007
By 
Christopher McDougall "crs" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film was surprisingly great!! I read the title information and didn't think it sounded that great but with C. Farrell in it thought i'd give it a chance. All actors are amazing was on the edge of my seat! Very heart-felt towards the end. Overall Good Movie!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews