Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why Were these tracks taken out the albums????, 12 Oct 2004
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
Why were these tracks Rarities and B-Sides when there some of No Doubts best songs?!
I got this CD with the boom box and its one of the best!
Most of the Tracks are all taken from the Return of Saturn/ Rock steady era, therefore are quite alternative and electro rock compared to the ska tracks in Tragic Kingdom and the Becan Street collection.
However there are a few exceptions, like the cover of the Vandels Ska track Oi to the World (the video is also on the disc) and the remixes, which arent particulary great, infact they let the disc down, but there are lots of no doubt tracks to cover them up.
The disc includes Big Distraction abonus song from return of saturn, which is worth listening to if you havent already!
Theres some catchy fast songs and some deep alternative ones such as Beauty Contest which are really good.
Owners of Rock steady will enjoy in 'New Friend' as it includes parts of in my head. This song was cast away from rock steady as in my head was produced and is just as good.
NO DOUBT FANS BUY THIS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best No Doubt album yet...., 13 Jun 2005
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
On this album you get to see how No Doubt's sound has changed, from its ska roots to its hip-hop/pop/rock sound now. The opening track, Big Distraction, took me a while to like but it's one of the best songs that I've heard in years. Another BRILLIANT song on this album is Cellophane Boy, it's amazingly good. The other songs are pretty good too, especially the two versions of Everything In Time and You're So Foxy. Sure, there are a few songs that I don't appreciate, such as I Throw My Toys Around or New and Approved (having said that, I never really liked New anyway), but overall it's a fantastic album. I think it's their best album they've done, and if you don't like Gwen Stefani's "music" at the moment don't let that put you off because this is nothing like it. This is No Doubt at their best, and it's just a shame it didn't have the success it deserved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Quality Seconds, 12 Nov 2004
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
It is to No Doubt's credit that an album of their "B" sides, combined with material that didn't make previous albums, could be so good. This is clearly a group overflowing with talent, originality and creativity.
This album rivals "Rock Steady" and "Tragic Kingdom" in intensity, with rocking reggae and ska beats, guaranteed to have you tapping and nodding along from the first listen. Not recommended for your CD drive if you work in a formal office setting, because even with headphones, it'll be painfully obvious what you're up to.
Stand out songs include "New Friend", "Oi to the World", "Full Circle", and the slower "Cellophane Boy", "I Throw My Toys Around" (with Elvis Costello)and the classic title song.
No Doubt's "B" is better than many other's bytes or barks.
Amanda Richards
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars There's no doubt that no doubt are the best!!, 18 Oct 2004
By 
Mr. C. D. Parker "chris1990" (Leeds, West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
This album is a collection of B-Sides and Rare tracks from the very pit of the no doubt archieves. It contains some of ND's best work. Big Distraction some of you may know as the bonus track on No Doubts Return of Saturn album. Oi to the world is also a good song and was taken from a christmas album released 1997. I recomend this album to any no doubt fan who has bough the previous album and look out for Gwen Stefani's solo album coming soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly brilliant, 5 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
I was slightly wary about buying this album, as I'd heard it's not much like 'The Singles' (another great). However, I played it for the first time only to find that it's better! Although the tracks aren't are easy on the ears as songs such as 'Don't Speak' and 'Hey Baby', they are far more original and a lot more fun. The best ones for me are 'Big Distraction', 'You're so Foxy' and 'Oi to the World', but almost all of them are brilliant, with the exception of the three remixes which i was disappointed by. Overall though, a fantastic album - buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Doubt, this will have your feet tapping., 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
What a cracking set! You know they're good when their b sides and rarities are this good. If their more modern sounds aren't to your liking (I personally like them but we are all different) then get this now. Back to the good old days, again. :) I took it to hospital with me and listened to it every night along with another album of theirs I purchased, their first album simply named No Doubt.

For those of you who don't know what their sound is like, I'd say its a mix of brass band, rock and techno pop. Its very unique. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A fine collection of b-sides, 24 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. T. S. Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
This CD is essentially a CD of three parts - the first half (tracks 1 to 9) are b-sides and out-takes from the Return of Saturn album, 10-14 a collection of other bits-n-bobs from throughout the years, and tracks 15-17 are a disappointing collection of remixes.

This odd bunching together of three different groups of songs leads to a somewhat disjointed collection, but there are so many great songs here that it still merits a five-star rating. The tracks from the RoS sessions show quite how much talent was streaming out of the band during that era. There are some great fun fast numbers like "Under Construction", "Big Distraction" and "Full Circle", alongside some slower material ("Beauty Contest", "Cellophane Boy"). "Leftovers" is one of the most sublimely wonderful songs that No Doubt has ever produced - it doesn't really stand out on first listen but instead creeps into your head and stays there for a long time. It's absolutely criminal that some of these tracks didn't make it onto the original RoS album, but a relief to see them all collected together here now. The three completely unreleased tracks from the RoS sessions ("Panic", "You're So Foxy" and "Everything In Time") are all great additions to the band's catalogue too. There is a comment in the sleeve that "Everything In Time" was dropped from RoS in favour of "Too Late", which in my opinion was an error of judgement.

The second part of the album consists of two out-takes from Rock Steady, and three soundtrack/compilation contributions. "New Friend" is a lot of fun, a later incarnation of this track appeared on Rock Steady as "In My Head". The updated version of "Everything In Time" is nice too, and different enough to merit a place on this collection. The three soundtrack songs are all good, especially "I Throw My Toys Around" - a song that really shouldn't work, but just does.

As soon as "I Throw My Toys Around" finishes, I wholeheartedly recommend turning this CD off. Then you can appreciate it as a fine collection of songs, instead of hearing the disappointing end of the disc. The remix of "New" is ok, but the two mixes of "Rock Steady" are utter dross and a waste of space at the end of the CD. This is such a shame as there were so many great rarities that could have gone on this disc instead, such as the b-sides from the Beacon Street sessions ("My Room Is Still Clean" and "You Can't Teach An Old Dog New Tricks"), or the beautiful live version of "By The Way" which originally appeared on the Sunday Morning CD single.

With the inclusion of the aforementioned tracks in place of the sub-standard remixes this collection would be perfect. As it stands, it is still essential listening for any No Doubt fan. Don't be put off by the garbage that Stefani has been releasing over the last couple of years; the material on this album is infinitely superior.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Everything in Time - B-sides, Rarities & Remixes (Audio CD)
ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews