Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest DVD around
This is 20 odd years old and shows Eddie Murphy at his best. Ranges from pretty funny to hilarious with very little wasted space. This is his best work by far, in fact it has to be in the top 3 comedies in history
Published on 18 Feb 2005 by BobbyD

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not as funny as it used to be
As a teenager I remember I thoroughly enjoyed this. Relentless and full of youthful testosteron and ignorance Eddy confirms each and everyones insecurities so common for the young market he targets, and he had me in stitches.

Now, many years later I found myself watching the show again and wondering what he would tell his kids when they accidentally come across...
Published on 28 Nov 2008 by Bwasiz


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will laugh from start to finish, 26 Aug 2000
The best of Eddies stand up, gives some of the funniest stories of his growing up. He is at his funniest with his impersanations of all the stars. This is a must see video for all Eddie Murphy fans and anyone else who loves a laugh...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ignore this video if you have no sense of humour, 9 May 2000
By A Customer
The Eddie Murphy of today is a boring Hollywood bore who stars in boring films for boring people who laugh at boring jokes.
Forget the Eddie Murphy of today.
Watch Raw and jump to '88 - and find a young Eddie Murphy with the world in his hands. His spot on observations will have you twisting and turning and letting out laughing noises only normally heard in a Safari Park. It will leave you searching for a hospital that will perform a immediate hernia operation at 4am in the morning. Quite possibly, you will never laugh as much as you will the first time you watch Raw.
Buy this Video and become a funnier person!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - dont agree, 28 Feb 2007
By 
Chris Duncan "comedy tester" (oop north) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eddie Murphy Raw [DVD][1987] (DVD)
It's ok, but no way is it 'legendary' or genius. Don't get me wrong but Eddie comes off as a real woman hater in this. I don't find sexist comedy offensive as long as it is done with talent and intelligence but Eddie just uses the standard comic sterotype (Women be after yo money and men don't love women they just wanna get laid) for the entire show. Maybe it seemed funnier back then but in today's age it just seems a bit childish. Compared to the likes of Pryor or Hicks this is just a guy doing funny voices saying quite nasty stuff. I did laugh out loud at some bits, and we were all drunk, but there were long pauses between the laughter and eventually we turned it off and put on Bill Bailey.

Its not awful but it definitely ain't genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conditioin as described, 16 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Eddie Murphy Raw [DVD][1987] (DVD)
The condition was as described, like a brand new DVD straight out of the shop. It also worked perfectly and I've yet to come across any problems
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawnorama, 15 April 2008
By 
This review is from: Eddie Murphy Raw [DVD][1987] (DVD)
I suppose I was naive to expect anything more than brash, base humour from a comedian such as Eddie Murphy but even I couldn't believe how bad this performance was. His overly simplistic view of the complex relationships between men and women evinces little humour and just helps brand him an ignorant arrogant mysoginist.

Typical joke come rant "I like funny woman. I hate those shy women. But I would only sleep with a funny woman if she was really attractive". Hmmmm. Hilarious.

The whole show just left a nasty taste in my mouth which is probably why I found myself drifting off for large parts.

His humour has all the style, taste and discernment as his dress for the show (a bright purple leather suit for those who are fortunate not too have wasted 90 minutes of their life).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not so funny, rather offensive, 29 Jun 2011
This review is from: Eddie Murphy Raw [DVD][1987] (DVD)
I thought this stand up was very offensive. Offensive comments about, Michael Jackson RIP, Steven wonder, James Brown RIP, Elvis RIP, Gay people and even his own family. He talks about how strict his mum was and how his dad got drunk on family get together. He hardly or did not say one good thing about his family obviously this man is troubled.

I spent more time fast forwarding because I could not believe how bad this stand up was. A lot of comedians think they can just go on stage, drop a couple of swear words and tag their performance as being funny. In actually fact the audience do not know any better. There really isn't anything to gain from watching this other than the 5mins joke about children and the icecream truck.

Please save your money and invest your time in something productive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wenn Sie Amerikanisch verstehen, und Humor mag, kauf dies!!!, 18 Sep 2000
By A Customer
Also, Eddie Murphy brauch ich ja nicht vorstellen. Aber die Humor in seine "Stand-Up Comedy" ist wahnsinn. Ich empfehle es weiter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eddie Murphy Raw [DVD][1987]
Eddie Murphy Raw [DVD][1987] by Robert Townsend (DVD - 2004)
3.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews