Customer Reviews


178 Reviews
5 star:
 (122)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough meets Clueless
'The setting - a mall in Illonois, when the animals are in heat. They gather around the watering hole, showing signs of affection and signs of aggresion to their counterparts. The different species stay apart from one another. The animals are watched over consistently by their leaders, pampered and preened.'
Fine, so you may be forgiven for thinking this is a...
Published on 15 May 2005 by dont_you_want_me_baby

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars True to title
A bunch of pre-teen girls over for a sleepover really enjoyed it but it is the usually American drivel as you can tell by the cover & title! A few sexual references and swearing. A lot of 'bayyych' !!
Published 6 months ago by D. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars David Attenborough meets Clueless, 15 May 2005
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
'The setting - a mall in Illonois, when the animals are in heat. They gather around the watering hole, showing signs of affection and signs of aggresion to their counterparts. The different species stay apart from one another. The animals are watched over consistently by their leaders, pampered and preened.'
Fine, so you may be forgiven for thinking this is a review of Wildlife on One. But this is one of the many subtle messages sent across during Mean Girls. This film has been dismissed by many as a 'chick flick.' Those narrow-minded people are wrong.
Tina Fey took this idea from the book, Queenbees and Wannabees, a factual look at high school cliques. Fey wrote, and starred in, this comedic,fictional look at today's youth.
It could almost be my high school she is reviewing. Every school has a clique problem. Cady is a New Girl. Home-schooled in Africa from the age of four, she takes her fist steps into high school at sixteen.
Northshore is divided into groups, as shown on Janice's map of the cafeteria. There are "the J. V. Jocks, Asian Nerds, Cool Asians, Girls who Eat their Feelings, Girls who eat Nothing at All ..." and the list goes on. Every school has them. I had the displeasure of watching this film with my extremely schocked mother, who recognised her three children in the characters. Alright, so the ideas are over the top, and the supporting cast are occasionally over-played, but the idea is spot-on. All teenagers are the same, they all do act like animals, everybody gets grounded, evrybody has house parties, everybody has a crush on her best friends boyfriend.
But the most obvious things about this film are the relationships between characters. The way Cady and Gretchen both wish to be in the Plastics, because being out of them would be hell, even with Regina George sniping and trying desperately to ruin them. Janice's relationships with her friends were tarnished when Regina sent messages around about her sexuality. Regina herself is greatly envious of Cady, whom she sees as prettier than her, more intelligent than her, and much more worthy of her ex-boyfriend's attention. Watch carefully, as Regina, who supposedly hates Cady, takes her advice on what to eat, and what to use on her face. Similarly, watch as Cady throws Regina's rumours at Janice, calling her a lesbian.
This film touches the heartstrings. But not just because, in places, it is sad. Also, because you are well aware you are either similar to one of the characters, or you know one of them. The situations are handled in a sometimes over the top comedic way (hence the low star rating), which helps to buffer the blow. Over all, this film teaches people about the dangers of high school.
Sometimes being outside the group is better than being in ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely funny film., 16 Mar 2005
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Mean girls is a film that will appeal not just to teenagers but to anyone with a sense of humour...particularly if you like your humour black.
Lindsay Lohan stars as a young girl who has been taught at home all of her life and is joining high school for the first time. Cady and her parents have been living in Africa and she soon realises that being at school isn't all that different. There are clear demarkations betwen the various species such as the 'plastics', the 'geeks' and so on.
The film has some hilarious moments as Cady tries to find her niche in this jungle. As with most 'teen' movies, there is a moral at the end but thankfully this isn't saccharine in any way. Great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally, a realistic high school movie, 14 Nov 2004
By 
C. L. Stonehall "chocclare" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Girls [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This film fantastically shows a side to highschool life most of us recognise and can relate to - whatever highschool clique you were/are in, theres characters that you feel like you just know, and some that will suprise you.
This film is full of hilarious moments, and occassionaly has the heart warming and cringe-worthy moments that are all bound to keep a grin permanently on your face throughout the entire film. Also the realism of it makes you feel more for the characters and the situations. I think this is Lindsay Lohans best film yet and will probably be to her what for example edward scissorhands is to johnny depp - forever loved and remembered :)
Its a fantastic film for people of all ages - my lil sister, myself (aged 17) and our mum viewed the film all together, and we all loved it.
The soundtrack is also addictively wonderful - particularly the song built like this by samantha ronson, so check out the soundtrack as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mean Girls- what a great film!, 24 Oct 2004
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
When first sitting down to watch this I didn't expect a lot from it, I thought it would be your average teen movie. How wrong I was. I was hooked from the start and found it very enjoyable to watch.
There are some very good performances in this from Tina Fey, Lyndsay Lohan and Rachael McAdams to name just three.
The special features on the DVD are also very good with a gag reel, trailer, and featurettes among other things.
This film is well worth buying, definately good value for money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All hail the beautiful chick-flick, 9 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is definitely a chick flick, but don't let that stop you from watching it. I loved it, plenty of teenage girls love it, and I even got my friend, who violently hates this type of film, to enjoy it. See? It's good!!
Mean Girls is about a girl called Cady who starts high school in America after having lived in Africa for most of her life, and is freaked out by all the cliques, like geeks, jocks, burn outs and most importantly, the snobby, popular Plastics. Regina, the leader of the Plastics, invites Cady to join their group, but when Cady develops a crush on Regina's ex boyfriend, Regina is completely infuriated and 'takes him back' from under Cady's nose. The rest of the film is basically about Cady trying to wreck Regina's life. I would give this film about 100 out of ten. It's really funny, even though the ending has "CHEESE" written all over it.
Reviewed by britishfairyprincess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 21 Feb 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the best films I've ever seen. If you're around 15 years old, you'll totally love it! You can really relate to Cady and what she's going through at high school. It seems so real it's untrue! It's also an ace comedy, I laugh every other minute and watch it all the time! It's definitely worth getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for a girly night in!, 28 Dec 2007
By 
Lucy Felthouse (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Mean Girls stars Lindsey Lohan as Cady Heron, a clueless teenager who's been brought up in the African jungle by her zoologist parents, meaning she's never attended high school. Until now. Thrown in at the deep end, she has to quickly learn the 'rules' of high school; where to sit, what to do, who to talk to, who not to talk to... poor Cady ends up eating her lunch in the toilets on more than one occasion.

However, two friendly 'outcasts' soon take her under their wing and help her acclimatise to school life. They point out all the different cliques and warn her away from the Plastics - three pretty, popular, and truly evil girls. Cady soon runs into trouble, though, when the 'Queen Bee' of the Plastics, Regina George, spots her and asks her to sit with them. Regina then decides to befriend Cady. Preferring to be with her 'outcast' friends, Cady isn't sure. But after explaining to Janis and Damian, the three of them decide Cady should pretend to be one of the Plastics in order to discover all their deepest darkest secrets, and bring them down from the inside, punishing them for the torture they've inflicted on their fellow students over the years.

Totally the opposite of the bitchy, air-headed and self-obsessed Plastics, Cady struggles to fit in with them, but tries her best. She is excelling in her classes, particularly Mathematics - her favourite. But there is a distraction in that particular class - in the shape of the gorgeous Aaron Samuels, who also happens to be Regina's ex-boyfriend. Warned off Aaron by Plastic #2, Gretchen, Cady tries to hide her attraction. But soon enough, Regina finds out about her crush on Aaron and encourages Cady to 'go for it' with him - only then to start dating him again and waving the fact in Cady's face. Cady now knows how truly evil Regina can be, and resolves to bring her status down, with help from her true friends. But in trying to bring down the Plastics, Cady unwittingly becomes one herself.

A real chick-flick, in the same league as Clueless and similar American comedies, Mean Girls will really make you giggle in places, and also emphathise with many of the characters. This is a feel-good film as all comes right in the end and there truly is a moral to the story, which is often lacking in modern films.

Overall, not half bad. I didn't think it was as good as Clueless, but still definitely worth picking up on DVD for a girly night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley fantastic!, 21 Jan 2005
By 
Ms. V. C. Wills "Vicksykate" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so good if you love your chick flicks and your high school comedies. The title 'Mean Girls' says it all... it's a situation we've all been through! The group of superior and perfect girls that run every school, even here in England, reign supreme over the rest, until the newcomer disrupts things. Even the ending wasn't as predictable as one may expect. Lindsay shone as Cadey (no surprises there), and Tina Fey's acting was only outshone by her outstanding script. I was particularly impressed by Lacey Chambert's portrayal of Gretchien, and the vulnerability that she so expertley balances with the original harsh front of her character. I'd definatley recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutley fantastic - such a good laugh, 10 Jan 2005
By 
Ms. V. C. Wills "Vicksykate" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is so good if you love your chick flicks and your high school comedies. The title 'Mean Girls' says it all... it's a situation we've all been through! The group of superior and perfect girls that run every school, even here in England, reign supreme over the rest, until the newcomer disrupts things. Even the ending wasn't as predictable as one may expect. Lindsay shone as Cadey (no surprises there), and Tina Fey's acting was only outshone by her outstanding script. I was particularly impressed by Lacey Chambert's portrayal of Gretchien, and the vulnerability that she so expertley balances with the original harsh front of her character. I'd definatley recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mean girls.., 28 Dec 2005
This review is from: Mean Girls [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I must have watched this film over 25 times.. literally!
I feel the beginning of the film is better than the second half, as when the film end, she's still a 'mean girl' but it doesn't dispute that.
This is the ultimate 'chick flick', for those teenage girls out there who enjoy and appreciate a good movie.
Well written and directed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 218 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mean Girls/Clueless [DVD] [2004]
Mean Girls/Clueless [DVD] [2004] by Mark Waters (DVD - 2004)
£8.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews