Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bit of sci-fi
watched this film when I was a kid and thought it was really scary. so I bought it again a couple of years back and have watched it loads of times since.
I really like it because it is very British (even Quatermass is British in this film, unlike the other two) and really gets it just right with the atmosphere. it is genuinely a bit creepy even now.
also the...
Published on 11 Sep 2003 by tomsk77

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not as good as the original TV version
After loving the 1950s TV version of Quatermass and the Pit, I was keen to see the film. I am afraid that the sheer horror created by the TV programme is lost in this remake. The story is just good as ever - intelligent and unpredictable. The film is enjoyable and fast paced (far faster than the 3 hour long TV version) and the acting perfectly reasonable. A genuinely...
Published on 17 July 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great bit of sci-fi, 11 Sep 2003
watched this film when I was a kid and thought it was really scary. so I bought it again a couple of years back and have watched it loads of times since.
I really like it because it is very British (even Quatermass is British in this film, unlike the other two) and really gets it just right with the atmosphere. it is genuinely a bit creepy even now.
also the central ideas are quite intelligent, it doesn't assum ethat because it's sci-fi it can't try and say something similar. I particularly like the idea that our ideas and images of the devil and gargoyles have been formed by ancient experiences.
I haven't seen the original TV series, and by the looks of some of the comments below I should check it out. however I think the film stands up perfectly well on its own. just the thing for Sunday afternoon viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hammer At Its Best!, 5 July 2002
By 
E. A. Redfearn "eredfearn2" (Middlesbrough) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
In more ways than one, this film alongside The Devil Rides Out produced a short time later, are landmarks in Hammer Film's History, for Hammer went into decline after these films were released. Overall, this version of Quatermass is a splendid achievement for its time. It does however, lack the atmosphere of the original Television broadcast of 1958/1959. One reason is that its made in colour and the atmosphere is lost somewhat. In black and white, there was a feeling that there was always something lurking in the shadows, especially in the haunted house scene which is one of the highlights of the Television version. Still, there is much to enjoy here despite budget limitations which had an adverse effect on special effects. The actors, especially Andrew Kier, Barbara Shelly and Julian Glover all played their parts with distinction. The final scenes of the destruction of London may look amateurish at times, but it doesnt detract from the film though. Worth seeing how well films can be made on limited budgets unlike the multi-million dollar productions which seem to be the norm nowadays. Needs to be seen on DVd though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT the pits...., 8 Nov 2004
By 
This review is from: Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I remember seeing this one on one of those saturday night horror double bills that BBC2 used to show in the late seventies and early eighties. Some of the films that were shown were of very
dubious quality indeed ("Night of the Lepus" anyone ?), but most of them were interesting and some of them were very good indeed. Quatermass and the Pit was one of the very best.
The plot concerns and alien spaceship found during building work in a London underground station, and whilst that may seem a little bit creaky and familiar, it turns out to be anything but.
By the end of the film, the cast of characters are speculating on the nature of the strange race which visited Earth at some time in the dim and distant past, but more startlingly on that race's influence on mankind's development, beliefs and very existence upon the planet. Ambitious stuff, and all done intelligently and convincingly. Particularly good is the subtle investigation of the strange goings on which have been going on in the vicinity for hundreds of years, usually dismissed
as nohing but local superstition and ignorance but now proving to be just a little bit more than that.
The cast is impressive... Andrew Keir, in what is probably his best remembered role, is perfect as Quatermass who is pehaps used here as a linking character instead of a driving character. He is excellently assisted by James Donald as the committed and ultimately heroic archaologist, Barbara Shelley and Julian Glover, whilst familiar faces such as Michael Ripper and Sheila Steafal also pop up. As is usual in films were alien spacecraft are discovered, there's a bit of friction between the
military and the scientists but there's a nice bit of overlap as the story develops and everyone begins to understand the possible significance of what is going on.
It isn't a horror film as such, but when the chills are delivered they still manage to have an effect nearly forty years later, and the atmosphere builds up quite nicely from one of intrigue into one of psychological and physical menace.
The script is as excellent as the perfromances of the cast, and if the special effects look a little bit limited by today's CGI standards, it is a flaw which can be understood and forgiven.
In short, it's a very impressive film indeed, and modern film makers could well make a note or two when planning the next action packed special effects driven blockbuster. There's nothing particularly wrong with that approach, but a little intelligence never does any harm.
The DVD is basic and their are no extras to speak of, which is a little disappointing. However, it's still nice to be able to replace my 'taped off the telly VHS version' which was beginning to shoe the signs of wear. The professor didn't surface again in the movies as far as I know, and we had to wait for the
John Mills TV series to see him again.
All in all, a cracker, and at this price, and absolute must !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Remember in the U.K. as "Quatermass and the Pit", 13 Feb 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Known in the Colonies as "Five Million Years to Earth" but first released as "Quatermass and the Pit" in the U.K., this science fiction/horror classic is for my money the best film ever produced by Hammer Studios. Whatever the title, the film quickly gets you hooked, as workers extending the London subway system uncover some ancient skeletons to the delight of Dr. Mathew Roney (James Donald) and his assistant Barbara Judd (Barbara Shelley). By the time Dr. Quatermass (Andrew Keir) arrives upon the scene, the workers have uncovered an alien spaceship and the strange insect-like creatures that apparently piloted it from another planet. Unfortunately the arrogant Colonel Breen (Julian Glover) dismisses it all as a Nazi hoax left over from the war, despite the fact the craft is made from an unknown metal. Quatermass deduces the strange creatures might have been ancient Martians and is worried about all the strange psychic phenomenon associated with this area. But Breen and the bureaucrats have their way until all hell breaks loose.
Like the original version of "The Thing From Another World," this is a film where the dialogue and the performances make you forget we are dealing with strange creatures from another planet. In point of fact, "Quatermass and the Pit" uses a bare minimum of special effects to create its thrills and chills. To be fair, the idea of Martians affecting human evolution to institute a surrogate race war is way out there, but such concerns are forgotten when the giant Martian image turns everybody in London mad and all that is left between humanity and the end of civilization are a couple of scientists and a giant crane. This 1967 film was directed by Roy Ward Baker, whose eclectic list of credits includes "A Night to Remember" and "The Legend of the Seven Golden Vampires." Baker deserves a lot of credit for the tone of the film, which he maintains even during the final credits as an exhausted Quatermass and Barbara survey the ruins around them. If you do not watch the DVD version of this classic film, then make an effort to get the widescreen VHS version, which remains my favorite science fiction film of the Sixties (yes, over "2001").
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophisticated sci-fi horror, 25 May 2005
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
It seems a contradiction in terms to label a Hammer horror film "sophisticated", but this one is definitely a cut above the rest. This horror takes a scientific approach to an intermittently on-going haunting event at the site of an underground railway excavation. A rocket scientist, the Professor Quatermass of the title, and a military man, Colonel Breen, who is poised to usurp control of Quatermass's rocket group, are sidetracked from their struggle for control of the group, by an intriguing find in the underground excavation. Things take a decidedly spooky turn when soldiers are brought in to dig out the supposed 'bomb'. Quatermass teams up with the archaeologist, Dr Roney, who is retrieving 5 million year old fossil bones from the site. Roney and Quatermass are also united in their dislike of Breen, the bumptious blimp who gets their backs up when he writes off every bizarre occurrence as some WWII Nazi propaganda plot. Dr Roney's assistant, Barbara, takes the initiative and starts investigating old records of the area and finds the 'hauntings' have been going on for a long time. These people are scientists though, and just because something inexplicable seems to be happening, their instincts do not lead them to look for supernatural causes. They begin to wonder if ghosts could just be phenomena that were badly observed and wrongly explained. The rocket expert's interests focus on space and the archaeologist's interests focus on our ancient ancestors. When the two get their heads together, their conclusions are astonishing.
This is the best of Hammer's adaptations of the three Quatermass BBC series, in my opinion. Andrew Keir makes a fine Professor Quatermass and the other actors are also very good. The atmosphere of fear and tension creeps up steadily. The music is excellent: it's not obtrusive, it doesn't drown out the dialogue, it's completely absent a lot of the time but when it is there, it's appropriate, sinister and adds wonderfully to the atmosphere of threat and danger. I've always taken the opportunity to watch this film when it's been shown on television. It terrified me when I was young and now I can still get hooked into the spirit of fear. I'm pleased with the DVD even though it offers no extras at all - not even subtitles. It's good just to be able to watch it whenever I like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Defintely One Of Hammer's Best Sci-Fi Films, 4 Feb 2005
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This third QUATERMASS film from Hammer Films is regarded by many to be the one of the best flicks Hammer has ever done and they are right.
QUATERMASS & THE PIT (1967) is an intelligent and at times, frightening film about an evil force being unleashed onto the people of London after an Martian spaceship is found in an London Underground excavation.
The acting is good, the music as well and the editing is tight. Even the special effects aren't bad, considering this was made in the late-1960's and we didn't had CGI in those days. There are a few unconvincing SPFX shots, but it isn't a harsh complaint.
A must buy for fans of science fiction and fantasy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quatermass in colour for the first time., 20 Nov 2003
By 
S. Hapgood "www.sjhstrangetales.com" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent British sci-fi from the 1960s, combining a genuinely intelligent, thought-provoking script (Nigel Kneale, as you would expect), and a host of familier faces. During major renovation work on the London Underground a strange craft is discovered, but there is far more to this than an exciting archaelogical discovery. Professor Quatermass is convinced that the answer lies in our very distant past, and an attempt by Martians to colonise the Earth by proxy. Ignore the Dr Who-sounding idea, the plot to this is very complex and intricate, bringing in poltergeist phenomena and Mankind's long-running obsession with the Devil and demonic horned figures. I particularly liked the idea that for the past 1000 years disturbances of the ground have set off paranormal activity in the immediate area of Hobbs Lane.
Even allowing for the age of this film there are still some very effective moments in it, most notably the image of the giant horned demon appearing in the sky over London, which is one of the most famous things Hammer ever did. But there is also the policeman, unaware of his own psychic abilities, getting taken ill in the derelict house, and the man with the drill getting besieged by poltergeist activity when he attempts to drill into the craft.
Some fine performances all round too. Andrew Kerr makes an excellent Professor Quatermass, flame-haired Barbara Shelley makes a rather more intelligent female lead than we normally get in old Sixties sci-fi's, Julian Glover as the so-very-upright army officer, and the under-rated James Donald as the scientist who sets out to destroy the evil force. There is also a strong feel of Swinging Sixties London to this film, which all adds to the flavour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite film., 23 July 2000
By 
John V. Keogh "JVK" (Barnet, London, UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Definitely Lovecraftian, a real ideas film for those of us who read the actual sf books which are usually about 40 years ahead of stupid Hollywood movies. Nigel Kneale's sharp script almost manages a unified theory of good and evil, the Devil, the paranormal and the meaning of human life on Earth. Superbly edited down to half the length of the original TV series, with the usual Hammer production quality. Andrew Keir is the best Professor Quatermass. Forget pod-people; "We're the Martians now!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small budget, big ideas, great film, 6 Jan 2005
By 
Mr. S. Crook (Way out west) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I fell in love with this film the first time I saw it on TV many years ago. It's very typical Nigel Kneale territory, with events in the distant past having a big impact on the present and possibly future, and providing an explanation for so many of those things we don't understand about ouselves and the world we live in. There's ghosts, necromancy, religion, alien invasions, PK and genetic engineering all rolled in without it seeming to be completely barmy. Eat your heart out XFiles.
The special effects aren't exactly stellar, but if you make allowances for the money available, and when the film was made, they are actually pretty good.
I love it so much because everyone who had a hand in its making took it seriously. The cast don't ham it up, the director does an impressive job, and Kneals script and story are superb. Keir makes an excellent Quatermass, (easily the best of those who've played him in my opinion) and his supporting cast all work like it was going to be the most important film of that decade. Just watch the byplay between the army guys excavating the 'bomb' and the archaeologists or between Quatermass and the civil servants.
For those who care about such things, Blake puts in a brief appearance...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quatermass, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
recording arrived on time as stated excellent condition sci-fi as it was no cgi sytunts by men all original ahhh those were the days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967]
Quatermass And The Pit [DVD] [1967] by Roy Ward Baker (DVD - 2004)
14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews