Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Day of Armageddon is nigh!, repent!"
It's difficult to know where to start in my review of 'Lost in Time' as there is so much to get through on this triple disc set, it is choc-a-block full of classic sixties Who, but navigating through it all is well worth the effort.
I'll avoid talking about each individual episode (they all have their own merits) and just briefly mention the real highlight of the...
Published on 18 Dec 2004 by Hob Anagarak

versus
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great idea, lacking representation...
As a time capsule, a window into the past of what once was and what may be lost forever, this DVD release is brilliant. Lost in Time bundles all the episodes of stories with more than half of them missing (hence the surviving episodes of Reign of Terror and The Ice Warriors, both with 2 out of 6 episodes missing, are not included), the two stories with exactly half...
Published on 24 Sep 2010 by Takeshi Tetsuryu


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 77 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Day of Armageddon is nigh!, repent!", 18 Dec 2004
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
It's difficult to know where to start in my review of 'Lost in Time' as there is so much to get through on this triple disc set, it is choc-a-block full of classic sixties Who, but navigating through it all is well worth the effort.
I'll avoid talking about each individual episode (they all have their own merits) and just briefly mention the real highlight of the DVD, which rather unsuprisingly is "Day of Armageddon". I have always been fond of "The Dalek Masterplan" but I never thought in my wildest dreams that anymore footage would turn up, so imgaine my exitement when an whole episode was returned to the BBC!. "Day" does not disappoint, we get to see alot more of Mavic Chen, (played with relish by the brilliant Kevin Stoney) and best of all those weird and wonderful alien deligates!, It's a pity that it all goes by so quickly, as by the end you are left drooling incessantly for more. And that's the worst thing about this set, you really get so into these episodes, but get no closure, instead having to move on to a completely different story. But even so it doesn't really matter.
Other highlights of the disc are mainly obvious ones. "The Web of Fear" part 1 is absolutley superb, and really catapults this story instantly into my most wanted list. "The Moonbase" also looks lovely in it's new VidFIRE'd state and remains an atmospheric and thoroughly enjoyable tale. I would like to give a special mention to "The Underwater Menace" as it has been unfairly maligned over the years, and is actually great fun.
Really, all of these episodes have something to enjoy and it's a good mix of stories to represent this classic era.
As for the features I am a little torn. I would have liked to have seen some new documentary featurettes on specific episodes or maybe the sixties era as a whole, and more commentaries but there isn't unlimited space available so what we get is mainly all the existing footage from lost stories. Alot of this I have already seen, but it's nice to watch again. "The Power of the Daleks" trailer was a bit of a dissapointment as it is incredibley brief and not what I expected at all, whereas the "Fury from the Deep" footage is the exact opposite, I never would have expected it to be so good. For me this was the best thing on the disc as you get to see alot more than I had anticipated and the Weed creature looks fantastic!. As for the commentaries, basically the Hartnell era ones are excellent with particular kudos to Julian Glover and Peter Purves for their sterling work, and the Troughton ones (with the exeption of "The Wheel in Space") are rather disposable. Finally the Missing years documentary remains excellent but I thought the 'update' could have been alot better, it's very short and "Day of Armageddon" isn't even mentioned.
All in all though this is a packed set of features and provides real value for money.
There is very little to complain about here, as this is meant to be a celebration of what we have lost, and this DVD fulfills that admirabley. As a representation of The Hartnell and Troughton era it is a perfect collection of episodes, backed up with a lot of great features. And my only complaints are purely personal.
This is an outstanding DVD, and worth getting for just for "Day of Armageddon", but thankfully there is alot more to enjoy here too, so do not be put off by the incomplete nature of the episodes, instead go and buy this as soon as you possibly can, as it is essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Boxset Appeals To Anyone, Fans Or Non Fans., 16 July 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I disagree with what seems to be the general consensus from my fellow reviewers the this set is for fans only. Now I am a Doctor Who fanatic and have been for 40 years and such a release as this is of course tremendously exciting, although being a fan I have had the episodes presented on this disc for many years on VHS (Day of Armageddon excepting of course), the true joy for me was seeing the material in restored form and this gave the impression of almost seeing the episodes anew.

The statement that this is for fans only riled me, why should a good release like this be pidgeon-holed into a kind of cult status only fit for the supposed minority that are interested in such things, a potential buyer will be put off by comments stating that there is nothing for the casual viewer.
Casual veiwers are not stupid and this release can appeal to anyone, for instance those interested in archive material, people wanting a nostalgia trip, people that are interested in the various actors that appear in the episodes, members of the public that watch the new series and are interested in the different style of stories from the sixties, or just the fact that it can introduce new fans to fact that there were other Doctors before Eccleston and Tennant the list is endless. If the case for fans only is true then releases like The Andromeda Anthology, The Quatermass Collection and Adam Adamant Lives have no value in being released because the ammount of people buying them does not justify the expense of making the discs. The vast majority of people that buy this set will be fans but that does not mean that non fans cannot enjoy the material on offer.

The episodes themselves are a mixed batch as one would expect coming from a wide variety of stories, the picture and sound quality have been lovingly restored and make the viewing experience extremely pleasant.
The set was inspired by the discovery of Day of Armageddon, the second episode of The Daleks' Masterplan and fortunately is perhaps one of the best episodes in the set. The episodes on this set give the viewer the chance to see a glimpse of lesser known stories even amongst many fans, stories like The Faceless Ones were for many years as big a mystery to fans as to non fans and the flavour that these bits and pieces provide are very welcome indeed.

The release sees 18 episodes presented, 6 Hartnell, 12 Troughton and are spread over three discs and are a reminder to me of the dark days in the 70's and 80's when 90% of these instalments were lost and the subsequent joy at their rediscovery.
One of the episodes is entitled The Wheel of Fortune and is one of the greatest single episodes from the series. Period. This proves my point that prior knowledge of the previous episodes is not a requirement, The Wheel of Fortune is the third instalment of The Crusade and is so good that it can be viewed on it's own, the design and acting is world class for the time, the subject matter is more adult then anything seen in Doctor Who at that point and it is without a doubt William Hartnell's finest ever performance of the Doctor bar the very first episode, tell me now there is nothing to interest non fans. The rest of the episodes all range from OK to excellent, there is not a really bad instalment on the disc.

The extras on the other hand are for fans only, I cannot see a non fan sitting down and watching 8mm Film material of fragments of missing episodes of varying quality, but to a fan moments thought lost forever are pricelessly preserved in these little film clips. There is a documentary about the missing episodes that is actually of limited interest as it was seen on VHS and audio commentaries of selected episodes are included.
The episodes were selected carefully to give a good grounding for different types of story, The aforementioned The Wheel of Fortune and Day of Armageddon are wonderful commentaries featuring guest actor Julian Glover in the former who gives a lively and informative discussion moderated by Gary Russell, a first class commentary to a first class episode. Peter Purves, Kevin Stoney and Dalek designer Ray Cusick give another great debate on Day of Armageddon with Purves' presentation and interview skills evident throughout.
The Troughton episode commentaries are not so fortunate with the exception of The Wheel in Space part 6 by director Tristan de Vere Cole and producer Derrick Sherwin, now these two people are very rarely interviewed about Doctor Who and their points of view and comments are brand new and interesting with little known facts emerging that keeps the watcher interested, unfortunately the same cannot be said of The Evil of the Daleks 2, The Abominable Snowmen 2 and The Web of Fear 1 as they all feature a track by Deborah Watling who adds nothing of interest and just repeats stories and facts that she has been telling at conventions for years, even moderator Gary Russell struggles to prompt her memory or find something interesting to say and the saving grace for The Web of Fear part 1 is that Deborah Watling is joined by Derrick Sherwin who does have something interesting to reveal.

All in all this is a brilliant boxset of vintage Doctor Who that will appeal to anyone. Buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sad reminder of what we have lost, 5 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is a set for the enthusiast perhaps more than anyone else. Unfortunately viewing the individual episodes just leaves you pining for the rest of the episodes. Perhaps one of the most impressive aspects of this relaese is the quality of the restoration work. This was especially noticeable with episode 4 of The Moonbase, which I already have in the Cybermen video compliation. The team have worked miracles. Unfortuantely the audio presentations lack the linking narration of the CD releases which makes them a bit difficult to follow. Overall, however, a long overdue collection lovingly restored & well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent release with some disappointments, 9 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. Stuart R. Chandler (Westcliff-on-Sea, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is a slightly unusual release in that it is not one story but an array of individual episodes. If, like myself, you never had the opportunity to watch these when they first went out you will find them most interesting as they give a real taste of what the missing doctor who episodes are like. Of particular interest are the clips including the 8mm off screen clips which I have certainly never seen before. Also, it is great to be able to see the recently rediscovered episode Day of Armageddon. the special features are slightly disappointing in a number of ways. There are no easter eggs as far as I can tell, which is a minor flaw. More importantly, there are no on screen production notes. This is a disappointment because I particularly enjoy these. Also, there are no commentaries for a lot of the episodes (although look out for Julian Glover's on the Wheel of fortune - it is great). There isn't the usual photo gallery. Otherwise, it is a good release and for the price, a real bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The savings of a tragic financial policy, 7 Nov 2009
By 
B. Goldsmith (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I started my Doctor Who collection with this and The Beginning and I'm so glad I did!

Throughout the 60s and most of the 70s, video tape was prohibitively expensive and there were restrictions on the number of times a TV production could be shown. As a result it was BBC policy to wipe their recordings from time to time and re-use the tapes for new shows. Thus the vast majority of William Hartnell and Patrick Troughton episodes of Doctor Who (and anything else made at the time) were lost with just a few remaining in the archives. Thankfully for us Who fans, the BBC sold the show to several countries all over the world and shipped out film transfers for them to broadcast... thus begins the trail for recovery. While the majority of episodes were recovered from various sources there are still many missing. This collection of DVDs presents the recovered parts of still incomplete adventures, giving us a glimpse of what has been lost and an insight into the process of recovering and repairing the missing footage.

The biggest shame of "Lost In Time" is the fact that we don't get to see the rest of the featured adventures! The likes of "The Faceless Ones" "The Abominable Snowmen" "The Web Of Fear" and "The Wheel In Space" look very promising and serve to fuel the dream that one day all the episodes will finally be recovered (A dream which is sadly unrealistic) and of course the 12 episode epic "The Daleks' Master Plan" of which only episodes 2, 5 and 10 survive.

This collection of episodes and extras is another must-have for any fan and while Doctor Who won't be complete without the missing adventures, no collection is complete without this set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare to be frustrated!, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Spidernick (Fareham, Hants, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I have mixed feelings about watching these DVDs. There's an appreciation of getting snippets of stories that are seemingly lost forever (from memory the last episode discovered was over ten years ago), but there's an overriding frustration as to why the stories were wiped in the first place. Yes, I've heard all the arguments as to why before, but to my mind if you go to a lot of trouble to create something you shouldn't then destroy it!

The episodes themselves give a feel for the stories that are a real loss ('The Web of Fear', for example) and those which are not ('The Space Pirates'). You also appreciate what a good Doctor Patrick Troughton was (very few complete stories of his survive, which is criminal, I feel). The extras are impressive, as you would expect.

I cannot see anyone who is not either a fan of 'Doctor Who' or the history of television in general wanting to see these DVDs (how many people like incomplete things, let's be honest?), but if you are a fan or TV historian then I would definitely recommend buying this set (especially at the price it now is).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A taste of the Hartnell and Troughton years of Doctor Who., 18 Aug 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
This is a three-disc set of some rare surviving episodes of Doctor Who from the 1960s. The two episodes of the Crusade are an example of superb sixties T.V. drama. Julian Glover and Jean Marsh are superb, and Hartnell turns on the style. Glover's commentary on episode 3 is worth tuning into too.
Other highlights on this set are the recently discovered Day of Armageddon from the Dalek's Masterplan, the second episode of Troughton's Evil of the Daleks and the first episode of Troughton's Web of Fear. Disappointingly, the set ends on a weak note. Episode 2 of the Space Pirates is for me, the weakest episode in the selection, and rather boring!
Another disappointment is that there is no linking narration for the audio episodes of the Crusade and the Moonbase, as on the audio releases of missing stories. This makes them harder to follow.
This is a good set for fans. In addition to full episodes there are some interesting clips from stories such as Power of the Daleks, although in some cases, blink and you'll miss what's going on! However, if you really want a taste of the Hartnell and Troughton eras, then try and get hold of the Aztecs, Tomb of the Cybermen, and the great classic The War Games. Overall though, not bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless Doctor Who Archive, 9 Nov 2004
By 
Mr. Daniel P. J. O'brien (Southampton, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
The aim of LOST IN TIME is to present incomplete DOCTOR WHO stories where only 50% or less of the episodes have survived. Stories which are largely intact - such as THE REIGN OF TERROR, THE TENTH PLANET, THE ICE WARRIORS and THE INVASION - will presumably be released on DVD at a later date (subject to the popularity of this set, I'd guess). It's unlikely that more missing episodes will be recovered, though the return of DAY OF ARMAGEDDON earlier this year suggests there may still be a few in private hands. As things stand, this is a great opportunity to see some fascinating fragments of television history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure trove, 15 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
I am a big fan of Jon Pertwee and never really know much about the first 2 doctors as there was little available even in the 1970s.
I am pleasantly surprised how good these early b&w episodes are. For one the acting and story's are magnificent. If only they find the missing episodes to complete these brilliant story's.
It is an absolute tragedy what the BBC did, I have read many reports why,who and when the BBC did with 1000s of TV and music films and audio tapes. It's one of the biggest acts of vandalism in entertainment history in my opinion.

Well on a positive note we have these 18 episodes from 1965 to 1969 all in black and white. So far my favorite is the William hartnell episodes, at times quite violent but with grit and excitement throughout. Very entertaining indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for Who fans - far from ideal for the casual viewer., 21 Feb 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] (DVD)
For a dedicated Dr Who fan like myself, this is a lovely release. Its format is rather strange, however, and deserves further explanation.
In the 60s and 70s, vintage episodes of Dr Who were wiped by the BBC. The policy seems to have been rather haphazard, and a result of it is that single instalments of many Dr Who serials starring William Hartnell or Patrick Troughton, are now "lost in time", as it were - separated from the rest of the episodes in the serial. This collection showcases 18 "orphaned" episodes, all of them coming from stories of which only one or two (or in one case three) episodes survive.
For established fans who know about this stuff, this couldn't be recommended more highly. Obviously the main draw is the Hartnell material, and it is here that the highlights are to be found, specifically the first and third episodes of "The Crusade", which are wonderfully written and acted. Even the last episode of "The Celestial Toymaker", a badly-regarded story, is almost unbelievably good (given its reputation).
Ironically, these episodes outshine "Day of Armageddon" (the recently-discovered second episode of "The Daleks' Master Plan") the centrepiece of the collection, and arguably the reason it was released. "Day of Armageddon" itself is not the best and not the worst of the surviving episodes of this story - the best is probably Escape Switch, the worst certainly Counterplot. (As an aside, the episodes on the first disc offer more proof - as if more were needed! - that Steven, played by Blue Peter's Peter Purves, is a companion of the first rank, and not the dull cypher some seem to think he is.)
But of course, two-thirds of this material is composed of Troughton episodes, and not to recognise this would be to do them a great disservice. Thoughts on the Troughton era in Who fandom are imprecise - at first heralded as a golden age, and since, with the discovery of "Tomb of the Cybermen" and the release of the missing-episode soundtracks, quite harshly criticised. I myself, judging by the episodes here, get the distinct impression that the Troughton era taken as a whole was very good indeed. "The Web of Fear", episode 1, for example - after a rather woeful beginning which resolves plot threads from the previous story - swiftly becomes Dr Who of the very highest quality, well acted and dripping with atmosphere. This was no surprise to me, as this story has always been regarded as a classic. But the revelation of episode 2 of "The Abominable Snowmen", the original tale featuring "Web"'s Yeti, certainly was. It is strong in every respect - frankly, it rocks!
These two episodes, together with episode two of the 7-part epic "Evil of the Daleks", are amongst the strongest on what proves to be an absolutely excellent release. Of the other 2nd Doctor episodes, only universally-hated "The Space Pirates" part 2 is a real stinker, and even "The Wheel in Space" 3 and 6 are surprisingly good! Strangely, it falls to two very well thought of episodes, "The Moonbase" 2 and 4, to constitute the real disappointment.
So for fans, a definite hit. But little explanation is provided on the DVDs - beyond narration-less soundtracks of a further four episodes - for what happens inbetween the isolated episodes, who the characters are, and what, in general, is going on. To the uninitiated, this will probably be offputting, to say the least.
In conclusion, the quality of the material is, (in the main) indisputable. However, for new, or potential, Dr Who fans, I suspect this is one to avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963]
Doctor Who - Lost in Time [DVD] [1963] by William Hartnell (DVD - 2004)
£12.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews