Customer Reviews


69 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


113 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the description first!!!!!!!!!!!!
Not much to say other than classic british comedy, ignore those who are complaining about missing episodes. This is the series 1-7 nothing more, first off, white mice, xmas trees and licence to drill where never EVER released, the first 2 were Comic relief shows and the last was actually a school educational program! The rest are feature length episodes 1 hour upwards...
Published on 7 Jan. 2005 by A R Hartley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are all the other episodes?!!!!
I got this for my husband at Christmas, it is a wonderful and hilarious comedy show. But very very disappointed at the fact that there were far too many episodes missing. Therefore, three stars. Paid too much money, and it was NOT the COMPLETE SERIES.
Published 2 months ago by Mrs. Geidys Emmerson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

113 of 120 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read the description first!!!!!!!!!!!!, 7 Jan. 2005
By 
A R Hartley "Monkey" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Not much to say other than classic british comedy, ignore those who are complaining about missing episodes. This is the series 1-7 nothing more, first off, white mice, xmas trees and licence to drill where never EVER released, the first 2 were Comic relief shows and the last was actually a school educational program! The rest are feature length episodes 1 hour upwards which are NOT classed as part of the series, they are go between episodeds so are not included in this set but! the Specials as they are called can be bought in a box set too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Which Episodes are included?, 8 April 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The Complete Series 1 includes: Big Brother, Go West Young Man, Cash and Curry, The Second time Around, A Slow Bus To Chingford, The Russians Are Coming, and Christmas Crackers.

The Complete Series 2 includes: The Long Legs Of The Law, Ashes To Ashes , A Losing Streak, No Greater Love, The Yellow Peril, It Never Rains, A Touch Of Glass, Diamonds Are For Heather.

The Complete Series 3 includes: Homesick, Healthy Competition, Friday The 14th, Yesterday Never Comes, May The Force Be With You, Wanted, Who's A Pretty Boy, and Thicker Than Water.

The Complete Series 4 includes: Happy Returns, Strained Relations, Hole In One, It's Only Rock And Roll, Sleeping Dogs Lie, Watching The Girls Go By, and As One Door Closes.

The Complete Series 5 includes: From Prussia With Love, The Miracle Of Peckham, The Longest Night, Tea For Three, Video Nasty, and Who Wants To Be A Millionaire.

The Complete Series 6 includes: Yuppy Love, Danger UXD, Chain Gang, The Unlucky Winner Is ...., Sickness And Wealth, and Little Problems.

The Complete Series 7 includes: The Sky's The Limit, The Chance Of A Lunchtime, Stage Fright, Class Of '62, He Ain't Heavy - He's My Uncle, and Three Men A Woman And A Baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To cut or not to cut - does it matter?, 6 Jan. 2010
By 
D. J. Roberts (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
I don't normally post reviews but there seems to be some confusion about this product so I hope the following helps.

Unless it is different from the one I have enjoyed for several years (and I am certain it isn't) this is not a newly produced boxset, rather series 1 to 7 as originally released on DVD collected together in one place (box), if you see the difference. You will notice for example that the discs look different - not all identical or "pretty" as they would be in a major overhaul of the product.

There have been cuts, and it says so on the bottom of the box, for contractual reasons to do with the music played as background during some scenes. However, I have all the scripts to the series and there isn't much missing at all (although the subsequent stand alone "Christmas Specials" have been knocked about to their detriment).

I have been really enjoying the set again over Christmas with my 10 year old son - the first time he has seen it - and he loves it, as does the rest of the family. In my view the question of edits is superfluous unless you are an absolute completist. Nothing wrong with that, but if you aren't you will not notice or miss anything of any consequence at all which might spoil your enjoyment and you can buy this collection of top notch comedy with absolute confidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 28 Jan. 2005
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Suely the best BBC comedey ever for sheer development alone if nothing else. David Jason is undoubtedly Britain's finest TV actor after John Thaw (and better than many UK film actors) and Lyndhurst is an excellent partner.
The best series are 5, 6 and 7 as the writers progress into much more story based scripts rather than disasters waiting to happen but there is not a single duff episode amongst them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British Comedy at it's absolute best!, 28 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
This box set is superb - but it is what it says, just the seasons 1 to 7. The Christmas specials were included in a couple of the early seasons, but once it was seen how popular the show was the specials became separate feature length episodes (and as a fan who purchased each series and Christmas special as it came out (I brought this set for my Mum) they are well worth a look too as they add so much to the stores (Jolly Boys Outing sees the return of Rachael, and Sleepless in Peckham (the last one ever) was viewed by over 60% of the British public on Christmas day when it first aired).

If you want EVERY episode of Only Fools and Horses then buy this set and then buy the specials individually. There is a complete box set but apparently it has been edited to pieces (BBC not wanting to pay extra fees for background music etc - despite this being the most awarded (and watched) comedy show in Britain!). Then get the Rock and Chips Trilogy - now you have it all!

This series was the best thing to come out of the BBC, with others like Porridge, Going Straight, Open All Hours etc following closely behind (but never exceeding). Green Green Grass was very funny, but only a spin off and not a follow on.

The big shame here is that it's writer (John Sullivan) passed away recently so we will never see this kind of quality comedy again.

Buy it - watch it - laugh yourself silly!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE READ!!! IMPORTANT!, 13 Sept. 2009
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Buy THIS VERSION for one reason only!!!!

this is the full UNCUT/EDITED boxset!

almost all the boxsets were edited with missing scenes due to tv regulations and some inappropriate refrences

this is THE ONLY UNCUT SERIES BOXSET THERE IS!

buy any others and scenes will be missing/epsiodes cut short!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a plonker and not buy this!!!, 13 April 2005
By 
The Fault - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Only Fools And Horses has been voted Britain's best ever comedy and rightly so. There are many classic moments to be had - too many to mention.
One of my favourite episodes is when the Trotters win a holiday overseas but Rodney has to pretend to be a 14 year old who's part of the "groovy gang" and take part in all the "fun" activities set up by the organisers. Then a young girl in the group develops a crush on our Rodders. Classic stuff!
In this box set you get to watch all 7 series but this does not include the feature length specials which are all sold seperatly.
Only Fools rarely has a bad episode although I did come across one in the first series disc (that I had never seen before even though I thought I'd seen everything there was of Only Fools) where the Trotters find a nuclear war shelter. This was a rather poor episode very low on laughs.
Also there is a distinct lack of extras... as in none whatsover! Why it was decided to add nothing extra is beyond me. Surely there are lots of interesting things hidden away in the vaults. Whatever the reason, the fact of the matter is you're left with a no-frills DVD adaptation of the best British comedy ever. It's worth buying for anyone who's a fan of comedy because Only Fools is timeless.
Go on, buy it you plonker! You know it makes sense!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cushty my son....Cushty, 1 Feb. 2010
By 
Mr. M. Randall (Sale, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
The best British sitcom ever......YES! The best put together DVD...NO!
Despite what some reviewers say this is edited by the BBC...it says so on the underside of the box!
However having watched the lot and having seen many OFAH on TV recently the edit is not bad, I have not noticed anything major missing. There is music in the background where its ment to be generally although the exception i noted was in 'Class of 62' where the music to The Mighty Quinn is missing. Otherwise i have noticed nothing else and the DVD is hours of laughs. This is the full collection of series and not the specials and havong read the speical episode DVD reviews I am glad I went fo this as the special;s have been ruined by BBC editing.
If you love Only Fools then this is great value @ arund £30.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This Version Also Contains Cuts, 17 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Please not this box set has scenes edited and cut, despite what other reviewers say. To date the BBC has released NO Only Fools box set has been released that is unedited due to licensing of music using in the broadcasting episodes.

If you read the base of this box set it will confirm that "For Contractual Reason Certain Edits Have Been Made From The Broadcast Programmes". The majority of the edits are simple music changes but some scenes have been removed completely, but overall it is till worth the price for such a superb collection.

Also note that it is the specials (such as The Jolly Boys' Outing) that have received the biggest edits compared the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Only Fools and Horses DVD Set, 15 Jan. 2010
By 
K. Buckland (St Austell, Cornwall,GBR) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981] (DVD)
Excellent DVD box set, can definitely recommend it,it is great to watch Only Fools whenever I like and without adverts. Even my 10 year old daughter loves the series. Great value for money.Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only Fools and Horses - The Complete Series 1-7 [DVD] [1981]
£35.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews