Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


42 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sabbath's Career Gets Bizarre!
In 1983 the seemingly unthinkable happened, Ian Gillan joined Black Sabbath, how could this be? This was (and frankly still is) a little bizarre two of the great hard rock bands join together how could it possibly last, well it didn't the `Born Again' line up only lasted one album and one tour, although poor old Bill Ward didn't even last that long (he was replaced by...
Published on 11 Jun 2007 by Ed

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Packaging not good at all!
I only make some remarks about packaging! It is not DELUXE packaging, like it was on Paranoid, Master Of Reality and Black Sabbath (there You had complete thick plastic sleeve to protect the box). It is a different one and much worse. When You remove the film (polyolefin I guess) and removable plastic strip under it with writing Deluxe Edition, You have left adhesive...
Published 4 months ago by M. Moosar


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Deep Sabbath, or Black Purple? You decide., 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
The headline says it all really, a very strange mix of old Purple & Sabbath, that adds up to a darker & moodier version of Sabbath. Gillan was on fire after his enforced sabbatical (or perhaps that should be Sabathical?) having been forced to stop singing by nodules on his vocal chords. This was his comeback, & well, Gillan was definitely back.
I'm still not sure about this particular incarnation of the band, & I guess that now we'll never know how it would have panned out, since this was the only album they did.
Worthwhile, but don't expect business as usual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Purple., 9 Sep 2011
By 
Barry Mac (Liverpool UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
The original 1996 release of this album on CD now being a somewhat rare Collector's Item (at least in pristine condition) this is a welcome re-release. As every Sabbath fanatic, obsessive and anorak knows, after the departure of Ozzy came the late Ronnie James Dio,(who quit after doing 2 studio albums), followed by this one-off stint as lead-vocalist by Ian Gillan: the story being that he (Gillan) got extremely drunk with Tony Iommi & Geezer Butler one night - surfacing the next day (or two) to discover that he had agreed to join Sabbath as their new vocalist.

The original album "Born Again", released in 1983, may have attracted almost universal derision from every corner of Rock Journalism at the time, but was a big hit with all non-purist, die-hard Sabbath fans. This deluxe re-issue cleans up the production issues that some complained about in connection with the original release, but it's the bonus disc that is somewhat of an archive gem, capturing some great live moments from a Reading Festival performance where you can hear Black Sabbath playing "Smoke On The Water" and Ian Gillan singing "Black Sabbath", "Iron Man" & "War Pigs". Priceless. (Wonder what Ozzy thought at the time?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Forgotten masterpiece, 5 Dec 2006
By 
Mr. Damon Marriner (west yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
A criminally underated piece of work, not least by the band themselves. This is perhaps the only work that any Ozzyless line-up did that is of any worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Born or still to be born?, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Santi "rss" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
when it was released, this album was referred to have poor sonorities, afterwards it was a good commercial success.
Here Ian Gillan sings for the first and only one time with the Black Sabbath: I love him, he is one of the top rock singer ever and his performance is very good, but imho in this album you feel something do not fit.
I like Black Sabbath very much (at the same grade with Led Zep, Deep Purple, AC DC, Iron Maiden , Uriah Heep, Pink Floyd and The Who), and one cannot say the band have not tried to make its best, but I do not know... just this album simply do not work, and not a track is stored in my mp3 nor in my own made cds...
The cd (and the lp as well...) has been stored in the music shelf since the purchase and a pair of listenings, and there it sleeps quietly...
Beyond all, "my" Black Sabbath stops within "Mob Rules" album...

Do not buy "Born Again"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 25 May 2004
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Most people are turned off on Born Again by one or more of:
1. the infamous "Stonehenge" tour.
2. the terrible cover art.
3. Ian Gillan.
However, this is far from a bad album. Granted, it's no "Master Of Reality" or "Heaven And Hell". But with songs like "Zero the Hero" and "Digital Bitch" (either of which, if it had come from some previously unknown act and not from Sabbath, would have been considered a piece de resistance!) it IS worth a listen. Just make sure you close your eyes when you take it out of the packaging!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth Buying., 9 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
I must say, despite what people may say about the recording of this album, it isn't very dyer but bad enough. Yeah it is compressed and lacking in dynamics and treble, but it has a chunky meaty sound and Geezers bass really shines through.You can hear him play every note. It is worth buying coz it's the only album with Gillan and he has influenced this album and a couple of tracks do sound like Deep Purple. The second CD contains some live tracks recorded from the Friday Rock Show in 1983. There is also a couple of bonus studio track called Fallen,a good track even if Gillan's voice is
over- powering and an extended version of Stonehenge - I can see why they cut it down.
I have heard other demo songs that should have been put onto this album that are slightly different to the originals, Just to give a little bit more of an insight into the group and album.
I just hope one day, they get the original master tapes and make a proper go of this. But I bet the original is just as bad.
I've heard bootlegs better than this and keeping your Black Sabbath Collection together. Get them all - I am.

Anyway - It's still worth buying and making your ears bleed.

Tony
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Defaced cover artwork and misleading advertising, 19 Sep 2008
By 
Pedro Corbett (Rio de Janeiro, BRAZIL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Like all Black Sabbath and Uriah Heep remasters released by Castle between 1996 and 1998, this 1983 masterpiece featured a sticker on the front which stated "faithfully restored artwork". Unfortunately, the cover artwork on these releases was in most cases very badly reproduced, with grainy printing and wrong colors. In "Born Again", the purpleish background was printed as a far lighter shade of blue, completely different to the original LP artwork. I've always considered the cover artwork as much a part of an album as its musical content, so I can only rate this release as an unacceptable insult to the band and their fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars zoverstock twats, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Zoverstocks very kindly sent me the first Sabbath cd in the born again case /cover, so unfortunately I still don't know what this album was like, however I do know what zoverstocks are like: twats, the cd weren't alot of money so I can't be bothered chasing em about it, but I won't get nothing else from them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's the one with Ian Gillan singing, 1 Feb 2005
By 
Geoffrey Saunders "weegie27" (Buckinghamshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
Yes, that Ian Gillan, ex of Deep Purple. Although slated when it came out, it's not as bad as you might have heard....but then again it's not as good as earlier Sabs albums either.
Still, we have the usual Sabs wall of sound on "Nero The Zero", the exceptional "Disturbing The Priest" and the epic title track. A couple of tracks lean towards Purple territory, "Keep It Warm" and "Digital Bitch", Ian even throws in a boogie/stomp song, the great "Hot Line". Not too bad, really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EX-JESUS DECIMATES THE SABBATH !!!, 27 July 2011
This review is from: Born Again (Audio CD)
This Black Sabbath album 'Born Again' is very heavy, one of the heaviest ! Ian Gillan(the original Jesus(secular-John.19;41-empty tomb before the resurection being the final song) Christ Superstar) joined after his own band GILLAN colapsed in 1982, although Gillan was voted No.1 Vocalist of the Year in Kerrang! Tracks like 'Desturbing The Priest', 'Zero The Hero', 'Trashed', 'Digital Bitch' are utterly awesome ! Bonus material is the live performance from the Reading Festival 1983, that Black Sabbath headlined with Gillan on vocals and also Bev Bevan(ex-ELO) on drums. Plus Tony Iommi(a guitarist I've always liked) and Geezer Butler on bass. They even did a version of 'Smoke On The Water', the Deep Purple classic ! Originally this album made No.4 in the UK charts, which is the joint 2nd highest chart placing for a Black Sabbath album in the UK. After which they never made it back into the UK Top 10. The cover it's self Gillan hated ! Aparently he was sent a box of them and smashed them all ! Immediately after the 'Born Again' album, Gillan joined the Deep Purple re-union. This Black Sabbath line-up had lasted 9 months ! But did manage to tour with a huge replica of Stonehenge, 26' tall, on a stage 60' wide and 40' deep, with 6' drum riser !!! AND(!) 12 tons of sound equipment, 30,000 watts of power, 900 bulbs for lighting !!! With 28 road crew taking 13 hours to set up and take down the stage set !!! Perfect StrangersSeventh Star (Deluxe Edition)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born Again
Born Again by Black Sabbath (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews