Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album will get you amped
Listening to this album really got me into korn, particular favourites were 'got the life' and 'here to stay'. If you don't like this album then you probably wont like korns other material. Like all 'greatest hits' albums, Korns 'greatest hits' is packed with heavy hitters. The album has it all from korns first hit 'blind' to korns newer projects like 'y all want a...
Published on 27 Aug 2006 by John Dwice

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars half decent amercain rock at that is at times tolerable's farewell party
1 or 2 half decent rock songs is what one has come to expect from this band. The lionshare of their songs are the same though, or are depressingly crap. To fill the gap they have done covers that seems to work, however any band in my eyes that relies on doing covers to get a lift isn't really a creative force, or a respectable band in my eyes. I did enjoy a few of the...
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by Paul Smithson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album will get you amped, 27 Aug 2006
By 
John Dwice (Cheltenham, U.K) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Listening to this album really got me into korn, particular favourites were 'got the life' and 'here to stay'. If you don't like this album then you probably wont like korns other material. Like all 'greatest hits' albums, Korns 'greatest hits' is packed with heavy hitters. The album has it all from korns first hit 'blind' to korns newer projects like 'y all want a single' and 'A.D.I.D.A.S'. Your money is WELL SPENT. For those of you downloading my top 8 would be

1. Here to stay

2. Got the life

3. Make me bad

4. Somebody someone

5. Freak on a leash

6. Blind

7. A.D.I.D.A.S

8. Falling away from me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good but stuff missing, 22 Mar 2006
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol 1 (Audio CD)
this is an acceptable attempt at there greatist hits the remix of freak on a leash is good and the cover of pink floyds another brick in the wall is extreamly enjoyable. while there are many great songs on this album. they have missed so much, songs from there best album follow the leader are in short supply which is disapointing.
overall a good selection but could have been so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A KoRn Greatest Hits Album? Already?, 3 Oct 2004
By 
Todesengel85 "Todesengel85" (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Hang on, this is not your usual Greatest Hits.
KoRn are contracted to release 7 albums under Sony Records, this album being thier 7th meaning they are free to release an album produced all by themselves next time. All this makes this album seem a little rushed. Just an album they flung together quickly to get thier 7 album deal out of the way.
That Said, being a massive KoRn fan I was always going to buy this, simply to add to my KoRn CD collection. I have all the 6 Studio albums so have most of the songs on this CD already. That said there are two new songs on this CD, albiet covers, but still good songs. "Word Up" which was originally done by Cameo is a surprisingly good song which I expected to hate but actually really like. And "Another Brick in The Wall" is a classic Pink Floyd song which sounds great given the KoRn treatment.
Having most of KoRn's best songs on one CD means you only have to carry one CD around with you instead of six. I say most of KoRn's songs, because as die hard fans will notice fantastic songs like Faget, and Thoughtless are missing.
The dvd with the Ltd. Edition is good too, Includes 7 songs from thier free live show at the legendary punk club "CBGB" which I think is worth the money alone. All in all a great Greatest Hits album which any KoRn fan will just have to have in thier collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good tracks, 4 Oct 2004
This album is a good release from Korn and was a great idea. I received the album about 2 weeks prior to the release date, and I was completely satisfied with this album. Korn has plenty of hits that should have been released on one disc and finally, it was. Other than me giving it 5 stars, I was a little unhappy that "Break Some Off" wasn't on this album; and I think they could have added a better track than last one, which is a remix of "Falling Away From Me". Maybe they should have added, "All In The Family" or "Let's Do This Now. Otherwise this album is a must have for Korn fans and metal fans everywhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for new comers, a bit pointless for long time fans., 29 Sep 2009
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Greatest hits, singles collections whatever they are called for any given band, they serve a distinct purpose that benefits new fans more than old. If you already own the albums the songs came off why p;od out more cash for a collection of songs you already have?
However if like me you don't (or didn't) own any korn albums, then this is a great collection. Since buying this I have gone out and bought all the seperate albums but in some cases I may as well not have bothered as the only good songs are collected here.
If you have ever heard a korn song and thought, thats alright i want to hear some more, then this is a good place to start.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Fire Still Burns..., 20 Aug 2005
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Congratulations to Korn for releasing their Greatest hits album. Although I have all their albums already, I recommend this to someone who only has a couple or none of their albums.
Their most recently released cover song 'Word Up' is the weakest song on the album, But to balance out, the unreleased cover of Pink Floyds' Another Brick in the Wall, is simply outstanding. This proves that the band still has the power that it always had. Jonathan Davis (lead singer) spits his emotion at you. Pure anger, pain and hatred from within. Beware: Songs such as Clown, Shoots and Ladders, and Blind may leave you emotionaly tattered in a corner of the room. This is a simple neccesity for any Korn fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A KoRn Greatest Hits Album? Already?, 4 Oct 2004
By 
Todesengel85 "Todesengel85" (Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Hang on, This is not your usual Greatest Hits.
KoRn are contracted to release 7 albums under Sony Records. This album being the 7th, finishes that contract leaving them free to produce thier next album all by themselves. This all makes this album seem a tad rushed. Something they threw together quickly to get thier 7 album deal over and done with. A fact also reflected in that this CD comes in a standard CD jewel case. It would have been nice to see this in a fold out case like the Ltd. Edition of "Take a Look in The Mirror" was.
That said, being a huge KoRn fan I was always going to buy this CD, simply to add to my KoRn collection. I already have all six studio albums so have most of the songs here already, but it is handy having most of KoRn's greatest songs all on one CD, giving you the option of taking one CD around with you rather than six. I say "most of KoRn's greatest songs" because as die hard fans will realise, classic songs like Faget and Thoughtless are missing.
The two new songs, albeit covers, are a nice addition. "Word Up" originally performed by Cameo is very different from KoRns usual style. I expected to hate it but actually really like it, cant wait to see it performed live. And "Another Brick in The Wall" a classic Pink Floyd song sounds great given the KoRn treatment. Though I am sure many Floyd fans will think they've ruined a classic song.
The dvd with the Ltd. Editon has 7 songs from thier free surprise live peformance at the legendary club CBGB. Announced on the radio only hours before the show was to take place. It is an amazing show and they sound phenomenal, I believe this dvd is worth the money alone!
All in all a great CD, all of KoRn's best and most well known songs, A great CD for someone who hasnt heard KoRn and wants to get into them, and absolutely a must have for every KoRn fan!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST BAND EVER!, 30 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Korn have been my fav band for over 3 years now and they are totally great! This cd is a landmark! After 6 studio albums this has been released and it has great songs on it from all those albums, they also have a few new songs on it too. You also get a dvd free with the cd which is worth the asking price on its own! BUY IT PEOPLE:0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For all Korn Fans, 20 Sep 2004
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits Vol 1 (Audio CD)
Superb!! Korn have finally come up with a greatest hits! It got all the classic songs on it and two new ones! For anyone who doesnt allready know the two new ones are covers!! "word Up" isa cover of the 1986 song by Cameo. And "Another Brick In The Wall" is obviously a cover of the Pink Floyd song. There is also a version of this album that comes with a bonus DVD which contains a live gig that they did at CBGB's a little while ago! Overall this is a must for any Korn fan or anyone who likes them but doesnt have all their albums!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ESSENTIAL KORN, 8 July 2014
I absolutely love Korn, without doubt my favourite rock band, I assume that those who hold a similar view will feel as I do regarding the 'Greatest Hits' release. As a Korn connoisseur you will undoubtedly feel that there are some glaring omissions, but if you take a deep breath and accept the package as it is you will clearly see this is a great album full of brilliant material. Sure the odd track here and there may have more or less right than others to be included, but if you're that familiar with their work you will I'm sure have the 6 albums that this album was compiled from. As there are 2 tracks not found on any previous album, 'Word Up' and 'Another Brick In The Wall' it immediately becomes an essential purchase anyway, that you get a load more great tracks conveniently on one disc just sweetens the package. This disc is perfect for when you're craving Korn but want some variety, ideal for the car and a good introduction for those who are curious. As mentioned the first 6 albums are where the majority of tracks come from, the point when guitarist Head took a leave of absence (thankfully returning in time for album #11 'Paradigm Shift')and just before a decline in quality set in for a couple of albums. Thankfully Korn have been back on track for some time and of the 5 albums made since this release, the last 3 were all excellent. I suppose we're almost due 'Greatest Hits Volume 2'.

This version comes with a dvd of a free gig the band played at legendary New York dump, CBGB. This is the true glory of this package, it is absolutely brilliant! The classic line up belting out classics that represent their initial sound in all it's glory. The band are tight, Fieldy in particular is on fire, Jonathon's vocal is clear and strong, the band and crowd are both going for it, it is one gig I wish I was at. Pretty short with a set list of 7 songs, so intense is the performance that you will feel privileged to have witnessed it, albeit on dvd. In all a decent release, especially the dvd version and at the time of writing available at a cheap price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits Vol 1
Greatest Hits Vol 1 by Korn (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews