Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (55)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why does this album divide the fans...
..When it's perfect? This, contrary to what many people will have you believe, is Rammstein's best album. The creativity and variety in it is staggering: the themes of love, sex and death are still there, but handled in very different ways. Dalai Lama, a song about the fear of flying, is based (loosely) on an old German poem, "Der Erlkönig", and carries through...
Published on 20 Jun 2005 by Mr. L Stephenson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A grower ?
Not as immediate as "Mutter" or "Sehnsucht", this takes a few plays before you really get into. The band have reinvented their sound to expand musically and creatively. However this has largely replaced the hard riffing, headbanging anthems of old with a more mature hard rock sensability that may lose them some of their less enlightened fans.
In many places, the...
Published on 11 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars quite disappointing, 16 Oct 2004
By 
N. Wood "17" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
After the 5 star plus Mutter - an album so good it could afford to leave Rammstein's best song - Hallelujah - as a CD single filler, the long wait for the next instalment has hardly been worth it. It gets 4 stars because every Rammstein album starts off at that point in relation to most other bands. But other than the supreme 'Los' - worth paying the admission for alone in all honesty - and the majestic 'reise reise' much of this album is rammstein by numbers. If you don't know them start with Mutter and work backwards, leave this one until you're committed or you just have to own 'Los'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Impressed but something missing, 7 Oct 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
i was very impressed by the album overall
on my first listen it was unbelievable, after the first 4 tracks it was set to beat the mighty previous albums, but i was slightly irritated to find that the vast majority of the tracks on the 2nd half of the cd were not very heavy, more slow and unique. still good tracks but not really trademark Rammstein.
I know that rammstein are clearly in the business of constantly reinventing themselves and keeping it fresh but in my opinion the first half of the cd is the best.
Reise Reise, Mein Teil, Dalamai'lama, Keine Lust and of course Amerika!, are all excellent and are recommends to any metal or rammstein fan, but the rest of the tracks although not bad, dont quite live up to the first halves standard.
All round a very good CD, its refreshing to see that some bands are still doing it right!!, Herzeleid is still the Best!! but a rammstein fan will not be dissapointed buy!!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A totaly different album, 30 Sep 2004
By 
MalkavianLilith "Sparky" (Ilfracombe, Devon United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
This album really shows how rammstein have progressed and matured to create this album which is different from the other 3 albums.
This album if full of choir and orchestral music (using the german phillamonic orchestra and choir) on almost every song, which is very reminicent of Cradle fo Filth. This gives the songs more emotion and depth and when combined with the fantastic lyrics and guitaring. Flake rarely uses his keyboard for rifts like in Du Hast or Ich Will as he mainly plays the choir and orchestral sounds.
Songs like Reise Reise, Mein Teil, Keine Lust and Morgenstern have such powerful orchesteral work in them and they are fantastic tracks. Los is a mellow song but has a great beat and Amerika is sung in half English, half German.
How ever my favorite track is Moskau, it has the heaveyist guitaring, great lyrics and great keyboard work by Flake. This song sung by Till is great because it uses some russian in it sung by some russian woman.
If you want an album that is diffrent from other Rammstein work that offers unique and great music I strongly urge you to buy this. For people new to Rammstein, I recomend their earlyier albums before trying this new album as it isnt the typical Rammstein sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - pounding rock with no compromise, 17 Oct 2004
By 
A. J. Sudworth "tonysudworth" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
This is a complete stormer of an album. Standout tracks include Mein Teil (about a cannibal) , Amerika and Moscow. Of course they are very 'shouty' but there is a sense of houmor in here as well. The vocal style is very deadpan, but thats their style - love it hate it. Definately not a chill out album (good!) and impossible to play as background music - however its great driving music and it rocks !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reise Reise Creates Spark, 8 Oct 2004
By 
K Thomson "K Thomson" (Brading, Isle Of Wight) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Reise Reise Is The Fourth Studio Album For Metal Moshers Rammstein. This Has Been A Successful Outing For The Group. A Top Ten In The Isle Of Wight Radio Album Chart And A Top 40 Album In Britain Alone, Their First Ever. The Album Produces Spark, Talent And A Softer Side To Music, Which Lets Them Down In Parts. All Boiled Together Makes Celebrity Fans Such As Vin Diesel And Richard Armes Pleased Customers. Buy Buy Buy!
Kieren Thomson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein go gothic!, 30 Sep 2004
This review is from: Reise Reise [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Reise Reise, Rammstein's fourth studio album, continues to show the German industrial metallers evolving and moving from strength to strength.Following on from 2001's masterpeice 'Mutter',I was left wondering where Rammstein would go from there? The answer: a much more gothic and dare i say sinister album in Reise Reise! This album does not dissapoint. True, this is no 'Mutter' part 2, but neither is it a 'Herzeleid' or 'Sehnsucht'. The truly good thing about Rammstein is their ability to evolve, try something new,and yet keep their fans happy and wanting more! Although not as riff heavy as 'Mutter', Reise Reise certainly doesn't hold back in the loud and thunderous department. Tracks like 'Mein Teil', 'Keine Lust' and 'Morgenstern' prove this. Rammstein also continue to show their humerous side on the single 'Amerika', while the title track, 'Ohne Dich' and 'Amour' provide the albums softer ballads. However, the stand out track on the album for me has to be the eerie and thunderous 'Dalai Lama'. One tiny complaint:the album does end on a string of 2-3 mellower tracks. But the earlier tracks make up for this. In summary, 'Reise Reise'is a solid effort from Rammstein. It shows signs of both the Rammstein of old and the Rammstein of new. I would actually give this album four and a half stars and recommend it to anyone who already owns a Rammstein album. Can't wait to see them live!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars dissapointing, 1 Dec 2009
By 
Mick (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reise Reise [Digipak] (Audio CD)
I ordered the digipack, as it says in the product title, but got the jewelcase. When I complainted they gave me this product with a discount which I accepted. I did so because I didn't want the trouble with sending back etc. etc. So I am dissapointed what I got. I wouldn't have ordered this if I knew they would send me the jewelcase. However I am pleased how they handled my complaint. But still it's not what I wanted, so I give 1 star for the service and the speed they answered my mails. The rest is rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae2d7210)

This product

Reise, Reise
Reise, Reise by Rammstein (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews