Customer Reviews


81 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why does this album divide the fans...
..When it's perfect? This, contrary to what many people will have you believe, is Rammstein's best album. The creativity and variety in it is staggering: the themes of love, sex and death are still there, but handled in very different ways. Dalai Lama, a song about the fear of flying, is based (loosely) on an old German poem, "Der Erlkönig", and carries through...
Published on 20 Jun 2005 by Mr. L Stephenson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A grower ?
Not as immediate as "Mutter" or "Sehnsucht", this takes a few plays before you really get into. The band have reinvented their sound to expand musically and creatively. However this has largely replaced the hard riffing, headbanging anthems of old with a more mature hard rock sensability that may lose them some of their less enlightened fans.
In many places, the...
Published on 11 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new album, 13 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
The German Band RAMMSTEIN has caused heavy debates not only in Germany but also in other countries. Lyrics, appearance and aesthetics of the band is quite often viewed as pure provocation. But a lot of people can't deal with this fact and as a consequence, they are put into the neo-nazi corner. But this is ignorant and weak. In a lot of interviews they clearly dissociate from being politically right-wing. Moreover, in some lyrics (i.e. Links 2,3,4) they explicitly condemn such a political view. The band understands itself as artists who attempt to provoke by being OTT-German, they are as German as almost nobody really is and as a consequence they try to mimic and to parody. The only point of criticism is that their idea of art is in many cases beyond the understanding of people, especially in foreign countries. They are close to the edge and a view things are difficult to cope with or to tolerate. However, one thing is as clear as the Amen in the church: they are no right wing extremists.
Their new album Reise, Reise is a little bit different from their earlier albums, although I do not know every single song from earlier recordings. The lack of the brutal guitar-riffs and drums has to be mentioned. In my opinion it has a more popular-music influence and some songs are even open to a wider audience. Still I like this album very much and it has all the elements in it that made Rammstein such a "different" band. My favourites are Reise, Reise, Mein Teil (song about cannibalism, quite disgusting but very strong and powerful), Amerika (childish, naive lyrics but funny and a good melody), Ohne Dich (very quite but also powerful song).
I am pretty sure that the album Reise, Reise will be as successful as the earlier recordings. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genuinely new things tried by the band, 6 Oct 2007
By 
M. McManus - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
If you have never heard of Rammstein before, then my advice is to buy the album "Mutter" first and see if you like them. For fans who already like them, this album contains the stuff we love like the powerful vocals of the lead singer, and the usual storm of noise from the backing band. The thing that is most striking about this album is how much the band have tried new things, and thus this is not really classic Rammstein, it is rather experimental Rammstein, and at least for the most part, the experiment has been a success. The opening track "Reise Reise" is real hairs on the back of the neck stuff, and the usual Blitzkrieg of noise is found on the other tracks. The band have definitely used this album to flex their creative muscles, and as well as hard rock, the band have tried some new things. They use slow, soft acoustic sounds in the track "Los", and for the first time, resort to singing in languages other than German. Indeed, on this album the band sing in German, Russian and English. Not all of the tracks are winners though, with "Keine Lust" being a repetitive let down, and "Dalai Lama" proving to be rather timid for what we fans are used to. Nevertheless the album is a must have for fans, and some tracks will genuinely bring you out in goosebumps. It will also have a wider appeal than the other Rammstein albums because of the new elements, so is perhaps good if you have a room mate or partner who is not as much of a rocker as you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Album, New Sound, New wonders!, 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
I was eagerly awaiting the release of this albumn, and rushed out to get it once it arrived in my local music store. Popped it in the cd player and was not disapointed in what i found!
Certainly this album is in a slightly diferent vein to the previous masterpeice that is "mutter", but this album has a whole array of music delights awaiting the rammstein fan who has an open mind. More melodic, this album features great melodies, and i would say it is less heavy than the previous releise. My personal favorate tracks include "amour" and "stein um stein".
If you are looking for an introduction to Rammstein then get muuter, but if you are a fan, get it, the change is refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein - Reise, Reise, 30 Sep 2004
By 
D. S. Bondar (Nottingham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
While this album is not as instantly impactful on the first hearing, like Sehnsucht or Mutter, upon subsequent listens you realise that this album has so much depth and character, and is as good, if not better, than their previous work, which is an astonishing achievement seeing as their previous work is some of the best music in recent times (my opinion of course). The music is much deeper than anything Rammstein have done in the past, much more melodic, and less industrial. Songs like Mein Teil and Amerika are deeply rooted in Rammstein tradition (heavy crunching riffs, sweeping keyboards) however the real gems on the album are some of the more emotional and slightly off kilter songs, like Los and Ohne Dich. However, the stand out track for me has to be the wonderful Moskau. A mix of German and Russian lyrics make this song so interesting to listen to, no matter how many times you run through it. This album is a real departure for Rammstein into a wider world of music, where I'm sure they, and the fans, will enjoy the exploring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wunderbar - like Amerika apparently!, 5 Dec 2007
By 
Big Jim "Big Jim" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
No need to add much more than all that has gone before, but I just wanted to declare my appreciation of this album, and that having considered Rammstein (unheard) a bit "difficult" to get in to, I am glad to put the record straight and put that one firmly to bed. Some of the lyrics are gothicly over the top - some of the translations on various websites leave a bit to be desired by the way - but this could be evidence of a Teutonic tongue in cheek sense of humour. Couldn't it? Really scary if it isn't!
Having said that, some of the melodies - yes there are melodies - could be from Eurovision songs albeit very heavy Eurovision songs! If you have been "frightened off" before like I was, please don't be because this album and this band are really
something special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a relief - Reise Reise lives up to expectations., 7 Oct 2004
By 
Jo (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Finally - and about time, too - Rammstein release their fourth studio album, and it's great. It hasn't been out of my Walkman since I bought it on its release day; OK, that's not true, I've put it on in the car stereo, too. Definitely a worthy addition to the Rammstein oeuvre.
"Reise Reise" is a great intro track, building slowly into one of their trademarked mixes of haunting vocals and crashing chords (if you'll pardon the clichés). Love the accordian, too.
"Mein Teil" took a couple of listens to grow on me, but the chorus ("Denn du bist, was du isst, und ihr wisst, was er frisst") is genius.
"Dalai Lama" is one of their story songs, like "Spieluhr" on Mutter, and a very good example of one, too. One of my personal favourites on the album, and the lyrics are excellent.
"Keine Lust" - "Ich hätte Lust mit grossen Tieren/Hab' keine Lust, es zu probieren" - made me laugh, anyway! A sort of 'typical' Rammstein song, if such a thing exists, and none the worse for it.
"Los" - pulls off the trick of being menacing with only acoustic instruments. A grower.
"Amerika", with its happy-clappy children's choir and killer riffs, is one of the stand-out tracks of the album. "Amerika ist wunderbar!" Segues smoothly into ...
"Moskau" - great tune, very catchy, nice imagery. Though it didn't really make me want to visit Moscow.
"Morgenstern" is definitely one of the best songs on the album. "Hässlich! Du bist hässlich!" Hard-hitting.
"Stein um Stein" is your average, typical song all about walling someone up alive - ah, Rammstein, we've all missed you so much! Welcome back. Melancholy, yet kicks a*se.
"Ohne Dich" is a love song. Beautiful melody.
"Amour" is my least favourite song here - it's good and morbid, though. "Mutter, Mutter, gib mir Gift" ...
Thanks for your time. Rammstein fans, you will not be disappointed. It's hard to compare it to their other albums - each of them has something different to offer (although imo "Mutter" is their best yet). Those new to the joy of Rammstein - what are you waiting for?!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rammstein return, 28 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Reise Reise (journey, journey) marks quite a distinct break from their previous releases. Its a cross between sehnsucht with raw guitars and Till's growling lyrics and Mutters more melodic basis. The music is still provocative with German cannibalism the basis for Mein Teil and the single 'Amerika' criticising america's imperialistic ways. Reise Reise is a great opener with big guitars. Dalai Lama fuses soft melodic sounds with sehnsuchts hard lyrics. Los is a great stormer of a song with great guitar riffs. Moskau i found annoying with the girl sounding like one of Tatu. Though I prefer Herzeleid and Sehnsucht its still a welcome return from Germany's premier industrial metal group.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceeds expectations!, 17 Nov 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
I had high hopes for this album after the genius they unleashed in Mutter, and I would have been quite disappointed if it hadn't been so good. Instead, I was surprised and extremely happy that my ú12.99 had been put to good use!! The title track, "Reise, Reise", is a typical Rammstein track. It sounded quite average to me on my first listen, but I think that most Rammstein fans will grow to love this song too. As the accordions on Track 1 die out, you're greated by the bashing riffs of "Mein Teil". As soon as you hear this track, you know exactly what you're letting yourselves in for! Always unpredictable, yet always unforgettable, Rammstein return at their best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New Rammste´n edge, 28 Sep 2004
By 
Jorge Serrano Snchez "Jordi" (Barcelona, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Hello I'm spanish guy. I like many diferents styles of music. In particular punk, rock & roll & trip-hop. I'm not a particular metal fan. But I have a exceptions... Nine inch nails, Marilyn Manson & this band RAMMSTE¤N. This guys are amazing. This guys plays a lot, with metal, rock, punk .... An in this particular album REISE REISE, with backing vocals, chorus, acoustic guitar and English words & Russian words. THIS IS EXPECTACULAR !!!
RAMMSTE¤N metamorphoses A NEW AGE BAND.
This album is hot, enjoyable, cute, & in diferent level strong.
Rammste´n win the battle & become the best metal band I ever heard.
Congratulations Rammste´n. I thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, 30 Sep 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Im a big fan of Rammstein so was looking forward to this new album. I must say that when I first heard it I was a little bit disappointed. My first impression was it lacked the heavy guitar riffs(apart from mein teil) and marching style drumming that I associated with the Rammstein sound. After about three listens it slowly grew on me.......After four days my opinion has changed completely...The album is awesome! Brilliant! The songs are a touch more serious than previous albums and have a darker edge but the new sound is mind blowing...If your a Rammstein fan it might take a few listens but believe me its a classic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reise, Reise
Reise, Reise by Rammstein (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews