Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why does this album divide the fans...
..When it's perfect? This, contrary to what many people will have you believe, is Rammstein's best album. The creativity and variety in it is staggering: the themes of love, sex and death are still there, but handled in very different ways. Dalai Lama, a song about the fear of flying, is based (loosely) on an old German poem, "Der Erlkönig", and carries through...
Published on 20 Jun 2005 by Mr. L Stephenson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A grower ?
Not as immediate as "Mutter" or "Sehnsucht", this takes a few plays before you really get into. The band have reinvented their sound to expand musically and creatively. However this has largely replaced the hard riffing, headbanging anthems of old with a more mature hard rock sensability that may lose them some of their less enlightened fans.
In many places, the...
Published on 11 Oct 2004


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why does this album divide the fans..., 20 Jun 2005
By 
Mr. L Stephenson (Cambridge, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
..When it's perfect? This, contrary to what many people will have you believe, is Rammstein's best album. The creativity and variety in it is staggering: the themes of love, sex and death are still there, but handled in very different ways. Dalai Lama, a song about the fear of flying, is based (loosely) on an old German poem, "Der Erlkönig", and carries through all the sinister malice of the original. See what I mean about creativity? You don't see many other contemporary bands doing that!
Best song on the album in my opinion is Stein Um Stein. It's enough to make a grown man weep.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best one yet? well.. very close!, 2 Oct 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
The latest Rammstein album, Reise Reise, is truly one of the best albums I have been lucky enough to enjoy lately, and in my opinion, one of their best. Herzeleid is still in my book an incredible album, but this latest release reminds me of it in a way. Back then, Herzeleid was a major leap, and one of a kind. Nothing sounded like it before, and many tried so hard to sound like it after. Sehnsucht was different, and I am glad they did not continue to follow that path, as it would have been without me. Mutter, though at times fantastic ("Links 2 3 4 " is a great example), became kind of boring after a while. I keep going back to Herzeleid when I want a true dose of the good old Rammstein.
Then comes Reise Reise. The first time I heard it I was a little shocked. It starts off with music you would expect from such a great band, but nothing new. Then track 4 hits you.. starts off slowly, but wow, what a beat, and what an incredible combination of sounds and truly fantastic strong and very powerful. Which is why in my opinion, track 4 "Keine Lust" is the most innovative part of this new album for Rammstein. It suits them so VERY well. It does remind you of music by "System of a Down" - but you know what? they do it so much better!
The rest of the album has many highlights, and overall, this seems to be an incredible surprise. One I have listened to over five times in the last week, and I still feel as if I need more.
Once again Rammstein has provided great music. I HIGHLY recommend "Reise Reise" to any Rammstein fan, but also to anyone who enjoys real good strong rock. Rammstein's music is special, unquie, and this album is yet another example on why Rammstein is one of the best bands around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All killer, no filler, 17 Nov 2004
By 
Davywavy2 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Unlike Sum 41's astonishingly inaccurately titled album, Rammstein have managed a trick not pulled off (by anyone except themselves) since Faith No More put out Angel Dust in the early 1990's and produced an album of consistently high quality, with not a single duff track on the entire disc.
Rammstein, uniquely, have a habit of doing this - I considered writing a review of Mutter a few years ago saying much the same, and their trademark sound ramains as strong as it ever was. One has to wonder if somewhere in East Germany in the 1980's the DNA of Motorhead, Reni Leifenstahl, JS Bach and Gary Numan was somehow spliced into one consumate music producing entity which started producing music and simply hasn't stopped.
As an album, just plain great. The best thing I've heard since...um...Mutter, a couple of years ago, and probably the best overall since the glory days of Faith no More or AC/DC a long, long time ago.
Just plain great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reise Reise Seemann Reise, 16 Sep 2006
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
German industrial metallers Rammstein have always been one of the world's must-see live acts due to their frequent use of fire, pyrotechnics and god knows what else, but it wasn't untill Sehnsucht and the widely advertised Mutter, the group became known in the media conscience.

During that period, the strains of Mutter took its toll on the group which nearly split them, and left fans wondering if they would ever peform another infamous live show. Those questions were immediately answered via the release of 2004's Reise Reise.

Possibly Rammstein's most accessible album to date, Reise Reise is 48 minutes of anthemic orchestral monsters. Whilst Mutter seemed rather gritty, Reise Reise has a more poppier leaning, but without going beyond the point of corniness. Certainly Moskau is reminiscent of the bubblegum songs in the 90's, with that familiar sounding female voice on the chorus.

Apart from the poppiness of Moskau and the tongue-in-cheek tone of Amerika, Rammstein revisits some of their orchestral sounds, from the gigantic opening title track, the disturbing cannibal song Mein Teil to the bittersweet ballad Ohne Dich. When listening to them they sound very similar to the choir sounds of Nightwish.

Of course unless you're bilingual, translating the lyrics is going to be hard, but because the music is catchy with great riffs like Los or Keine Lust, the meaning of the lyrics is easy to look past.

I've heard various opinions on this album, maybe cause its more poppier, die-hard fans would be a bit disappointed but there's nothing bad going on here.

Buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A grower ?, 11 Oct 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Not as immediate as "Mutter" or "Sehnsucht", this takes a few plays before you really get into. The band have reinvented their sound to expand musically and creatively. However this has largely replaced the hard riffing, headbanging anthems of old with a more mature hard rock sensability that may lose them some of their less enlightened fans.
In many places, the trademark crunching guitars are mixed into the background in favour of the vocals and keyboard sonics - but this remedied by playing it LOUD!. The vocals seem less 'hooky' than previous which loses one of main attractions of a band who predominately sing only in German.
The mid-paced anthemic and string laden title track is strong reminding one of a subdued "Mein Herz Brennt" yet is a strange way to open the album compared with previous albums that will only disappoint fans looking for a follow-up to "Mutter".
A better choice would have been the excellent "Mein Teil" with the twisted vocals and chacteristic light/shade chorus/verse style suitable for its dark subject matter (German cannibal who advertised on the Internet for his dinner guest. The title loosely translates as 'my tool').
Ironically "Los" wouldn't have been out of place on their debut except that the riff is thrased out on an acoustic guitar with restrained drums and even a harmonica solo that puts you in mind of Dr.Feelgood !.
The anti-globalisation "Amerika" with its corny yet catchy chorus sung in English countered with increasingly nastier guitar work during the verse gets better with each play.
This is suitably followed by "Moskau" (Moscow) a faster paced rocker with an echoey russian singing female vocalist (now if they had only got Tatu !).
"Stein um Stein" is probably the highlight of the album. Starting slow, you are lulled into a false of security that this is 'just another ballad' when BLAM! in come the heavy guitars and Till Lindeman pulls off one of the most emotional deliveries to date - brilliant stuff.
Disappointly the album finishes with a ballad followed by another slow track which closes the affair on a low whereas another rocker would have finished things on a high.
On balance, if you appreciate good hard rock music that is not afraid to be experimental then this is a good album. If you only like hard riffing headbanging music then you will be disappointed. For those new to Rammstein then "Mutter" followed by "Sehnsucht" are better selections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When GREAT things come to those who wait..., 8 Oct 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Just when you thought Rammstein have already given their best, sit back and marvel at the epitomy of their musical genius,&allow your senses to be transported to the magnificent awe your decibels could maximally provide!
As the successor to the much acclaimed "Mutter", "Reise,Reise" is yet again a masterpiece.Starting with "Reise reise", Rammstein take their music to a whole new level.Till Lindermann has surpassed himself in this album (and you thought he couldn't do it...),sending the meanings from mere words straight to the soul.With much more melody than before,the music transports the listener to a world where industrial and gentle surprisingly mix, if not complete each other.
Then follows the prodigious "Mein Teil",with somehow "hard" music,characteristic of this "hard" band.
"Dalai Lama" has more of an eerie feel to it,which leaves you pondering.
My favorite,"Keine Lust",reminds me a bit of the Marilyn Manson style,with interesting guitar effects (give a big hand to Richard Z. Kruspe-Bernstein!! he's outdone himself in this album.But don't take my word for it, go find out for yourself!)
With "Los",Rammstein adopted a totally new touch.The repetitive guitar tabs in the background accompany Till who goes back to his less melodic singing on that track.Very good solos to watch for here.
"Amerika".The track is famous by itself,and no need for me to introduce it.However,I would like to point out Rammstein's famous sarcasm has reached new levels with that track in particular,portraying the "Wunderbar" America as a nation of Mickey Mouse,Coca-Cola,Wonderbra, and "sometimes war" *scoff*
From the American Continent, the journey takes you to Europe, to "Moskau" in particular.With the chorus in Russian,this coupling of two beautiful tongues, assisted by a fast rhythm,makes this song quite addictive! The clear voice of the girl singing in Russian is counterparted by Till's husky voice, making this track a swirl of two opposites.
Track 8 is "Morgenstern",the morning star,with an impressive choir,as always, shockingly opposed by Richard's distorted guitar.In this song too,Till displays his powerful tenor-like vocal skills.
"Stein Um Stein" follows.Stone by Stone,the song starts with lullaby-like keyboards,and gradually peaks with the magnificent guitar,accompanying Till's screams.
The hill goes down from screams to Till singing in "Ohne Dich", a sad song, Without You.The music here is also noticeable.What's obvious in this album is the new level of maturity (no pun intended!!) reached in this release.The songs include much more melody than before.With Herzeleid,it wasn't actually singing,more like "wording".With that alone,Herzeleid was a success.So you know what to expect with "Reise Reise".
Finally (and too soon I would say!), the Journey ends with another love song, Amour.Don't let the title fool you: although the song is a ballad,the words are pure Rammstein-esque, describing love as a wild animal shearing its victim's flesh apart,and choking life out of the limp body.Note the music here too, which has a French feel to it (like walking in a deserted Paris on a rainy day).
After this long review,I would like to note how impressed I was - and still am! - with where Rammstein are now.The band keeps out-doing itself,bringing us more to quench our thirst,and more music worth listening to.All is to be expected from this sensational band,to which musical heights are not just aspirations: they're reality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars rammsteins masterpiece,simple as that, 25 Jan 2007
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Germanys rammsteins reputation as a live act is undisputed,their live show is a mass of chaos,fire and visual effects that would put many films to shame,on cd the band just have to deliver and here they deliver the album of their lives,and what a belter it is.

The bands fourth album is their most melodic yet,still industrial in places of course but more commercial,thrashy riffs give way to an inclusion of more keyboards,accordian,mandolin,violins,synths and choirs that will rip your spine to shreds,well it did to mine.

The lyrics are again in german,bar the song 'amerika' which contains some english and sang in the commanding tone that we all know,but for rammstein,no other style would work.

Opening up with the stunning 'reise reise' its clear that the band want to create anthems and this is heightened with the remaining tracks in truth,each song builds and reveals itself to be a real sing along classic.The quality never stops,songs like 'keine lust' are just addictive,killer riffs with all the melodies thrown in that you could ever wish for,one of my favourites here is ''moskau' which features female vocals,originally meant for one of the members of russian pop group tatu,but her loss is evident as this is a masterpiece of epic proportion,there is even a ballad or two thrown in to diverse the sound just a little,but after 47 minutes and the end of this 2004 album,one thing is clear,rammstein deserve all the praise that is lauded on them,i havent enough superlatives to throw their way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The new album, 13 Oct 2004
By 
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
The German Band RAMMSTEIN has caused heavy debates not only in Germany but also in other countries. Lyrics, appearance and aesthetics of the band is quite often viewed as pure provocation. But a lot of people can't deal with this fact and as a consequence, they are put into the neo-nazi corner. But this is ignorant and weak. In a lot of interviews they clearly dissociate from being politically right-wing. Moreover, in some lyrics (i.e. Links 2,3,4) they explicitly condemn such a political view. The band understands itself as artists who attempt to provoke by being OTT-German, they are as German as almost nobody really is and as a consequence they try to mimic and to parody. The only point of criticism is that their idea of art is in many cases beyond the understanding of people, especially in foreign countries. They are close to the edge and a view things are difficult to cope with or to tolerate. However, one thing is as clear as the Amen in the church: they are no right wing extremists.
Their new album Reise, Reise is a little bit different from their earlier albums, although I do not know every single song from earlier recordings. The lack of the brutal guitar-riffs and drums has to be mentioned. In my opinion it has a more popular-music influence and some songs are even open to a wider audience. Still I like this album very much and it has all the elements in it that made Rammstein such a "different" band. My favourites are Reise, Reise, Mein Teil (song about cannibalism, quite disgusting but very strong and powerful), Amerika (childish, naive lyrics but funny and a good melody), Ohne Dich (very quite but also powerful song).
I am pretty sure that the album Reise, Reise will be as successful as the earlier recordings. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Album, New Sound, New wonders!, 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
I was eagerly awaiting the release of this albumn, and rushed out to get it once it arrived in my local music store. Popped it in the cd player and was not disapointed in what i found!
Certainly this album is in a slightly diferent vein to the previous masterpeice that is "mutter", but this album has a whole array of music delights awaiting the rammstein fan who has an open mind. More melodic, this album features great melodies, and i would say it is less heavy than the previous releise. My personal favorate tracks include "amour" and "stein um stein".
If you are looking for an introduction to Rammstein then get muuter, but if you are a fan, get it, the change is refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gritty Industrial Masterpiece, 4 Jun 2006
By 
D. Buttar "elastibandit" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Reise, Reise (Audio CD)
Reise Reise is Rammstein's finest achievement to date; it combines both the heavier sides of Mutter and the melodic creativity that gave that and Sensucht their sound, while dropping the horrible over-used synth effects that brought the latter down. The lyrics, are, as always, delightfully dark, from an homage to the German killer who ate a volunteer (Mein Teil - "Denn, du bist, Was, du isst") to a modern version of the Erlkönig in Dalai Lama, fishing in the title track, a love song or two (Amour, Ohne Dich), a dig at the Americans in the anthem-esque Amerika to a song all about self-gratification in the form of Keine Lust.

The stoundouts on the album, though, are the darkly comic Morgenstern, about a hideous woman desiring beauty, and Moskau, a ballad about both a whore and the ancient Russian city.

The only weak point on the album is Los, an acoustic song that just fails for me. Otherwise, this is an awesome album that never fails to bring a grin to my face. The lyrics are typically dirty, the music is heavy and gritty, this is Rammstein through and through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reise, Reise
Reise, Reise by Rammstein (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews