Customer Reviews


279 Reviews
5 star:
 (156)
4 star:
 (69)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun sci-fi action thriller.
I, Robot as most reviews on here will mention isn't actually based on Issac Asimov's short story collection of the same name but is instead a unique tale inspired by his work on the Robot series of novels and short stories. It has a lot more action in it than any Asimov story I have read to date but still has some really nice ideas as well as references to his work which...
Published 3 months ago by FallenGrace

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 3D disappointing
I felt the 3D version did not really improve the film, the effects were disappointing in 3D and added nothing to the Blue-ray version
Published on 16 Jan. 2013 by Anthony Fairman


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun sci-fi action thriller., 6 Feb. 2015
By 
FallenGrace (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I, Robot as most reviews on here will mention isn't actually based on Issac Asimov's short story collection of the same name but is instead a unique tale inspired by his work on the Robot series of novels and short stories. It has a lot more action in it than any Asimov story I have read to date but still has some really nice ideas as well as references to his work which bring the plot together to form a highly enjoyable film.

The story is set in 2035 following Del Spooner (Will Smith) a technophobic detective who doesn't trust robots. Called to investigate the apparent suicide of renown inventor for U. S Robotics Dr. Alfred Lanning (James Cromwell) Spooner, with help from Lanning's colleague Dr Susan Calvin (Bridget Moynahan) follows a series of clues that seem to show he's not as paranoid about robots as everyone thinks he is.

It's a clever film with some really nice aspects that link together well with the action scenes, the pacing is perfect. Spooner also has a surprisingly well thought out and emotional back story that is superbly performed by Will Smith in one of the films highlights for me. Dr Calvin's cold almost robot first impression is also rather nicely developed making her feel much more human by the end but the initial personality clash between the characters leads to some humourous moments before she overcomes her scepticism.

The special effects throughout are on the whole pretty good, and there are a lot of them everywhere. It is starting to feel slightly dated compared with modern films but it's still pleasant viewing. In HD the picture is nice though in some places it has a very slight grainy effect over the screen in the background but not so much on others. Transfer quality perhaps? It's a small nitpick most people won't notice but should be mentioned.

I, Robot in my opinion then is a great film. If you're an Asmovian puritan then this film may not be for you as it does go against his view on robot stories (having them rise up against their creators) but i've seen it about five times now over the years and it's enjoyment never lessons. The characters, plot, action and set pieces all make it worth a watch.

Recommended.

+ Nice pacing linking everything well.
+ Spooner's backstory and technophobia in a modern world make for a nice plot piece.
+ Nice humour in places thanks to Spooner's attitude.
+ Great special effects and set design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the upgrade, 17 July 2008
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I bought this having owned the DVD and thought it would be a film that would benefit from the advantages of HD. I'm not disappointed, thankfully. The picture is stunning.

As for the film, I think it's one of Will Smith's best yet often underated. Sure, it's no Oscar winner but as a quick fix of stunning special effects with a decent storyline it more than fits the bill. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Film, 3D disappointing, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I felt the 3D version did not really improve the film, the effects were disappointing in 3D and added nothing to the Blue-ray version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars upgraded from DVD to Blu-Ray, 28 July 2009
By 
J. J. Pecino "Huanacauri" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I, Robot [Blu-ray] [2004]

I ordered this item on Saturday and received it yesterday-so well done amazon for qucik delivery. Any way, now for the product itself: I found the picture and sound was superior than on DVD. I watched it on a 37' Toshiba 1080p telly and Panasonic dmp bd35 Blu-Ray player. I have a 2.1 Philips Speaker system plugged into my headphone socket of my telly, but even then the sound was much more powerful than on the DVD. The film-in my opinion-is full of action and highly entertaining. The effects are very good and Will smith pulls off a good performance. If action and sci-fi is your thing, then I highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somehow "Bombastic" just doesn't quite say it., 1 Feb. 2010
For a film made and put out on disc before the launch of Blu-Ray, this is a stunning A/V feast. Perhaps a few of the long shots are not quite at reference level (e.g. some of the scrolling skyscraper shots so beloved on BD test discs) but almost everything else is! Close-ups of Will Smith awaking from his recurring nightmare are stunning in their depth and plasticity. The film features great, natural colours and superb contrasts. I can't recall any intrusive grain, and yet there isn't a hint of DNR.

But the film's strongest suit is sound. The 5.1 DTS HD Master Audio is absolute solid-gold reference standard. To paraphrase Will Smith's great line "somehow 'bombastic' just doesn't quite say it". The LFE effects in the tunnel confrontation are unbelievably visceral and intense. "I, Robot" is also a film full of superbly implemented surround sound, and always offers a perfect balance between dialogue and effects. With a decent sound set-up at home you will probably come as close here to recreating the feeling of being in a cinema as you can imagine.

The film itself is great fun, with Will Smith at maybe his most amusing in a big film role so far. For less than a tenner, this is a real bargain and will be a real credit to your HD telly or projection screen.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you already have the 2D version dont bother to get 3D., 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I already owned the 2D version which I enjoyed greatly.
However the motion judder on this 3D version gave me a headache.
Other 3D films like 'Star Trek out of darkness 3D' did not have this problem: They had natural motion blur instead.
( I compared both films on the same night on the same setup to confirm the real difference.)
I found I was able to reduce the problem by changing my Blu-Ray processing to 'video' rather than 'film' mode. This made the judder less coarse.
I don't know if its a result of this product having only one 3D/2D disc in the box, not two. if I'd paid more than £10 for it I.'d send it back
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING ACTION/THRILLER! ! ! !, 22 July 2005
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is probably the best film released in 2004 and definetly the best film Will Smith has ever acted in.
The graphics in this film are astonashing and even though this film is set in the future it still seems to keep realistic.
This special edition version contains mainly a poster and on the disc are a couple of film still gallerys, most of the pictures are in black and white too!
If your looking for a good special edition version then get the ordinary 2-disc version or the great collectors edition (wich is exclusive to this site).
I would still recomend this action packed thriller to anyone who likes action films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great film none the less, 27 Oct. 2007
By 
Mrs. I. E. Reeves-serby "The Review Guide" (England, Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: I, Robot [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I found this film thoroughly engaging and was supplied with a host of ingenious and clever acting from suprisingly Will Smith. With cutting edge directing from increasing star Alex Proyas and a large number of production greats I concur I have some isses to discuss. Why rate it a fifteen just because of a trailer for AVP which sadly was uter garbage with noble respects to Ridley Scott and James Cameron. The marketing industry are losing sales to the younger fans by a higher certificate than its original release. None the less a great adaption of Isaac Asimovs Robot novels that have supplied endless imaginative ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie and this Year's Best Summer Blockbuster, 12 Dec. 2004
This review is from: I, Robot [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
I won't lie, having seen the trailer to 'i, Robot', I thought it looked quite frankly rubbish. Shots of camp robots jumping all over a futuristic Audi, that was being piloted by Will Smith didn't fill me with enthusiasm. But I was wrong.
This is a great movie, and not only that, but it was realligned my perception of Will Smith as an actor. The pacing, plot and vision are all top notch, helping to carry the film along at a cracking pace, and Will Smith is excellent as the cynical future cop, engulfed by his paranoia towards the robots that populate society. His trademark quips help to bring some much needed humour to the proceedings, and his physical prowess makes some of the more extreme actions that he undertakes more believable. Special mention also has to be given to Alan Tudyk, who gives an incredibly dynamic performance as Sonny, the lead robot, creating a unique combination of human curiosity and robotic precision.
As has been mentioned, the special effects are great, maybe except for some of the occasionally artificial looking cityscapes, and the NS5 robot designs are fantastic. The action, whilst a tad extreme is nontheless highly enjoyable, breaking up the lengthy dialogue-heavy scenes. The plot, whilst obviously not as complex as the Asimov book, is still competant enough to hold its own against other recent Sci-Fi films such as 'Minority Report'.
So overall, 'i, Robot' gets a big thumbs up in my oppinion, firstly as a great movie and secondly as the first movie I've seen to be better than it's trailer. The only thing I can't understand is why the certificate has been bumped up from a 12 to a 15, as in my view it's suitable for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Aiii, Robot (innit?), 18 Aug. 2011
This review is from: I, Robot [DVD] [2004] (DVD)
WILL SMITH stars as WILL SMITH, an arrogant, self-satisfied jughead of a man but in the future (a lot). WILL SMITH doesn't like robots, having been traumatised by a robot's logical decision to end its own life when faced with listening to his entire musical back catalogue. Unfortunately, whilst WILL SMITH is wise-cracking and inflicting his appallingly bad attitude on anyone within spitting distance, a nice old doctor is killed (by a robot) and WILL SMITH instantly assumes a one-man hate campaign against all robots. Things get smashed, a cat is rescued and a hopeless female doctor, despite being subtly branded as a vile racist in WILL SMITH's eyes, manages to see past his hurt and pain (and his ridiculously `street' wardrobe and accessories) and they bond in an utterly unlikeable fashion, like two slugs mating on a plate of spaghetti hoops. WILL SMITH also has a dirty secret: a robot arm. This was no doubt included as a knowing reference to Rosa Parks, who was the first African-American to get a free bus pass on account of having a rudimentary robotic claw. Such a poignant scene, ruined only by the lingering presence of WILL SMITH's quivering man-boobs in soft focus.

Entertainment vacuum Shia LeBoeuf appears briefly and, much like any of his performances, adds ABSOLUTELY NOTHING to proceedings. More stuff is joylessly smashed, more swear words are pointlessly shot into the ionosphere thus making the world a smaller and nastier place and there's a huge set-piece finale which probably cost more than the GDP of a small country.

Optional extras also include a `whirring' audio track that can be played underneath the soundtrack for the entire film. This, presumably, is the sound of Isaac Asimov spinning in his grave.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I, Robot [DVD] [2004]
I, Robot [DVD] [2004] by Alex Proyas (DVD - 2004)
£2.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews