Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

2.9 out of 5 stars35
2.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2004
Thought my 2003 edition was getting a bit out of date - Microsoft's own Website trumpets 2005 has "high quality up-to-date mapping" so went ahead and wasted £35.00 on something that I immediately noticed omits the M6 Toll Road and the M4/A34 interchange upgrade, two of the most significant road schemes in the UK and both opened long before 2005!! If I could be bothered to look, I'm sure there would be plenty of other such examples too. Complained to Microsoft and their reply (as with other reviewer) was that the mapping companies charge them too much money therefore it would make the product prohibitively expensive. Come on Microsoft - you are pushing the boundaries of Trades Descriptions when you describe something as "up-to-date" when you admit yourselves that critical elements (like the MAPS!!) haven't in fact been updated at all.
0Comment|181 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2005
The 2005 version has all the same errors as the 2004 and 2003 in fact other than being a bit out of date on some of the major new roads the 2002 has the best detail. Microsoft are definitely pushing the boundaries of the trade descriptions act, wish I'd never wasted the money
0Comment|66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2005
I was going to upgrade to the latest version but found from a friend that the M6 toll road has not been reflected in the maps that accompany the software. Neither have the modifications to the M2 junction with the A229. Until MS upgrade their maps this product will be a waste of money because it will make you expend more money on being misrouted than you would save by planning your route properly. Reading the on-line reviews has confirmed that I have made the right decision. On-line route planners may not give as much info as Autoroute but at least their maps are up to date.
0Comment|83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2004
As the previous entry states...whats the point? What is the point of having route planning software that doesn't have recent major road developments on it...ie the M6 toll!? Its been in development for years so they must have known it was there and what about all the changes to the surrounding roads because of it....ignored totally!! As far as i'm concerned its a total con and if you have ANY previous version of it i'd stick with it! Extremely disappointed!!
0Comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2004
The M6 Toll Motorway was fully opened on 13 December 2003. But did anyone tell Microsoft AutoRoute? Apparently not. Yet again AutoRoute is at least a year behind other publications and route planners. At a price of almost £45 one would think that the 2005 edition would have this important route included.
AutoRoute 2005 still contains some old minor errors - for example in the Western Isles (Eilean Siar) the Harris-Berneray and Eriskay-Barra car ferry routes both show wrong destinations. AutoRoute were advised of that (together with several other errors) in 2003, but obviously they consider these errors to minor to warrant alteration.
The M77 extension (south-east from Glasgow towards Kilmarnock) opens in Spring 2005. With AutoRoute's track record (since Microsoft took it over) I assume that I will have to wait until their 2007 edition for that to be included.
0Comment|176 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2004
Autoroute is the market leader for good reason. It is simply the best route calculation software available on the PC platform. There's a host of extras you'll probably never use and in this verion the inegration with GPS receivers seems to have been improved. However, for anyone with provious versions - BEWARE. I have the 2002 version and I can see very little difference - even the M6 Toll is not on this release. So, if you need this kind of application, then look no further. If you have a previous version, I'd hold off for a year or two.
0Comment|167 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2004
I have used Autoroute for some years and thought it was about time that I upgraded. The blurb claims "all new maps" but there is at least one key road in my area missing (The new dual carriageway A120 around Stanstead, and Dunmow. It is the old road that is shown). It makes me wonder how many other new roads are missing.
Surely a product claiming to be 2005 should have at least late 2004 maps.
0Comment|47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2004
Although Autoroute 2005 has parts of Europe in more detail than the previous versions a real surprise is that it has dropped all the less detailed information away completely! E.g. in Finland and all Europe east from Vienna I am better off with the 2001 version.
0Comment|96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2004
I already had Autoroute 2002 and have been very happy with it, so after 3 years I deceided that it made sense to upgrade to Autoroute 2005. I expected to see the M6 Toll motorway, but to my dismay it just wasn't there!!
If Microsoft can't add a major new motorway such as the M6 Toll motorway, it doesn't give me any confidence for anything else being up to date.
0Comment|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2004
supposed to be the new autoroute,all they seem to have done is romved the detail,better sticking to your older version.
0Comment|54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)