Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


176 of 180 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So where's the M6 Toll Motorway?
The M6 Toll Motorway was fully opened on 13 December 2003. But did anyone tell Microsoft AutoRoute? Apparently not. Yet again AutoRoute is at least a year behind other publications and route planners. At a price of almost 45 one would think that the 2005 edition would have this important route included.
AutoRoute 2005 still contains some old minor errors - for...
Published on 4 Sep 2004 by C. B. Newman

versus
181 of 181 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't upgrade to this from previous editions!
Thought my 2003 edition was getting a bit out of date - Microsoft's own Website trumpets 2005 has "high quality up-to-date mapping" so went ahead and wasted 35.00 on something that I immediately noticed omits the M6 Toll Road and the M4/A34 interchange upgrade, two of the most significant road schemes in the UK and both opened long before 2005!! If I could be bothered to...
Published on 15 Nov 2004 by johnginlondon


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

181 of 181 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't upgrade to this from previous editions!, 15 Nov 2004
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
Thought my 2003 edition was getting a bit out of date - Microsoft's own Website trumpets 2005 has "high quality up-to-date mapping" so went ahead and wasted 35.00 on something that I immediately noticed omits the M6 Toll Road and the M4/A34 interchange upgrade, two of the most significant road schemes in the UK and both opened long before 2005!! If I could be bothered to look, I'm sure there would be plenty of other such examples too. Complained to Microsoft and their reply (as with other reviewer) was that the mapping companies charge them too much money therefore it would make the product prohibitively expensive. Come on Microsoft - you are pushing the boundaries of Trades Descriptions when you describe something as "up-to-date" when you admit yourselves that critical elements (like the MAPS!!) haven't in fact been updated at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not good enough Microsoft, 18 Jan 2005
By 
M. I. Tew "MT" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
The 2005 version has all the same errors as the 2004 and 2003 in fact other than being a bit out of date on some of the major new roads the 2002 has the best detail. Microsoft are definitely pushing the boundaries of the trade descriptions act, wish I'd never wasted the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MS Autoroute 2005, 4 April 2005
By 
Mr. Derek Murray "derek1946" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
I was going to upgrade to the latest version but found from a friend that the M6 toll road has not been reflected in the maps that accompany the software. Neither have the modifications to the M2 junction with the A229. Until MS upgrade their maps this product will be a waste of money because it will make you expend more money on being misrouted than you would save by planning your route properly. Reading the on-line reviews has confirmed that I have made the right decision. On-line route planners may not give as much info as Autoroute but at least their maps are up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!!, 16 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
As the previous entry states...whats the point? What is the point of having route planning software that doesn't have recent major road developments on it...ie the M6 toll!? Its been in development for years so they must have known it was there and what about all the changes to the surrounding roads because of it....ignored totally!! As far as i'm concerned its a total con and if you have ANY previous version of it i'd stick with it! Extremely disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


176 of 180 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars So where's the M6 Toll Motorway?, 4 Sep 2004
By 
C. B. Newman "Glen Ken" (Kirkcudbrightshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
The M6 Toll Motorway was fully opened on 13 December 2003. But did anyone tell Microsoft AutoRoute? Apparently not. Yet again AutoRoute is at least a year behind other publications and route planners. At a price of almost 45 one would think that the 2005 edition would have this important route included.
AutoRoute 2005 still contains some old minor errors - for example in the Western Isles (Eilean Siar) the Harris-Berneray and Eriskay-Barra car ferry routes both show wrong destinations. AutoRoute were advised of that (together with several other errors) in 2003, but obviously they consider these errors to minor to warrant alteration.
The M77 extension (south-east from Glasgow towards Kilmarnock) opens in Spring 2005. With AutoRoute's track record (since Microsoft took it over) I assume that I will have to wait until their 2007 edition for that to be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


167 of 172 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fine, but what's the point of releasing a new version?, 10 Sep 2004
By 
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
Autoroute is the market leader for good reason. It is simply the best route calculation software available on the PC platform. There's a host of extras you'll probably never use and in this verion the inegration with GPS receivers seems to have been improved. However, for anyone with provious versions - BEWARE. I have the 2002 version and I can see very little difference - even the M6 Toll is not on this release. So, if you need this kind of application, then look no further. If you have a previous version, I'd hold off for a year or two.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 48 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shame about the maps :-(, 23 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
I have used Autoroute for some years and thought it was about time that I upgraded. The blurb claims "all new maps" but there is at least one key road in my area missing (The new dual carriageway A120 around Stanstead, and Dunmow. It is the old road that is shown). It makes me wonder how many other new roads are missing.
Surely a product claiming to be 2005 should have at least late 2004 maps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


96 of 99 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A real disappointment, 27 Sep 2004
By 
Osmo Saarelma (Helsinki, Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
Although Autoroute 2005 has parts of Europe in more detail than the previous versions a real surprise is that it has dropped all the less detailed information away completely! E.g. in Finland and all Europe east from Vienna I am better off with the 2001 version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the M6 Toll motorway?, 19 Sep 2004
By 
M Richardson (Wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
I already had Autoroute 2002 and have been very happy with it, so after 3 years I deceided that it made sense to upgrade to Autoroute 2005. I expected to see the M6 Toll motorway, but to my dismay it just wasn't there!!
If Microsoft can't add a major new motorway such as the M6 Toll motorway, it doesn't give me any confidence for anything else being up to date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 56 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars updated autoroute 2005, 24 Nov 2004
By 
gordon kelly (EDINBURGH Scotland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 (CD-ROM)
supposed to be the new autoroute,all they seem to have done is romved the detail,better sticking to your older version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Microsoft AutoRoute 2005
Microsoft AutoRoute 2005 by Microsoft Software (No Operating System, Windows 98 / Me / XP)
Used & New from: 19.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews