Customer Reviews
You


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippie Heaven
You is my favourite of the classic Flying Teapot trilogy and marks the exact halfway point in the band's evolutionary arc between an anarcho-buddhist comedy collective and a seriously groundbreaking jazz-rock outfit. As such, this album, in a certain sense, is the best Gong album, being the best of both Gongs.

I haven't owned this for about 25 years, and when...
Published on 17 Jan 2009 by John Ferngrove

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great original, appallingly poor recording
I have long treasured the vinyl version, and decided to get a CD as "backup". It is a VERY poor recording, and in comparison with the vinyl version sounds like it has been through a bad 64 bit mp3 compressor. Avoid- get the real thing.
Published on 24 Feb 2011 by A. Glowinski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippie Heaven, 17 Jan 2009
By 
John Ferngrove (Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
You is my favourite of the classic Flying Teapot trilogy and marks the exact halfway point in the band's evolutionary arc between an anarcho-buddhist comedy collective and a seriously groundbreaking jazz-rock outfit. As such, this album, in a certain sense, is the best Gong album, being the best of both Gongs.

I haven't owned this for about 25 years, and when my copy arrived the other day the memories immediately came back of lying on my back, unable to move and being 10,000 miles long and made out of electric watercress, this amazing music bouncing off the walls. Life's never been the same since really.

The mystical idealism is still a major ingredient, courtesy of Daevid Allen, but the musicianship and production have blossomed into something extremely accomplished. Steve Hillage has always been a fine guitarist with an extremely melodic and structured approach, but this is somehow melded with a wild, fierce, chaotic quality that never turned up again on his studio albums (It was there in the big First Glastonbury triple album). Pierre Moerlin on Drums and Mike Howlett's bass are very tight. Tim Blake's keyboards/synths were quite unique at this time but have left a huge legacy in the dance era. Beautifully crafted sax and flute solos from Didier Malherbe, glocks and zylers from Mirielle Bauer, plus the myriads of tiny vocal details provided by Gilli Smythe and Miquette Giraudy peeping out from under the flowerpots.

If the journey of Zero the Hero through the Isle of Everywhere, populated by Pot-Head Pixies, Radio Gnomes and Octave Doctors sounds a mite silly to you, then you will probably find this album a bit embarassing. But if you find this world just not quite silly enough (in the nice sort of way) then come in and join us :- Aum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unequalled masterpeice of space rock, 27 May 2008
By 
Mushroom "a Psychedelic Terrorist" (UK or in the Shpongle Multiverse) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
I will not waste time talking about the `Radio Gnome Trilogy', the previous heavy concept was completely absurd and quite amusing. 'You' is so much more serious as it ties up the characters who seem to be lost in hyperspace. The realisation is at the end of Angel's Egg that the Planet Gong is a figment of anyone's imagination, the conclusion at the end of the trilogy is that you am I and I am you. I hope that does not spoil the ending, but the journey is what is important and what a journey it is. 'You' just improves the more times you listen to it. Everything seems to stem from this album, space rock is one aspect especially the Steve Hillage factor where 'The Glorious Om Riff' is born and this is basically what Ozric Tentacles seemed to base their sound on. Psy Trance and quite a lot of electronic dance music seems to be derived from this album to some extent. It is a polished sound not only in the beautiful CD master but in the composition. The synths are pure and everything is processed very carefully. The album builds to a more and more amazing song, from it's early 'invocation' through 'Master Builder' and the Steve Hillage/Tim Blake masterpiece 'A Sprinkling of Clouds' with slightly quirky asides at times from Daevid Allen, through to 'Isle of Everywhere' and 'You Never Blow YR Trip Forever'. If you like psychedelic music you cannot pass this by, it never fails to trip me out in a most enjoyable and uplifting way, it is not as jazzy or difficult as the other parts of the trilogy, it also works on it's own as the story is less detailed and more universal, the concept is philosphical and not narrative. Especially recommended for Pink Floyd, Hawkwind and space rock fans, it is not as warped sonically as Hawkwind or Krautrock as the way it has been put together is much more precise and careful without distortion, it is clean sounding. This is not to say that this is lightweight in anyway. Do not ignore this if you have never heard it, also if you can find it check out the remix CD of it modern dance and ambient versions of the material, lovingly re-contextualized and presented in a similar way to 'Panthalassa' by Bill Laswell/Miles Davis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome re-issue of the last part of the Radio Gnome Trilogy, 11 Oct 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
Along with "Angel's Egg", "You" has been faithfully restored in a superbly sounding remastered version. Overseen by Mark Powell, much trouble has been taken to ensure that this is the best version available of this, the third instalment of the Radio Gnome Trilogy. The sound, remastered by Paschal Byrne is crystal clear and brings out all the nuances of the musical collage that was Gong.
Recorded by the classic lineup of Gong, "You" is probably the most musically involving album by the band. Daevid Allen's input was receding, with guitarist Steve Hillage coming more to the fore. There is less of the whimsy and all round good humour associated with "Angel's Egg", but this still remains a classic recording from Virgin Records golden era. The album includes lengthier tracks such as "Master Builder", "Sprinkling of Clouds" and "Isle of Everywhere" which enables members of the band to stretch out. The synths of Tim Blake bubble away nicely and Hillage's soaring, ecstatic sounding guitar is building up in confidence.
It's a shame that EMI/Virgin cannot secure the rights to "Flying Teapot" in order to satisfactorily complete the Trilogy. Maybe someday. But for now do get this and "Angel's Egg" to hear one of the most original and fun bands from the golden age of progressive rock, sounding better than ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A neglected classic, 29 Nov 2007
By 
Lendrick (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
Gong leader Daevid Allen is one of rocks great eccentrics, still performing with Gong when now nearly 70.

'You' captures him and the band at the height of their powers. Guitarist Steve Hillage would go on to ambient and dance music, bassist Mike Howlett to produce 80s act like OMD & the Gang of Four. But here they all contribute to a trippy swirling mix of chanted vocals, whooshing synths and spacey guitar that hints at both dance & ambient music while still retaining a driving rock edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Gong, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
great

View tips and guidelines | 19 more words required
View tips and guidelines | 10 more words required.
View tips and guidelines | On
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Fanatastic, 14 Dec 2002
By 
M. Jacobs "Mark Jacobs" (Harrow, Middlesex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best thing Gong have done apart from Flying Teapot. Both are brilliant. This is humorous, trippy and reassuring - a hippy classic. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just magnificent, 26 July 2007
By 
ngaio1 (Wellington New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
I've had this treasure for well over thirty years now, and I'm still amazed at the depth and breadth of this album; it's pure magic. When I found out it had been re-mastered I had to get a copy. Really, it's like opening a door and letting in fresh air and crystaline sunlight. You'll be amazed at the brilliant job they've done on the new mix.
If you have Dolby Pro 2 on your surround amp and four speakers, you'll swear that the re-mix has four separate tracks.
Prepare to be stunned!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Me?, 6 April 2013
By 
Pesto Fingeration (Chez Vegas, Englandland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
Do you like Pot?
Do you like Head?
Do you like Pixies?

If so you have this already.

The best of the Radio Gnome trilogy I'm sure that if the Goons had been born ten tears later they'd have been making the music of Gong. There's a great glob of Goonish Hippy Dippyness running all the way through this. You just have to listen and smile.

Highlights?

Masterbuilder -so much can be built on that.
Isle of Everywhere - blistering work from Hillage
You never Blow Your Trip Forever - You certainly don't

So, that's all the long tracks then.

BUY! It's essential. Or, take a spliff and gatecrash a Hippie party.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gname for gnomes, 10 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (MP3 Download)
Whatever the purpose of Gong; be it musical extravagance; amusing stories; psychedelic reverie; or just fun, pure and simple, this album follows up the previous 'Radio Gnome Invisible' offering of Angel's Egg to perfection. I find a feeling that the idea was to turn the emphasis of the trilogy to the need for whoever listening to contribute to the idea of a happy life, and that while mistakes happen, and these can be quite serious sometimes, that you have to carry on as best you can. In addition, it is an album of well conceived tracks and fine musicianship that is very much a complement to a night in front of the fire with friends. Go enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gongmazing!, 26 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You (Audio CD)
I have loved Gong for 30 years and this CD is one of the best Part three of The Radio Gnome Trilogy. It stands alone as a great album, but is even better if you have all three cds and know the story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You
You by Gong (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews