Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, classic Gong album remastered and expanded
This has been a long time coming! .The remastering of this and "You" has been on the cards for over a year and half as far as I can remember. But due to continual delays, the last being a wish to release these in time for Gong's latest planned tour which did not transpire, it is now at last we can enjoy the 2nd and 3rd part of the Radio Gnome Invisible Trilogy in fully...
Published on 11 Oct 2004 by Dr. D. B. Sillars

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
heavy going
Published 1 month ago by Paul


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars At last, classic Gong album remastered and expanded, 11 Oct 2004
By 
Dr. D. B. Sillars - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
This has been a long time coming! .The remastering of this and "You" has been on the cards for over a year and half as far as I can remember. But due to continual delays, the last being a wish to release these in time for Gong's latest planned tour which did not transpire, it is now at last we can enjoy the 2nd and 3rd part of the Radio Gnome Invisible Trilogy in fully remastered and expanded form. The first part, "Flying Teapot" is caught up in licensing red-tape and is only available in a poor version on a mid-price label which I won't mention here. I will mention that also planned as part of this set of releases was an expanded version of the excellent "Live Etc" album, possibly as a 3 CD box set, but no sign of that at the moment.
So, was the wait worth it. Yes indeed. The whole project involves the team of Mark Powell, Pascal Byrne and Phil Smee who have earned themselves a well deserved reputation for meticulously remastering and packaging classic rock albums. They do not disappoint here. The sound is crisp, clear and full and this album has never sounded better. The actual music stands the test of time very well. Though it is all about pot-head pixies, Octave Doctors and the such, all very whimsical, engaging and fun, but it's a testament to Daevid Allen's imagination that his lyrical and musical ideas still sound so fresh and innovative today. It helps that he is surrounded by musicians of the calibre of Didier Malherbe, Pierre Moerlon and Steve Hillage. But Allen himself was such a musical innovator, his glissando guitar sound which he developed is still one of the most magical sounds to emanate from an electric guitar.
The four extra tracks included are single and early versions of album tracks but is noteworthy for including the excellent "Ooby-Scooby Doomsday or the D-Day DJ's Got the D.D.T. Blues", which was originally featured on the "Live Etc." album, but rightly should be featured here.
The booklet has plenty of photos from the period and notes by Gong Appreciation Society head honcho Jonny Greene. But fans will be pleased to see the inclusion of "The Blue Book" which was included with the original vinyl edition of "Angels Egg". This tome outlines in detail the characters and events of the Radio Gnome trilogy is hence a must have for all PHP aficionado's.
This is without doubt the definitive version of this recording. Mark Powell and his team have done a splendid job in restoring this album, a cornerstone from Virgin Records heyday. Credit to EMI for actually taking the trouble ensuring that it was worth bothering to have it re-released in the first place. It's also worth noting that Mark Powell will be overseeing the remastering of Steve Hillage's back catalogue soon, after he has dealt with that of Van Der Graaf Generator. So, lots to look forward to in the coming year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Angels egg, 29 Dec 2009
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
Probably the most accessible of the Gong albums but equally good for afficionados. I just can't fault it. Phsychodelic Jaz rock on a very serious level. On this version even the bonus tracks are very good. Strongly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gong at their best, 4 Aug 2013
By 
Malcolm White - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
I have loved Gong since being introduced to them back in the late 1970s. To my mind this is probably their best album, slightly better than Flying Teapot and better than You.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mad Hatter's Tea Party., 24 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
Bonkers Central...and I love it!...Prog...check!...Space Rock...check!...Flying Teapot Pixiness...check!...Strap ye in and enjoy the ride. You also get a flavour of the Jazz noodlings to come after the re-shuffle...Ambitious and Esoteric...Glid Forever?..Yes Please!!! ;-D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well-hatched, 3 Dec 2010
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
'Angel's Egg' hints at a future shift in direction which was confirmed on Gong's albums from 'Shamal' onwards. They continue to indulge in the pothead pixie fantasies of 'Flying Teapot', but seem to have an eye on a more staid, jazz rock direction. The tracks are shorter, allowing them to explore more musical ideas than before and the whole seems more coherent and accessible. That is not to say that this is at all mainstream music; Gong make that clear from the start of the dreamy 'The Other Side Of The Sky'. Steve Hillage also seems to have a greater presence; the term 'glid', for example, often appears on his solo albums, while his distinct guitar playing is more evident than before. Although I like this album, I prefer 'Flying Teapot' for its anarchic charm, but it remains an essential part of a Gong collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars totally nuts, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
good old gong the mind benders of past present and future,ive always liked this band and what musicianship,tim blake,daevid allen and steve hillage not forgetting bloombido blowin his sax....absolute trippy heaven with a positive vibe....if only we could transform their vision of the world into reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Angel's egg, made by Angels!, 4 Aug 2012
By 
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
The 2nd of the Gong trilogy that told of Daevid Allen's mythology of Planet Gong. If you love brilliant, jazz rock tinged with psychedelia, then get this album now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, Great Fun, Brilliant musicians, 31 July 2009
By 
G. B. Henderson (Victoria, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
These guys were good, very good, musicians. They also had a heap of drug-induced fun telling a story of near enlightenment and the pitfalls of attachment to earthly pleasures. (Magma did something similar - possibly without the drugs? - but were VERY serious about it).

Sure there are some 'silly' moments on this album but they are well overshadowed by tremendous rock and jazz which still blows me away today - and then it leave you with a big smile on yer chops too! Enjoy the trilogy - Angel's Egg is arguably the best of the three although You has long pieces of brilliance also. It'll be a long time before we see the likes of Daevid Allen's Gong again. Get it while you can man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gong, Angels Egg Pt2of3., 20 Dec 2009
By 
M. J. Mcsherry "Mik Shari" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
This album although very typical of Gong's musical direction and style does I feel improve both in that improvements in digital and electronic music
Quality and overal "easy on the ear".
I say with tounge in cheek as I can find no other easier explanation.To clarify, you will find in Angels Egg that
some of the electronic parts of the overall sound for the first time in a Gong album really come to fruition and allow the listener to become absorbed
in the emotional state the musician was when the music was made and therefore makes enjoyment of the music so much easier.Pt1 The Fying Teapot album or
Radio Gnome Invisible seemed to cast the idea's, Angel's Egg gave substance to and in pt3 YOU comletes the trilogy in masterful way in the composition
of the music,the band members and overall engineering prowess makes for an exciting and enjoyable journey into the mind of Daevid Allen the centre or
lynch pin of the musical direction of the band which I feel I must add that in their latest DVD, "GONG 2032" brings you right up to date will the bands
position in the Cosmos of music that is available to a person with a PC or similar at their disposal.

Yours Sincerely
Mik Shari
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Angels Egg (Radio Gnome Invisible Part II) (Audio CD)
heavy going
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews