Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but also annoying
LOTR the 3rd age is a cross between arcade style hack and slash games and true RPG's. Game format is based on building a party of adventurers and more or less following the route taken by the Fellowship of the Ring in the films.
Initially, you start out as a single character who is then almost immediately joined by another. As a pair you work your way through a fair...
Published on 29 Dec 2004

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plays very well - until you finish it
For those who do not have the game, this is nothing like the other games in the LOTR franchise (read: bandwagon). Those games are in the nature of platform games, after the fashion of Dynasty Warriors. This, on the other hand, is a Role Playing Game (RPG) where you take turns to attack enemies.
The rough story of the game has cleverly given itself a lot of freedom...
Published on 27 Jan 2006 by Bill Morris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but also annoying, 29 Dec 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
LOTR the 3rd age is a cross between arcade style hack and slash games and true RPG's. Game format is based on building a party of adventurers and more or less following the route taken by the Fellowship of the Ring in the films.
Initially, you start out as a single character who is then almost immediately joined by another. As a pair you work your way through a fair number of scenes and quests, collecting magic items and experience until joined by a third member and so on until there are 6 of you.
Game play allows for 3 of the characters to be on screen and active at any time, though occasionally you are joined by a member of the original Fellowship if a particular baddie needs despatching!
This is a fairly long game (it took me 35 hours of gameplay to complete - gameplay excludes the times your party is wiped out)!
It has a number of brilliant features, such as the excellent cut scenes (109 in all which help to explain the story and also expand slightly on the films) and the development of the characters which is similar to PC RPG's. It also has superb graphics and excellent sound.
So why did I give it four stars instead of five?
Well, there are a number of features which I found annoying though this is only IMO.
1. Normally the game progresses in a failry linear fashion with regular save points. On certain occasions, however, a battle will be immediately followed by another battle without the opportunity to save, upgrade characters etc.
This is where you lose game time through dying and is really frustrating as on completion of each battle you are given experience and treasure. This means that you can complete a battle, get a "level up" or more powerful weapon but not be able to apply it to the character as you are pitched straight into the next battle (still suffering damage from before).
If you now die, you're back to wherever you were last able to save!
This particularly seems to happen when you have just fought your way past a really nasty enemy!
The other frustration is that the designers seem to favour a couple of the characters over others, thus you end up with one character carrying around 20 different swords (which only they can use) and another struggling along with a swiss army knife - ok, so it's not quite that bad but there is a big difference in terms of say what the ranger gets and what the gondorian warrior has.
Well that's about it. Overall this is an excellent game and I really enjoyed playing it but it's not perfect or maybe I'm just too picky!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Plays very well - until you finish it, 27 Jan 2006
By 
Bill Morris "Jazz Dragon" (St. Albans, Herts England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
For those who do not have the game, this is nothing like the other games in the LOTR franchise (read: bandwagon). Those games are in the nature of platform games, after the fashion of Dynasty Warriors. This, on the other hand, is a Role Playing Game (RPG) where you take turns to attack enemies.
The rough story of the game has cleverly given itself a lot of freedom by making it about a set of characters who are not in the game at all. It follows a man named Berethor on his rather shaky quest to find his captain Boromir. Along the way he picks up various companions and friends, sometimes fighting alongside the members of the fellowship. You can also build up your skills, eventually earning new ones, which look really cool.
It is all tremendous fun, and the game reaches a climax on the pelennor fields. You fight a LOT of mumakil, then you fight an improbable number of Nazgul, and finally he Dark Lord himself. Lord knows how you got there. Once you have defeated him, there is lots of cheereing and celebration, and then...nothing. There is actually nothing you can do once you have finished the game. You can redo the end of the game again and again, and that's it.
It would be much better if you could do the whole game again, complete with special battle and bosses. There is a "travel" feature, which lets you go back to places and have random battles, but it is not nearly as fun. One feels that there is a whole lot more to do (in the respect of skills and such) and nothing to do it in.
So this is indeed a good game, but rather annoying once you have finished it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (Xbox), 26 Nov 2004
By 
K. Voiles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
I am an avid gamer and every once in a while, a game comes along that really captures my interest and becomes a game I grow to love. 'Lord of the Rings: The Third Age' is now on that short list of games I consider a 'must have' game for any serious gamer. My wife and I have played this game for approximately 30 hours on our XBox, and we're only 76% of the way through it (or so the game tells us). We have been playing in co-op mode and have thoroughly enjoyed it thus far. We find ourselves playing it 2-4 hours at a time, it's that much fun to play!
You can read game descriptions in the other reviews or elsewhere online (try the official website), so I won't bore you with what you actually do in the game (although I don't find the game boring by any means!). What I will say are these things...
It is a role-playing game (Final Fantasy games are a good comparison...if you haven't played one of them, think of 'Dungeons and Dragons'). This means that it is turn-based. In every battle you enter, every single character (good and evil) gets a turn to make an attack or defensive move on one or more characters. If this doesn't sound like what you're looking for, think very hard about it before deciding you don't want it. My wife thought it would be like the other LOTR games and was initially disappointed that it was an RPG and not a pure 'Halo' type action game. I can tell you it took about 10 minutes for her to change her mind about this game, and she loves playing it!
The graphics are second to none (Xbox owners will love the detail their Xbox gives to the Balrog!!), the animations are fantastic and the weapons/armor/items and spells are many. There are so many different ways to go about a battle, that the possibilities are endless for gameplay. Evil characters are varied, so you're not fighting the same old 'bad guys' throughout the entire game. The levels are well designed and gorgeous! Like the movies, you feel as though you truly are looking at the world of Tolkien in this game. You can also play as evil characters once you unlock certain levels in the game, but I have yet to play as those characters so I can't comment on that half of the game yet. Sound quality is fantastic, and is in Dolby Digital so you know it's going to be of high quality.
In short, the graphics, sound and gameplay all make this game something every gamer out there should own. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 12 Nov 2004
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is not like the other LOTR games, this is an RPG very similar to final fantasy X. If you are like me and love the LOTR films and previous games you must buy this. You are a fellowship very similar to the original fellowship, but the characters have different names and different stories behind them.
You follow in the tracts of the film and some points you meet up with the original character, I have just helped Gandolf kill the Fire Saromon in the first film.
There are 109 film scenes that you unlock hundreds of weapon's and items to find.
I have played this game for 8hrs now and can't stop playing it.
As I am only 20% of the way though I would assume that this game would last 40hrs.
Finally if you do not like final fantasy X you will probably not like this game. But otherwise this is a wonderfully game and if definitely a must buy.
Gameplay 10/10
Graphics 10/10
Story 20/10
Lifespan 10/10
Overall a huge 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lord Of The Rings - The Thrid Age, 1 Jan 2005
By 
Michael Cawdrey "Codger" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
This game surprised me, because I have the other LOTR games for the play station, and they are a hack and slash melee, but this one, is an RPG. You take control of completely new heroes, including Berethor, the Gondorian soldier, and Idrail, a servant elf of Galadrial. You navigate the map by walking around, but the battle turns into a different screen like the Final Fantasy series. The game can be a little frustrating, because sometimes your enemies get several attacks in a row, and can kill your characters very quickly if you are not careful. The game's story follows behind the book and movie's, but your characters are 'following' the original characters. The two groups of characters sometimes join forces e.g. fighting the Balrog with Gandalf etc..
You can customize your characters with different amours and weapons, changing their appearance. You can only use three characters in battle, but can switch party members mid-battle. Some of the characters can use Spirit magic, these powers are very useful, and can save you from being Orc food several times over. There is also an Evil Mode option, where you unlock evil mode levels by progressing through the normal game. In this mode, you play as the evil characters, fighting against the heroes. This is very fun to do, and gives you special items for your characters in the normal game.
Overall, this game is very good, it is a lot different from it's hack and slash predecessors. If you are a fan of LOTR, or RPGs, or both, I recommend this game to you.
Graphics - 9/10
Game play - 9/10
Story - 10/10
Sound - 9/10
Graphics - 9/10
Gameplay - 9/10
Story - 10/10
Sound - 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good RPG!, 16 Nov 2004
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
If you like the RPG format of the Final Fantasy games, also love Lord of The Rings and the world of Middle-Earth, then you will love this game.
The playable characters, although are not the proper LOTR characters, are very similar and easy to spot who they are based on. The real Fellowship come into the game on and off at various points of the game, where your team of characters tries to assist them.
The graphics are stunning, the Balrog looks fantastic!! A nice touch with the graphics are when a character gains a new piece of armour or clothing you can see the visible change in clothing.
The gameplay is quite simple to negotiate, especially if you are familiar with Final Fantasy. Each object is clearly described so you can use it to its best. There is a nice map in the corner of the screen to help find your way around and where objects of interest are situated.
The storyline is pretty good, in places it mirrors the real LOTR story, and crosses the line in and out of the Fellowship.
If you're looking for a game similar to Return Of The King, you might be disappointed, this is strictly a RPG game with the strategies and gameplay of a RPG game only. That said, it IS a VERY good RPG game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good game, if you've got patience!, 23 April 2007
By 
M. Singleton (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
As the title suggests, I think this is, overall, a good game. Having skill points to spend on each of your characters means you can play to their strengths, but it can be confusing if you've only just started and don't know what their strengths are... Also, some of the bosses are tough to beat (though, strangely, I found the ones later on easier to defeat than those at the beginning), it just takes a little bit of time, and some thought. If you're a hack and slash gameplayer, this probably isn't for you, this game isn't about button-bashing. I found it enjoyable and well worth a try though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars addictive, 2 Dec 2004
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is LOTR meets FFX, if you played FFX and liked/loved it and you like the LOTR movies/games then you will love this game, but let me warn you that if your expecting another two towers or return of the king your in for a supprise. Also if you not used to the battle system of the FF games then it will take a while to get used to.............all in all a great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Rings: The Third Age, 12 Mar 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
If you're looking for the same game like the two film tie ins then you're looking in the wrong place. Like many reviewers who have bought this game thinking that, you may be disappointed. I actually prefer strategy RPGs over the usual hack n slash but it seems most don't.

Plot: You play through the three films but rather then being the fellowship itself, you are part of a different group who is always one step behind. This group consists of a dwarf, elf, dunedain ranger and three humans. Each character has its own weaknesses and strengths as well as abilities and it's up to you to find out when best to use each of them.

Although the game mainly follows the plot of the films, with clips from them being shown at intervals throughout the game, there is a tale going on between your own fellowship. I don't really want to say much about it incase of spoilers but it's a nice addition to an already well known story.

There are parts that tie in well with the film though. One good example I can think of is the part in the film where one of the hobbits accidentally pushes a skeleton down a well only to be told off by Gandalf. You are actually at the bottom of that well at that moment in time and have the skeleton hit the floor next to your feet followed by the voice of Gandalf reprimanding the hobbit. Its little touches like that that make you feel like you're really part of it all.

Graphics: Like most PS2 games nowadays, this one is beginning to show its age. Although for the time, your fellowship looks just like the people from areas they are from, the proper fellowship looks just like the actors and surrounding you when travelling and fighting are some epic scenery straight out of the film.

Game play: When fighting, the game plays out the same as the likes of Final Fantasy. Three of your characters get given a chance every so often and then you have to select an ability from the menu to use. It sounds boring and basic which I suppose if you're not a fan of the genre you will but it actually gets quite fun and involves a bit of thinking every now and again. Get the timing wrong and you'll be seeing the game over screen often. Although you only have the chance to play with three characters at one given time, all of these can be swapped out any point for another one of your characters. Certain set ups will obviously work better then others in some cases.

When exploring, you will only see Berethor (your main character) who you can use to open chests and access save points. This part of the game is played in real time although there is always a timer going on in the background counting down to your next fight. Sometimes you just have a fight sprung on you but this isn't often. The timer just adds that little more suspense making you realise time is of the essence. Do you want to attempt to get that chest and risk another fight? Or are you close to death and think it's not worth it? The decision is yours.

From the fighting parts of the game, you get experience points which over time level you up. Each time you level, you are able to add a couple of points to your attributes shaping the way you want your warrior to play. Each level your character gets some attribute points added to their attributes anyway but it's nice to be able to add some to them too.

As well as the character levelling, you also have skill levelling. You keep healing, you'll gradually have access to more healing spells and if you keep attacking you'll get access to even more fighting skills. You get to choose out of a selection of skills which one you want to work towards too so there's some choice to be had.

Obviously like with most RPGs, loot plays a part in the game. This can be obtained from either chests dotted around in exploring mode or drops from the enemies you defeat. You have the chance to get weapons, armour or potions/herbs. Not all are as useful as others but it's up to you to decide that.

Lifespan: This game took me around the 25 hour mark doing each act to 100% completion. A decent length of a game I feel. Not too long to not get stuck into but too short to get too bored. Considering I did no forced levelling, the game really was 25 hours worth of content with plot progression throughout.

Overall: Although some people may be put off by the fact it's not a hack n slash, I felt it was a nice change to other Lord of the Rings games out there. It's not a hugely difficult game within the genre but it's an enjoyable enough game to play and great for newcomers wanting to get into the genre. It does get a little harder towards the last act but by then you should be more then prepared to face whatever is thrown at you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but suffers on the PS3, 24 Feb 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) (Video Game)
I bought this game because i played it when i was yonger and really enjoyed it. Its the same now i really love this game its so addictive and i can't get enough of it if i didn't have work the next day I'd be at it all night (How sad did i just sound then?) Its a bit like final fantasy for its gameplay but is based around the the trilogy so if you liked the films this will be the one for you. There are cut scenes from the film through out with gandalf narating and it is actually Sir Ian Mckellen as gandolf which is good :). a must buy for final fantasy and lord of the rings fans alike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2)
Lord of the Rings: The Third Age (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews