Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sega on nintendo??? it works..., 14 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
You may well be aware of the long running battle between Nintendo and Sega to be king of the consoles back in the day. Well, following the death of the Dreamcast, Sega have been working for all platforms and one of the titles they have produced is this excellent collection on Gamecube. Imagine being able to play any of the sonic games you loved years ago on a new console without having to store a stack of cartridges, well it's here...
Altogeher it's not a stunning piece of presentation when started up, menus are functional and there are a lot of Sonic related extras, but we all know they're not the reason you're here. The real reason is the completely accurate and exact copies of the original Sega released games.
If you ever played sSonic on the original formats and loved them, then this is a definite must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NIce collection, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
if you ever wanted to play the classics or own the games without the use of emulators then i would consider this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection of retro classic fun!, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
For anyone who remembers and enjoyed the old mega drive days, these 2d Sonic games are still up with the best! The memories will come flooding back once you hear the classic music again, and start spinning Sonic around these well designed retro stages!

Also highly recommended for the younger people that missed this gaming generation, and anyone else who is yet to experience these gems in gaming history!

Overall, it's an amazing collection of games on one disc bringing you hours of fun, with a very high replayable value!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Mega Collection, 20 Dec 2007
By 
David Birch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
I have been a huge Sega and Sonic fan for many years now, and i think this collection of Sonic's games on the mega drive is a awesome set to have and a real bargain. In the collection you have sonic 1, 2, 3 sonic and knuckles sonic 3D Flickies Island, sonic spinball and Dr Robotnik's mean bean machine. You also have extras like over 100 sonic comix book illustrations and character artwork plus the history of sonic. When i played sonic 1 and 2 on this game it was simply amazing it brought back many memories from my childhood etc so i recommend to any Sega or Sonic fan this superb set for the Gamecube.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased with it., 29 Dec 2005
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
Excellent game, recreates the originals.
When Nintendo released all the Original Mario games on the SNES (Super Mario All Stars), they made the games better graphically and added a save feature on every game.
Sega hasn't done that, if they had, I would have given it 5 stars. There is nothing new here other than 7 games on 1 disc, but 7 great games gives it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good collection, 24 Aug 2005
By 
Steven Carne "blondesim" (Cornwall, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
I got this game because I really enjoyed Sonic 2 and Sonic and Knuckles on the Mega Drive and I was curiuous about Sonic 3 and Sonic 3D. I think the games have aged well, with the exceptions of Sonic 3D (it has nasty controls and is very hard to accurately judge a diagonal jump) and maybe Sonic Spinball (just not very good).
The original Sonic is still as good as ever, the version you get on here though is better than on the EU Mega Drive, the music is fast like it's meant to be and there is no border of colour on any of the games. You can set the game to 50hz mode at the start to play it like it always used to be here though.
Sonic 2 is a nice step up from the original and is 2 player, Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles are very good and you can unlock the ability to play the lock on games so you can play sonic2 and Knuckles etc.
The whole game is going to take some time to see entirely, it's not the sort of game you stop playing when you've completed though really. There are other games to unlock besides the S&K lock on ones too.
The other non secret games are Sonic Spinball and Dr Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine.
Sonic Spinball is frustrating, but eventually you grow to like it. It's quite harsh because if you die at the end of the level you have to start from the beginning again. That's usually when I quit.
Dr Robotniks MBM is good, but it's just Puyo Pop with Sonic Characters. It's best on multiplayer and I find the Com players impossible to beat, it's a nice change of pace from the other platform Sonic games though.
Sonic 3D is quite fun after getting used to the controls, I find it easier to play with the control stick than D pad for some reason.
This game is very fun, but if you've played Sonic Jam you may be disappointed. This game has more games on it, but there is no 3D world to run around, no difficulty select or time trials for the games, it's just simply the original Mega Drive games with no changes.
There is artwork, comics, and some movies to look at but it's not as much as Sonic Jam.
Basically if you want to see the Mega Drive games again or for the first time then it's a good buy, but not if you don't like platform games or want it for extra's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars V. good sonic game but... cheaper!!! Can't go wrong can ya!, 1 Oct 2004
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
I had the original 40 pound version of this game and it's briliant. It shows Sonic's original Mega Drive adventures. It features 7 games which I think are: Sonic the hedgehog 1,2,3,Sonic and knuckles,Sonic 3d Blast,Sonic Spinball and Dr. Robotniks bean machine. the best by far are Sonic the hedgehog 1,2,3 and Sonic and Knuckles. The others are good but are different from the traditional sonic and so aren't as interesting. Sonic 3d blast is inbetween the two combining puzzles and action. Sonic Spinball is a ball type game. Dr robotniks bean machine is a puzzle game similar to many puzzle games today. Finally Sega has included some cool unlockables to each game which are quite cool.
My verdict is if you want to see what all the fuss was about get the "now cheaper" Mega Collection. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!, 31 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) (Video Game)
This is what my son said: I love it!!! So, when your child is happy, everybody's happy!!!
Thank you so much! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9c6527bc)

This product

Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice)
Sonic Mega Collection (Gamecube Player's Choice) by Namco Bandai (GameCube, No Operating System)
Used & New from: 4.70
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews