Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 14 October 2004
You may well be aware of the long running battle between Nintendo and Sega to be king of the consoles back in the day. Well, following the death of the Dreamcast, Sega have been working for all platforms and one of the titles they have produced is this excellent collection on Gamecube. Imagine being able to play any of the sonic games you loved years ago on a new console without having to store a stack of cartridges, well it's here...
Altogeher it's not a stunning piece of presentation when started up, menus are functional and there are a lot of Sonic related extras, but we all know they're not the reason you're here. The real reason is the completely accurate and exact copies of the original Sega released games.
If you ever played sSonic on the original formats and loved them, then this is a definite must.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2005
I got this game because I really enjoyed Sonic 2 and Sonic and Knuckles on the Mega Drive and I was curiuous about Sonic 3 and Sonic 3D. I think the games have aged well, with the exceptions of Sonic 3D (it has nasty controls and is very hard to accurately judge a diagonal jump) and maybe Sonic Spinball (just not very good).
The original Sonic is still as good as ever, the version you get on here though is better than on the EU Mega Drive, the music is fast like it's meant to be and there is no border of colour on any of the games. You can set the game to 50hz mode at the start to play it like it always used to be here though.
Sonic 2 is a nice step up from the original and is 2 player, Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles are very good and you can unlock the ability to play the lock on games so you can play sonic2 and Knuckles etc.
The whole game is going to take some time to see entirely, it's not the sort of game you stop playing when you've completed though really. There are other games to unlock besides the S&K lock on ones too.
The other non secret games are Sonic Spinball and Dr Robotnik's Mean Bean Machine.
Sonic Spinball is frustrating, but eventually you grow to like it. It's quite harsh because if you die at the end of the level you have to start from the beginning again. That's usually when I quit.
Dr Robotniks MBM is good, but it's just Puyo Pop with Sonic Characters. It's best on multiplayer and I find the Com players impossible to beat, it's a nice change of pace from the other platform Sonic games though.
Sonic 3D is quite fun after getting used to the controls, I find it easier to play with the control stick than D pad for some reason.
This game is very fun, but if you've played Sonic Jam you may be disappointed. This game has more games on it, but there is no 3D world to run around, no difficulty select or time trials for the games, it's just simply the original Mega Drive games with no changes.
There is artwork, comics, and some movies to look at but it's not as much as Sonic Jam.
Basically if you want to see the Mega Drive games again or for the first time then it's a good buy, but not if you don't like platform games or want it for extra's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2007
I have been a huge Sega and Sonic fan for many years now, and i think this collection of Sonic's games on the mega drive is a awesome set to have and a real bargain. In the collection you have sonic 1, 2, 3 sonic and knuckles sonic 3D Flickies Island, sonic spinball and Dr Robotnik's mean bean machine. You also have extras like over 100 sonic comix book illustrations and character artwork plus the history of sonic. When i played sonic 1 and 2 on this game it was simply amazing it brought back many memories from my childhood etc so i recommend to any Sega or Sonic fan this superb set for the Gamecube.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
For anyone who remembers and enjoyed the old mega drive days, these 2d Sonic games are still up with the best! The memories will come flooding back once you hear the classic music again, and start spinning Sonic around these well designed retro stages!

Also highly recommended for the younger people that missed this gaming generation, and anyone else who is yet to experience these gems in gaming history!

Overall, it's an amazing collection of games on one disc bringing you hours of fun, with a very high replayable value!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2005
Excellent game, recreates the originals.
When Nintendo released all the Original Mario games on the SNES (Super Mario All Stars), they made the games better graphically and added a save feature on every game.
Sega hasn't done that, if they had, I would have given it 5 stars. There is nothing new here other than 7 games on 1 disc, but 7 great games gives it 4 stars.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 1 October 2004
I had the original 40 pound version of this game and it's briliant. It shows Sonic's original Mega Drive adventures. It features 7 games which I think are: Sonic the hedgehog 1,2,3,Sonic and knuckles,Sonic 3d Blast,Sonic Spinball and Dr. Robotniks bean machine. the best by far are Sonic the hedgehog 1,2,3 and Sonic and Knuckles. The others are good but are different from the traditional sonic and so aren't as interesting. Sonic 3d blast is inbetween the two combining puzzles and action. Sonic Spinball is a ball type game. Dr robotniks bean machine is a puzzle game similar to many puzzle games today. Finally Sega has included some cool unlockables to each game which are quite cool.
My verdict is if you want to see what all the fuss was about get the "now cheaper" Mega Collection. I'm sure you'll enjoy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
if you ever wanted to play the classics or own the games without the use of emulators then i would consider this collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
Works great and brings back my childhood. Got very competitive with the other half who also loves the game
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Great price
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 31 December 2013
This is what my son said: I love it!!! So, when your child is happy, everybody's happy!!!
Thank you so much! :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Sonic Mega Collection
Sonic Mega Collection by Namco Bandai (GameCube)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.