Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
203
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2004
I was very excited while standing on the cold street in front of a CD store on midnight, 22 november. New U2 album is something worth waiting at that conditions, especially if you can get a Box Set (last one!) at special price.
What's in there? Fist of all, a CD. It is great, you've probably heard about it. I've posted my review on CD's page, I think it is one of the U2's best.
But what about the rest of the package? If you are U2 fan, you would like to have it. If not, then it is not a big deal. Booklet is something only a fan will love, others might consider it boring. But it is interesting, and I recommend it to everyone. Try to read it, at least the Declaration of Human Rights, which is "stamped" with band members palms. Nice.
DVD is better part of a package. It contains small documentary about making some of the songs, plus several versions of three songs (Vertigo, Crumbs, Sometimes), and it shows that U2 with only voice and a guitar can still record a hit song which sounds better than many bands with several performers!
In my opinion, it is better to buy CD+DVD version, especially because it is packed in standard CD case. Booklet is something you will hardly place in your CD rack.
But if you are a trully U2 fan, this Box Set is something you should consider.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2004
Those of you old enough to have been following U2 since the late 70's consider yourselves fortunate. My first taste of U2 was "all that you cant leave behind," not a bad introduction at all. You will be pleased to hear that their latest album is not a departure from ATYCLB and carries on in the same vein of excellent form. This album lives up to everything you could hope for as a straight follow on from their last album. Just like "beautiful day," was the opening track and lead single off the album. "Vertigo" jumpstarts the album, its such a good track because of its huge chorus and the Edge's trademark chiming guitars, you will be pleased to know that The Edge continues this sound throughout the album.
"Miracle drug" provides a brilliant follow on, at a slower pace. Bono puts such passion into the vocals on this track. The excellent baseline and gradual fretwork by Edge culminate to a high emotion chorus, where the whole band are operating on a higher plain from any other band that could be compared to them. This provides the framework for most of the songs on the album, but it is far from predictable. "Sometimes you can't make it on your own" is the perfect example of this.
"City of blinding lights" opens up with a sound that is reminiscent to "where the streets have no name." This song is an expansive masterpiece throughout mainly due to the trademark guitars and the epic synthesised sounds created, you could get lost in this song. "All because of you" is a straightforward pure rock track. Catchy riffs mixed with solid vocals make this song so easy to get into. " Crumbs from your table," has the potential to be a single off the album. It is appealing in its own right and does not rely on the rest of the album to be appreciated like "Love and peace or else."
" One step closer" is a slow and subtle track that will be a great soundtrack to some days of your life. "Yahweh" and "fast cars" work well together to conclude an all round brilliant album, which uses a perfect mixture of variety along with classic sounds that you associate with U2, to produce The Album of the year and it will sit perfectly with all your U2 back catalogue ( I will have to work on that)
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2004
U2 abandoned the lemon and went back to basics on their last (ATYCLB) album. It sold 11m and re-established them as "the best band in the world".
HTDAAB is even better and though I'll reserve final judgement until a few more listens, I put it in the U2 top three (along with Actung Baby and Joshua Tree).
This is U2's rock album - Edge's guitar dominates throughout - with lemons a distant memory!
Personal rather than political sentiment dominates Bono's lyrics this time around; he reflects on the recent death of his father on both Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own and One Step Closer.
None of the 11 core songs ('Fast Cars' is a bonus track) are duds making this the first U2 album without a song I want to skip. The opener, the iPod anthem Vertigo is the first single, but more than half of the remainder would also make decent singles: Mircale Drug, Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own, City Of Blinding Lights, One Step Closer, Original Of The Species, Yahweh.
I got the collectors (CD, DVD and Book) edition today as a present - it was nice of U2 to release it on my birthday! Now I can't wait to hear this material live and won't be disappointed if U2 decide to include the whole album on the next tour!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2004
U2 threw a big curve ball with Vertigo.A great song that offers no clue to the new album and maybe why some of the reviewers are disappointed.This isnt 'u2 as a garage band album' But as always
its just one of the outfits they wear.After being critised for lack of tunes on 'pop' they came up with 'all that you cant leave behind'.This album is ATYCLB's big brother.It is also a huge improvement.The songs are as strong as they have ever produced and remain so for the whole album and it doesnt lose its way like its little brother.Once again U2 have produced an album of outstanding quality in all of the colours and all of the sizes.The explosion of vertigo ,the melody masterclass of miracle drug and sometimes you cant make it on your own,the rattle and hum blues of love and peace or else, staduim anthems in city of blinding lights,crumbs from your table,original of the species and yahweh,the acoustic triumph that is a man and a woman, the Boyesque all because of you. Its got the lot.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2004
U2 are set to release their new album with high expectations, and after fully digesting their last studio album, i was hoping for something with a little more hard.
RESULT!!!
They have delivered and not failed.
Vertigo. Everybody has heard this tune now but i was slightly blown aside with the rest of the albums theme.
Miricle Drug,Sometimes You Cant Make It On Your Own,City Of Blinding Lights and Crumbs From Your Table all are classic U2 anthems that are not such poppy but more mature and personal.
Love and Peace and All Because Of You are on the same level as Vertigo, hard hitting rock very much in the frame of Achtung Baby.
Man And A Woman is very hollywood movie theme esque which sounds like it could have come from the soundtrack album Million Dollar Hotel.
Orginal Of The Species again a classic U2 song complete with Beatles style strings and Edge ringing chimes.
One Step Closer To Knowing is like a lost tune from the Zooropa period and the closing track Yahweh is a cry to God in Hebrew about the Aids crisis and has a powerful chorus complete with Larry pounding the toms. Also to me this reminds me of "40" in a weird way.
So well done U2 because no one can write songs like this apart from them.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2004
I had high expectations for this album and the fact that this record exceeds my expectations is testament to how good this album is. There are at least half a dozen instant U2 classics on this and the rest are never short of very good. High points? City Of Blinding Lights, Original Of The Species, Miracle Drug and All Because Of You. Low points? Ehm.......not a single weak track on it. Anyone expecting an album that "rocks hard" like the single Vertigo might be disappointed. But then again U2 rocking hard is the exception rather than the rule. Put alongside any other U2 album, this is a match for any. Fans of The Unforgetable Fire/Joshua Tree era U2 should be well pleased with this one. I've listened to it a lot of times now and its still getting better with every listen.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
As an old U2 fan, after Zooropa and also due to U2 lazyness in releasing albums and Pop, I kind of gave up on them.
The only good moment after early 90s was the album "All can't you leave behind". I just bought this for the very low price (4£) and because I kind of liked "Sometimes you can't make it on your own") but basically I gave up on it very soon. Far from my mind to buy the latest album, even for 2£.
The times of "New year's day" or "Where the streets have no name" are so farway. There is a time to retire even for the greatest bands. Hope to be wrong and to be amazed in the future.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 February 2005
How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb was undoubtedly much anticpated, as any U2 album is, but particularly so after the huge success of the last album. I have to say, it lives up to all expectations. U2 have once again produced an album packed full of perfect rock tunes which will appeal to hardcore fans and the new generation who wont have heard much of U2 before.
There has been some criticism that the album is a safe album and not really a new sound or a band stretching themselves. This is unfounded - the album has a sound and feel all of its own, and indeed is better overall than the previous album. The first song, Vertigo, is an ideal example of this. It is one of the punchiest, rockiest tunes U2 have ever done and kicks off the album on some style. It is unique on the album though, as there are other uptempo rock tunes on there but non in the style of Vertigo. Love and Peace has an upbeat bluesy type feel to it, and certainly a unique sound which makes it hard to describe other than to say its a great tune. Crumbs from Your Table was apparently written when they were all drunk and is another really catchy upbeat rock tune.
Sometimes You Can't Make It On Your Own is the most moving tune on the album, written about Bono's dying father and performed at his funeral. The emotion runs right through it, but it is still a beautiful and catchy tune and one of U2's very best of all time. City of Blinding Lights more like other U2 material than any other song on this album, and is a wonderful peace of epic rock as only U2 can perform.
There is not a weak song on this album. It is packed full with fantastic rock tunes that will please all fans and attract many new fans. I highly recommend this - U2 are still the very best out there and this is the best rock album in many a year.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2004
U2 have once again decided to play it safe, and "How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb" sounds like a more grown up, slightly rockier version of 2000's "All that you can't leave behind". There is one odd track her though. Vertigo, is good enough, but it just doesn't fit. Being the lead-off single, it has given people the idea that the whole album will be reflection of Vertigo. Not so, I'm afraid, but what we have got is mature U2 and the songs on here are on the whole pretty good. I find myself wanting to play this CD, whereas ATYCLB just sits on my shelf. It's not that it's bad, but this new CD has more catchyness about it and it really grabs you, demanding to you that it be played. ATYCLB is one of U2's best CDs (I rekon it is third best after Achtung Baby and The Joshua Tree) but it just lacks that attractiveness about it.
On first listening on the day it came out, I wasn't really sure what to think. I have never listened to any U2 CD and thought "Wow, this is really good" on the first listen (except Achtung Baby)and HTDAAB follows this rule. After about five complete listens, I really liked it. I wouldn't call it a U2 classic, but it is better than most. I'd put it with War and The Unforgettable Fire.
Highlight tracks have to be Vertigo, Sometimes you can't make it on your own, City of blinding lights, Crumbs from your table and Yaweh. Vertigo (as I'm sure you've all heard by now) is an upbeat rocker that is not too dissimilar to Elevation. Sometimes you can't make it on your own is my personal favourite, and is the second single. There is just so much passion about it direted towards Bono's late father, Bob. The video's pretty good too, showing you around Dublin and the areas where U2 grew up and the theatre where Bob Hewson performed. City of blinding lights has a Where the streets have no name esque about it in the introduction. It slowly builds up into quite a song, with a focus away from the guitars and onto the piano/keyboards. Crumbs from your table has a great chorus to it and there's just something about it. It's about Bono's plea for Africa. Yaweh is the last of my favourites (by the way Yaweh is Hebrew for God) and it wouldn't be out of place on The Joshua Tree.
The other songs are and I like the experimentalness of Fast Cars (although I think it is a little under-produced compared to the rest of the album) but I have too concerns. Firstly, some of it is a bit too radio-freindly. I know they want to compete with all those ghastly pop singers/groups who don't write their own music and feel that dancing to their music is more important than actually singing it, but some of it is a little too easy (e.g. the falsetto section on Sometimes you can't make it on your own) and the lyrics are also a little too easy. Secondly, maybe they could consider a little bit more experimentation for their next album otherwise they may be repeting themselves a little which U2 have publically said is the last thing they want to do.
Overall though, a fine acheivement.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2004
If you are gonna buy an album this year make sure its this one! We all know U2 are the biggest act in the world today and this album shows everyone why!
Vertigo 9/10 - brilliant first single very powerful with a singalong chorus.
Miracle Drug 9/10 - Instant U2 classic
Sometimes you can't make it 10/10 - a very moving ballad with a twist! on par with other u2 classics like one and with or without you.
Love and Peace 8/10 - the most experimental song on the album with a groovy beat quite catchy!
City of Blinding Lights 10/10 - best song on the album brilliant intro. A tune which 80,000 people will be singing there hearts out to when they play the staduims next year!
All Beacuse of you 9/10 - a probable single with great guitar work and catchy lyrics.
A man and a Women 8/10 - a tune that you will probably here on some major romantic film release in 2005.
Crumbs from your table 8/10 - another great song from U2. this would make a single for any other rock act out there but with this album there are stronger tracks.
One Step Closer 7/10 - a slow paced song which bono obviously talking about his father.
Orginal of the Species 10/10 - WOW! what a tune!!! the beatles would of been proud of this one!
Yahweh 8/10 - a good closer
Just buy this album!!!!!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)