Customer Reviews


238 Reviews
5 star:
 (169)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few...
Published on 8 Mar. 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks good and some fine acting - but ultimately no substance
Al Pacino was very good as always, but I ultimately found just about all of the characters wholly unsympathetic.
It's fine to have anti-heros but a whole cast of them is a bit much, and I wasn't ever rooting for Tony (which I was in the
Paul Muni 1930s version). Just seemed like a bunch of 80s self-indulgence in the end.
Published 13 months ago by Lucy E. Amis


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World Is Yours, 8 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
Scarface is one of those rare, rare film experiences you'd be hard-pushed not to enjoy. Brain De Palma's 1983 remake of the 1930's flick had all the ingredients of a classic: a great script, a defining soundtrack and a leading actor in his all-time prime. Al Pacino's performance as Cuban gangster Tony Montana has now almost received iconic status among film fans. Few would deny that Pacino's take on cocaine-snorting Montana is not one of his career best. Scarface is seen nowadays as one of the top gangster films, maybe not in the same ilk as say The Godfather, but still a thoroughly entertaining piece of cinema. This 2 Disc Special Edition, although not loaded with features, still should be part of any respectable DVD collection out there.
For those unfamiliar with the story, Scarface follows the path of Tony Montana, a charismatic Cuban refugee, who arrives in Miami looking for the American dream. Tony's up-front and tough personality makes him go right to the top of the cocaine underworld. However, no one, as they say, stays at the top forever. There are consequences to his success, and as Tony learns, money and power can't give you everything. A special mention should go to Michelle Pfeiffer, who superbly plays Tony's love, in what was her first major film role.
The sound and picture quality was in my eyes the highlight of this DVD package. The new digital transfer was near flawless, and the comparisons between this and the old VHS are unbelievable to be honest. Hearing Pacino talk so clearly in that hilarious accent of his was a delight and the famous 'Say Hello To My Leetle Friend' ending blows you away with all the sound.
The extras shown on disc 2 are not in abundance, but what you get here is quality not quantity. You have some decent documentaries with recent interviews with Pacino, De Palma and scriptwriter Oliver Stone. I must stress they are not very long, but don't let that put you off. You get some really fascinating information about the making of the film (including Stone's trip to South America!), that more than satisfied me.
Scarface is a tremendously powerful, violent and moving film which is made by a really talented team on and off camera. It is loaded with famous scenes throughout which Pacino makes his own, once you see Scarface you'll never forget it. If you are wanting to own a genuinely brilliant piece of 80's cinema, you have came to the right DVD package. Do yourself and your collection justice. You won't look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digital copy code works, 27 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi to everyone wondering whether the digital copy of this movie works. I can confirm that even though it says on the slip in the case that it expires on 05/09/2012 I have just put the code n to itunes 27/03/2013 and it worked great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the highs and lows, 12 April 2010
simply the greatest film i have ever seen! mustve watched it over 25 times and still never get bored of it. such a thrilling story from start to finish and pacino is obviously brilliant. i am biased in that i love gangster films such as godfathers,carlitos way,casino,blow etc but scarface is my number one as it runs at a good pace, has a great mixture of action and suspense. probably best not to watch in front of the kids coz of the excessive use of swearing & the famous chainsaw scene (you dont actually see much). it is over the top and very 80's but so what? it works. im sure by now youve already seen the film so i wont explain the story but the added bonus disc is a welcome addition. to conclude a movie that should be in every collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still excellent after 30 years, 27 April 2014
By 
David H J Ashdown (Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Scarface [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I've just watched Scarface the 1983 remake of a 1930s classic and compared to modern films it holds its own in the cinematography and quality of the sound. It's basically the story of a Cuban refugee who's sucked into the crime underworld and ends up being a major cocaine dealer. Tony Montana is however basically a nice guy who loves his mother and sister but because most Cuban refugees had no trade or suitable occupation it was easy to be seduced by the dark side - so to speak. An excellent if long ( over two and a half hours ) film and be aware it's very violent even by modern standards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars worth every penny, 1 Dec. 2011
I have just received my special edition scarface blu ray box set and am very impressed. All of the contents are of a very high quality, the box contains high quality picture postcards of the main cast, Tony Montana's "green card" a Tony Motana dollor along with a booklet of the famous scenes, and, a money clip engraved with the initials T M (in the style on the back of his chair). All this and three copies of the movie, blu ray, dvd and digital, all presented in a cuban wood effect cigar box. I was lucky enough to get this on a black friday lightning deal, however, that being said in my opinion well worth the full ticket price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tony Montana: The Rise and Fall of a Nortorious Gangster, 25 Dec. 2003
"Me? I want what's coming to me... The world, Chico--and everything in it." - Tony Montana
"Scarface" was a box-office flop when it first came out and was literally trashed by almost every film critic that you can think of. Many years later, it's considered a classic and some say it's one of the most influential gangster movies to ever to be made. There's real power that cannot be denied that is held within this amazing masterpiece that has one of the highest replay values I've ever experienced. I can NEVER get tired of this outstanding gangster epic, and it is a grand event that stands out from most crime sagas--and most films althogether.
Tony Montana came to America with nothing, with the exception of a dream to become a somebody; a successful and powerful somebody. He turns to a life of crime and slowly but surely becomes a well-established gangster. However, Tony becomes greedier and more consumed with power as the days go by, and it's only a matter of time before he starts to want it all. His "wanting it all" leads him to his ultimate demise that will consume his fate. This is a story about starting with nothing and then having everything--only to lose it all in then end.
Words cannot even begin to describe how passionately I feel about this movie. This is a crime saga that has layers of character and story. It isn't just a senseless bloodbath with mindless violence around every corner. No, this movie has a certain path and structure. Al Pacino literally makes the role of "Tony Montana" his own and never loses sight of it for a second. I can't think of another character that is "impersonated" in the real world more than Pacino's "Tony Montana." The film is brilliantly written by Oliver Stone (who deemed this movie as his farewell to cocaine), and is perfectly executed by director Brian DePalma. This film had an amazing cast and crew behind it, which made it the success that it is today.
This Two-Disk Anniversary Edition is fully packed with some great extras. One of the main things that is so great about the DVD is the incredible audio and picture transfer that is COMPLETELY superb in contrast with the older version. While it's easier to note the difference in picture with a bigger (and perhaps even a widescreen) television, you should still be able to tell the difference and come to the conclusion that this new transfer is much better than the original. Extra features included are deleted scenes, documentaries, a "TV Version" montage that is absolutely priceless, and a hip-hop feature that shows interviews with some of today's hottest rappers and how they deem this movie as a "ghetto classic." While the DVD could've had a few more extra features, it is in no way disappointing.
"Scarface" is a timeless classic that seems to get bigger and bigger as the years roll by. It's a rare breed of film that can never be duplicated in a successful manner. I find it truly amazing how a film started off so weak when it first came out only to become the legend that it is today. If you have not seen it yet, I highly recommend that you give it a viewing as soon as possible. It is, and forever will be, one of my absolute favourites.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scarface Bluray:Cigar Box, 24 Mar. 2010
By 
sam lowry (gtr manchester uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Scarface The World is Yours
This seminal eighties gangster movie is both a product of its time and a put down of the industry that created it.
All Pacino excellent in a largely repulsive role, he by his own admission plays Tony Montana in 'two dimensions',
He is supported very ably a profane script (which no apology should be made for-if you can't cope with the 'F' word, don't buy this.
His co-stars across the board are excellent-Michelle Pfeiffer, then a rising star, Steven Bauer, again on the rise.
The older stars predominately working actors whom got given a larger audience through their exposure on Scarface.
Mark Margolis as Alberto, Robert Loggia as Frank (Montana's sponsor), the late Paul Shenar as Alexander Soza , Pacino's friend and enemy. Mary Elizabeth Mastronatio as Gina, Tony's sister.

Beautifully lit by John A Alonzo, edited and embroiled in controversy (much as Pacino's Cruising had been three years earlier), this gangster movie has grown in stature , after a critical hammering.
After 1st seeing this movie on video, then wide screen video, and then DVD and finally blu ray.
Which finally does John A Alonzo's lighting some real justice and Brian De Palma's direction justice.

This cigar box set is worth buying if you are die hard Scarface fan, in a faux cigar box set-containing photograph
This, a money clip and a Green card .
Three versions of Scarface (blu ray, digital and DVD of 1932 original).

Well worth looking out for but don't pay silly money for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic gangster movie, 11 Jan. 2012
Scarface is a classic movie that every adult should watch at some time and enjoy.
i wanted to watch the movie in blue ray ,i have the movie on dvd and for a film this good it is well worth buying again.
the movie has been transfered to blue ray very well ,the picture is sharp and colour ful and it is like watching a new film,if you have it on dvd.
i brought this blue ray from a well known supermarket because i just wanted the blue ray not the dvd and digital on this set .well worth buying 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AL PACINO'S BEST FILM?, 26 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface [Blu-ray] [DVD] (DVD)
the time is 1980, the place Miami. An influx of Cuban refugees. One of them, Tony Montana, played brilliantly by Al Pacino, is destined to become one of the biggest crime lords of that time. It starts in the refugee camp. Along with his friend, Manny, played by Steven Bauer, they undertake a contract killing to obtain a green card. He quickly climbs up the ranks, and is soon running his own crime ring.

This film is violent and deserves it's 18 rating, but it's about gangsters. It's supposed to be violent. Just don't watch the TV version! It's possibly Al Pacino's best film.

There has been some bad reviews for this blu ray release. While it is not as good as new releases, in terms of quality, it is still good, having good black levels and natural looking colours. There is a very fine layer of grain in some of the interior shots, but not enough to distract the viewer, and it is very possible that this is how it looked in cinemas, so it would be the source material, not the blu ray transfer. The outside shots are bright and have strong colours, being shot in Miami.

The transfer is in the original aspect ratio of 2.35:1. And the sound is in 5.1.
Overall, this blu ray release is better than the dvd. If you've never seen this film, buy this blu ray and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SAY HELLO TO MY LITTLE FRIEND!, 8 July 2004
Well on of Al Pacino's greatest films ever.Plenty of action in this.Great storyline.A classic.One of the best accents ever as well.This film rocks from start to finish.
This film is a great conversion from the even older version about an American involved in the Mafia.It keeps true to the old version and is even better!
The extras on this DVD are great and at moments funny.You get to see when Scarface was put on TV and all swearing had to be cancelled out (there is ALOT of swearing in Scarface)!There's also interviews and even a hip-hop section!
Briefly:This film is great and if you don't mind swearing and violence then this film is for you!If you get quezy at the sight of blood or can't stand swearing then avoid this at all costs.Still a fab film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 224 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Scarface [DVD] [1983]
Scarface [DVD] [1983] by Brian De Palma (DVD - 2004)
£3.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews