Customer Reviews
BE


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Messy Monstrosity Of An Album
Being a big fan of Pain Of Salvation's "Remedy Lane" and "Perfect Element", I had to listen to this cd...the controversy between fans and critics was intriguing to me, here I have what I hope is my final opinion. This is one highly pretentious yet utterly fascinating album.

As with the majority of progressive music, concepts are supplementary to the balance,...
Published on 25 Dec 2006 by Tom Chase

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conceptual continuity vs musical continuity
How many stars shall I give this new PoS album? I like all the previous albums by PoS, in fact IMHO they have been getting better and better, so expecting this release to continue the trend I'll start with 5 stars. Main man Daniel Gildenlow has been doing some thinking, and reading - in fact, lots of it. And he wants his audience to think too (so we're not just passive...
Published on 25 Sep 2004 by Jim


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Messy Monstrosity Of An Album, 25 Dec 2006
By 
Tom Chase (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
Being a big fan of Pain Of Salvation's "Remedy Lane" and "Perfect Element", I had to listen to this cd...the controversy between fans and critics was intriguing to me, here I have what I hope is my final opinion. This is one highly pretentious yet utterly fascinating album.

As with the majority of progressive music, concepts are supplementary to the balance, "Be" is no exception. The questions raised by Gildenlow are rather clich'd in my opinion, issues on existence, the repeated quote stuck all over the packaging 'I do not remember not being'. As far as I'm concerned if such issues are executed in an intelligent and thought provoking manner, it becomes interesting...or fresh. The deep levels of thought Gildenlow has put into this album, while being of a clich'd subject, are fresh. The arrangements are anything but clich'd, it could be argued they are pretentious. So, we have a musically pretentious album that deals with a fresh look on a derived subject.

As far as the music is concerned Pain Of Salvation are stretching their already vast array of talent, the arrangements are simply mind boggling...but they do take a while to sink in. The albums structure is a complex one, songs are split by short pieces or extracts, themes weave in and out, returning at unexpected moments. The album takes a while to get going, starting with some experimental pieces containing some complex metal, catchy folk and instrumental piano/orchestral pieces. Such unexpected twists continue, some are monotonous - some utterly breathe taking. One thing this album cannot be criticised for is being predictable. The ending of the album, starting from 'Nihil Morari' through to the onslaught of 'Martius/Nauticus II' is Pain Of Salvation at their best. The ballad 'Iter Impius' is PoS' most moving piece to date, and the percussion climax of 'Nauticus II' is such a powerful ending leaving you just...in awe.

This is a grand piece of work, highly ambitious in every aspect. Some will adore, some despise, just a really difficult album to judge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is the greatest album I've heard for years!, 6 Nov 2005
By 
Alfonso Balaguer Piquer "yoelalf" (Valencia - Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
I'm not a fan of progressive music. I am a fan of rock music, I love U2, Jeff Buckley, Ours, The Mission, Rammstein, metal and gothic, and other bands that have nothing to do with this. But for a rock music fan, Pain of Salvation is something superior! I've never heard something like this! I love this album, you can hear a lot of music styles in each song. Each song is a master piece, played by magic musicians and a great voice. You can find sensibility, power, ancient sounds, metal, rock, jazz, dark music, heavenly music, funky…everyting is here. It's like Faith No More meets Queen, Red Hot Chili Peppers, medieval music, gothic, U2, Opeth, Dream Theater…and a thousand big bands more. If you love music, you'll love this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Progressive, pretentious and occasionally perfect..., 15 Jan 2011
By 
TrickeyMickey (Canterbury, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
BE represents progressive metal band Pain of Salvation at their most progressive and least metallic. If you're into Transatlantic, Spocks Beard, Pink Floyd and other classic rock - but aren't too sure about heavy metal - you may find that this is a good way to discover Pain of Salvation.

BE is incredibly idiosyncratic, both musically and conceptually, and confims Daniel Gildenlow as a fascinating but wayward artist. To support its ambitious concept, it incorporates a lot of classical elements as well as rock, folk and jazz. It's amazingly diverse and melodic, but it's only towards the end that you get a hint of the truly amazing, passionate music that this band is capable of.

So I wouldn't call BE a prog rock masterpiece (even a flawed one). But it is facinating, diverse and different, and a good introduction to the strange world of Daniel!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diverse Perfection, 22 Feb 2005
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
This flowing masterpeice has to be the most inovative Album, by the most inovative band I have heard to date. This music shows real emotion and intuitive composition. Simplistic new punk and formulated rap just doesn't cut it when this MUSIC is around. It stands up with Dream Theater, Symphony X, Opeth and Spocks Beard. The sheer range and intellegence of this will blow your mind. It is in my opinion a better album than remedy lane which can be hit and miss. Be prepared for a few listens before the full scale of this work hits you.

Buy This!!!!!!!!

It is all encompassing when listened to. Something other music tends not to achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Conceptual continuity vs musical continuity, 25 Sep 2004
By 
Jim (South Devon) - See all my reviews
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
How many stars shall I give this new PoS album? I like all the previous albums by PoS, in fact IMHO they have been getting better and better, so expecting this release to continue the trend I'll start with 5 stars. Main man Daniel Gildenlow has been doing some thinking, and reading - in fact, lots of it. And he wants his audience to think too (so we're not just passive consumers, great! - add one star = 6). In the PoS tradition, therefore, he's come up with this concept album. I'm not adverse to concept albums in theory...but the proof of the pudding is in the eating (still on 6 stars for now).

As is the way with concept albums, Be deals with big issues like God, capitalism, ecology (DG clearly has a well-developed social and political conscience: great! - add one star = 7 stars). So far, so traditional. If you think it sounds like a recipe for an incredibly complex concept, you're right. Or maybe not. All the song titles are in Latin, and divided into different sections (hmm, somewhat pretentious, even by concept album standards - take off one star = 6 stars). One wonders if DG hasn't thought so hard that he's just got himself in a bit of a tizzy and `over-egged the pudding' somewhat. For all the fancy Latin song titles and different album sections the ideas actually come out quite simple, and are rather obvious e.g. foolish Mr Money who destroys the planet in his lust for cash (unnecessarily complicating a simple concept: take off one star = 5 stars).

Yes, DG is not just a progressive-metaller, but first and foremost a human being and a musician, or perhaps, an artist. But is the average PoS fan in it for the artistry or the music? Big boo for boring narrative sections. I imagine people buy albums for the music not the story. If they wanted a story they'd buy a book (take off 2 stars = down to 3 stars). I wouldn't be surprised if most listen to the talky bits once only then forever skip over them with the fast forward button.

So, the ultimate prog crime is committed: inserting narrative episodes to elaborate on the concept, which unfortunately interferes with the music itself. I like concept albums that stick to music to tell the tale, but this is an instance of the concept taking undue precedence over the musical content. That's a tad egotistical, dare I say boring.

On the plus side, musically this is an incredibly intricate album, with PoS presenting some very good individual songs in an interesting variety of styles. The Big Concept lends itself well to the eclectic musical approach - there are songs on here that you'd never imagine PoS coming up with, even as recently as Remedy Lane, although `12.5' gave a clue that new directions were stirring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 11 Dec 2007
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
Pain of Salvation are one of the best bands on the planet and this CD proves it.
The CD is so varied. A beautiful piano movement mimicking the rain set off by a background storm. A black southern harmony. One of my favourites being of random phone calls from people to God both questioning and with blind obedience with a wonderful slow beat and acoustic guitar rhythms. Plus the usual heavy rock interspersed. But there is also an underlying musical theme which is present in many of the songs, PERFECT.
I would highly recommend the DVD. Great to watch late at night after a few beers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best album ever?, 4 Oct 2004
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
Well, certainly the best album i've ever heard. Beats AC/DC - Back In Black (my previous best, now demoted to 2nd) and even the mighty Pink Floyd - Dark Side Of The Moon isn't as good as this progressive metal masterpiece. This album conveys so many emotions it's unbelieveable. Mere words cannot describe the brilliance of this album. Buy it now. I promise you will not be disappointed at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ........Sigh, 14 Mar 2006
This review is from: BE (Audio CD)
Seriously wow. After hearing the one track "Lilium Cruentus" off of a sample disc i thought, "Pretty good track, wonder what the albums like". Read many reviews comparing them to Dream Theater and how if i enjoyed "Scenes From a Memory" then i have to get this.
Now im pretty much open to anything but seriously this was so bad it wasn't even funny. It has maybe 3 decent tracks one of which was the one i had already heared; one which isn't quite lyrics, but population statistics, but has pretty cool music behind it; n maybe one other track i can't remember i was so annoyed i just got rid of it.
i'm not against religous lyrics but when a track has "Oh Lord" 13 times!!!!!!!!! it gets pretty damn annoying. Annoyingly whiny. Quite dissapointed as i was looking forward to it but if your gonna compare something to dream theater, make sure it can't possibly dissapoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BE
BE by Pain Of Salvation (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews