Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars52
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£29.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 30 January 2010
For all those musical film lovers out there this box set is brilliant.I am a musicals lover and when i recieved this set i thought i was in heaven.Not only did you get the musical films but on the bonus discs you got to see the other performances of them by later productions.My favourite was Oklahoma and to see this produced slightly differently by others was interesting and you also got to see the more modern takes on them (As modern as the sixties and seventies were),and their takes on non musical renditions,i.e straight plays.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on 31 March 2010
The surprise to me in this collection was how good "State Fair" looks. Really vibrant, lovely colours and great sound - digitally enhanced has worked well here.
The fair is fabulous, if only they still existed like that.
Better get on with watching the rest.. if "State fair" is the least excellent, there is going to be terrific fun in watching the rest completely from start to finish - oh , and the bonus disks are a treat.. Excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 28 January 2012
Do the maths! You get 12 discs, and at this price, it's a bargain!

This boxset includes the 2-Disc Special Edition version of every film, unlike other boxsets who simply include either all single disc version or just one special edition. Even State Fair, an early Rodgers and Hammerstein musical and the only one written for screen, has a 2-disc version, which includes a remake from 1962 (with commentary) and a pilot for a TV adaptation that was never made. I haven't watched those special features, but you also get a featurette documentary, commentary, trailers and more! It's not my favourite film of the set- a bit too quaint for me- but for those who like old-fashioned quaint musicals (Meet Me in St Louis and the like), this is for you!

Carousel is a lovely film, bittersweet throughout. It tells the story of the deceased Billy (Gordon McRae), a carousel barker who comes down from heaven to make amends for the wrongs he has done to his wife (Shirley Jones). Some complained that the direction was too heavy-handed and perhaps those who have seen stage versions might agree, but for those who haven't had a chance to see a stage version, this is a good adaptation. McRae is particularly strong. It is a sad film though, so be prepared for tears! This special edition has a trailer, commentary, some featurettes, TV performances from the era singing some numbers (this is included on all the films except The Sound of Music, which was written after the broadcast), and some deleted songs in audio. You can also listen to the isolated score I think.

The King and I is for the most part set in the interior of the King's palace. In the 19th century, Anna (Deborah Kerr), a governess, goes with her small son to work for the many children of the King of Siam (Yul Brynner). Originally Anna and the King experience a culture clash, but slowly they come to an understanding. For me, the songs aren't as strong as Carousel or South Pacific. My favourite songs here are Shall We Dance and Getting To Know You. However, the performances are flawless- Brynner and Kerr are definitive- and you get to see Kerr in some beautiful but ginormous dresses. This special edition has a trailer, some featurettes, commentary, and a TV pilot of a non-singing version (with commentary by one of its stars), plus some deleted songs in audio.

Oklahoma! is one of Rodgers and Hammerstein's first musicals (and the first one to be adapted for screen). This is where we first see the pairing of Gordon McRae and Shirley Jones- here playing Curly, a cowman, and farm girl Laurey, who refuse to admit their feelings for each other. It's also about the transformation from Oklahoma Territory to Oklahoma, the state (the state of Oklahoma has made the title song their national anthem). The stage musical is darker (the 1998 version with Hugh Jackman is more accurate) but this is still an enjoyable version. The songs are catchy- this is a more upbeat musical compared to Carousel, although it does have its degree of danger. Who will Laurey take to the box social- Curly or sinister farmhand Judd? The special features are mainly about the process it was shot in- Todd AO- and you get both the Cinemascope version of the film and the Todd AO version. Personally, I can't tell the difference.

The Sound of Music is so well-known that I need not go into the story. There are plenty of great special features here, and you get a commentary from director Robert Wise, Julie Andrews, and Christopher Plummer (who played Captain Von Trapp)! This is the perfect film for a bank holiday.

South Pacific has probably spawned the most well-known songs. Younger Than Springtime, Bali Hai, There is Nothing Like A Dame, Some Enchanted Evening...all of these have found their way into musical history. South Pacific is set during WW2 on the Pacific Islands. The sailors are missing female company but luckily there's some beautiful girls on Bali Hai. One of them (John Kerr) falls in love with one of the natives (France Nguyan). The other romantic coupling is army nurse Nellie (Mitzi Gaynor) and French plantation owner Emile (Rossano Brazzi), who is many years her senior. The musical is essentially about whether the characters can overcome society's prejudices and the consequences of failure to do so. It's a long musical- you get an Intermission- but for a rarely done musical, it's worth it. The most famous element of this film is probably the colour filters, which look like a bad amateur stage production. The intention of the filmmakers is that it would be just like going to see the stage version. Some complain about the film but I really like it and I've yet to see a better version. The song "Carefully Taught"- a song about how society creates prejudice- was almost cut because it wasn't seen as being right for a musical to tackle such issues. Luckily, it stayed. Instead of cut songs, you get all the songs plus an extra one- My Girl Back Home. This edition has an interesting documentary about the writer of the source material it was based on going to visit the islands where he was stationed and both the theatrical version of the film and the roadshow version (which has an extra fourteen minutes, including the cut chorus of Some Enchanted Evening where Nellie and Emile do the pose on the soundtrack album).

This is just a brilliant collection. All the commentaries have subtitles as well!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 12 February 2010
This boxed set provides hours of musical delight. The extras are entertaining and informative. If you are a fan of musicals you will not want to miss this opportunity to own some of the best.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 28 December 2012
Bought this for my grandchildren to watch & listen to so that they learn to appreciate good family films with a message They love them and even the youngest at 4 can sing along already. Great
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 22 June 2011
If you ever missed or just want to relive those happy experiences of viewing these classics then this compilation of 6 films from rodgers and hammerstein are a must I bought them as a xmas present for my father who claims they are musicals at their best.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
92 of 114 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2006
WOW! A classic boxset with so many extras, words fail me.
Every song on this set is perfect and shows what masters of song and dance Rogers and Hammerstein truly where.
Buy this and be englufed by the extras alone.
A perfect pressie for those musical children, let them see what true class is.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 26 March 2010
the added DVDs with every musical gives wonderful insight into the process of making the musicals and the film adaptations

it's also a great excuse to watch the musicals over and over
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
I purchased this after unfortunately having to give up my VHS versions of the shows. I initialy thought I'd be horribly disappointed with it (DVD often has poorer audio quality unless re-mastered) but to my surprise I watch The King and I first and was thrilled with the purchase!

The best addition to this box set are the special features (clips from other shows where the show has been advertsied etc.) and this is perfect for collectors and those who genuinely love the shows as you get more of an insight to the fantastic work and the long lasting friendships that began backstage.

This is the best deal I've found for the complete box set and it includes the special features.

This is a MUST-HAVE!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
According to the reviews, this is supposed to be a 12 disc set with lots of superb extra features, however, it is not, it's only 6 CD's and the format seems to be the old sqaure-ish TV size. The Carousel disc had a smear on it which had to be cleaned carefully, but it did play OK.
The films themselves are good, of course, but I am disappointed I did not get the extra features and very glad I bought a discount used set and didn't pay the full price. Looks like two different box sets of R&H musicals were being reviewed as the same item...
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Carousel: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD]
Carousel: 2-disc [Special Edition] [DVD] by Gordon MacRae (DVD - 2006)

Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [1933]
Must-See Musicals Collection [DVD] [1933] by Judy Garland (DVD - 2012)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.