Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 78 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MIDNIGHT OF THE CENTURY (CONTAINS SPOILERS)
MILLENNIUM is at first a product of the time, a manifestation of the 1990's fear of what Y2K could bring. It's easy to look back now in hindsight and dismiss millennial tension, but there were a great number of people who had serious thoughts of what could happen and looked for answers. It's also easy to dismiss its innovative mature and sombre tone when it has been...
Published on 12 Feb 2005 by Mr. B. Renshaw

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars NO ENDING
This series started well but then jumped all over the place and
got cancelled. See WIKI for the story.
Had I known this I would not have bought it.
The final attempt at an ending is in the X Files Season 7
episode Millenium. Chris Carter must have a conscience.

Peter K
Published on 13 April 2012 by Stillaboveground


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Why this show failed, 25 Jan 2005
By 
Aydin Dilber - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
It is easy to see after viewing the 3 seasons why this show was then cancelled even if was done by Chris Carter of X-Files and 9 seasons fame. Do not get me wrong the show is quite good and addictive but it turns to too much different things in 3 seasons. The atmosphere is X-Files (no wonder with Chris Carter directing and Mark Snow doing the musical score) so if you like X-Files you are going to like this. However as said too many changes from season to season more than likely lost the audience on the road.
The first season is probably the best (Chris Carter left after...) as it is a dark murder mystery investigation show. Character well defined and well acted. Also the problem Frank Black has reconciling family life with a wife and daughter with his work investigating serial killers and the very evil of humanity is well shown. The millenium group at this point is nothing out of the ordinary only ex-law enforcement agents consulting on particular crimes.
The second season after Chris Carter leaves takes definitely a total different twist. The murder investigations take backseat to the mystery of the millenium group. A lot of mystical and religious elemnts are introduced and also "funky" episodes like 'Jose Chung's Doomsday Defense' or 'Satan Got Behind Me' that do not quite fit with the nature of the show and are to say the least distracting. All in all not as good as the first season but still enjoyable. One more thing the last episode is not very believable and is not really explained well in the third season. Warning spoiler----> Frank's Wife dies in this episode.
The third season then it turns to 'X-Files Mulder & Sculley wannabe". Frank is back to FBI is paired with another female agent Emma Hollis but no chemistry like Mulder and Sculley, the episodes turn also to look X-Filish but without capturing the spirit of X-Files. So the show albeit it gains in suspense it goes down the drain at this point for lack of originality and too many twists and turns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Superficially spooky, 18 Nov 2012
This review is from: Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I was a bit disappointed by Millenium. I loved X-files and expected much more of Chris Carter production. Millenium lacks sense of humour, gradation and mystery of X-files. Lance Henrikssen {Frank Black} is good but way too serious, and his ability to see into murderer's mind is psychologically shallow and not authentic. The overall effect is spooky but without this chilling thrill {like in X-files}, it just leaves you with a desperate feeling how bad and depraved a human being can be. No light at the end of tunnel, no salvation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars review for millennium series, 30 Mar 2010
By 
K. Zarokostas (ATHENS,GREECE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I WAS A HUGE FAN OF THE X-FILES SERIES WHO CREATED CHRIS CARTER,WHO ALSO CREATED
MILLENNIUM SERIES,SO I GOT AN INTREST FOR MILLENNIUM SERIES TOO.
I HAVE SEEN SO FAR 57 OF THE 67 TOTAL EPISODES AND I AM PLEASED TO THE LEVEL I EXPECTED.
MILLENNIUM SERIES IS ABOUT THE UPCOMING 2000 MILLENNIUM AND THE POSSIBLE END OF THE WORLD,WITH SOME PARANORMAL ELEMENTS TO THE SCRIPT,HOMOCIDES,ETC.
STARRING CHARACTER IS LANCE HENRIKSEN,AN ACTOR THAT I VERY MUCH LIKE AND HE PERFORMS WELL.
TOTALLY,MILLENNIUM SERIES ,ITS A VERY GOOD SERIES TO WATCH,IF YOU LIKE THAT KIND OF
TV SERIES.THANKS A LOT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB, 8 Nov 2004
This review is from: Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT,THE BEST TV SERIES EVER MADE.I WAS COMPLETELY ADDICTED TO THIS PROGRAMME THE FIRST TIME I EVER SAW IT.THE COMPLETE SERIES 1-3 ON DVD IS LIKE A DREAM COME TRUE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 21 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Millenium - Season 1 - Disc 2, 11 Jan 2005
By 
Tunzafun (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
After a cracking start to the show the second disc slowed the pace up with more thought provoking shows. The highlight of these being 522666, a deranged bomber getting his kicks from all aspects of explosions. The well-worn lock was too disturbing for me but that was probably the idea. Kingdom come was good but had the potential to be better, as did Blood Relatives. I want to see this show take off and get into the mythology that centres on Franks abiities and his fight against the devil.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 42 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the wrong one, 29 Feb 2012
By 
This review is from: Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
This was not the tape I expected.. was expecting Stig Larsson. But it arrived in good time. Haven't watched it yet, as it's a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996]
Millennium - Season 1-3 [DVD] [1996] by Lance Henriksen (DVD - 2005)
£41.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews