Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A visually stunning and dramatic film.
This is a wonderfully enjoyable way to spend 80 minutes. A film with very limited narration, focusing instead on the drama and violence of life in the world's largest, most turbulent and least understood habitat. I am an enthusiastic viewer of natural history films, amd this is a very different and very rewarding change from the usual. There is one major problem with...
Published on 17 Sep 2005 by Mr. Dominic L. Brown

versus
61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why 2* when it should get 5?
The Deep Blue is little else than a shorter version of the previously released and otherwise outstanding work of the BBC series "The Blue Planet".
I got the newly released DVD being mislead by its advertising that is rather a genuine work and only the crew from the BBC series is the same. That is not the case, unfortunately, most of the Deep Blue material is taken...
Published on 24 Nov 2004 by Sergiu Dragos Serban


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Imagery, 6 Aug 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
I like this DVD more than the other reviewers, but perhaps I was looking for something else. I wanted something other than a regular David Attenborough documentary - magnificient though they are. Sometimes I just want to marvel at the imaginery and experience the drama, without sitting through a whole lecture on the natural world. In this respect, the DVD delivers. It lingers on the imagery allowing you to truly absorb the scene detail - and this was intentional in the editing. This is a movie, not a TV documentary, and is edited accordingly. Every shot is exquisite, and the slower pace allows this to be appreciated. It may just be an eye-candy DVD, but it is nevertheless astonishing.
Unfortunately, I do agree with some of the other reviewer's criticisms, which is why this only gets 3 stars. The audio mixing is unbalanced, and the narrative is sometimes swamped by the volume of music and effects. I don't think the film would have worked without any narrative, but I do appreciate the minimalistic approach the makers took in choosing what to say. The images speak for themselves, mostly.
Similarly, unlike documentaries, the scenes do not seem to follow any cohesive structure or plot development. But this, you could argue, was never the intention of the film makers. This is not a traditional documentary. I expect most people will want to watch individual scenes again and again, and in this context, a traditional flowing structure is not all that important. You can watch the scenes backwards, or randomly, and it wouldn't make much difference to the enjoyment.
As a technical aside, my DVD plays most scenes with an annoying thin black border around the footage. I have no idea why this border is there. But this could just be a fault somewhere in my system/media.
To sum up - astonishing footage, but the "movie" concept, and the dvd itself is flawed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning, one-off interpretation of 'The Blue Planet', 15 Jan 2010
By 
Simon H (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
First up: as other reviewers have alluded to, this is not a standalone dvd. It is a distillation of the epic 'Blue Planet' series into a single film. So yes, if you buy it expecting something different to 'The Blue Planet', you will be annoyed. That said, whether it be as a means to introducing children to the wonders of the waters, or something for an adult to enjoy, this is a stunning piece of art.

The footage is now several years old (and will possibly be superseded when 2011 sees the release of the follow-up the BBC are currently filming), but it is still jaw-dropping in the natural wonders that it allows us all to see. Natural Selection is a brutal process, nowhere more so than in the waters that cover 70% of the globe. It truly is fascinating to see what has been happening for thousands of years beneath our noses - and how life thrives even in the most oppressive deep sea environments.

I note other reviews commenting on the suitability for children. Make no bones about it, this film captures the brutality of the seas. My eldest is currently 4 and needed to talk about the killer whales flinging the baby seals around like toys. What better way than to explain 'Nature' to her. The orcas eat the baby seals; seals eat penguins; penguins eat fish etc. etc. The brilliant editing means that the orca/seal sequence is followed by footage of the birth of hundreds of thousands of crabs and them scurrying off to the sea. Life and Death. That's what it's all about.

And finally, I love the soundtrack. It is truly evocative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars blue planet rip off, 28 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
this is just a mash up of blue planet footage if you own blue planet already don't waste your money on this and if you don't you should seriously save up the extra money to get that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Blue, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
A truely excellent dvd

Highly informative, well produced, educational and enjoyable view of the world below the waves.

Good value and\well worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Blue Planet Copy, 13 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this thinking it waould reveal something i haven;t seen but to my GREAT disappointment all this is is Blue Planet series though a less informative documentary e.g Tuna fish came to finish off the bait ball formed by the Sail fish but there was no information about their names!
How do i know this? I own Blue Planet series on dvd.
This 80min documentary is actually ALL taken from the original Blue Planet series and crammmed into this one docuentary
In my opinion if you have Blue Planet already don't waste your money buying this and for those who don't have Blue Planet and are considering buying this for information and education purposes i recommend you actually buy "Blue Planet" instead.
Of course it is beautifully made but being "extracts" from the Blue Planet it would be
Buying Blue Planet and this dvd together you'll waste money as your buying a long and short version of the same thing. Blue Planet is VERY informative and this one is a short, no info copy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deep Blue, 25 Sep 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Deep Blue [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I would recommend this to everybody. It is the most beautiful and amazing documentary film I have ever seen on tv. How the cameras have caught some of the footage is beyond me. The makers of this film deserve every award there is for photographic brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars David we miss you!, 28 Dec 2004
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
The first thing to say about Deep Blue is that the music is intrusive. If you turn the sound off you don`t get the words, which you need. So you are stuck with this awful noise all the way through.
I suppose over the years we have got used to David Attenborough being there for us, and there is an awful feeling of being adrift without him, especially here where many shots are extremely similar, if not the same, as shots that we first saw when David was there to explain.
Music and action together, without much commentary,has been done in the remarkable "The migratory People" and "Microcosm". Then, it was both innovative and splendid.
Deep Blue.. Deeply derivative and with nothing new to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Deeply Flawed. Disappointing., 22 Mar 2005
By 
John Shakespeare (Kuopio, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
This title has at least three issues which provoke complaint.
First, as other reviewers have noted, the soundtrack is appalling. The musical score has been mixed in at a level which overwhelms the few voiceovers. If you want to hear the narrator, then you'll be deafened by many of the instrumental passages. Even with thick walls, your neighbours will be concussed by the frequent overpowered crescendos. If you set the volume so the crescendos can be endured without earplugs, then some quiet instrumentals will be far too muted, and the narrator will be utterly inaudible. The audio mixing was truly incompetent.
The second item is that Deep Blue is billed as a documentary about ocean life. We normally expect some amount of commentary and explanation in nature documentaries. Deep Blue does not meet that expectation. Each scene lasts 5 to 10 minutes but has a mere four to six spoken sentences, which are often delivered together (but too quietly). Little information is conveyed, and there is no effort to link the different scenes which jump across disparate locales and fauna. Moreover, narration is usually delivered in the middle of the scene, so that it comes over as a disjoint mish-mash of footage left over from Blue Planet.
A great deal of the material is eerily familiar as it is unused footage from Blue Planet. The third complaint is that much of the video is NOT leftovers from Blue Planet: in many places it is exactly the SAME footage, recycled and devalued by the absence of narration. The description on the case is thus objectionably misleading, as it implies that the content is new or at least different material to that shown in Blue Planet.
If you liked Blue Planet, you'll be disappointed with Deep Blue. At best, this DVD is suitable as background eye-candy with the sound turned off.
However, for teachers in media studies or audio technician, this is a good example of a botched job...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Love all these series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars magnificent oceans, 6 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deep Blue [DVD] (DVD)
this was all I expected,excellent dvd. for those interested in our world,particularly the oceans this is a must for your library
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deep Blue [DVD]
Deep Blue [DVD] by Andy Byatt (DVD - 2004)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews