Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Polanski Classic
This is one of Polanski's less appreciated efforts, and is often dismissed as a mere "horror spoof" , but it is a far more valuable film than that. I've watched a lot of movies in the horror genre and this is an outstanding example of its type, managing to be a near perfect blend of fairy tale, horror and comedy.
The plot is quite a simple and familiar one... a...
Published on 21 Oct. 2004 by Roger Shallot

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Have you got the wrong vampire movie!
The Fearless Vampire Killers (aka Dance of the Vampires) is one of those films that always feels too broad and clumsily played to work half as well as it should despite some great ideas - gay vampires, Jewish vampires, even a Richard III vampire - and some gorgeous production design and photography of the snow-covered locations. Aside from Polanski's love of the...
Published on 11 Feb. 2007 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful avant-garde comedy, 3 Nov. 2003
By 
Eolake "eolake (.com)" (Lancashire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This is, in my opinion, one of the very best films from the sixites. It is fiercely original. Very funny. Very avant-garde.
Ferdy Mayne has apparently not been in many films. He must have been a stage actor, because he is utterly amazing as the Count in this film. Some of his dialogue has been sampled by Skinny Puppy in their song Rivers, and no wonder. It is mesmerizing, rhythmic, funny and scary all at once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful 60's Horror Spoof About Vampires, 22 Sept. 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This is a brilliant, atmospheric, and deliberately silly, 1960's horror spoof, directed by the talented Roman Polanski. It is a light-hearted chiller, nearly but not quite as camp as Carry On Screaming ( Carry on Screaming [Blu-ray] [1966] ) or Love At First Bite, and not as gory as An American Werewolf In London ( An American Werewolf in London [Blu-ray] [Region Free] ) or Shaun Of The Dead ( Shaun of the Dead [Blu-ray] [2004] ). A couple of men, the nerdy Alfred (played by Polanski himself), and his mentor Professor Abronsius, find themselves stranded in a remote, snowbound Transylvanian village.
Abronsius is brilliantly played by Jack MacGowran, who makes him like Magnus Pyke on acid. They check into the village inn, Alfie Bass plays the innkeeper, Shagal. Abroncius is a vampire hunter and killer, with a briefcase full of wooden stakes.
The innkeeper knows that vampires are lurking about, he has garlic hanging in every room. Before long, one of the innkeeper's sexy daughters, Sarah, is flirting with the innocent young Alfred, embarrassing him with pouts and innuendo.
Sarah is played by the stunning Sharon Tate, who went on to become Polanski's wife, before her cruel fate at the hands of Charles Manson and his gang. Whilst bathing, Sarah falls victim to Count Dracula, and disappears off into the night.
Abronsius is soon educating the locals about the art of deterring and killing bloodsuckers. The professor and Alfred then inveigle their way into the castle of the Count and his vampires, on the pretext that they are a pair of academics.
Alfred runs into Sarah again, and they are soon making out, Alfred blissfully unaware that Sarah is already transmogrifying into a vampire. The Count, who is also wooing Sarah, is going to host his Midnight Ball at the castle, and Alfred gets an invite.
The Midnight Ball is the climax of the movie and I won't reveal the upshot. The film is beautifully and very stylishly shot, and although truckloads of clearly artificial snow is used, I think that this only adds to the film's undoubted charms, whilst still managing to give an impression of fierce cold. The film score is very dramatic and spooky, it had me thinking of the wonderful score to Michael Caine's Billion Dollar Brain.
This is one of those terrific old films, which is long overdue a modern remake, I can imagine a director like Tim Burton doing a terrific reboot of this movie, with somebody like Johnny Depp playing Alfred, and somebody like Alfred Molina or Antony Hopkins portraying Abronsius.
I find this movie especially poignant, when I remember the tragic early death of the actress Sharon Tate, it just reminds you of how life can be so cruel. Suffice it to say, this is an all-time great horror spoof, which hasn't yet reached its use by date.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Polanski's "The Fearless Vampire Killers", 23 Dec. 2003
A visually pleasing and very witty gothic horror comedy. The characterisation is first rate, and Alfie Bass as the Jewish innkeeper is particularly magnificent. There are some delightfully understated comic moments. The beautiful snowy sets and sumptuous, quirky photography, mixed with a haunting musical score, wrap the film up in a wonderfully warm gothic atmosphere. Perhaps a little scary for under-12s, else a film for all the family. The snowy gothic setting makes it particularly suited for viewing over the Christmas period, and one of the best films you’ll ever see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent vampire comedy, 26 Sept. 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This beautifully shot, stylish Roman Polanski comedy horror, manages to get the balance just right between scares and laughs. Every horror cliche is explored and lampooned, but its all done with such great respect for the genre it is spoofing, that it could easily be classed as a horror film in its own right.
The main joke here is that two intrepid vampire killers, are in fact a couple of bumblimg fools, completely outwitted by the devious, clever vampires they are supposedly hunting. Its a very good joke, and Roman Polanski and Jack Magowran are both excellent as our hapless heroes.
An excellent film that is lovely to look at, and a classic of its kind
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 7 Dec. 2006
By 
Richard A. Woodcock (Ipswich Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This film proves there is much more to horror than pure violence. It creates a wonderfully dark atmosphere. It plays like a fairy tale, accompanied by some wonderful music.This film is top of its genre. The only film to come close to this is A Company of wolves. Watch it at Christmas time with the lights off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dance of the vampires, 6 Dec. 2007
By 
Mr. Peter Athawes "Athawes" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I grew up watching this film and think it is an absolute masterpiece! There is a perfect balance between horror and comedy. The acting is top notch and the scenery looks stunning. I would recommend it to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best vampire movie ever made, 4 Sept. 2004
By A Customer
The best Vampire movie ever made is finally coming to DVD this October 2004 !
If this film was made these days there'd have been half a dozen sequels made to it by now, but that might be a good thing there wasn't, this timeless classic was a masterpiece and always will be, forget Dracula and check out the fearless vampire killers as they take on Count Von Krolock!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Weird and Wonderful, 8 May 2009
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This is a great little film, a vampire film played for laughs. It has a weird and wonderful atmosphere, and it's one of those films that you get on tv and as soon as you start watching it, your hooked. May not be one of Polanski's better known films, but certainly one of his most enjoyable.Maw.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best vampiric comedy ever !!, 18 Oct. 2007
By 
Darth Maciek "Darth Maciek" (Darth Maciek is out there...) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This is one of the best vampire movies ever and definitely THE best comedy dealing with this topic. The story begins with two very unlikely heroes (the Professor and his servant Albert) arriving to a village in Transylvania, where they hope find the proof of the existence of the vampires, something they both were after for years. And they will find it, no problem!

Polanski made here one of his best movies. He however refused just to accumulate gags - rather he made the WHOLE movie in an enormous joke, in which most of the characters are actually trying to be very serious, which only amplifies the irresistible comic effect. Both "Vampire killers" are extremely committed to their mission - and totally unable to perform it! The vampires are shown not really like monsters but more like a kind of dysfunctional - but still very close - family. In fact the scariest character in the movie is the human servant of the vampires, the disfigured handicapped Kukol, who actually is really serious about his business.

Some of the gags are totally irresistible - the Jewish vampire is possibly the greatest delight, but the gay vampire who has a crush on Albert (played by Polanski) is also irresistible. Also, Sharon Tate is incredibly beautiful in this movie, her last, before being murdered... which gives a sad after taste to the whole experience of watching it. The music, written by the great Polish composer, Krzysztof Komeda, himself also tragically deceased soon after, is unique and in itself worth to listen, even separately from the movie. Finally, the landscapes and decorations are stunning - it is the most vampiric decorum I ever saw in a vampire movie.

Really, this film is a delight, to watch and remember.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Many have claimed that this looks not much better than the dvd released by Warner's prior, 1 April 2015
By 
C. W. Howarth "Lalala" (manchester Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So assuming that you are familiar with the film, I will jump straight ahead and talk about the Blu-ray. Warner's have received a lot of criticism over this release, and I may add having read the reviews put me off buying this for a couple of years since its initial release. Let me start by saying that the criticism over the PQ is unfounded in my opinion. Many have claimed that this looks not much better than the dvd released by Warner's prior. If you compare the PQ of the Blu-ray with the older dvd (which also comes with this release as part of a digipak housed in a lovely oversized metalpak) then the difference is very noticeable. I would even say that without comparing you will notice the image being a good deal sharper and the colours really shine through. The BIG frustration with the disc is that this French release has non removeable subs. Initially, yes its quite distracting but, I must say I quickly forgot about them. There are also a couple of extras but nothing to shout about. At its original price of between £20 and £30 I would have said that maybe this wasn't worth paying that much for, but you can currently buy this for about £16 at the time of review, which is not much more than some current blu-rays on the market. I'm now very happy to have picked this up and especially at that price. If you can handle the subs, then having this on blu is defiantely worth it, and with the lovely artwork too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967]
The Fearless Vampire Killers [DVD] [1967] by Roman Polanski (DVD - 2013)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews