Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Little Lycanthropes
!!! WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. !!!

Big game hunter Tom Newcliffe(Calvin Lockhart) invites a motley bunch of people to his isolated mansion for a most dangerous game. One of his guests, all who have dark secrets to hide, is a werewolf and Newcliffe is determined to hunt him or her down, conducting a series of elaborate tests to force the werewolf into...
Published on 5 Sept. 2012 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag - but good fun
This full length feature from a studio best known for its portmanteau anthologies misfires in some respects, but it's still an enjoyable horror flick. Mixing the country house mystery with a werewolf horror, we have a mismatched selection of characters, and are expected to guess which is the wereworlf. There's even an amazingly cheesy "werewolf break" where a narrator...
Published on 15 Mar. 2012 by downkiddie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ten Little Lycanthropes, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
!!! WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. !!!

Big game hunter Tom Newcliffe(Calvin Lockhart) invites a motley bunch of people to his isolated mansion for a most dangerous game. One of his guests, all who have dark secrets to hide, is a werewolf and Newcliffe is determined to hunt him or her down, conducting a series of elaborate tests to force the werewolf into revealing their identity. Meanwhile, the killings start...
As Amicus Films' very last foray into horror, 'The Beast Must Die' is a thoroughly enjoyable film, complete with groovy 70's soundtrack, a wonderful 'Guess The Werewolf' thirty second break and less than convincing effects, as dogs are used as cheap werewolf substitutes.
Lockhart gives a full blooded performance as Newcliffe, becoming increasingly O.T.T as the body count rises. Balancing this highly enjoyable if overripe turn are more measured performances from Peter Cushing as Professor Lundgren, Charles Gray at his pithy best as shady diplomat Bennington and Anton Diffring as Newcliffe's employee Pavel, watching all the action on CCTV. Interesting to see a young Michael Gambon appear as pianist Jan Gilmore.
Despite over using the plot device of Newcliffe chasing down the werewolf in the countryside around his mansion, 'The Beast Must Die' is a relatively tense affair, full of false fangs and red herrings.
The 'Werewolf Break' may be a gimmick but it is what this film is probably best remembered for. An alternate cut of the film titled 'Black Werewolf' to probably cash in on Blaxploitation cinema, omits the Werewolf break entirely, a crime in itself.
After this film, Amicus made their way into fantasy films with their 'lost world' triology, all with Doug McClure as the not so dashing lead. So, 'The Beast Must Die' could be seen as a desperate last gasp attempt by the British studio to milk the horror cash cow. A shame if that's the case as this film was one of my favourites as a horror obsessed teenager, and it still holds a special place in my heart to this day. Groovy. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars who's the werewolf?, 23 Feb. 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "WHITECRANE" (the MIDLANDS) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I like this film so much because it's so unusual. A millionaire businessman and big game hunter invites a number of guests to his secluded mansion. He knows one of them is a werewolf,but not which one,they've all got a suspicious past. One by one they start to die. The opening sequence will surprise you ,it did me. Some of the acting isn't up to De Niro standard but I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure comedy with 70's cheese and groove!, 10 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
I love this film! It was`nt really meant to be taken that seriously back in 1974 when it first appeared, almost 30 years on, it can only get better! The parts that are meant to be funny are good, the parts that are NOT are even more hilarious! You can't help but think that everyone on set had a great time making this film and it shows. Highlights include; Peter Cushing's dodgy accent, meant to be German but frequently sounding Indian, Calvin Lockhart's accent and mannerisms, The werewolf who looks more like an Alsation dog, the dodgy (but funny) bad acting in general, groovy 70's tunes plus fab clothing and to cap it all the legendary 'Werewolf break'. You`ll have to watch the film to know what I'm on about. All in all, a great comedy/horror with groovy 70's funk capped with a copious amount of cheese, making for an entertaining and hilarious night in front of the box. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag - but good fun, 15 Mar. 2012
By 
downkiddie "downkiddie" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This full length feature from a studio best known for its portmanteau anthologies misfires in some respects, but it's still an enjoyable horror flick. Mixing the country house mystery with a werewolf horror, we have a mismatched selection of characters, and are expected to guess which is the wereworlf. There's even an amazingly cheesy "werewolf break" where a narrator tells us we have 30 seconds to guess! I haven't seen anything like that in a film before or since. The film mixes this with high-tech gadgets, with sophisticated surveillance equipment in the country house. It reminded me of "The Prisoner" in that respect. There werewolf itself is clearly just an alsation, but no matter, if you take this flick for what it is you'll enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a great werewolf film!!, 13 Sept. 2012
By 
jeremiah harbottle (Littlebourne, Kent.) - See all my reviews
another winner from amicus, "the beast must die" is an engaging, slickly produced, quite suspenseful horror piece that benefits from a good pace, some good characters and a riveting climax.
even though peter cushing is second in the cast, it is down to him that i watch this film.
the storyline is along the same lines as the "ten red indians" but that isn't a bad thing at all.
the idea of a group of people who are cut off from society and who have to protect themselves from a prowling werewolf(which is one of the house guests), may not be original as such but it still makes for entertaining viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shaft in Shepperton, 27 Mar. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beast Must Die [DVD] (DVD)
Make no mistake, 'The Beast must die' is not a good film. But that is hardly the point is it? The fun here derives from the endearingly absurd plotline, the timely but rather hopeless use of Calvin Lockhart as the male lead, and the spectacle of a distinguished cast keeping their chins up despite it all.
The controversial 'Werewolf break' too may not be to everybody's taste (the voiceover sounds distinctly louche to be sure) but it at least provides some colour to an otherwise rather forgettable experience.
Peter Cushing is over the top(but who cares), and Michael Gambon and Charles Gray are marvellous - however they are all given too little to do; Calvin Lockhart is left centre-stage much of the time and (whatever his Shakespearian past) he doesn't have the screen presence to save us from this film's many longueurs.
Enjoy this as a period piece and a rather camp part of Amicus history, but don't let a DVD commentary and an interview with the director (available in the Amicus box-set)persuade you that this is a classic - it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting enough but no classic, 1 Aug. 2014
Peter Cushing heads the cast in this Amicus horror. Plot revolves around Cushing as some sort of Sherlock Holmes questioning everyone in a room, if they are indeed the werewolf that has been terrorizing the locales. He knows that one of the guests is a werewolf and will be found out that night.

In a different spin, we the viewer are also asked, and there is even a 'werewolf break', to try and work it out.
I must admit I guessed who the werewolf was from the beginning. But this is no fault of the film, I simply guessed.

At best this film reminds me of something William Castle would have been delighted to have been involved in. Alas this is not Cushing's finest hour neither is it Amicus'. Passable horror, and just that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Horrifying! (and not in a good way), 20 Nov. 2008
This review is from: The Beast Must Die [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this dvd because I love werewolf stories (though there are very few good movies out there) and found the concept intriguing (a bunch of people stay in a house over night, one of them is a werewolf).
Big mistake.
This film is atrocious. Completely without any redeeming features, it is poorly made, not at all scary or suspenseful, and worst of all has very little entertainment value.
Considering the film stars Peter Cushing and Michael Gambon, you would hope that there would be some decent moments to speak of. Well, there aren't, the whole thing was dreadful.
'What about the werewolf?' I hear you ask. It's a dog. A frikkin dog.
A dog that is not at all scary and doesn't look in any way threatening.
I can't even recommend this film for Bad Movie fans. It's not even enjoyable as a bad movie. Just avoid it, and watch American Werewolf or The Wolfman again instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MASTERFUL SUPREME CLASSIC AMICUS FILM., 2 Sept. 2007
Magnificently acted, written and produced werewolf film keeps viewers
thrilled and guessing till the final few frames.
Peter Cushing and Anton Diffring are perfectly cast as usual but the acting honours belong to Calvin Lockhart in his greatest film role as the werewolf
hunter.
These classic horror thrillers of the 1970s from Hammer, Amicus, Tigon
merited high critical acclaim and should have won many oscars instead of the
crapulent boring dramas that usually pick up unmerited oscars for annoying
viewers to death.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED in all departments buy this excellent DVD now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars All the ingredients of a classic - but not quiet properly cooked, 23 Mar. 2009
This 1974 offering from Amicus has an eclectic cast and a tantalising premise that is entertaining enough but never quite reaches the pinnacle to which it aspires. There aren't really enough clues to make it a decent detective story (despite the pitch) and not enough frights to make a gripping thriller. It does work as a kind of Boys Own adventure story and some of the performances are quite entertaining, the interplay between the characters forming a large part of the story. The conclusion is interesting rather than surprising but for all that, it is worth the ride. Calvin Lockhart as the big game hunter (not Cushing as depicted on the cover), Charles Gray, Anton Diffring and Peter Cushing himself are all good value for money and the premise is unique as far as werewolf films go. There is a niggle, however, that it could have been so much more. Remake, anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Beast Must Die [DVD]
The Beast Must Die [DVD] by Paul Annett (DVD - 2004)
£18.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews